We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the wind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

First time to this hotel, although we know the area well. Room was very spacious and comfortable - on the ground floor (even though I specified higher up). All staff were very helpful and friendly and once they knew your face, even more friendly. The bar staff in the Monkey Bar were also very quick to serve and chatty once they recognised you. Cleanliness was of a good standard and the maids didn't rush you out of your room to clean. Entertainment was good, though obviously repetitive and the in house band needs a little more variation in its act. The animation team were also very willing to entertain and help. The only niggle we had (which was more my partner) was with the evening meal, the hot meals were not very good. The roasts were often dry, and the vegetables peculiar (roast pork with curried potatoes? or pureed pumpkin?) and the vegetarian options weren't pleasant. There didn't seem to be much planning in getting a menu that gelled together. However I found the salads very good and desserts were also good. Breakfast was excellent and lovely to find poached eggs, freshly cooked to order.
It was a shame that when we visited the weather was very windy, and therefore the pools not utilised very much (so no towel rage of any sort) but at least we missed the rain from the previous week.
One thing I do wish is that these hotels would include coffee/tea making facilities etc as a normal part of the booking. It is annoying to have paid quite alot for the holiday, only to find if you want 'extras' such as this, or a robe etc., you have to pay yet more - why?? In England it is normal to have these things in your rooms, so why not on holiday?
We did enjoy our stay here, but the niggles with the food unfortunately will mean we won't be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms alongside the bottom pool and Azul Bar seem to get sunshine from about 10 in the morning u...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coronas Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Myself and my wife returned to Coronas Playa in Costa Teguise for a week in the middle of February and was not disappointed. It maintained its standards of being clean, friendly and a well-run hotel. We upgraded our room so tea/coffee facilities were included as was the fridge and bathrobes & slippers were supplied along with a complimentary bowl of fruit and bottle of wine on arrival. The room had a good size balcony and because of the upgrade had two sun loungers as well as the standard table and two chairs. It had lovely sea views and overlooked the main pool (worth the extra), The room was large with a comfy double bed(firm) and the bathroom had a hairdryer which was adequate for holiday usage also hand soap and shower wash was supplied via dispensers. The room was cleaned daily and towels could be changed as frequently as you wished. We stayed half board. You could pay 3 euros a day for a safe and a returnable deposit of 10 Euros for pool towels which could be changed daily. The restaurant staffs always welcomed you and were most helpful. The breakfast offered a range of options from full English to continental style. We found most evening (5 out of the 7) there was a good choice and the food of a good standard. It was especially enjoyable when one evening they had traditional Canarian food to try. Monkey bar was the hotels’ bar which offered a different cocktail of the day, we found it to have a relaxed atmosphere and very enjoyable to have pre meal drinks and later in the evening. Entertainment was offered there as well as at the Pavilion (main entertainment venue), all seemed to start quite late so we often didn’t worry with except one night which was a Beetles tribute act which was good if you like the Beetles!
The hotel is a good location being within walking distances of both quite/busy sandy beaches and a short bus ride away from Ariciffe as well as being a short walk from Costa Teguise shops and restaurants
if you come out the back you find yourself on the promenade where you can walk leisurely to different bays . If you go left approximately 15 minutes’ walk you come to a smallish sandy beach of playa del jablillo ideal for snorkelling. Carry on walking 15 minutes you come to a larger bay Playa de las Cucharas which seemed to have lots of varies water sports as well as swimmers . There are many places to eat and various typical holiday outlets.
If you come out the back and go right, walk to the end of the promenade and then go up and along a road (calle los volcanoes) then back to the coast (about 30 minutes) you will come to another bay Playa del Ancia access by underpass on the right side of the road. Although when we were there this always seemed to have thick cloud unlike the other way which had beautiful sunshine.

Room Tip: Second floor Sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fazer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My Husband and I Spent 11 nights here at the end of January. This was our 3rd visit and I cant really fault this hotel. From Reception staff to cleaning staff everyone is helpful and pleasant. We ordered a room upgrade which was 154€ payable on arrival, and gets you robes, slippers, kettle, tea, coffee, wine and fruit, a gym pass and most importantly sunbeds on the balcony. This year we had room 447 on the top floor near to the sea, and once again the room was spotless.
The restaurant was as good as ever, and the food was lovely. Some people did complain about the food while we were there and I cant understand why, although I think it is definately geared for British people, there are things on the menu that you would not usually expect to find in a Spanish Hotel such as, stew, roast turkey or leek and bechamel pie - which, by the way, was lovely; the pastry melted in your mouth and the bechamel sauce was second to none. Breakfast was the usual buffet style but delighted to see they have started to cook the bacon until it is crispy. Breakfast time could get a bit busy and on one day I went a bit later than usual I could not find a table.

The monkey bar is good although waiter service can be a bit slow, we particulalry enjoyed happy hour (2 for the price of 1) between 5 and 6 and as I am rather partial to a glass of cava or two I would send my husband down to line them up while I got read, then we would have a few glasses before we went in for dinner. Now call me a cheapskate if you like but it was only around 2€ a glass so we just loved getting 2 glasses for that price (it costs around £4.50 for one glass of cava in the UK). We didnt go all inclusive and didnt feel we needed to.

We went to the entertainment tent once to see the Beatles who were good. The resident entertainment duo The Score are still awful and have been awful since we first went to this hotel, however someone must like them as they have been there for a while, but I can only compare them to The Krankies on helium. The set up in the tent is not good - there are rows and rows of regimented little tables and we were made to sit at a table and order from a waiter which took a while. I would have prefered to go to the bar and probably stand either at the bar or at the back of the room.

The weather while we were there was pretty awful, and it rained quite a lot in the day and also most nights. This made the balcony very slippy so please be aware of this. There are notices in the room advising of this. We only had about 3 days of good sunshine at the end of our holiday, so were only round the poolside on these days. There is no "sunbed bagging" allowed in this hotel before 10:00am so if you want to go down before that time you must sit on your sunbed. It was amusing to see some people sitting in the drizzle on their particular sunbed with their coats on, hoping that the sun might come out.

All in all, in spite of the weather (which is unusal for the canaries) we enjoyed our holiday in the Coronas Playa and will more than likely be back next year!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a select room to ensure a sunbed on the balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eligCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Coronas Playa (our 5th visit). Everything was as good as ever, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the whole hotel spotlessly clean and plenty of choice food wise. We were all inclusive and it is certainly good value for money. Special mention to Patty, bar manager, who is a lovely person and to our chambermaid, Inma, who kept our room spotless.
The entertainment staff, Jamie and Sheneece, deserve a special mention. They are very professional and friendly young people who work tirelessly both during the day and in the evening.
We also enjoyed the resident duo, John and Helen (Without a Doubt) who played all the music we liked.
The only downside was the weather, very windy and cold, but no-one can do anything about that. All in all a very enjoyable holiday

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Coronas Playa. It is a lovely hotel situated a short walk from the town. The staff are fabulous-so friendly. Patty, one of the bar managers, is the best we have known. Heidy, at the Azur pool bar, always has time for a chat. Jamie and Shaneece, the young entertainment reps, are definitely the best we have met. They are so professional, friendly and in control. At 19, I am sure Shaneece will progress on to bigger and better things.
The food continues to be of a high standard. I must stress again, however, it would be appreciated if there were a daily vegetarian option at lunchtime. There was one 4/5 days a week so I'm sure it would be simple to provide one on the other days. I was provided with a spaghetti Neopolitan when I asked but would prefer the option to be on the menu. My husband finds the choice of meat and fish brilliant. There is always a good selection and variation in vegetables, pasta and rice dishes.
Yes, the hotel may be in need of some refurbishment, but it is impeccably maintained. The cleaners do a superb job. The bottom pool is now heated which is a great asset in the winter months.
We did not have good weather in the first week of our holiday but the hotel and the reps did their best to ensure guests were provided for. We also got out and about, seeing more of the island.
We will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Couple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from 11wonderful days at the coronas playa hotel, as previously stated the rooms are enormous and very clean, the food is very good and plenty to choose from. We have stayed in many many all inclusive hotels both 4 and. 5 star and this has got to be the best with named brand drinks, decent wine, and bags of crisps, bowls of fruit and various ice creams eg cornettos magnums etc included in the AI package at the pool bar. All the staff are friendly and a credit to the hotel, but i have to single out the entertainment team Jamie and Shaneese ( sorry if I've spelt that wrong) they work sooo hard to make sure anyone who joins in any of the daytime activities have a good time, and on a night they are there again working their socks off , thomsons they are a credit to you. Stripey/ salmon

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
11  Thank sand53x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just returned from a lovely weeks holiday in Lanzaorte. The Hotel Coronas Playa is a lovely hotel. Its a Thomson 4 star gold. We had a suite which was really nice. I cannot fault the hotel or staff in any way. They were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, they all walked the extra mile. We didnt get involved in the day time activities, but can honestly say the entertainment team did everything to make your holiday enjoyable This was Chenise, Jamie and Frosty. The star acts were to a high standard and the resident duo. Helen and John (Without a doubt) sang a variety of songs to suit all. I would go back again, possbily summer as weather was sunny and windy. We celebrated our Anniversary there which was nice. The hotel is situated in a nice area and walks along the sea front are lovely.

Room Tip: This hotel is a couples only and there are a lot the older generation, i am one myself, so i dont re...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cash2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing