We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday we have ever had and best hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Myself, wife and daughter spent a week All Inclusive staying at the Coronas Play between the 22nd and 29th August 2013. I have to say, this is by far the best holiday we have ever had and was all down to the wonderful stay at this hotel. It was absolutely faultless in every way and deserves all the rave reviews that it gets. I think anyone who finds anything to complain about at this hotel must just be looking to find fault.

The thing that is most impressive is the attention to every detail. The hotel have put every effort into making sure that every detail is absolutely spot on.

The staff are the most friendly in any hotel we have been to and make you feel welcome from the first moment you walk through the door. We were presented with drinks on arrival including champagne and orange juice. We even had all our case taken to our room for us.

All the reception staff were either English and / or spoke perfect English and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel itself is immaculate and everything just feels so clean. The room was beautiful and clean, and we had a great view out to sea from our Sea View Suite. The room was cleaned daily and always left absolutely spotless.

The restaurant was absolutely wonderful and there was something different every night to cover every taste. I read a few reviews saying the food was a bit samey, but I never found this to be the case at all.

I do like to try the local food whenever go away, but the one thing I do like to treat myself to is a large cooked breakfast. The breakfast in the Coronas Playa is the best I have had whilst on holiday. Everything was always piping hot, the bacon was lovely and crispy and the sausages were proper sausages and not just the frankfurter type things that you usually tend to get. There was a different choice of scrambled eggs every morning as well as croissants, bread, fruit, cereal and yoghurt etc.

For lunch, there was the option to get meals from one of the two snack bars by the pool or go to the restaurant. The food from all the snack bars was lovely, as was the food in the restaurant. As always, the service was second to none and the restaurant staff always made us feel welcome.

Evening meals were a real treat, and one nice aspect was to have the staff all lined up as you walked in to the restaurant. It made everyone feel a bit special. Again the food was beautiful and there was always a good variety.

As for entertainment, what can I say.... Just out of this world....

Deano and Stacey are superb hosts and they make you feel so welcome. They are truly multi-talented duo, from singing, general entertaining and will have you laughing from the start to the end of the night.

The resident duo Lez and Lesley are also absolutely brilliant. Lesley is a true entertainer and a wonderful singer.

All of them supported by Tony, Frosty and the other Thomson staff put on a great show at the end of the week. Mia Mama far outshines the original film.

If you go to the Coronas Play for nothing else, just make a trip just to experience the entertainment.

The real bonus of course is that this is a Thomson Gold hotel and there are no kids. It does feel a bit awful saying this, but we are a family, and have done our family holidays with the kids, but this year, as ours are now grown up, we wanted a peaceful holiday and that is what we got. It is the first holiday where I have been pretty much content to sit around the pool all day.

Anyway, I can not recommend this hotel highly enough and praise goes to all the staff for looking after us and making us feel so welcome.

We will definitely be going back as soon as we can and cant wait to meet everyone again.

Thanks to everyone for our best holiday ever.

Room Tip: Really well worth getting a sea view suite if you can. Beautiful view and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smlemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got home from this hotel after a 2 week stay.the rooms are big,with all you could need in them.we do not go on holiday to watch tv so cannot comment on the chanel choice.The housekeeping was to the standard you would expect for a 4 star.The evening entertainment was good.The drink service in the pavillion was poor as it also was in the monkey bar.The food was ok but we found that it was a very odd combernation at times.the staff are mostly polite but you do get the odd surley ones.The sun bed rule is a waste of time as the sad ones sit on the sunbeds at 7.30am and go to breakfast in relay(get a life!).Overall a good holiday,the regulars get a bit tedious at times telling all who will listen how many times they have been back (sad).We will not be returning as we prefer 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjay59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From Eric and Angela we got back 3 days ago

We have been to quite a lot of gold hotels most of which are very good , but for us this is the best so far. staff food cleanliness rooms location all top notch. 10 mins away player Jabillo is good for snorkelling despite the breeze. Deano Stacy and Les and Lesley ( The Score ) are great Lesley can be really funny . The island has a lot to offer in way of sight seeing it really pays to get out and about and Tony's mystery tours are a good way to get off the beaten track , they get you away from the only draw back ( the sun beds ) .The hotel does try to enforce the rule before 10 am ,but has someone else has put, old greedy habits are hard to overcome for some , for such lovely spacious pool areas these greedy people do spoil the atmosphere for others, it is this which stops me giving top marks . Poor old Rachel on reception said she had been shouted at so much she thought her baby was going to be early. We would certainly go back ,over all it's lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ericwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic weeks stay at the Coronas Playa, adult only hotel. Most of the guests were aged 40 +, it's a quiet hotel so not ideal for the younger people. Had a lovely, clean, spacious room overlooking the pool also had a sea view. Excellent choice of good food in the restaurant and pool bars. The hotel has two pools... one quiet and one with activities. Guests are unable to reserve sun beds before 10 am, which is an excellent idea. It has to be 'bums on sunbeds' otherwise the towels, books etc are removed to the reception area. The nightly entertainment is varied and first class with most of the acts being bought in. There is plenty of seating for the entertainment and the bar stocks all branded spirits. There is also nightly music in the Monkey bar.The reps are really nice, very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room on the east side of the hotel, balcony gets the sun nearly all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaypgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel to surprise our friends who were having a break here.This was our first stay at this hotel. Our welcome on arrival was very warm and we were soon on our way to our room with porter organising our luggage.The room was large and on ground floor as requested.Bathroom was good size and clean as was the room itself no 227. The food was good with a wide variety served by very friendly staff. The two pool areas were good with the top one being quieter, there was also a bar at each pool but beware it would be hard recognise what was called a pizza otherwise all good. Entertainment a bit too juvenile for an over 16s hotel although Deano did his best.Teguise not much of a resort not much to see and not many traditional shops or restaurants.Overall hotel was good would probably go back. Also a special mention for Tina at reception and Daniel at the bar both great.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at bottom pool easily accesible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 580andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely everything wonderful. Reception staff helpful. Bar and waiting staff the friendliest you will find.
Food choice very good and extensive breakfast and dinner. All inclusive best we have had with branded drinks and mixers and good lunch and snack choices.
When hotel full a little bit short of sunshades but always beds available.

Current entertainers Dean and his assistant Stacey best we have seen.

Zola and Karen

Room Tip: Top floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited the Coronas player for the first time in sept 2013 on all inclusive bases(this is the first time we have tried A/I).We arrived 9pm on sunday with a excellent greeting from reception and told a evening meal was available very welcome after a long day.Our room 611 was very large and comfortable with sunbeds on the balcony.The only slight problem was the aircon sounded like a tumble drier but we did not use it much keeping the balcony window open with a nice breeze.The food in the the hotel was good but very English the drinks and snacks always availiable .The top pool is quieter than the more relaxed lower pool (but even then somebody moaned about the volume of the music which is not loud at all).Entertainment was quite good on a whole with Dinno putting in a lot of effort.The resort of Teguise is a great disappointment with shops and bars either run by Chinese,indians or british it was like Yarmouth with the sun.For trips and there's not a lot ,the last minute travel shop does a excellent grand tour with a 3 course lunch that covers the whole island but no camel ride great value.

Room Tip: Room 611 very large good view A/C rattles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mossybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,314 reviews
1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Beach Resort
HD Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing