We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Coronas Playa
Nearby Hotels
Occidental Lanzarote Mar(Costa Teguise)
$183
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended(Costa Teguise)
$154
$138
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Lanzarote Playa(Costa Teguise)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Santa Rosa(Costa Teguise)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BlueBay Lanzarote(Costa Teguise)
$145
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sands Beach Resort(Costa Teguise)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Sea Costa Bastian(Costa Teguise)
$124
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveler rating
1,493
804
297
70
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,493
804
297
70
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey barthomson goldthomson repsgold hotellower poolgarden suiteselect roommellow yellowresident bandevening entertainmentbranded drinksaverage ageentertainment teamtea and coffee making facilitiesrooms are hugedaily quizolder generation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,252 - 2,257 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was our first time staying in the Coronas Playa but not the first to Lanzarote. I didn't read any reviews on this hotel before visiting and in a way I’m glad. At least I can make a comment based on my own experiences. OK so let’s get the cockroaches out of the way first. Yes there are hundreds of the little critters and yes they are not nice but let’s be honest, they were there first. Fortunately, Lanzarote is a very hot place and cockroaches love the heat. If you don’t like cockroaches then you should seriously consider going to a cockroach free location.
As for the hotel, this has to be the best one we have stopped in in the 10 years we have been going to Costa Teguise. The rooms were clean, spacious and well maintained. The cleaning staff were the best also. Sheets, towels etc were changed every day and our housekeeper (Nany) left a little "towel sculpture" every day.
The food was also excellent with plenty of variety and never 2 days the same.
There are 2 large pools and plenty of daytime and night time entertainment.
The hotel is located just on the edge of Costa Teguise but it’s a pleasant 5 to 10 minute walk into town along the recently constructed promenade.
All in all a great hotel, friendly and helpful staff and one I would have no hesitation in going back to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Lets start with the flight. We boarded the plane and were then moved to a remote stand for an hour! To wait for our take off slot, apparently this was dictated by air traffic control in the Canary Islands.
We eventually take off. Flight was OK, just like any other flight. We land in Lanzarote and a helpful Thomson Rep sent us and another couple to the wrong coach, which we were then told to get off by a rather rude lady who offered no help at all. We found another rep and made it to the correct coach.

When we arrived at the hotel the restaurant had shut for the evening (it was 10pm now due to be held up on the plane etc) we were given some orange juice checked in fine and told that a cold supper was on its way to our room as we were all inclusive. The cold supper was a tuna salad thing, crackers, squashed laughing cow cheese, butter, bruised fruit and some water. We headed out to a restaurant as we were starving and don't like tuna.

The room was large and mainly clean, beds however were extremely uncomfortable. The chairs were creaky, felt a little cheap and were also uncomfortable.
The bottom of the doors and furniture were water damaged, there were water marks going up a few inches and the wood looked rotten as if there had been a lot of water for several days. All room doors on our level (ground by the bottom pool) looked the same. It made it seem unclean and not what you expect from a 4* hotel.
We saw a couple of cockroaches in the corridor (mainly dead) but that's what you get in the canary islands and they were always cleaned away promptly by the staff.

I saw other reviewers mention the cats. There's about 5 and tend to leave people along unless you pester them. Some guests did feed them but that didn't bother me, the cats keep the creepy crawlies at bay.

The running theme at the hotel seems to be you have pay extra for everything. Want a kettle in your room with sunbeds on the terrace, that's an extra 7€ per person per day. Internet access 9€ a day!! extortionate in this day and age!! Safe 3€ a day and and 10€ deposit which includes beach towels. Extra TV channels other than the 3 news channels, yes that's extra (we didn't bother finding out how much). The hotel already have subscriptions to things like the TV channels and Internet so I feel they should be included (they are in most other hotels I have stayed at), same for the safe, its not like it costs the hotel any more, they just need to provide a key (whereas most other hotels have digital safes included where you set the pin etc at no extra cost)

Pools:
Bars are open at 10am. The staff were a little hit and miss, sometimes rude sometimes helpful. Drinks were OK but the things like coke and lemonade tasted a little weak (didn't drink alcohol so cant comment on those).

There are not enough sunbeds, people reserve the sunbeds from as early as 7am!! There were notices in the room about not doing this and everyone was also handed a letter about this when we arrived, however it didn't deter people and not once did we see anyone remove towels (like was threatened in the letters)
The pools themselves need a good clean. Tiles were missing in and around the pools. The water was cold, there was a constant wind and more of gale rather than breeze, felt like there was no shelter from the wind.

Food was OK. Not 4* but OK.
Breakfast was buffet style, there was fresh fruit, bread, muffins, yogurt, cereal, cooked english. (american pancakes would have been awesome but sadly there wasn't any)
Lunch was a selection of sandwiches, pizza, salads, baguettes and burgers (all with chips!) and was served by waiters.
Dinner was either themed such as Hindu or was a selection of meat, fish, rice and chips. There was a salad bar too, and soup and lots of lovely deserts. It just seemed a little boring, I did miss the canary potatoes :(

Entertainment started at 11am every day by the bottom pool. We didn't join in, it looked fun but also very Butlins. In the evening from 8 the Pavillion was open, this is where everyone headed to watch that nights show.
It normally consisted of the Thomson team doing a quiz, then the musical duet The Score came on (which was OK but hearing the same "snippets" and "jokes" did get repetitive, IE: Pasty Cline, do you like her, do you know her, is she dead. (repeat for any performer who's song they were covering)
Following the score the main act comes on. We saw an illusionist who spent most of the hour prancing on the stage with scarves, you could see how the illusions were done which took away the magic (i don't think you were meant to be able to tell) it was OK but no David Copperfield. We also saw Polynesian dancing which was good. The comedian was also funny if a little tame.

Overall we were quite disappointed. Its not a 4* hotel in my opinion and I don't understand how Thomson can class it as one. I would also be interested to see the 200 point gold checklist.
There was an overall feel of Butlins, which isn't bad but not what we wanted, If it was classed as 3* we wouldn't have booked. Having said that it beats being at work but don't expect 4* luxury.

Finally if your in the 30's you may want to consider a different hotel, the average age seemed to be very close to 60.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Last stayed here November 2010 and returned for an all inclusive stay.
Arrived at around 9pm, told to leave our luggage and go into dining room (even though I was in shorts).
Had room 328 over looking bottom pool room looked as bright as in 2005 when we first visited.
We got a great welcome from Nati and David as usual and we noticed that the staff looked more relaxed with everyone smiling and speaking to you.
I agree with earlier entries, the food and service was excellent and the entertainment staff were really good.
For those who don't get it - Les from The Score always acts like that it's part of the act.
We thought that the food had improved since our last stay and you can get virtually anything on the all inclusive - not cheap rubbish you get at many other places.
My only gripe is that all inclusive finished at 11am although you get a voucher for 1 lunch and 1 drink. We arrived at 9pm and left at 7pm the following week and having paid 30 euros for a late check out until 5pm, I did feel aggrieved at buying a drink in the bar before we left, but the the cost of drinks is much more reasonable than other Thomson Gold hotels in which we have stayed.
I think Thomson and the management of the hotel need to seriously think about the all inclusive option for those arriving late.
The drinks service in the Pavillion canbe hit and miss but too often miss.
It did not spoil another great holiday but will probably deter us from travelling on later flights.
I read comments that the hotel was not 4 star and looked tired. It was built in 2000 and the rooms (we have stayed in a few) always look bright and clean.
If you want a clean ans extremely friendly hotel with good food and good company this is the one for you.
One nice touch, the management left us a gift in our room for being loyal customers.
Thanks to everyone at the Coronas Playa we will be back soon
Peter and Veronica

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pet7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Hotel needs updating, very tatty in places, no way a 4* Hotel.
Management have no people skills, Night & day entertainment was poor.
Bar service slow.
Waiter staff were great,food was ok, but a bit repetitive.
Swimming pool needs repairs doing to it.
Rooms were spacious, but not really needed, room cleaning was good.
Advertised fridge, but it is actually a cooler so make sure your drinks are cold before you put them in.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the room you actually booked, as Thomson have changed the names of the room types.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Coronas Playa from the 4 - 18 August 2011 and we had a brilliant time. The hotel, staff and the whole Thomson team were magnificent. We booked a superior room and we were ushered pass the long queue to book in and the room was huge with a welcome pack consisting of a bottle of white wine and some fruit and snacks. We had two sunloungers on the balcony which proved invaluable as we used them because we could not get sunloungers around the quiet pool. Though it is the policy of the hotel that sunloungers cannot be reserved.....they were reserved and their policy was never enforced during our stay. So if you do want a sunlonger around the pool (the quiet pool is always the first be filled with towels on beds) you will have to be up early. The food was good and there was plenty of choice so we cannot understand those who complain about the food. The entertainment at night in the pavillion was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed every night the entertainment put on by Tony, Sam and the resident duo Les and Lesley. We did a couple of trips which were the submarine trip and it was OK but I felt that for the money we paid 52 euros each that it was not value for money as we were only submerged for about 45 mins. The second trip was the grand island tour and is worthwhile doing to see the whole island especially the active volcano Timafaya. We also did the trip to the Teguise Sunday Market but we booked that with the local tour operator 'Last Minute Travel' and it was cheaper to book through them than with Thomson. Go to the market early as you can in the morning as it does get very, very packed later on in the day. TIPS: Never close the sliding doors onto the balcony after you as they lock and there is no opening mechanism on the outside. If are wanting regular service with drinks in the Pavillion always sit nearest the bar that way you always catch the eye of a waiter. Don't place your room card key next to your mobile phone which I already knew it would wipe the key memory but I forgot a couple of times. If you are wanting to watch football before 5pm then you need to go to the Hollywood Bar next door but the beer is cheap enough at 1.50 euros a pint of local beer.
The weather wasn't always great.....it was generally cloudy most mornings which was burnt off between 11.00am and 1.00pm which was not good enough for the Mrs as she likes the sun to be there from Dawn to Dusk. It was also very breezy which is nice during the day in taking the heat out of the day but at night it was not so great for the ladies as a number complained of it being too cool and blowing their hair all over after taking time to look their best.
Would we go back?.....yes definitely from me but the Mrs says she would love to pick the hotel and whole the staff and put them in a place where the sun shines from dawn to dusk then she would go back every year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northender32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews