We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this as a last minute holiday, having failed to get a booking at the other H10 hotels on the island which we have stayed in frequently before.
On the positive side, the hotel itself is fine, very clean and well maintained, with excellent facilities for families with children. The apartment was spacious with a reasonably equipped kitchen (thankfully, as will be evident later in the review) and was thoroughly cleaned six days a week. The gardens were also well maintained. The staff are excellent and very helpful.
The big let-down was the food - we found a lot of it to be not cooked properly (eg burnt bacon, burnt garlic bread, overcooked chips) or not prepared properly (eg lettuce which had obviously been shredded a while ago as the ends were brown). Also the choice was very limited. We had booked all-inclusive, which we have done previously in H10 hotels with great success, but were totally disappointed on this occasion.
To cut a long story short, the reception staff - at our request - tried to get us booked into one of the other H10 hotels on the island, but without success. And so, because the hotel itself was fine, we decided to stay at Lanzarote Gardens but on a self-catering basis, We were given a refund of the price difference, although probably this wouldn't have been possible if we had booked through a tour operator/travel agent - we had booked direct with H10 and had paid them ourselves on arrival. So we ended up eating out 3 times at night, and cooking in the apartment the rest of the time, which was OK but not the original intention and not as relaxing.
So if you don't mind what you eat, or don't mind cooking yourselves , in our opinion this hotel is fine!
And by the way , there are no lifts, although a member of staff carried our cases up to our apartment on level 3.
This is a three-star hotel, the other H10 hotels on the island are four-star. In future we will choose one of the others!

Room Tip: Pay extra - as we did - for a superior room. They have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happychappiesGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion_LGardens, Director General at H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your letter that I have shared with my team for its review, and to which we have given our full attention.

In H10 Lanzarote Gardens we always pursue to satisfy 100% of our customers. We are very satisfied to read that you found positive aspects such as the hotel’s cleanliness and good maintenance, the excellent facilities for families with children, the apartment, the gardens and the staff.
On the contrary, we have not achieved the same with the food, and we are very sorry. I have informed our chef and we are taking the necessary corrective measures in order to avoid unintentional mistakes in the meals’ preparation.
We would like that you give us a second chance to regain your trust, and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Iris Berger
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday at Lanzarote Gardens, with my husband and 2year old granddaughter.
Fantastic place for children so happy children make happy parents and grandparents. We didn't have a stressful meal as our granddaughter sat mainly at the little table for children which was a brilliant idea. The food we found to be better at lunch time, after speaking to people who have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years they said the food had been better and that they had found it to be cold this time and they had told the staff that they had got to know and they were told that there had been problems in the kitchen to which were being sorted, even saying this we did not go hungry.
All staff very friendly and the Blue Team you are amazing, the shows are brilliant.
We stayed in room 369 facing front of hotel with sea view we had 2 balconies one with sun beds where the sun shone all afternoon until about 6.30
The rooms are kept spotless and the fan in bedroom is defiantly required, as there is no air con.
Brilliant that there are several pool areas, and play areas .
We stayed all inclusive the drinks weren't very good beer was ok but we have had better but didn't spoil our holiday, overall a very enjoyable holiday would recommend and defiantly a return visit will be planned in the future.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Santorinilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been staying at the Lanzarote Gardens ,for six years. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Reception staff are always willing to help. Even when,you can't get a signal on your phone,or Kindle. They will do their best to help. A special thank you goes to Javier,on reception,who did his best to swap our accommodation from a top floor apartment,to a ground floor one,for my sister,who has a dodgy back. He is so professional ,and a thoroughly nice man.
Our only criticism,was that we were killing time,from leaving our apartment,to us being picked up to go to the airport.So we decided we had an hour,that we would go to the Paradise snack bar. There were three of us,and we just wanted a light snack,so all three of us ordered a burger. I had the , what was described as the special,my sister had the chicken,and my brother-in-law had the beefburger. We waited an hour for it to arrive,and when it came it was cold. And they all tasted the same. Very disappointing.This needs improvement. Every thing else was spot on,and we all enjoyed our stay. Thank you. And we will be back.




Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank smokiejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

just come back from a weeks holiday with my friend and her two daughters and i must say everyone made us feel very welcome and was very warming. i would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go away with children x totally 100/ a great hotel xx
EXCELLENT FAMILY HOLIDAY PLACE DONT EVEN NEED TO LEAVE TO PLACE TO HAVE A GOOD TIME WITH YOUR FAMILY XX

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tru70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited the hotel in July of this year. Upon arrival at the hotel we were speedily checked in and allocated a spacious bungalow, which you should request when booking as they have air conditioning fitted in the living room and have a fan in the bedroom. As this is a 3 star hotel we didn't expect the food to be at a high standard but we were pleasantly surprised at the variety and standard of the food although it is very repetitive as you find with a lot of all inclusive hotels. Where the hotel did excel was with the children's entertainment. In the day there were lots of activities for them to participate in and they were awarded certificates in the mini disco in the evening. The animation team really did make this a memorable experience for the children as they were entertained both in the daytime and the evening. I would certainly recommend this hotel to families and we will be returning to the hotel again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Request a bungalow as these have AC in the living room and a fan in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stubLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were staying in matagorga for a couple of weeks and decided to come here for a week for a change of scenery.We found it a very pleasant stay.The staff were lovely and friendly.The reception staff very informative and friendly.We had e mailed the day before to ask for sea view and got a fabulous room with sea and pool views and really big balcony.We had joined the H10 Club last year when we stayed In another hotel belonging to them and even got money off our bill when leaving due to points we earned on what we spent so couldn't complain.

The room itself was really nice and spacious and spotless clean.Had everything you need if you did want to cook which we didn't.Had a full oven ,kettle ,microwave and coffee maker.In the sitting room was a pull out sofa bed which sleeps two people.In bedroom two single beds.TV in bedroom and sitting room also which is unusual but not many English channels apart from true movies,disney and news but that didn't bother us.No air conditioning either but not a bother.

We stayed half board but upgraded to AI for an extra 40e a day for 2 adults and one child which worked out great.Food was pretty nice.You would always find something.Beer was good and also included some cocktails.
Entertainment was excellent at night.Best I have seen on any holiday.
Pools were really big and always got a sunbed but did have to go down early .We went to a place called Cactus Jacks a few nights.When you come out of hotel turn left.Good entertainment here at night if youre looking for a change.All in all a really good holiday and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Lanzarote Gardens and would recommend it for families.
We visited in August as a family of 4.
The hotel itself is located close to the beach, shops, restaurants bars, Drs and a chemist.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment. I would say that the apartments are very dated and that air conditioning should be added as the ground floor rooms can be very hot as there are no windows just doors out.
The hotel offers 3 swimming pools of differing depths and one features a slide. There is always a lifeguard on duty.
My children enjoyed the 2 playgrounds and small soft play area and the bouncy castle that is put up on a Monday by the pool.
The kids clubs are fantastic and the entertainers make this hotel constant fun and their enthusiasm is infectious. my daughter loved going to mini club every day, twice a day!
Every evening there is a mini disco for the children followed by an entertaining family show which my family enjoyed every night.
The food is very average and quite repetitive but there is always something you can eat. The roast pork and paella were always very good but the attempts at Chinese and Mexican were not good at all. Breakfast was average with the pancakes, freah eggs and fruit being the best choice. Lunch was very good, the restaurant was quieter with excellent salads, grilled fish and meat.The food for children seemed to focus on something fried with chips which is a shame but the idea of a children's buffet is a good one. As all inclusive you have constant access to food and drinks though not branded spirits. My husband enjoyed the beer and my children the chocolate milkshakes with whipped cream.
My daughter had her foot run over my a maintenance trolley and lost her big toenail on day 3 which did impact hugely on our
stay overall as she could not swim afterwards and we had to visit the dr daily. The hotel have advised that they will no longer be using the high sided trolleys in the pool/playground area as a result of this accident and also paid for all her medical treatment.
A special mention to Georgi from the entertainment team, my family think you were wonderful, fun, caring and a brilliant entertainer. You are the star of the blue team!
All in all a great holiday and we will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tayk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
1.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,113 reviews
22.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias 13, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $111 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location in Costa Teguise, H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens is a hotel designed for families with children. in a contemporary, welcoming design, the hotel has the modern Suites, heatable pools, a fun pirate boat with slides and a family area with a children’s buffet at the Famara Restaurant. The hotel also offers an extensive programme of entertainment to ensure that children and adults alike have a fantastic time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Lanzarote Gardens Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Gardens
h10 Lanzarote Gardens Costa Teguise
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing