We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,861)
Filter reviews
3,861 results
Traveler rating
1,653
1,325
531
215
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,653
1,325
531
215
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mai tai beach front plaza verde soleil bar hacienda restaurant buddy club self catering beachfront apartments man made beach lagoon area onsite supermarket superior apartment private beach on site shop fridge freezer olympic pool heated pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 3,861 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the sands beach resort for 11 nights in March! We travelled with jet2.com and our room was allocated on arrival! To be honest we were disappointed with the room! The plaza we were in (canaries) was tired and not one of the better ones, the room was very basic!
Positives were the staff! Buddy’s club kept my kids entertained for the whole of our holiday allowing us to enjoy time as a couple without the kids being felt there were shoved into a kids club! They adored every one of the team and still talk about them 5 months on!
Very handy for the beach which is lovely and clean and there is some lovely bars and restaurants nearby too!
If you keep walking along past a smaller hyper market on the left you’ll come to a larger one on the right which has fantastic produce which is very reasonably priced! (A butchers within the market cuts you meat on request)
There is a little square there too with an eat all you can Chinese and they make the food to order! We visited twice it was so good!
The hotel itself is great and would highly recommend! We are booked in again for March 19 (booked privately) can’t wait!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Alexcrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you for your review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday.

You were allocated plaza canaries because you booked a classic room and all our classic rooms are on plaza canarias. we will be refurbishing plaza canarias rooms one by one.

We are dlighted to read your children loved the Buddy Club and that left you some "adult time".

As a private rental your stay here next time will be much different.

Your stay in our hotel will be as an illegal guest.

To Clarify: In order to let a property for tourist short term purpose you must have a Touristica Licence. Only one Touristica Licence can be granted in one complex. The Touristica Licence is held by Sands Beach Resort SL. In order to have the licence you have to undergo many safety checks and inspections of the correct public liability insurance, correct procedure of hiring of staff and maintenance of proper employment contracts and regulations. Therefore to stay in a property that has not a licence is illegal. You are not insured as a guest of the hotel as you are not a guest of the hotel. Check if your travel insurance will cover you in the event of an illness and accident if you stay in an illegally let property anywhere. This hotel will not be able to confirm you as a guest of our hotel when asked to.


Private rentals have to pay the hotel for the following at reception:

Gym.
Beach Towel Service
Sunbeds on the lagoon beach
Buddy Club £20 per day per child
Adult activities and classes.
The kayaks, the windsurfing, and SUP (Stand Up Paddle) on the lagoon
.

Illegal letting drains the life blood from the hotel and puts jobs in jeopardy. It is totally illegal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Back now a couple of weeks from a lovely holiday in Sands Beach…
This was our third visit to this resort. The previous 2 years we have left feeling we should have stayed longer so we booked for 10 days this time.
From the first contact through their reservations department you know you are in good hands. They arranged a transfer for us (child chair included), put us in touch with the driver…nothing is too much hassle.
The resort is perfectly located in Costa Teguise and caters for families and athletes…which for me translates on healthy food options every day should you want them!
We had lunch a few times in Mai Tie with tasty dishes and a nice relaxed service.
The apartments are very clean and all the staff you encounter are courteous and friendly.
There is a lot of variety at both breakfast and dinner with plenty of salad options, hot dishes and desserts.
You get to know the staff as they are so friendly and welcoming.
The supermarket on site stocks all your basics and the prices are not that bad. If you want more variety there there are a couple of HyperDino’s along the main road.
We followed the advice of Rosemary who recommends trips and things to do and went to the market day in Teguise and also Rancho Texas, which were both good experiences.
We have already been in touch to rebook for next year as we feel so comfortable there. Looking forward to next summer!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank casablanca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed yet another good holiday here with us in Sands Beach Resort.

We have a very high rate of repeat guests. Many families meeting here year after year and its great to watch all the kids grow up year after year. Many of our repeat guests have become our friends.

Thank you for your comments about our staff and restaurants.

We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope that our reservations department have offered you our Repeat guest loyalty discount. Please do not forget to ask for it.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family of four triathletes and were pleasantly surprised at the number of activities available for adults and kids. The coaches and fitness instructors were friendly and helpful. However the gym was small with not much equipment. We hired bikes on site as the costs were similar to others in the town and the shop staff were very helpful on routes to explore.

The accommodation is very tired and could do with a refresh - cupboard doors not fitting for example. However the cleaners cane in most days and kept it clean, which was not easy with the amount of sand! Cooking facilities are very basic with very few pots but we managed adequately. Laundry facilities are eye-wateringly expensive at €12 for a single wash!!!

Avoid the onsite supermarket as very expensive. Turn left out of the hotel and there is a small supermarket within a 5 minute walk. The main town is only a 15 minute walk along the beach where there are numerous restaurants and tourist tat shops.

Our only compliant is the sun beds. Despite the management having a set of rules about not reserving sun beds with towels or taking them onto your terrace, they did nothing to enforce this. The first week many were already bagged with towels by 8am. The second week was worse. At the end of each day people were wheeling multiple beds into their terraces or in some cases into their rooms!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank VickyP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and facilities.

We are sorry our gym did not meet with your expectations.

We are currently refurbishing our apartments.

Our on site supermarket has a huge selection of UK and Irish products. Our supermarket is open from 07.00 - midlnight 7 days a week for the convenience of our guests when all other supermarkets are closed. Our supermarket has our onw freshly baked bread rolls and croissants by 07.00 each day.

If we had a call from one guest we would have gone and lifted all the towels and freed the beds up for you or any guest. Our security remove the excess beds from the terraces at on their 01.00 and 02.00 patrol.

We so hope you had an enjoyable holiday at Sands Beach Resort and we hope you will return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Stopped a week, superior 1 bedroom in Plaza Verde (room 18). Great room, spacious, clean and well equipped. Could do with AC, but with front and back door/window open the breeze was good enough.

Great layout, although if you’ve young kids you want to be on any zone other than Verde. Nothing wrong with Verde but it’s the one with the Olympic pool rather than the fun pools (and you have to wear a swimming cap).

Lagoon was pleasant - although it was very windy the day we were down there. It is a tad ‘squidgy/muddy’ near the centre but nothing to worry about.

Staff attentive, smiley, helpful and welcoming throughout our stay.

Only negative was the 3 eateries; couldn’t put my finger on why; they weren’t unpleasant. Maybe lack of choice? I was glad though we were s/c.

Would definitely come back if time and money allowed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Toeknee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your holidays with us here at Sands Beach Resort.

We do hope you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

I have been to Sands quite a few times, and despite often intending to write a review I never have!
I have recently read and heard a few conflicting comments on the place so think its the perfect time to share my thoughts..... ( Visited Sands this year in July).
I first visited Sands when our youngest son was a baby! He is now 8 years old. I also have 2 other children, now aged 10 and 12. so its fair to say I have experienced holidaying at Sands with children at various ages....
Sands is EXCELLENT for kids. Particularly young children. The reason I say this, is that the kids club does usually consist of children between 4 and 8.. (Despite it being for up to the age of 12). But as most parents know, from this age they don't usually want to attend a kids club anyway and being that there are 7 pools on site, and also a man made lagoon- kids above the age of 8 seem to not have any trouble finding fun in these( with supervision of course)Along with the pool tables, ping pong, games room, tennis courts. Not to mention there are various sporting activities and classes that kids are allowed to take part in (Mine particularly enjoyed the trampolining fit class on Plaza Verde and Kayaking). My youngest this year seem to develop a love of fishing with a 9euro fishing rod that we bought locally, and happily sat by the lagoon fishing( and yes actually did catch 3 fish)!!
The younger the children are - the more they love the club i have found over the years... what goes with this is their love for 'Buddy' ( The resorts cuddly mascot). What this means is that they will insist going to the nightly kids disco at 8(this is where they also receive certificates for participation in their daily activities in Buddy's club). I am relieved to admit that our children have now out grown this as can't deny it does become a little tedious, as it truly is the same night after night ( Sands would be very wise to look into changing this). However being a parent experiencing the ridiculous speed of which our children are growing up - I would actually advise anyone just to embrace this sweet stage and enjoy watching their young kiddies having fun, and often embarrassingly pulling you up to join in the Buddy dancing with them!

So Sands is truly great for kids! The staff turnover I would say isn't huge from what I have seen.. which is lovely when you return to the same place. The high `5's the kids get from all the lovely staff that remember them ( Lamhir for 1, kids love you)!!
It feels very safe for kids..... yes of course you can't ever be complacent with this wherever you go... but it truly does !

So - Is Sands a place to go if you DON'T have kids ?
mmmmm, interesting.....
Well as long as you realise that there WILL be lots of kids about and splashing about in the pools having fun, being kids, then hell yes .. why not ! ESPECIALLY if you are into sports and keeping fit !
There are numerous fitness classes, such as pilates, TRX , yoga, stretching, trampolining and again the instructors that run these are truly great ! There are organised running sessions. A gym (not amazing but pretty good for a holiday resort hotel).A 25 metre lanes pool! Paddle boarding and kayaking..

Restaurants - ( Hacienda Breakfast EXCELLENT.... i know the apartments are set up for self catering but in my opinion people are crazy not to book breakfast or at least occasionally. Its truly superb ! Fresh omelettes made to order etc.... an abundance of fruit/cold meats/ cheeses/cereals /fresh juices etc.... infact my only criticism actually is that the berries were not always fresh ! They were sometimes from a tin perhaps! But this is me being really picky! For those who really want to start their days on holiday like they are on holiday - you can even have a glass of Cava at breakfast should you wish ;-)

Mai Tai - pool bar.. Good food, good sized portions. Can eat here during the day and evening.

Entertainment : MMMMM....... this is where Sands could genuinely improve !! Starts at 9, after the kids disco....
Would keep people more on site i am sure if this improved.
Cant say much positive here, however I don't go to Sands for the evening entertainment the hotel provides. The resort is lovely... we usually are still out in the restaurants these days much later, then go back and enjoy drinking on the private patio...
But for the parents with kids who go to the disco.... then, won't deny room for improvement here!

ROOMS:
The rooms are clean and spacious and certainly equipped with everything you could possibly need !
Yes , like a lot of reviews point out - they are dated. Can't deny that and I am sure the hotel is more than aware of this as they are in the process of renovating them. However Sands is a big complex, so this will take time and sadly not a quick process. I had the pleasure of being in a renovated apartment this year and it truly was fabulous. It made Sands feel like the 4 star rating that it truly deserves. The older rooms, are absolutely fine ! NOT bad, 'just ' dated! Not a big deal ! Can go into more detail on the rooms, should anyone like...

I have read a lot of reviews with people asking about booking process etc..."Direct or tour operator?"
First couple of times I booked Sands I went through a tour operator and all was fine...However since booking direct with them, the whole process has been far better than fine! Much more personal and the level of detail into making sure everything is spot on has been priceless. This has all been down to Ryan Jenkins who works in Sands reservations. Very polite and efficient and a huge credit to Sands! Highly recommend booking direct !

Lastly - Sands like most places does need improving in areas. Don't go there expecting 5 star, the un renovated rooms could arguably be seen more 3 star than the resorts 4 star rating ( in my opinion) BUT - that's only down to the age of the rooms nothing else. The renovated rooms- SUPERB !
Staff - fabulous! Always happy and smiley and so willing to help.
Clean, fab pools .. ( Ooh that does remind me - the island in the `Palmeras pool, needs the fake grass covering on that the ones in Mai Tai pool have, as are slippery )!!
Facilities and sport - Excellent.
So all in all, a fabulous place! Lots of happy memories here, and still ticking all those boxes for us to want to return again next year :-)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sarahpri0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

WOW!! At the end of that review you have not left very much for us to say!!

We have taken note of the jobs you would like completed for your return next year - consider them done!!

After all these years some of our repeat guests have become our friends.

Thank you for your frank and very informative review which is much appreciated by everyone.

See you next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews