We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a gorge time!”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a week at Sands Beach with my parents and we had a fabulous time. We usually go away with my parents once a year for a week as we don't see them often and this was the perfect choice for all 4 of us. My parents loved the relaxed atmosphere, it was quiet around the pool at our villa so great to read and just chill out. There is a large pool with a waterfall that the children there seemed to enjoy this area is a bit more lively and good for families.
The accomodation itself was great, very comfortable and spacious, nice decor too. I loved the fact you have all tha facilities from home so you can stay in and cook and enjoy a drink on the terrace, although we chose go out everynight as there are lots of nice restaurants close by.
In the evening we really enjoyed the entertainment, the shows were great. Also went to the main restaurant and had a lovely evening there. We had snacks at the Mai Tai snack bar everyday too. The staff were very friendly in all areas of the hotel.
I would recommend this resort for all ages, we had a great time and do enjoy a back massage while you're there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,980 - 2,986 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

We have just spent a week here and were really pleased. The complex is well laid out around 6 'squares', each with their own main and baby pool. These enclosed areas feel really safe and ours was sheltered from the breeze. The private beach/ lagoon is especially good for kids and there is loads of free beach equipment available to use. The place was spotless, apartment really nice. There is a good mix of nationalities and a frieldly atmosphere. We ate out so I can't comment on the food but the restaurants in Costa Teguise are really good. All in all I'd highly recommend it and would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liverbird55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Just returned home this evening, but didn't really want to leave.
The weather was fantastic for Feb considering it was snowing and sub zero temp in Britain.
The resort was fantastic and apartments were great, the kids loved the swimming pools even though they were freezing.
The children loved the childrens club and wanted to go everyday, they took a special shine to Raquel (Rachael).
The Hacienda was great value for breakfast with an unlimited buffet of breads, cereals, cakes, and fry ups for £6.00 for adults and £3.50 for children, this really set you up for the day.
Costa Teguise is really nice, we much preferred it to Puerto del Carmen where we went for a day.
We only wished we had gone for longer than a week, but will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dazzlin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Booked the villa direct with owner @ flights with Jet2. Worked out a lot better value for money. We stayed here 11 nights with our daughter who was 9mths old. This was a brilliant complex for people with kids as everything you needed was on site. Also with the pool just outside your villa you could relax & still watch them. The baby pool was brilliant & our daughter loved it. Didn't eat in the restaurant because lots of other people told us it was a bit of a carvery & not very good. Loads of places to eat just down the road so this wasn't a problem. It was a good 10/15mins walk into the main area but we found it a pleasant enough stroll. The villa itself was a 1 bedroom that we stopped in (Montana 29) & this was a lovely big villa for just us 2 and our daughter. There was a sofa bed & a pull down double also but we didn't use these. I think it would have been a bit cramped if you had 6 people in it but would be fine for 4. The villa was very clean & everything worked as it should. The oven took a bit of working out but we got there in the end. The complex was very clean & pretty. The bar meals which were served in the lagoon area were very nice and we went a few times. Lots of kids playing in the little lagoon with sand - very safe for them here. The onsite shop a bit more expensive than other shops but they always are. The reception area very grand & clean. Internet access available + you could even print off your pictures if you wanted to. There was a gym but we didn't use it. The bar/club area seemed to be very popular and they usually had something on every night but we only went once and decided not really for us because of baby daughter. Will definately be back here but not this year as we have already booked to go to Ibiza. Planning to return in 2010 with daughter and stepson.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Princessfi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

just returned last night form this resort and cant complain about it at all , the hotel and staff were lovely, the animation team were so friendly and cheerful all the time. We stayed in a 2bed beachfront which was really nice although it was cold at night , we hired a heater from reception and that solved the problem, cleaner couldn,t do enough for you always asking if you need cleaning done,restruant staff were so friendly to ,we were half board , the meals were nice with a different choice each night .The resort itself is so nice and so many pools to choose from.As the euro is rubbish at the moment,we found the shopping a bit pricey,in the hotel supermarket they wanted 3.50 for a tin of beans and sausage, 3.50 for a warbutons loaf,and the kids sweets were a joke to, so take your pennies if your self catering, as a few people who had been before said the prices had more than doubled form last year,,,over all it was a lovely resort and so child friendly,would go again....

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SunnyGlasgowMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

This hotel resort is truly great for kids as the private beach with communal toys and little boats etc are a hit. Our 2 1/5 year old loved it and there were other toddlers to play sand castles with, The staff in the mini club deserve an award for full on enthusiasm and were fantastic with the kids. We stayed in a 2 bed beach front apt which I would definitely recommend for the views and proximity to the beach and Mai Tai Bar and beach front walks. That was all the upside to the trip. The downside is the apartment itself, because the weather was mixed we often had to stay inside and it was like staying in a smelly cold caravan from 15-20 years ago. The sheets were awful and would'nt stay on the beds, and it really was freezing at nightime. Even in my fleece pajamas (had read other reviews about the cold evenings in winter months) and hot water bottle I was cold. Ended up renting a heater from the hotel but when it was windy the french door in the upstairs bedroom would rattle and the curtains would blow (on the inside). The downstairs bedroom was warmer but smelled like smelly feet (but alas not ours)in the morning with condensation on the windows. Overall the apartments could do with re-tiling, some insulation, new furnishings....the armchair was badly stained, new beds, and some duvets !!! But if you are not fussy about such things then or if it is the summer months when you are out all day and evening maybe you wouldnt notice as much. Food in Mai Tai pool bar consisted of a cold frozen pizza and other disgusting food but its lovely to sit for a beer. The hotel complex is very pretty and really suited to children and the staff, especially the activity and mini club staff are outstanding.
If I didnt have to sleep there, I would definitely go back but not until the apartments are given an overhaul.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shopalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Sands beach was lovely all the staff are friendly especially the restaurant and entertainers. Entertainment at night was basic. Appartment was clean and the private beach was gorgeus!
Really enjoyed it and would defo go back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fothergill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,921 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,316 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $77 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, TV-SAT, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing