We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled and relaxed!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chilled and relaxed!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from this resort and although some niggles like not enough parasols around pools and towels on sunbeds - on our first night we saw somebody reserving hers at 12.20am, no word of a lie - we thoroughly enjoyed our time here! We stayed at plaza verde and loved using a pool set aside specifically for swimming without having to avoid inflatables and being dive bombed which we joined in with at the other pools!! We loved the lagoon area too and spent many a lazy day there. The resort has a very relaxed atmosphere and never once did we feel like we were away in the height of the season which was a nice change! Ate at The Hacienda and the Mai Tai a few times and although we felt them a little overpriced, the food and service were good.
We can understand some of the negative comments from other reviewers but feel the pros outweigh the cons and we would quite happily return.

Room Tip: Beachfront are great if you have young children. Upstairs rooms have a little more privacy than dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KONAON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and our hotels and its facilities.
What can we say about someone reserving beds at 12.20 am except - sad. You can only look in amazement. Sadly the towel would be removed over night and therein lies another row and another bad review!!
You cannot beat plaza verde if you are here without children and a want a relaxing holiday. No water pistols nor missiles in Verde!!
We are glad you enjoyed the food at the Mai Tai and The Hacienda.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,111
    389
    161
    111
See reviews for
1,441
1,069
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived after 10 pm. On arrival booking in was straight forward. We were directed to our apartment and had to make our own way. Our cases were taken and delivered to our apartment by motorised buggy. The porter found us en route and guided us safely to the apartment . The complex is so big and as late at night I felt we should have been taken to our apartment.

Our apartment was more than we could have imagined. Just like a bungalow! Could have stayed forever. The kitchen facilities surprised me . Oven, microwave, washing machine , fridge freezer , kettle, toaster and ample dishes and cutlery! One double bed and pull out sofa bed. Fitted wardrobes . Many coat hangers. Washroom and seperate area for toilet, bidet and Shower. Water always powerful and hot. We had an outside terrace area with table chairs and parasol!
The pool was fabulous! Plenty if poolside sun loungers. Some better than others.
Daily room cleaning with option to cancel the service by puting no service required sign in the patio door window.
Very handy having on site shop which we found was prices comparable with other shops. Daily bakery in shop was wonderful for snacks. Short walk to main square with abundance of good quality restaurants. Prices ranging from €6 to €40 for 3 course steak meal including drinks. The atmosphere within the main square was unbelievable ! Many nationalities all sharing the square . Great place to stop for a baileys coffee or an evening cocktail whilst people watching . €3 taxi ride back to Sands Beach was no problem ! Truly recommend the Sands Beach Resort. In fact have just booked for 2 weeks for next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Terrieann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel and its facilities.
Our shop in reception is open from 07.30-midnight 7 days per week. We stock of UK imported milk and fresh bread baked on the premises. Our prices are competitive with local shops for branded goods.
We are delighted you have booked for next year and we look forward to seeing you again. It is great you booked for two weeks next time.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday staying in a superior beach front apartment with 2 children aged 7 and 10. We all loved the location of the apartment and the beach which was safe for the kids to use as well as the many swimming pools to try.

The apartment was cleaned everyday by the maids who earned their money cleaning the sand that was everywhere!! The restaurant satisfied my two fussy eaters everyday and the breakfast is particularly good. Although check in was slow the reception staff were helpful and on departure we were able to extend our room till 3pm after asking at 10am the previous day.

We all had a great holiday and the location although on the edge of the resort was only a 10 minute walk to shops and a further 5 mins to the centre which is a great atmosphere on a night time.

Thanks to Rosemary for two great trips, Sunday market and the volcano well worth it!! We also got the local bus to the capital Areceife which only cost 1euro 35 each.

We would recommend this hotel and are definitely planning to return in the future.

Room Tip: Beachfront apartment definitely worth it with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and the facilities of our hotel.
We are pleased you were able to get a late check out. We can only give a late checkout depending on the arrival time of the next guest and we always allow it if we can. It is not always possible and you can check with reception the day before you are due to leave.
We will pass your comments to Rosemary who is in reception every day from 09.00- 14.00. She hosts an information meeting in The Soleil Bar every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11.00. She has information on our hotel and its facilities and how to access them. She has maps and information and discount cards. Everyone is welcome to the meeting.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to meeting you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am currently staying at Sands Beach and cannot understand any of the bad reviews. Some apartments are privately owned, and if these have been booked independently, the chances are that they are not up to the high standard required by the complex. They may also be rented illegally, and if you book direct with an owner, you do risk the chance of being asked to leave whilst on holiday by the local police, as Spanish Law requires a rental licence to let an apartment. My apartment has all amenities, the staff are wonderful, and the pool is great. The supermarket is competitively priced, and like home, its swings and roundabouts with others nearby. This is my second visit to Sands Beach and I look forward to coming again and again!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are convenient if you have small kiddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunbeam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind comments and support.
We do not understand some of the reviews either. We have so many contented customers and this can be seen in the number of great and positive reviews. We have a huge amount of repeat guests.
We do not think our hotel is perfect but we work hard to ensure that everyone has a great holiday. We are aware there is much work ahead of us but we have great staff who care about our guests and this is priceless. There are pros and cons about our hotel but we firmly believe that the pros far outweigh the cons and we are proud of our hotel and our staff.
We thank you for your support and we hope you continue to enjoy your holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived at the hotel in the last week of July and stayed for 8 nights in a self-catering apartment. The first impression of the hotel is excellent and as soon as you walk in the entrance the hotel staff are very welcoming and it is a nice place to be. Check-in is very easy and the staff provide you with all the information you require.

The apartment was immaculate when we arrived and we were supplied with ample utensils and dishes to cook with.

There is no need to book any excursions before arriving at the hotel. A lovely lady called Rosemary is there everyday at specified times to book excursions for you. She is very helpful and the booking process is simple.

In response to those who have complained about the being next to laned swimming pool, there is no requirement to only swim in that pool. The hotel has at least 4 other swimming pools, as well as the beach area near the Mai Tai bar. I do admit the pools can get crowded, as you would expect, however there are still spaces generally available.

The hotels Mai Tai bar by the beach area is very good, the food and drinks are well priced and we often had lunch there as the salads were really nice. The bar also has the only heated swimming pool of the hotel and jacuzzi so it's a nice place to relax if you don't like going in the unheated pools.

The hotel also has a supermarket and indoor bar (Soleil Bar). The bar has good entertainment every night, especially for children. In fact overall the hotel has great entertaining facilities for children all day long with their buddies club. The supermarket has good stock, and is good for some essentials, however for more selection I would say to walk to the SuperDino 10 minutes up the road.

Other facilities available are a very good gym with ample weights, and the hotel puts on a great selection of sports activities every day throughout the day. There is also a good spa facility available for those who want to get a massage!

Overall the hotel was excellent, however there are a few minor points to note:
1) The hotel states it has a policy of not allowing people to essentially reserve beds by the pools, and that security will remove towels where people are not there for long periods. However, in reality this does not happen and people go out to the pools to put towels on their beds at 8am everyday, of which many of the beds end up not being used due to this. As such the hotel should enforce this policy better.
2) The matress on the bed in the apartment was the only negative as it was a bit hard and could have done with changing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday.
Rosemary is in reception every day from 09.00-14.00 and she has plenty of information on our hotel and the island. She has a range of excursions to suit all ages and pockets. Rosemary hosts in information meeting every Monday, Wednesday and Friday in our Soleil Bar in reception at 11.00. Everyone is welcome.
We are sorry about the sunbed situation. You can watch the reviews on here as we remove the beds from the terraces each morning. It is impossible to make everyone happy.
We have a wide range of mattresses and we would have changed your mattress for you had you let us know. You only needed to call reception on 1210 and we would have organised a new mattress for you. We ask anyone not to endure anything call reception and we will do our best to sort your issues.
We thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 11 nights HB from 27.07.14 - 07.08.14, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 15 and 12. Overall had a good holiday with positives and negatives. We upgraded to a beach front apartment a few weeks before arriving directly with the hotel. The beach front apartments are good, spacious accommodation, directly in front of the lagoon area with sea view. All areas are kept clean with usual daily maid services. All reception and bar/restaurant staff were pleasant and approachable. The location was good only 5 mins to nearest shops and 15 mins to centre for all bars and restaurants although on-site shop was handy. I took part in the Zumba class and enjoyed it. Pool situated at the Mai Tai seemed the best despite queuing for it to be opened from 10 am. Kids enjoyed the use of the free kayaks on the lagoon. My son got involved with football, tennis and beach volleyball. We hired bikes from the on-site bike hire for a day for €11 each and would recommend this to others. Rosemary (based near reception) was very helpful with booking excursions and providing advice. I would recommend the on-site photographer who is happy to do a photo shoot around the hotel and is reasonably priced.

And the negatives ... breakfast was good but couldn't say the same for the evening meals. We're not fussy eaters but struggled to find food to our liking it was either very salty, not enough veg, under cooked meat, flies on cold section etc. A BBQ evening was advertised on FB and around the hotel at the Mai Tai however this never took place. The waterfall and jacuzzi were never on for our entire stay. Around the other pools, sunbeds were hard to find and were seen stacked up in 3-4's outside people's apartments therefore not able to use these pools. Entertainment was poor, nothing for teenagers to do and who's idea was it to paint the games room and have it closed during the main summer period!? Seemed to be a lack of entertainment staff and they didn't try and get kids together. Evening entertainment was poor, some nights nothing took place and only suited much younger children. Wi-fi was expensive and only one device could be used at any time so with 2 kids this was costly. We did ask reception for a clothes airer and were told only privately owned apartments had them as they had purchased them so this was a bit of a pain to try towels etc.

We couldn't extend our room on the day of departure as fully booked so used the courtesy room provided. Reception directed us to the Wellness Centre where we were greeted rudely by a receptionist and told to be quiet as this is a relaxation area! I would suggest you re-locate your courtesy rooms as this was obviously an inconvenience and no towels were provided and the water was cold so a complete waste of time.

If we were to return we would stay SC and use apartment as a base.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cozmo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your balanced review which we find very useful.
First of all we are sorry we could not give you a late checkout but it was unavoidable. We are also sorry for the way you were treated when you went to the Wellness Centre and for the lack of hot water. We thank you for letting us know about this and we will make sure there is hot water when we have to use the centre again and we assure you people will be welcomed in future.
We are pleased that your children got involved in the activities in the hotel as we have had reviews from people who never found the activities claiming there was nothing for the children to do.
We will pass your comments to Rosemary. She is in reception every day from 09.00-14.00. Rosemary now hosts an information meeting at 11.00 every Monday, Wednesday and Friday in the Soleil Bar. Everyone is welcome.
We are disappointed you did not like the evening meal.
You may have misunderstood we did not advertise a regular BBQ in the Mai Tai we merely showed pictures of the BBQ that was held on the night of the world cup final. We are sorry if you were led to believe it was going to be a regular thing. Due to winds and breezes it became impossible to plan and host BBQ´s as a regular event.
We cannot turn on the waterfall when there is a breeze. The wind blows the water out on top of the people lying around the pool at the Mai Tai and they are not happy. We had some days last week where there was no breeze and it was turned on.
All our entertainment for both adults and children is advertised on the boards on the information wall in reception. We have a very big entertainment team. It is a very big complex. It is a fine line between disturbing people and getting people together for activities. That is why we have the boards so people know exactly what is happening and when and do not feel forced to join by annoying animation people shouting at them. We advise people to take pictures of the activities boards on their phones so you have the timetables with you at all times.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Sands Beach resort for two weeks in a superior beach front apartment. It is a large complex with many swimming pools to choose from. It was lovely to have the beach and lagoon a few footsteps from your door. The boxes with beach toys for the children was really handy but it was a shame that some holiday makers took things from the box and kept them for the whole holiday despite hardly using them!

The whole complex is kept immaculately clean and it is clear that all the cleaning and maintenance staff work incredibly hard. Our room was cleaned whenever requested but the time it was cleaned varied from first thing to late afternoon.

The sports facilities are great with lots of classes on as well as a good sized gym. Our family even had the chance to use the dance studio when it wasn't in use as we have the world street dance championships coming up so that was really useful. Also the wellness centre was excellent too. I arrived on holiday with a really sore neck and it got to the point where I couldn't sleep. Thanks to Eva, who gave me a few deep tissue massages, it meant I could enjoy the rest of the holiday.

We were half board and the food was great. The evening meal was based around a theme each night e.g Italian, tapas, Mexican etc.. However there was always salads, pasta, chips or a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian grills that the chef would cook on the hot plate for you. The staff in La Hascienda were always very friendly and welcoming and went above and beyond with the children, who always felt very special.

Be sure to know when your first meal is as we missed our first one having arrived after we would have normally have eaten. On asking reception if we could have breakfast and lunch on the last day, the answer was 'no!'. Also, check out time is 12noon but there is a possibility to extend this to 3pm for 20€. However, be warned that if you are visiting during high season and staying in a Beach front apartment the chances of extending your check out is pretty slim. It is also not possible to know this until after 4pm the day before due to the systems they have in place. I know this caused quite a bit of Frustration amongst other holiday makers we were lucky enough to have kind neighbours who let us use their shower! Although apparently one villa is put aside for people to use for free.

Lastly, our children who are 5 and 9 enjoyed the mini disco and pj party every evening and the entertainment staff were super with the children. Buddy's club is definitely most suited to 4-8 years old. It's a shame there isn't something separate and more suited to the 9-12 age group. My son who is 9 went a couple of times but felt it was too babyish as well as him not wanting to wear a 'buddy's' t-shirt ( although I can see why staff do this).

All in all a good holiday and we would return again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CasCH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We are disappointed to hear that people are now hogging the toys as well as the beds. It is very difficult to legislate for the sharing of amenities when some people insist on being so selfish. We can only apologise.
It is great news to us that you were able to use our gym and exercise room facilities to practise for the World Street Dance Championships. It is a pity you did not tell us and we could have come to watch or you could have given us a small preview in the Soleil Bar one night.
We are not sure about your remark about the Half Board. A cold meal is delivered and left in your room on your arrival night if you arrive too late for dinner. We have sent you a personal message as we need to know if you did not receive your meal. We have sent you contact details so you can let us know.
We can allow a late check out if there is no one coming into your room before you leave. We are happy to allow you to stay if the arrival time of the next guest allows it. It is as simple as that. There is no deliberate plan to upset people. We have a courtesy room.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments. We look forward to hearing from you and seeing you again in Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing