We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Came here for a week with my two children age 13 and 5. Upon arrival was imagining that check in would take hours due to previous reviews, but we were checked in within 10 minutes.

The room was easy enough to find following the map reception had given us. We stayed in Amarillo section, which was always quiet, which suited me as the section with the park seemed very hectic in comparison.

The room was dated but to be honest, it doesn't bother us as long as it's clean, which it was.

I love the idea of being able to pop in and out of your room as you please when sat outside around the pool, instead of staying inside a hotel building. This was to our advantage because it was convenient for the use of the toilet, getting drinking, lunch etc.... Loved the fact that the beach was a 1 minute walk away and the commercial centre with bars and restaurants was a 10 minute walk.

There are only a couple of negative things I would say about the hotel. First of all, around the pool, the green flooring is coming up at places, so could do with replacing before someone trips over it and secondly the entertainment boards could do with being made a little clearer. The magic show was absolutely amazing, a must see if you stay here. We bought the magic set afterwards for 20 euros and was well worth it.

Apart from that, I really don't know how anyone could possibly moan about this hotel. It's a fantastic family hotel, friendly staff, great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheffield134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your family holiday at our hotel. We are particularly pleased that you mentioned our reception staff. We have employed new staff and it has taken some time in the training phase. Everyone is trained up to speed for the Summer.
We are pleased you were happy with the location of our hotel as it is ideally located for the beach and the shops, bars and restaurants.
We have just installed a new information wall in reception and we will pass your comments to the head of animation to look at the way the entertainment is displayed to see if there are any improvements we can make to the entertainment information.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 3,427 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in this property with my best friend 05 april for a week and we were so plesently surprised .. I am a travel agent in Roscommon Ireland and have been selling this property for some time to families and they have always come back to me saying how fabulous it was .. Well we sampled it and i just loved the place .. It is so clean and has lots of pools and the highlight is the 25 meter lane pool heated for the fitness fanatic that wants to keep training up .. It is been used for groups triathlon or ironman groups over the winter months and i think this excellent . Thye have bike hire as well so no need to bring your bike . they have full gym as well and wellness centre .. The food was just fab as well .. STaff on reception were a bit slow but to be honest the place is so good and if you want any general info on the resort and what to do etc then rosemary (irish lady) whom works for hotel is there on daily basis ...I will be recommending this to all my clients that are looking for good 4* proeprty with facilies for active people ........Best REgards Sharon Kavanagh Travel Counsellors Roscommon ...

Room Tip: the superior rooms are fab and right beside the 25 meter pool .. or the beach front are fab for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonk151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your continued support for our hotel. We believe in order to give our mutual guests the best advice it is always best to have experienced the hotel itself. We are always pleased to see travel agents as they play a big part in the correct selling of our resort.
We are delighted that our hotel lived up to your expectations.
Rosemary is at the Customer Services desk in reception every day from 09.00-15.00. She has lots of information about our hotel and the island of Lanzarote. She also has free maps and discount cards for shops, bars and restaurants in the area.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family in Sands Beach Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 5) stayed here for a fornight over the Easter break. It's a while since we've been self catering so didn't know what to expect.

Check in at reception was quick and efficient - we have done 'speedy check-in' beforehand, which I recommend and we quickly arranged wifi access and the room safe, without any issue. We were early arrivals but our room, in the requested Plaza Sol and on the 'sunny' side, was avaiable within about 30 minutes.

The first thing that struck us on arrival was the peace and quiet, even in Plaza Sol which probably attracted more children because of the park. There was occassional rowdiness playing footy in the park or around the pool by the kids, but nothing that caused a distrubance, it was all good natured. Plaza Sol was newly refurbished and very smart. I'm not sure I would have been so thrilled with the other plazas, which were a bit tatty.

The apartment was large and clean. Kitchen adequately equipped, plently of hanging space in the wardrobes and it was useful having the double sinks outside the bathroom itself. Water pressure for the shower was great, with plently of hot water. The bed was quite hard but I like lots of pillows at home so wherever I go, there are never enough.

The apartment was a bit tatty in places (the sofa bed in particular was worn and torn in places) but we were untroubled by that, we spent so little time in the apartment. A refurb would not go amiss.

We used the supermarket daily for fresh bread and pastries, water etc. Staff were friendly. We found that for self catering the Spar on Calle de las Acacias (turn left out of the hotel, right at the next main junction after Los Zocos and then on the right hand side about 200m down) had better choice at better prices than the nearer Hiperdino and the hotel's supermarket.

We did not use the Hacienda restaurant but had lunch in the Mai Tai twice. It was decent food at hotel prices, ie higher than you would get outside.

My youngest daughter went to Buddys club a number of times and thoroughly enjoyed it. Those guys work so hard! She went to the Mini disco most nights too.

The acid test is whether we would return? In a heartbeat - and we are already considering booking for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddyBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you will return to visit us again soon.
We all look forward to seeing you and your family here again at Sands Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

How anyone can even have a moan about this place is beyond me! I dont have kids but the it would be a haven if I bought any along. They can play right infront of your mini villa if you are on the ground floor. We were upstairs but if your in the canaries block you have the sun on your balcony alllll day long and having your own sun beds is a bonus. We rarely left our own balcony and just afew steps away you can have a swim and go back to the comfort of your own apartment. It wasnt busy at all in any section from what I saw depsite being told they were full.


the apartment wss lovely and airy and cleaned fine. Shower and bathroom area lovrly big and spacious.


area of costa teguise is generally a quiet ish resort with quite afew places to eat and bars but nowhere really for a clubning session.

Supermarket on site is perfect. You have use of gym also.

costa teguise is very windy you need . to know but it takes the edge of heat!!

Rosemary the rep was lovely...funny and helpful. We enjoyed ger recommendations and portobello was lovley :))

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lubey_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities. Many children think that Sands Beach heaven and Buddy is their best friend.
We have a state of the art gym for the use of our guests only and it is open 24 hours.
Our staff have no need to mislead as to whether our hotel is full or not and it is the beauty of the way the hotel is laid out that it never seems overly busy even at the height of summer.
We have an excellent supermarket on site. It is open 07.30-00.00 7 days. We stock UK imported milk and have our own bread freshly baked on the premises. We have same day UK and Irish newspapers by 11.00 each day. We have a very large range of UK food and drinks.
We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Just back from another perfect holiday at sands beach,it was our 9th time there now & every time it just gets better,have a 6 yr old son who is treated so well by everyone from the bar staff,receptionists,rosemary & of course all @ buddy club,but this time round it was alena & Debbie that really made him feel important,thanks girls,to the management @ sands beach all I'll say is u have a great team there,ur staff r credit to ye.see ye in September
DJ

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. No matter what people write, the real proof that we are doing things well is that guests like you return time and time again. Your kind comments are much appreciate and will be posted for all the staff to see. We look forward to seeing you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

very enjoyable week spent at the sands beach - would definately stay again.6 of us (3 couples) all had a great time , hotel in a great location 15 minutes stroll along the beach to the main 'square' of bars restaurants etc , rooms more than adequate only moan is the beds are not as comfortable as you might expext from a quality hotel - facilities excellent & staff very helpful

Room Tip: if possible book a superior apartment - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIGFELLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you all enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Returned to Sands Beach this Easter having been there last Easter also. Really enjoyed the place again, and had learned a few things from our first visit that made this one easier.

A couple of tips:
1. You can get beach towels at reception for a deposit of 15 euro each (refunded when you leave), so no need to pack these
2. If you book directly with the hotel they give you good deals, we got a much better deal this time round by booking directly rather than last year through a travel agent
3. the wind is quite something, so at easter time you need to bring cardigans / jumpers for the evening, and ideally watersports tops for the pool so you don't freeze
4. to swim in the 25 meter pool you need swimming caps, they are pricey to buy on site so bring with you if you plan to use it. Loved this pool, ploughed up and down the lanes every day and even our 7 year old enjoyed it too. you need a wristband to use the pool (eur5 each refundable deposit)
5. plenty of seaside stuff can either be got at reception (noodles, floats) for a refundable deposit, or found in the plastic boxes by the beach where people leave their unwanted spades, buckets, inflatables etc. There's also a library of leftover books in the bar, plenty there for adults but none for kids. So no need to bring a ton of books as you will pick up something there.
6. The restaurants in costa teguise can be a bit hit and miss. we did a good bit of research on tripadvisor before we left this year and were not disappointed. last year we just winged it and had a few bad meals.

This is a great hotel for those who like to be a bit active on holiday, or those with kids.

Room Tip: If you have kids I would ask for a room anywhere but Plaza Verde, it's the square with the 25 me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review.
Our beach towel service is available from our Sailfish Shop in reception and there is a €15 refundable deposit for the service. You can change the towels every day at Plaza Amarillo. You must return the ticket and the towels to receive your refund. It is vital you keep your receipt in a safe place as it is the same as cash.
Booking directly with the hotel is a good option as we give free late checkin and check out, free wifi and many other little perks.
We thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are pleased you enjoyed your second visit with us and we look forward to your third visit very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,800 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $65 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, TV-SAT, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing