We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant understand the poor reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cant understand the poor reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at Sands. We travelled to lanzarote somewhat fearful having read the poor reviews here. Our fears were unwarranted. Check in was fast and efficient. We were in apt 1 in Plaza Canarias. It was perfectly adequate. Some small signs of wear and tear but so has my home! The apartments are arranged around the pool so everyone only has to step out their front doors to the pool and sunbeds. It was great to be able to pop back in doors for snacks, drinks and the toilet.

This is a quiet resort so perfect for families but perhaps not so for those looking for a wild week in the sun. There were plenty of sunbeds to go around, no music can be played outside your apartment and it was very peaceful at night. The whole place was spotless. Our towels were changed every day and our beds three times over the course of the week.

We were self catering so breakfast and lunch came from the on site shop and/ or Dino's supermarket (out the front of the hotel turn left and it's on the right few minutes walk). Again the kitchen equipment provided was adequate for simple meals although a chopping board would have been a welcome addition. We ate in the various restaurants along the seafront instead of at Sands but one evening got a take away from the Hacienda restaurant which was lovely.

Only gripe is that two out of the seven pools are heated, the one at our plaza not being among them -but even that didn't bother the children too much.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MFCM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are particularly pleased that the some reviews did not stop you visiting our hotel. It is impossible to make everyone happy but we still continue to strive to ensure that everyone has a great holiday here with us at Sands Beach Resort. We will mention the addition of a chopping board to our housekeeping department for consideration.

Two pools are heated. The pool at Verde 25m X 8 lanes or the pool by the Mai Tai. It was particularly hard keeping the pools heated this winter due to unusually prolonged cloud cover.

We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    1,100
    382
    161
    110
See reviews for
1,427
1,055
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

this is the 3rd time we"ve been here and have enjoyed all of them,the pools are all child friendly allbet a bit cold the 1 at the pool side bar is a little warmer,the only down side is where we were they"ve turned the pool into a 25mtr training pool so was full or tri-athletes training for the upcoming tri-Athlon so we had to all buy hats to swim in that particular pool,but there is plenty of other pools you can go to there just not obv outside of your room which is what we wanted having 2 children.but I would go again just stipulate not to that bit,the kids club looked great ,theres a good sports bar opp the place if you want and its a bit cheaper than the bars inhouse,the town center is a nice steady 25 mins walk away,the local Asian buffet was great value at 38 euros for my 4 which included a couple of beers,,,would recommend,,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane9468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review.

All our reviews are welcome but the greatest praise of all is the return of our guests over again. This gives us the greatest confidence that we are doing our jobs well.

At our 25m pool we require that a swimming cap is used because there is a different filter system than the other pools. Hairs block the filter system causing damage and so swimming caps minimise the damage to the system. We need to correct the fact that the review may give the impression it is a long way to another pool from Plaza Verde. It takes 35 seconds to walk from the edge of the pool at Plaza Verde to the edge of the pool in Plaza Sol.

We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Have been visiting this resort for many years now and this place just gets better every year. Staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble for them.Many improvements over the years and a joy to return to. Other local hotels could learn a lot here re customer care and satisfaction. All staff here are well trained and excellent at their roles and welcome you as friends not guests. A big thank you to all who make it happen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank donlanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you continue to enjoy your holidays here and the facilities of our hotel. We have posted your review for all the staff to see and your comments are very much appreciated. We are particularly happy that you can see that we consider our guests as friends this comment means a great deal to everyone here.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just returned from our 10 th time to sands beach and it was amazing as usual.having read some bad reviews lately about reception I have to say we have always found the staff there super friendly and very helpful with a special mention to Eric who is a star. A few years back on our 2 nd visit to sands our then 4 year old had a freak accident and seriously injured her ankle and heel. The first aider attended within 30 seconds followed by senior management shortly after .as it was not life threatening the assistant manager at the time took her and Dad to the hospital in arrecife in his own car and 16 stitches later brought them back home.what more can I say about such caring excellent staff.its one of the main reasons why we do come back year after year .i do believe that they now have a doctor on site 24 hours but we found that the care my daughter received in hospital and at the local doctors ( centro medico where she had her dressing changed daily for the rest of our stay ) to be better then our own local GP surgery. Apart from that we just love the layout having your own pool in front of your apartment ,the beach just a short walk away everything is always spotlessly clean thanks to all the cleaning staff, the food in the Hacienda is fantastic and the girls in the fresh shop are alway happy to help with some Spanish lessons. A special mention has to go to Rosemary who always arranges trips for us and is always happy to help . That's the reason why we have already booked to come back in august this year to our home from home

Room Tip: The beach front is lovely for young children as the water is very shallow and the top appartments i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milne-family2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. People can write and say good things about our hotel but it is the fact that people come back time and time again to Sands Beach Resort that confirms that we are doing a good job. There is no greater praise or accolade than the return of a guest again and again.
We are delighted your daughter made a recovery from her accident. We are always here to assist our guests.
We will pass your comments to Rosemary and Erik. Rosemary is at her desk in reception from 09.00-15.00 every day. She has information on our hotel and the island itself and recommendations on restaurants etc. If you need maps or excursions or discount cards for bars and restaurants in Costa Teguise see Rosemary.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. It is much appreciated by all here at Sands Beach Resort. We look forward to seeing you for your 11th visit soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from a 14 day holiday at Sands Beach! We were very impressed by the layout of the hotel as there wasn't a fight for sunbeds everyday! There were 7 pools in total although it would have been nice if they were all heated! As a family of 6 we stayed in two different apartments! One of which was a two bedroomed superior which was excellent but the other was a one bedroomed standard which was a little dated but nevertheless very clean! The maid service was regular and efficient! We were half board and I have to say that the choice of food in the Hacienda restaurant, both at breakfast and evening meal was outstanding! They even catered for gluten intolerance diets! The staff in the restaurant, especially Antonio Perdomo (the manager) was absolutely superb and always greeted us with a welcoming smile! We would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back in the future!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElainePatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you all enjoyed your holiday and our hotel and its facilities.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the selection of fresh food available at our Hacienda Restaurant. We strive to cater for all tastes and diets at our hotel. There is something for everyone. We will pass your remarks to Antonio, they are very much appreciated by Antonio and his team who work hard to ensure everyone is catered for.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Sands Beach Resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from sands beach on Tuesday. After a couple of small issues that were sorted by the brilliant reception staff we were soon settled in our apartment on plaza del sol. Apartment really nice and spacious, wish it had a gate on though as I would have felt better then to keep the doors open but with a 23 month old . I didn't feel I could do that which was a shame. Didn't ruin our holiday though! We had an amazing time. Pools were great (freezing but great) beach front was fab if you like the beach, I'm not a fan but my husband and little boy had a great time. We ate out every night, short walk left out of the hotel. Always made sure we were back for the mini disco though where the kids had fun with the clown and buddy. My little one was a bit too young but enjoyed watching the others dance and tried to join in with them. I'm always ready to come home from holiday but we really didn't want to leave here. Unfortunately on our last night, in fact the last half an hour of the mini disco my little boy had a fall and split his chin open quite badly resulting in him needing stitches. From the entertainment team to the bar staff to reception and even the security I have never been met with such caring helpful people! They were fantastic and not only kept my little boy calm but also a very distressed mummy and daddy. The staff here are a real credit to the place. We would definitely return to sands beach in fact sooner the better!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ladylocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. Firstly, we hope your little boy has recovered from his great adventure and from his stitches. He was a very brave boy. Please let him know that Buddy was very proud of him.
Apart from your trauma on the last night we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us. We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you all again soon especially the bravest boy we have seen for a long long time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel accommodates lots of sports so lots of fit young people around. Rooms format a square around several pools only 2storey high so excellent to monitor kids activities. Good size rooms but windows badly fitted so in wind they rattle loudly. Everyone became skilled using cardboard as wedges. Food was of a good standard with good variety. Rooms are all fitted for self catering if you wish. Overall a very good hotel. Only gripes are staffing levels on reception and kids in the main bar till late.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your walking holiday with us. Sands Beach Resort makes a great central point for all round island activities.
Our hotel is updating and refurbishing in stages and the issues you had will be addressed in this development plan.
The issues with reception have been dealt with as we have recruited two new staff whom we are currently training. The hotel caters for families and our animation team offer a Pyjama Party to keep the “little ones” occupied while Mum and Dad have a well earned break in the bar. Sometimes children do not wish to leave their parents. These are issue for the parents to address not our hotel.
We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing