We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family resort”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family resort”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Initially size seemed off-putting - quite large - and not the exact location we thought we had booked but......
Once there we settled in and loved it. We had visions of returning with our grand-kids the weather was as expected fantastic - pleasantly HOT.
All accommodation is single or double level, of good size individually, and well laid out.
Features:
Lots of pools to choose from - 7 set in their own plazas - including a six lane exclusively swimming pool
Tai Chi, Pilates, Yoga etc; ecercise to choose from every day for free
Loads of space for toddlers and elder kids - and their bikes!
Super beaches within easy walking distance
Great entertainment shows in the bar - and Internet vouchers with first drink, so no need to pay for it (though that wasn't too expensive)
Island located Mai Tai restaurant great for a lunch - good choice of delicious salads and the rest
The kids are entertained all day and evening by the great staff

Room Tip: Ask for a layout plan to choose from - most have pool views - with the Plaza Verde for serious swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFT1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have a huge range of entertainment and activities for all ages here at Sands Beach Resort. Our whole weekly programme for all ages is available in our new display area in reception.
We look forward to seeing you and your grandchildren soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    1,134
    396
    164
    113
See reviews for
1,476
1,097
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We returned on 9th November - this is our first visit to Lanzarote. We made a good choice with the Sands Beach Resort.
The accommodation was great - could easily sleep 6. Kitchen facilities great too if you are self catering - take anything you can with you - e.g. tea towel, dish cloth - saves paying out when you are there. We ordered a welcome pack prior to our arrival - good value for money.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were in Plaza Verde - which was (for us) the best place we could have been. The 'serious' swimmers pool is at Verde, so there were no children splashing around. Upon saying that - even in the areas where children were - the place was still quiet.(Nothing against children - we have just been there and done that! :) )
The restaurant food was ok - never hot though, but you did get used to that by the end of the week! It all still tasted good. There was an adequate choice of dishes and it was clear to make out what each themed night was. i.e. Not just a piece of pizza in one corner on Italian night. Great choice at breakfast.
The only thing that was a bit of a disappointment was the promenade outside the hotel - I am not too sure whose responsibility it is - but the footpaths are so badly broken up - it is painful to walk on them and there were no lights on along part of it, nor along the wind break walls.
We recommend hiring a bike for a day or two - we biked to Puerto del Carmen which is about a 50k round trip. You go by the capital Arrecife and by the airport - You can sit very close to the runway and literally have the planes coming in straight over the top of you - and yes they are close! The hotel is on the edge of Costa Teguise so there is a short walk to get to the main bars and shops. We didn't eat out as we were half board so cannot comment on anywhere.
All in all, we had a great week and would go back. (Oh yes - it is very windy!)

Room Tip: If you want quieter go to Plaza Verde or Montana or Amarilla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We have a range of welcome packs you can purchase and have left in your room prior to your arrival. In addition to our normal food and celebration packs we have a cleaning pack as well which contains clothes, Dishwasher tablets and most kitchen cleaning needs. The range of welcome packs can be seen on our website or you can contact our reservations department for information on our pre ordered welcome and celebration packs. Their email address is: reservations@sandsbeach.eu.

The food at our Hacienda Restaurant is warm but not hot. A microwave is provided if you would like your food piping hot. We are pleased you were happy with the range of foods on offer and that you liked the food. This is important for us to know.
We are assuming that you are talking of the coastal paths towards Costa Teguise at the back of our hotel. This coastal path offers magnificent and dramatic scenery and is undergoing total refurbishment and improvement at the moment. These paths are being retiled with non slip tiles. Little sheltered areas with seating are also being built all along the newly tiled coastal walkways so people can sit in sheltered areas and watch the seas. This will be a big improvement that I feel sure you and many others will enjoy on your return. The refurbishments are the responsibility of central government. Unfortunately, like most countries today our government are under sever budgetary constraints. We are delighted that this major undertaking is now under construction.

Thank you for taking the time to write your very comprehensive review. We look forward to seeing you at Sands Beach Resort soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Never been to Lanzarote before and didn't know what to expect, we arrived at lanzarote airport to see it was raining which my instant re-action was NOT GOOD. We then took the coach to the hotel upon arrival 1st impressions were good, as we were checked in at reception we was told there had been a leak so they was going to upgrade us to a two bedroom apartment (which was stunning) they also gave us free breckfast for the rest of our stay (bonus). the hotel its self is brilliant couldn't fault it, plenty to do quiet around pools are there is 7 and a private lagoon. would deffo recomend this hotel and the staff are brilliant especially in the bar at night
BRILL BRILL BRILL

Room Tip: if your looking for a quiet place to get your head down i would suggest the AMARILLA block as this d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you arrived on one of the ten days of the year we have rain. We are sorry your originally booed room was not available for you but we are happy you were pleased with the alternate room.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our 2nd holiday at sands beach and it's still a brilliant complex, some of the pools are in need of a makeover but think they may be doing them one by one as the Olympic pool wasn't there last time we were there 3yrs ago and sol plaza is very nice and new looking. It's only a short walk into costa teguise and there is some brilliant eating places the Chinese in the square by the trampolines is a must and el maestro is very good also Pablo's is great. There is a lovely craft market on a Friday evening in the courtyard and the big teguise market on Sunday. We will be going back to sands beach again we love it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great but expect sand to be brought in on feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The refurbishment of the resort started with the closing of the pool at Plaza Sol last Monday (18/11/13) for maintenance and painting. There is a planned refurbishment programme in progress starting this week and running through 2014. It is difficult to have refurbishments and not disturb guests therefore it has to in planned stages at times of lowest occupancy.
We do hope you will return to see the results of our current ongoing refurbishment plans.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location but tired and disappointing - two big issues: plenty of swimming pools but only one supposedly heated, in fact so cold my children stayed in just a few minutes and we never ventured, Surely in the off season a properly heated pool would be essential and its one of the main reasons we booked this place. The other issue is the resort is now looking tired, our beach front apartment wa spacious but dated and the best view over the ocean was blocked by blinds that could not be opened.
Don't book the car hire at the resort - the car was old and they conned us with a part empty tank of fuel and a faulty fuel gauge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday at our hotel. We have sent you a Personal Message and we would appreciate if you could get in touch with us. We need some information from you in order to deal with this matter.
We are confused about the heated pool. Our 25m pool and the pool at the Mai Tai are heated. The temperature at the Mai Tai is taken twice during the day and the temperature is on a board at the entrance to the Mai Tai.
We are sorry about the issues you had with the car hire company and we will pass your complaint on to them. This is another reason we would like you to get in contact with us.
Thank you in anticipation for your information and we hope we can resolve the issues for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Brilliant resort, first visit won't be the last. Very clean, great two bedroomed apartment just wanted a week chill out and got exactly that. Worth emailing beforehand asking for specific rooms: pool view, sun in afternoon etc. very obliging . Just beware hard sell shops for cameras etc. just say NO! Apart from that wonderful place.

Room Tip: Email beforehand. Pool view and sun in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays with us.
We agree with you on the issue of the local electrical shops. We cannot stress the importance of ignoring the people from these shops. We would ask that anyone who intends to buy anything from these shops takes time out from the sale and come and ask anyone for advice. Please do not hand over your money until you are very sure the products are exactly what you think you are buying. You must be very careful of cheap fakes. Thank you for your very valid and important advice.
We thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family at Sands Beach Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We (Family with 3 small kids) stayed end of october for 2 weeks in Sands Beach and had a great time! Staff was very friendly, hotel is situated right to the beach. About 20 minutes walk along the beach to the city center of Costa Teguise.
Kids & parents loved the accomodation. Nice little playing ground, sporting facilities, 7 pools (only 1 is heated! - and that one opens only from 10.30 - 18.30h ).
One point that Sands Beach should really improve... There is hardly and shadow around the pools. For sun-lovers it is great, but families with babies and small kids cannot sit relaxed at the pool area. Also the playing ground and the baby pools are in full sun...

Appartment at the beach front
Appartments were more than ok and the service was great. We had a sleeping room, kitchen, batchroom and in the living room a double bed and a sofa which could be turned into a bed. BAby Cod was provided for free. And room cleaning every day.
Beachfront is perfect with kids...

Mini Disco
The kids loved the mini disco. From the parents perspective, they could improve this by not giving the kids any sweets after dancing. And they should not speak so much. Just turn on the music and dance with the kids...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have shaded areas in Sol and at Mai Tai pool. It is intended to have shaded areas in every plaza as part of our refurbishment plans for 2014.

The Mini Disco has been a popular part of our Animation Programme for many years. We have never had any complaints like your complaint before. We will review the matter if any other person has issues similar to yours. Our feedback forms are very positive for the Mini Disco.
We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we have taken note of your points. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,002 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing