We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent stay at Sands Beach - good value excellent location”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in one of the superior apartments located in a quiet area beside the olympic pool at sands beach resort. We booked direct with the resort via their website and I think we got a good deal. The apartment was cleaned daily, kitchen was well equipt also. We paid for breakfast also which was 10€ per person per day and what excellent value. Aparently the person who owns/manages the resort is really into fitness etc so you could see this influence in the breakfast room. Each morning there was a choice of different types of tea, coffee, juices, chocolate etc, an excellent choice of fresh fruit salad, cereals, seeds, nuts, oats, granola, yoghurt, linseeds, bees pollen etc... then there was the cold meats and cheese section where you could eat the local or international cheeses and meats. There was a sweet section with a vast choice of coissants, pain-du-chocolait, donuts, cakes etc. Then from the hot buffet you could choose from a traditional english breakfast, or american pancakes, 8 different types for bread for toasting, scrambled, boiled, fried eggs or an omlette. PERFECT. The resort has 2 bars. 1 being the Maithai which is located by one of the 7 pools and this has great chill out music and reasonably priced coffee, beer and food. There is also the Soleil bar which is located at the front of the resort but we didn't go in there as we preferred to take a short walk into the town and commercial centre for drinks and food. The resort also offers bike hire, canoe and stand up paddle hire which is great fun (look for "SUP STANDUP PADDLE SURFING"). The resort also has a super market, sports shop, sports massage, beauty parlour and hairdressers. What more could you want....?? and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfasts at The Hacienda. We believe a good breakfast sets you up for the day and that is exactly what you get at Sands Beach Resort. We think our breakfast offers fantastic value.

At Sands Beach Resort we have a huge range of activities and amenities:
Supermarket in reception 07.30-00.00 daily
Bicycle Hire outside reception 09.00-13.00 daily
Car Hire in reception 09.00-12.00 daily
Excursion advise 09.00-15.00 daily
Windsurfing lessons in lagoon 09.00-13.00 daily
Stand up Paddle in lagoon 09.00-13.00 daily
Wellness Centre 10.00-17.00 daily
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 3,375 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just arrived back from a 11 nights holiday from sands beach apartments 9/9/13 to 20/9/13. Gorgeous apartments, we was in front of the olympic pool watching triathlon training which was on this weekend we left, we upgraded to superior lovely, very clean maids in everyday, complex lovely everybody helpful, we was in 52 Verdi , we went to la chiminea restaurant 3 times for a meal in the square very recommended, also portobello restaurant which was also lovely but watch out for those mussels in spicey tomato sauce they are VERY hot but lovely, also some very good places to eat, we always ended up at robinsons in the square at the end of the night had great laughs there, there are some lovely cats there if you are a cat lover well fed and big,but we had one at our apt little gingy so tiny hope she gets looked after now I've gone, miss her... Weather was gorgeous a bit cloudy some days but very warm getting hotter as the week ended for us....

Room Tip: Ours was a lovely apt but we upgraded to superior so don't know what others was like, did see so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at our Plaza Verde. Plaza Verde gets very bad press but we cannot emphasise how many people love the peace and quiet of Plaza Verde with its beautiful refurbished apartments. To get away from it all you cannot surpass Plaza Verde.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Beach Resort soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I love this place and really recommend a stay for anyone thinking of visiting Costa Teguise. As a youngster I would visit with family when it was formerly known as the Beach Club so all the childhood memories came flooding back. Sands Beach has made some considerable changes since but it has thankfully kept to it's roots retaining many of the original features and the entire complex still holds the same level of quality, service and overall sense of hospitality.

We stayed in a Plaza apartment, pool side with an abundance of space and great views of the beach. The resort boasts a fantastic range of bars, restaurants, a fully stocked supermarket plus sporting facilities including a 25m pool. We enjoyed breakfast and evening meals at the Hacienda which had an impressive selection for everyone and is perfect for couples and families.

For the more adventurous types I would certainly explore surrounding areas. Sands Beach has plenty of routes into Costa Teguise that has plenty of shops, restaurants and bars, and is only a short walk to bus stops and taxi ranks that will take you further a field. Buses are frequent and an inexpensive way of getting around, however car hire is also very cheap compared to the UK. All in all it cost us £60 for 2 days rental including petrol and we traveled to all corners of the island.

I can't express enough how beautiful Lanzarote is and some will take this for granted. Hire a car, even for a day and go explore what the island has to offer. The great National Park of Timanfaya is a must, and there is an abundance of beaches to visit, Puerto Del Carmen, Playa Blanca and Famara in particular.

Room Tip: Apartments on Verde are quieter as the 25m pool tends to be less busy, but we were envious of the ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olipowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We love to hear of people who were here as children and return as adults. This is what we are about. We want our hotel to feature and be part of the happy memories of peoples´ lives. The aim is to create happy memories that you will have for life. So thank you for the comments they mean a great deal to all of us here.
It is great to hire a car and get out and about the island to discover the many amazing wonders there are. We agree with you there are really no words to describe how beautiful this island is.

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are a family of 3 who stayed recently August 2013, we were really looking forward to this holiday as we normally go 2* or 3* so we were expecting a higher specification. There are about four different grade going on at the Sands Beach and the 4* entry level is very basic and the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in - the Self catering apartments had one work top which was just over 1metre long, with a microwave, a sink with drainer, and two burners there was no space to prepare anything, limited utensils we have had better in a cheap 2* take a look at the picture we took of our kitchen. There should be air-conditioning in these villas. The sunbeds were also different depending on what plaza you stayed in what is that all about?
The basic 4* apartments were 2 storey, if you were on the 2nd floor no privacy as the apartment shared stairway to the balcony, at night the bedroom windows shook, along with the patio doors due to the wind. The apartments all look into one another's rooms, so you have to keep your curtains closed whatever the time of day, so a but like stalag 13. The other Plaza's had single story apartments. . The basic 4* apartments got basic sunbeds (quiet a few were broken) no cushions, a pool. The other Plaza had pool, play areas, with astro grass around the outside, cushions for their sunbeds. The Gym some of the equipment did not work

The Apartments they advertise on the website are the higher grade ones, these apartments are supposedly on the beach this is not really on the beach it is sand they have put down themselves that sits around a Lagoon the actual beach is about 300 yards depending on which Plaza you were staying in.

There is only one outdoor bar which is situated by the very expensive apartments. The supermarket is pretty good there and open early til midnight.
Good things about Costa Tequise food in the resort is good, the locals are lovely, we would go to Costa Tequise again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not happy with your standard apartment. The kitchen facilities are less in a standard than in a superior apartments and this is one of the differences of apartment type. From your own picture we can see there are way more facilities in your apartment than in any 2 or 3 star apartments where you have to pay to hire the kettle and toaster and other amenities that are standard in Sands Beach Resort.

We have seven different apartment types at Sands Beach Resort. It is important that everyone is clear that the apartment they book is sufficient for their particular needs. Even if you book with a third party and you have any doubt that the room you have booked does or does not meet your particular needs please contact our reservations department to confirm exactly what you have booked is what you want or intended. Our reservations department will be happy to describe and confirm exactly what is in each room type. The email address is: reservations@sandsbeach.eu. There is no attempt on the part of Sands Beach Resort to mislead any of our guests.

Our gym was closed for 3 days as our new gym equipment finally arrived and was installed. It is the most up to the minute state of the art life fitness equipment available in 2013. We are sorry it arrived too late for you.
We have never said our lagoon was the main beach. Our lagoon is a small beach front lagoon and our beach front apartments are called beach front apartments for obvious reasons. There is an extra charge for our beachfront apartments. The main beach is Las Cucharas and it is out our back door and along the sea front. There has never been any attempt by this hotel to mislead anyone.
We have a well stocked supermarket in reception open from 07.30-midnight every day. We have bread freshly baked on the premises every morning and UK and Irish newspapers by 11.00 each morning. We also stock UK fresh milk.
We thank you for your review and we are sorry you were not happy with your apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Sands Beach Resort from September 13th - 20th. We arrived at 11.30am and was told we could check in at 2pm so we went off and came back at 2pm and was told 3pm and then we were actually allowed into our apartment at 3.30pm, I wasn't too impressed as it was really hot and we had nowhere to change or freshen up. We stayed in apartment C19 and enjoyed the location and the plaza we were on. We went self catering and the apartment had the adequate equipment needed for us to have breakfast and lunches there and go out for dinner every night. The shower leaked every time you used it and the toilet seemed to be a continuous flush at times which was annoying when trying to sleep. The supermarket is well stocked and opened until midnight. The nightlife was a little disappointing and think there needs to be more entertainment or better music after the children's entertainment. Overall the resort is a good holiday destination for families, couples or friends. It is very clean, the maids come to change your towels and bedding regularly and all the public areas are kept clean. The beach is only a few minutes away and there are shops, bars and restaurants about 10-15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you could not check in as soon as you arrived but check out is at 12.00 and we have to clean and have the room passed by Quality Control. In order to be sure everything is perfect for you and your party there was a delay. Official check in time is 16.00. We normally get everyone checked in before then.

We are sorry that the shower leaked and there was a continuous water flow in the toilet. We have reported the matter to maintenance now and thank you for the information. For any future guests who have these type issues please call reception at 1210 and the issue will be dealt with immediately. There is no need to suffer on with maintenance issues.
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here in August - our first visit. Booked with Jet2.
We booked a one bed superior beachfront apartment. On arrival we were given our room and directions to find it - the walk was ok for us but the ramps could be difficult for older guests (we asked for a porter to take our bags to reception when we left).
We were disappointed with our room as it was not beach front and faced a wall and a view of a generator. We asked at reception to be moved to a room we had booked and were told there was nothing that could be done until the following day. Whilst this was sorted the following day, it was not a good start to our holiday and knowing what booking we had made, the "error" should not have happened. we were then charged 30 euros for moving rooms. On reflection perhaps we should have asked for a one night reduction in what we had paid to stay??
Still not sure that our room was in anyway superior to the standard rooms.....
The resort itself was good - the pools were never too crowded although the Mai Tai pool did seem to get dirty. The beach area was very pleasant and sheltered from the wind.
We had booked half board and used the Hacienda restaurant daily. Tthe food was very good the choice was wide and varied - never dull. The majority of staff were helpful but 2 were very rude and ignorant - one even shouted at us and waved his arms in the air because we entered through the wrong door - embarrassing as the restaurant was full at the time - needless to say I did not leave a tip on any occassion after that.
The entertainment seemed ok but we only visited twice.
Last day was made a little difficult due to no late checkouts - although there were other empty apartments we were constantly told that the resort was full. This wasn't true as both us and our "neighbours" were able to book rooms online...
As with any resort some parents seemed to let their little ones run riot all day with no supervision - long term this could detract from what is a very pleasant resort.
Overall a good stay that could have been better........

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the bad start to your stay with us. We are happy that you did enjoy your holiday with us and you were happy with our food in the Hacienda. We are sorry if you were upset by the incident in the Hacienda and we have spoken to the staff about this issue.
On the issue of the room as we do not have your name and we cannot check our records. However, we have no record of any guest not getting a beach front room if they booked one in the time frame of your holiday so we actually cannot comment without checking the booking. If you were charged €30 to move then there was no “error” you got what you booked and you wanted to move. If you wish to discuss the matter further we have sent a PM to you so you can contact us. There is a difference between superior and standard apartments. People should really check the differences out and be sure that the room they booked meets their needs and expectations. There are different facilities completely. There are only superior apartments on the beach front.

On the issue of late check outs we will gladly sell you a late check out. No business in their right mind would lie and refuse to sell you something that generates revenue. If we said we had no rooms we had no rooms. If we had we would have been delighted to generate the extra revenue from the sale of a late check out. Why would we not? The truth of the matter is that following room allocation your room was obviously booked for someone coming earlier than your departure and therefore the room had to be ready for their arrival. We would sell you a late check out if we had one and be glad to make our guests happy and generate the revenue.

We thank you again for your review of our hotel. We do hope you will come back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First I would like to say that the Sands Beach Resort is a wonderful place, clean, great service all round, and wonderful settings especially the beachfront apartments where we stayed. The staff are very welcoming, and I think all really work hard to please.The quality of the food is lovely, cooked foods, salads, and desserts. All very well prepared. Entertainment not reallly its forte, cooked be better, but some of the adult entertainment was good such as the platters, and motown evening, but only lasts approx an hour. Hotel bar and mai tai bit more expensive than the town bars, so once I studied the towns restaurants, I concluded that possiby self catering was best, as there was various different nationalities of restaurants availble. Could easily get a pint for 1.50 euros, mostly about 2 euros. Lots of deals in town for meals. Not good measures for spirits in the hotel bar. Better agin in Costa Teguise town. Overall I give the hotel 8.5 out of 10.
The really damning factor for this hotel is if your disabled. Some areas not too bad, but the disabled ramps are such an incline, I would most are 1:3. Good job I am very fit, as you really have to push hard to make progress up these ramps, so much so that even the receptionist when we booked in said the best way to our beachfront adapted apartment was around the service road.. There was other disabled people there, we spoke to 2 couples who had the same problem, and comments. My calf muscles are a lot more flexible now for such than when we started. If Sands Beach could look at this, and rectify the access around the complex, then I would not hesitate to give it 9.5 out of 10 possibly 10.
Overally lovely place, and I would go back, but only if I could get the disabled apartment right at the top, not bottom. Costa Teguise itself, not really disable friendy, too many lack drop kerbs for wheelchair users, and some was not even consistent. The beachfront walk, the paths was not completed, or even therfore fund it hard for a disabled persons in a wheel cahir to feel comfortable. Adapted after time best way for my spouse to be pushed was on the road itself, not the best way to get to the town, but in the end best overall.
I repeat, Sands Beach yes go there, I concur with many of the reviews, lovely place all round
but slightly more difficult if you a limited mobility issues. Fix this, and an I would definately return and rate it excellent, but at the moment, I have doubts spouse was concened and fretted when using these ramps, so slightly spoiled the holiday, thats why I only gave it 4 rating.
Others enjoy the experience going to Sands Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Try the Beachfront Apartments. Lovely to wake up looking at the lagoon and sea. Think they are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We do take your points about the ramps and disabled access on board and can only apologise for the extra workload you had as a carer. We regret this and want you to know there are plans to improve the side roads and the lighting in the near future. We also have adapted rooms in Plaza Palmeras near reception. We hope you will come back again to see our changes for the better. We will inform you as soon as the work is completed.
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel and its facilities.
Thank you for your review and we do take your comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,951 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $77 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, TV-SAT, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing