We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for families with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Special thanks to the staff in restaurant who genuinely show joy for your children and really takes care that all the family is happy. Also animators and other staff si very friendly. The environment creates an ideal place for your children to find new friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We will pass your comments to our staff as your praise is very much appreciated by everyone.
We look forward to seeing you and your family soon again in Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    1,112
    390
    161
    111
See reviews for
1,445
1,070
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We love Sands Beach (8th trip) BUT why would you put a couple with a 14 year old son in Playa Verde?? The most important thing for us when we book a holiday here is that we can step out of our apartment to a pool we can use and have fun and so that our son can make friends. However, unless you are a training to take part in a tri-althalon or are part of a syncorinised swimming team that overtook the pool, you were not really welcome on this plaza. And what's happened with the entertainment?? The 'grown up' entertainment started at 9:45p.m. and ended at approximately 11:00p.m. although the bar stayed open until 1:00a.m. What happened to the quiz nights (that got everyone talking), the raffle tickets bought in exchange for the winner of the Euro's?? All these events, help older children to take part. I was also interested in the Manager's comment on a previous post that because the holiday maker choose to book privately, they were not privy to the events. I booked direct and was not aware you made arrangements for teenagers either. You planted us on Verde and expected us to use another pool - the main reason we stay with you time and time again, is that we step out to our own pool. We were also expected to deposit 30 Euros for the blue wrist bands to use the pool and we also had to purchase a hat to use it. Unacceptable. However, your bar staff work tirelessly, your cleaners friendly but your entertainment staff were pretty poor this year (unless you were under 10).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday with or your accommodation. We have sent you a PM for you to contact us as we need details of your complaint and more importantly some elements in the handling of your complaint. As soon as we have checked out the issues we will revert to you.
We are sorry you were not aware of the teenagers club. This information is contained as a loose insert in the yellow book at check in. We are sorry if you did not get a loose insert. We also have the information on the Activities Board in reception and at the Mai Tai.
There is a deposit of €10 per bracelet required for the use of the 25m pool. This is purely for security reasons. The pool is only for the use of our guests and the bracelet system ensures that no one from outside the hotel uses the pool. The €10 deposit is returned at the end of the holiday on return of the bracelet.
Thank you for your returning to Sands Beach and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for 12 nights, in a beach Front apartment. We travelled as 2 families one my sister, brother in law and neice and 1 me, my boyfriend and 2 kids. It was perfect for us, the rooms were lovely infact the whole resort was. I would recomend paying to get a beach front room as it was lovely to sit outside at night have a drink and just overlook the sea. The kitchens were well enough equipped to cook in although we only did lunches and went out at night.
Our only downpoint of the hotel was our check in, as it was very late and dark and reception just pointed us in the direction with no help with luggage or finding the room, and it is quite a trek from reception to the beach front rooms! Other than that all staff were very helpful, you can rent a buggy for 1 or 2 euros a day which is helpful and saves you taking it with you.
The kids loved the disco but they are 3, 5 and 7 any older than that then they would probably be a bit bored.
Lots of lovely restaurants to eat in only a 10-15 minute walk away.
We have already discussed going back next year.

Room Tip: Beach front appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you were not offered to have your baggage taken to your room for you as this is a service we offer. We are disappointed that it was not explained exactly where your room is and how to get there and that you were not given a map. This is most unusual.
We would advise that having had the directions to your room explained to you and you still are unsure please ask to have the directions explained again. This is no problem to our reception staff and we appreciate that people are tired and have been travelling all day.
We have a new express check in service at Sands Beach Resort. You can contact our reservations staff and they will guide you through the on line check in procedure and you just collect your key and information book on arrival. The email address for our reservations department is: reservations@sandsbeach.eu.
We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Back home having had a brilliant holiday. We chose the self catering option as we enjoy eating out at different restaurants and bars in resort. We stayed in a one bedroom superior apartment within the Plaza Del Sol area of Beach Sands Resort and it was very spacious, clean and had an adequate kitchen with oven, hob, microwave, toaster and fridge freezer. The daily housekeeping was good and the terrace, sea views and pool area were fantastic.
Although we didn't use a lot of the facilities that were available, ALL the resort staff that we met were very pleasant and helpful.
We arranged an excursion through 'Rosemary' who visits daily and is based in reception and she was very efficient and enthusiastic.
If you are looking for a good quality base to enjoy a family holiday in Lanzarote then I would definitely recommend the Sands Beach Resort in Costa Teguise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel facilities. We are pleased that you were happy with our cleaning programme. We will pass on your comments to Rosemary. Rosemary is at our Customer Services Desk in reception every day from 09.00-15.00. She has information about our hotel, restaurants, bars and shops in Costa Teguise and a comprehensive collection of different excursions.
We look forward to seeing you soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a brilliant time at the resort, all of the staff were fantastic right from the word go, everyone has a smile to greet you and can't help you enough. The complex is spotless and staff are on the go all of the time, we stayed in the Canarias C9 it was first floor with a pool view, it was spacious and had everything we needed.
There is a shop on site which is reasonable and had a good selection of food and drink, maybe you could get things cheaper in some of the bigger super markets but it was really not worth going further afield to save pennies or cents if you like.
There are two bars, one next to reception and the other next to the beach, both are lovely, prices are good and staff are brilliant, they take time out to talk to you and they are always attentive.
We were half board and the food was lovely for breakfast and evening meal, there was loads of selection and it was well presented.
We travelled as a couple so we didn't get involved with the entertainment staff but we did witness the staff entertaining the kids around the pool and everyone was having great fun.
I can't fault this resort at all, we will definitely be going back, thanks to all of the staff. Alan & Andrea Newcastle

Room Tip: If you have kids, try to request a room anywhere other than Verde as this is an Olympic pool made fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday. We will pass your review and praise to each department.

Our supermarket is open in reception from 07.30- midnight every single day. We have fresh bread and cakes every morning baked on site. We have the UK and Irish Newspapers from 11.00 each morning. Our supermarket also stocks fresh English milk and is the cheapest outlet for fresh UK milk in Costa Teguise. We are the same prices as the supermarkets for branded products.
We are pleased you were happy with our food in The Hacienda as we have worked hard over the years to have a selection to suit all tastes, diets and nationalities.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As my daughter said " Best Holiday ever" and i find it hard to disagree, after a long journey from Ireland we arrived at the sands Beach and from the minute we arrived until we left you felt completely at home, We had a beachfront apartment which are beautifully decorated, spacious have a dish washer and a microwave as well as your usual kitchen utilities, 5 yards from the beach at the lagoon the water is only waist height so nice and safe all manor of lilos, buckets and spades for the kids to play with along with canoes and all free !! mai tai is the pool bar restaurant in the center of the lagoon nice food friendly service and not badly priced, kids clubs to beat the bands, at least 7 pools of which you can use any, play parks, entertainment to much to go in to but for family's as far as i am concerned no where better, I also went half board for the first time food excellent great choice and different each night and the waiting staff are brilliant having an 20 month old baby is always stressful but the staff were just amazing with her, A big thank you to Rosemary and all the staff from Reception, Supermarket and restaurant to help make it a special holiday, I for one will definatly be going back next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a beachfront apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so proud that our hotel played such an important role in your family holiday. It is the creation of the wonderful memories that make our work worthwhile and gives us pride in our efforts. This is what we are about.
We will pass on your kind comments and thanks to all the staff and we look forward to seeing you again next year when the 20 month old will have passed the stressful phase!
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

First started the welcome meeting with Rosemary, what an amazing lady. First she told us where to get bargains which is always helpful in another country. Then the kids club my kids are 7 and 6 they wanted to go every day every session because buddy's club was so welcoming for them. They especially loved the kiddies disco. The maids came in everyday and we had fresh towels everyday. I can't wait to get back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramac_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your hotel.
We will pass on your kind comments to Rosemary they are much appreciated. Rosemary is at our Guest Services Desk in reception every day from 09.0-15.00. She has lots of information on our hotel and the resort and has discount cards for many bars and restaurants in Costa Teguise and can share her knowledge of great places off the beaten path. Rosemary can advise you on excursions and what is suitable for you and your family.

We will also pass your review to our animation team as they work very hard to entertain all our guests of every age. We thank you for your comments about our cleaning team who adhere to rigorous quality control standards.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you and your family in Sands Beach Resort again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing