We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family Break”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Family Break”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from one week at Sands Beach resort and are happy to report that we had a lovely, relaxing family holiday!

On arrival we were checked in quickly, with reception staff friendly and efficient. Although we arrived earlier than check in time of 4pm we were allocated a room on Plaza Canarias within 10 minutes of arrival at noon. The apartment was large, bright and very clean, with more than enough room for the three of us. The apartments all over look the pool which was the main reason we chose the resort. The other plazas were also beautiful & all family friendly. We never had an issue with securing a sunbed, although many of the other guests had reserved sunbeds first thing in the morning. The plazas are all situated close together so if you wanted to use another pool this would have been easy. We never felt the need to do this as we were more than happy with Plaza Canarias.

We didn't use the evening entertainment and our 7 year old tried out buddies club, however he felt that the kids club was more suited to younger children.

Our apartment was cleaned regulary with clean bed linen and towels provided most days. The whole resort was constantly being cleaned.

The resort of costa teguise is great for a realxing break, with many high quality restaurants to chose from. We ate out every evening & never had a bad meal. Casa Blanca was our favourite, but we also tried Bacchus, Portabello, La Chiminea, Galleon and stopped in at Robinson Crusos for breakfast/ luch a couple of times. Our evening meals were approx 50 Euros (for starters, main meal and drinks). The resort is about a 10 minute walk from the apartments.

We had a great holiday & would be happy to recommend the Sands Beach Apartments to our family & friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nicola v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for your comments about our cleaning as we have a very rigorous quality control regime in for our cleaning department.
Thank you for not reserving sunbeds when you are not using them. We have many unhappy guests with this anti social practice. Our security staff gathers the unattended towels and this causes more annoyance for guests so it is difficult to please everyone.

Sands Beach is a very convenient to all the bars and restaurants of Costa Teguise . Our reception will also call a taxi for our guests at no cost and they will be in reception in a matter of moments.

We thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family back at Sands Beach Resort very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    1,133
    396
    164
    113
See reviews for
1,475
1,095
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our 11th visit to Sands Beach and the worst by far. We have felt for a long time that the resort has been in decline for some years. But this year the decline has been far more noticeable. We had a Beach Front Villa as we always do and every time we opened our bedroom window the smell which came in which could only be described as rotten eggs was woeful our shower was blocked so the water wouldn't drain away both of these things were mentioned to maids and nothing ever happened so eventually we stopped trying. The kids entertainment was the worst we have ever experienced at Sands it used to be so good but now there seemed to be less shows for kids and the entertainment had no structure different dances at different times so no routine what so ever. We found that by the second week we were not using the beach as it was either flooded or so full and busy unless you got up at 730am you wouldn't get a sunbed it was the same around the pools. We stayed less and less time in the resort . I never thought I would say it but our next visit to Costa Teguise we will be looking for an alternative accommodation. It is so sad as people staying their for the first time will probably think it is ok but as a regular all I can tell you is how good it used to be sadly no more. The icing on the cake was being told we would get a late checkout no problem and to confirm the day before we left only to be told with great glee by reception that we couldn't have that or even a courtesy room for an hour despite a late departure and having 4 small children. Poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion.
We are disappointed that the information about the smell and the blocked shower did not reach the people that needed to know. It would have been better had you reported it to reception in English so we could sort the matter out. As a result of your problems we now intend to include a new section in our information book explaining what to do in the event of a maintenance issue in your apartment. We will be advising our guests to call our reception on 1210 as opposed to attempting with hand signals in a different language to explain exactly what is wrong. In a complex the size of Sands Beach Resort things will fall off or break and it is vital for the right people to know so we can sort it out. It is no use suffering on rather than making a call to reception. As a repeat guest we are surprised you did not make anyone other than the cleaner aware of your difficulties. As a result of your review we have spoken to the manager of the cleaning staff and the staff have now been instructed to get help if a guest is repeatedly trying to report something and they do not know what exactly it is. As a result of your experience we have made these two major changes. Thank you for pointing out these shortfalls.

We did not know your children had registered for the Buddy´s Club and if they had we would welcome more information from you, as to exactly what was the problem. We are aware you have email addresses for members of staff. We have issues understanding your following statement: “entertainment had no structure different dances at different times so no routine what so ever. “ We do not know what dances in the Buddy´s Club this is about - as they do not do dances in Buddy´s Club only at the Kids Disco. There is structure. This is very clear from the programme for animation for all ages including Buddy Club. The programme is available as a loose insert in the information book. There is a board in reception showing the animation timetable. We, as an hotel cannot do anymore to keep our guests informed of our entertainment programme which is structured.
It would be our wish to give all our guests everything they need but sometimes we simply cannot. If we have guests who have travelled through the night and arrive early in the day we do our best to have their rooms ready as soon as possible for them after arrival. I think anyone would admit they would like this. If, in the high season we simply cannot allow a late check- out it is not because we want to annoy our guests. We have to respect the next guest arriving and their wish to have their room cleaned and ready as soon as possible. This philosophy is not difficult to understand. Allocation of the rooms are done as near to the next day as possible to ensure we can juggle rooms around to please those arriving and those departing who have requested a late check out. Sometimes it is just impossible. This was the case for you. It is merely your opinion that our receptionist told you “with glee”. We cannot accept this. It is disingenuous to our reception staff of whom we are proud.
On the issue of our security taking towels from the beds reserved, we will have to disagree with you. You only have to stand in reception from 08.00-09.00 each morning and listen to the people whose towels have been gathered. You will find this issue in many hotels in the world. We have been lucky that it is a relatively new issue in Sands Beach Resort.
We are sorry you will not be returning to Sands Beach Resort again. It is important to point out that we have a very high return rate here at Sands Beach Resort. It was nice to have you here for all your visits. We wish you well and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent 2 excellent weeks at Sands Beach (our first time in Lanazote) and we loved it, it was a perfect location for our hoilday all the amenities pools and the lagoon were fabulous. The Hotel was spotless at all times, loads of activities going on for all ages, the staff all round the resort were very nice & helpful, the reception staff were great and helpful with any queries especailly Monica who helped us on one occasion . We stayed in the beachfront Apartments which i have to say were amazing!! both my wife & i had such a lovely stay at Sands Beach Resort it was a great hoilday thanks to all the staff there. We had such a fab time just booked for Jan so can not wait to get back. We would reccomend Sands Beach Resort to everyone such a lovely place we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments about our hotel and our staff. It is much appreciated by everyone. We will pass your kind words to Monica in reception.
We are delighted you took party in our activities. Our animation team work very hard to entertain our guests of all ages.
We are pleased you found our hotel and apartments to standard. Our cleaning is of a very high standard as we have a very rigorous quality control system in place and our cleaning team are working very hard to maintain the targets and standards.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon in Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely time. The perfect location for a family holiday. We returned home today and miss it already. The hotel is spotless. The amenities pools, playground and lagoon were fabulous. It was easy to fill the day and relax. My parents came with us and had an adapted beach front apartment for my mum which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OliviabCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays and that your parents had a good time too and that the facilities were suitable for your Mother. Always email us ahead if you need special facilities and we will do our best to provide whatever you need for your holidays and to ensure we give you an apartment suitable for your particular needs.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

All aspects of the sands beach complex were excellent. I have nothing negative to say. This extends to the holiday company cosmos (who's reps were blissfully absent 90% of the time......but otherwise great holiday organising), monarch for excellent flights and service, and monarch/ gatwick for flexible and quick check in desk arrangements.

Room Tip: paying a little extra for beach front rooms is good. the poolside apartments are excellent also but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your tour operator left an emergency number at their desk for you to call in the event of any of their guests needing them and reception had the number. We would have gladly contacted them for you had you needed any help.
We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely break at Sands Beach 2 weeks 23 June - 7 July. 2 Adults, 3 Kids 4,7,11.

The transfer from the airport is an easy 20 mins or so, slightly longer on the return as we had more pick ups.

Check in was quick and simple and the staff were pleasant even though it was about 10.30pm. We paid for a safe it was about 34 euro's, worth it though with all the electronic equipment the kids had brought.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on Montana. A great size apartment large bedrooms, loads of storage although it is getting dated

The kitchen however was a real disappointment. It was just not equipped well for preparing meals. The utensils and pots and pans were very old and not a good selection either. I know most people will eat out every night but with 3 kids sometimes you just want to prepare your own evening meal and put them to bed. It was very dated too the cupboards looked battered looks like it needs a refurb. Even breakfast and lunch was a chore.

The apartment was right next to the pool and it felt more like a private villa, it was cold though although the kids didn't seem to mind! Sunbeds were not an issue on the first week but by the second it was getting ridiculous towels put out during the night or towels on beds with no occupants until after lunch! Parasols were not in abundance either, with so many children I think this needs to be addressed asap.

The lagoon area is lovely for a change and the kids enjoyed the kayaks and the shallow water.
A big box of buckets and spades are available for use, it did make me laugh though as no-one seemed to be able to put them back in the box at the end of the day and just left them for the staff to collect - seems a bit idle to me!

The kids club is great all 3 went to this and really enjoyed it, there is a session in the morning then a break for lunch then a session in the afternoon. This is all included in your holiday price. You can pay extra if you want them to stay for lunch I think it was 5 Euro each so for us wasn't really an option at 15 Euro. It wasn't a problem though you just collected them and took them back if they wanted to do the afternoon session. The staff were nice and lively and looked very entertaining, which must be a winning formula judging by the number of kids they had!

There are some lovely beaches and some have shelter by the rocks so you don't get sand whipped!

Location to the town was good for us, Sands Beach is on the edge but an easy and pleasant walk to the bars and restaurants. You can either walk on the promenade by the sea or along the road. There is a huge park area just outside the hotel too which was nice.

The cleaning staff are around all the time, I have never seen as many busy people at a hotel ever! The bins were emptied at least once a day and the maids were present all the time! A security guard spotted a broken grate around the pool she wrote a note in her little pad and lo and behold half an hour later the buggy came round and it was fixed pronto! Towels were replaced as often as you wanted with the dirty ones in the bath system which works well.

The onsite shop is more expensive than the local shop 5 mins walk away. Some reviewers on here states there isn't any difference but there definitely is and over 2 weeks shopping for a family of 5 you will notice. Fresh baguettes are nearly half the price for example and most items are 30/40 cents cheaper on each item at the local shop. It's ok for emergencies.

Evening entertainment is scheduled on the wall in reception and it was varied, we did go to a couple of the music shows and the kids enjoyed meeting up with some of their friends from around the pool and having a dance on the stage. Drinks are served to you at your table and are reasonably priced, excellent waiters too.

The local Chinese buffet is good value, Portabellos was a lovely meal. We didn't rate La Chimenea though, we had send one meal back. The takeaway pizza on site is nice it is collection though not delivery. We ate at La Canarias one night which was a complete disaster total chaos, it was like something out of a sketch show! I do NOT recommend that one.

Take a light jacket or a cardigan for the evening. You don't think it will get cold at 7/8pm but by 9/10pm you will feel the chill. It's similar to Portugal in the evening. The wind is nice and cooling and makes the heat bearable, be aware though, you will still get burnt all my kids were burnt on Nivea factor 50!! Not good, make sure you re-apply.

We did try to book a late check out as we were not getting picked up until 5pm and had to be out by 12noon. This was not possible though and we had to use the complimentary studio which was fine with 3 kids though it would have been better having your own space for the day.

All in all a lovely holiday at a nice hotel, it could do with some improvements to the accommodation though. Pools great, staff great, location great.

I would return if the kitchens are sorted out, this would put me off booking again in the future.

Room Tip: Montana seems quieter than the other plazas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mylittlechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We had already reports from you about this apartment. We would like to thank you for bringing the issues with this apartment to our attention. You were perfectly correct about the kitchen utensils and we will be having a total stock check of all the kitchen equipment in all apartments in the first week in October. We are very aware of the importance of the kitchen equipment for families. So please rest assured your comment has been taken notice of and will most definitely be acted upon.

The issue of sunbed reservation is being dealt with by our security team. All unattended towels will be gathered and can be collected from the towel changing room in Plaza Amerillo. This has caused ugly scenes in reception when they towels have been confiscated with abuse of our reception staff. We will still continue with our policy of zero tolerance with sunbed reservation in the hope that we can eliminate this anti social behaviour creeping into our hotel. This is the first year we have had this problem. ALL TOWELS LEFT OUT BETWEEN 23.00-08.00 WILL BE CONFISCATED IF THERE IS NO MEMBER OF THE PARTY WITH THE TOWELS.

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Start of holidays was not great, we were downgraded to a standard apartment, because they did not have any superior apartment available, we spent two days in standard apartment. which was very basic, kitchen was not suitable for a self catering, however they did give us free breakfast for rest of the stay which was not bad, well this Resort is kept spotless, very clean, 24 hour supermarket is good, staff very friendly, pools were very clean, i would definatly go back,

Room Tip: rooms in plaza amarila are very quiet, close to beach, not very crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. On behalf of all the team at Sands Beach Resort we apologise for the bad start to your holiday. We have sent you a personal message.
We thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing