We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely time. The perfect location for a family holiday. We returned home today and miss it already. The hotel is spotless. The amenities pools, playground and lagoon were fabulous. It was easy to fill the day and relax. My parents came with us and had an adapted beach front apartment for my mum which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OliviabCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays and that your parents had a good time too and that the facilities were suitable for your Mother. Always email us ahead if you need special facilities and we will do our best to provide whatever you need for your holidays and to ensure we give you an apartment suitable for your particular needs.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    1,112
    390
    161
    111
See reviews for
1,445
1,070
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

All aspects of the sands beach complex were excellent. I have nothing negative to say. This extends to the holiday company cosmos (who's reps were blissfully absent 90% of the time......but otherwise great holiday organising), monarch for excellent flights and service, and monarch/ gatwick for flexible and quick check in desk arrangements.

Room Tip: paying a little extra for beach front rooms is good. the poolside apartments are excellent also but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your tour operator left an emergency number at their desk for you to call in the event of any of their guests needing them and reception had the number. We would have gladly contacted them for you had you needed any help.
We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely break at Sands Beach 2 weeks 23 June - 7 July. 2 Adults, 3 Kids 4,7,11.

The transfer from the airport is an easy 20 mins or so, slightly longer on the return as we had more pick ups.

Check in was quick and simple and the staff were pleasant even though it was about 10.30pm. We paid for a safe it was about 34 euro's, worth it though with all the electronic equipment the kids had brought.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on Montana. A great size apartment large bedrooms, loads of storage although it is getting dated

The kitchen however was a real disappointment. It was just not equipped well for preparing meals. The utensils and pots and pans were very old and not a good selection either. I know most people will eat out every night but with 3 kids sometimes you just want to prepare your own evening meal and put them to bed. It was very dated too the cupboards looked battered looks like it needs a refurb. Even breakfast and lunch was a chore.

The apartment was right next to the pool and it felt more like a private villa, it was cold though although the kids didn't seem to mind! Sunbeds were not an issue on the first week but by the second it was getting ridiculous towels put out during the night or towels on beds with no occupants until after lunch! Parasols were not in abundance either, with so many children I think this needs to be addressed asap.

The lagoon area is lovely for a change and the kids enjoyed the kayaks and the shallow water.
A big box of buckets and spades are available for use, it did make me laugh though as no-one seemed to be able to put them back in the box at the end of the day and just left them for the staff to collect - seems a bit idle to me!

The kids club is great all 3 went to this and really enjoyed it, there is a session in the morning then a break for lunch then a session in the afternoon. This is all included in your holiday price. You can pay extra if you want them to stay for lunch I think it was 5 Euro each so for us wasn't really an option at 15 Euro. It wasn't a problem though you just collected them and took them back if they wanted to do the afternoon session. The staff were nice and lively and looked very entertaining, which must be a winning formula judging by the number of kids they had!

There are some lovely beaches and some have shelter by the rocks so you don't get sand whipped!

Location to the town was good for us, Sands Beach is on the edge but an easy and pleasant walk to the bars and restaurants. You can either walk on the promenade by the sea or along the road. There is a huge park area just outside the hotel too which was nice.

The cleaning staff are around all the time, I have never seen as many busy people at a hotel ever! The bins were emptied at least once a day and the maids were present all the time! A security guard spotted a broken grate around the pool she wrote a note in her little pad and lo and behold half an hour later the buggy came round and it was fixed pronto! Towels were replaced as often as you wanted with the dirty ones in the bath system which works well.

The onsite shop is more expensive than the local shop 5 mins walk away. Some reviewers on here states there isn't any difference but there definitely is and over 2 weeks shopping for a family of 5 you will notice. Fresh baguettes are nearly half the price for example and most items are 30/40 cents cheaper on each item at the local shop. It's ok for emergencies.

Evening entertainment is scheduled on the wall in reception and it was varied, we did go to a couple of the music shows and the kids enjoyed meeting up with some of their friends from around the pool and having a dance on the stage. Drinks are served to you at your table and are reasonably priced, excellent waiters too.

The local Chinese buffet is good value, Portabellos was a lovely meal. We didn't rate La Chimenea though, we had send one meal back. The takeaway pizza on site is nice it is collection though not delivery. We ate at La Canarias one night which was a complete disaster total chaos, it was like something out of a sketch show! I do NOT recommend that one.

Take a light jacket or a cardigan for the evening. You don't think it will get cold at 7/8pm but by 9/10pm you will feel the chill. It's similar to Portugal in the evening. The wind is nice and cooling and makes the heat bearable, be aware though, you will still get burnt all my kids were burnt on Nivea factor 50!! Not good, make sure you re-apply.

We did try to book a late check out as we were not getting picked up until 5pm and had to be out by 12noon. This was not possible though and we had to use the complimentary studio which was fine with 3 kids though it would have been better having your own space for the day.

All in all a lovely holiday at a nice hotel, it could do with some improvements to the accommodation though. Pools great, staff great, location great.

I would return if the kitchens are sorted out, this would put me off booking again in the future.

Room Tip: Montana seems quieter than the other plazas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mylittlechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We had already reports from you about this apartment. We would like to thank you for bringing the issues with this apartment to our attention. You were perfectly correct about the kitchen utensils and we will be having a total stock check of all the kitchen equipment in all apartments in the first week in October. We are very aware of the importance of the kitchen equipment for families. So please rest assured your comment has been taken notice of and will most definitely be acted upon.

The issue of sunbed reservation is being dealt with by our security team. All unattended towels will be gathered and can be collected from the towel changing room in Plaza Amerillo. This has caused ugly scenes in reception when they towels have been confiscated with abuse of our reception staff. We will still continue with our policy of zero tolerance with sunbed reservation in the hope that we can eliminate this anti social behaviour creeping into our hotel. This is the first year we have had this problem. ALL TOWELS LEFT OUT BETWEEN 23.00-08.00 WILL BE CONFISCATED IF THERE IS NO MEMBER OF THE PARTY WITH THE TOWELS.

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Start of holidays was not great, we were downgraded to a standard apartment, because they did not have any superior apartment available, we spent two days in standard apartment. which was very basic, kitchen was not suitable for a self catering, however they did give us free breakfast for rest of the stay which was not bad, well this Resort is kept spotless, very clean, 24 hour supermarket is good, staff very friendly, pools were very clean, i would definatly go back,

Room Tip: rooms in plaza amarila are very quiet, close to beach, not very crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. On behalf of all the team at Sands Beach Resort we apologise for the bad start to your holiday. We have sent you a personal message.
We thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have just returned from our second trip to Sands Beach. I personally think this resort completely deserves its 4 star rating. Not only is it really clean, but the staff are friendly and attentive and the facilities are truly superb. You are free to us any of the 6 or so pools on the site. They also have a beautiful lagoon and a beach that children of all ages love. They also have a stock of beach equipment, boats, kayaks, buckets and spades, bodyboards and inflatables that are completely free to use. The have plenty of sun loungers at all locations and it is never overcrowded. We also tried the Hacienda Restaurant at Sands this year and thought that the food quality and selection was very good. The resort also has nice added extras that make the trip even more special, for example the beach towel provision and movie channel. The apartments are also cleaned to a high standard daily. We are already planning our next trip to Sands in February.

Room Tip: If you have a younger family then I recommend that you book a beach front apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidiklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments on our cleaning team as they work so hard to maintain the resort. Everyone is free to use any of the pools in the complex. The 25m x 8 lane pool is also free to anyone to use. You must wear a swimming cap to protect the very sensitive filter system in the pool. You also have to wear a bracelet to use the pool. You can get a bracelet from reception and you must leave €10 deposit which will be refunded at the end of the holiday on return of the bracelet. This is purely for security as so many people from outside the hotel were using the pool and the pool is for the use of our guests only.
We are pleased that you liked the food at the Hacienda Restaurant as there have been very strict quality control guidelines and inspections put in place since Jan 2013.
We have a beach towel service for our guests. This is only for the use of our guests and the guests of our tour operator partners. You pay €15 deposit per towel and you can change the towel every day. At the end of your holiday when you return your towel you receive your deposit back. This leaves lots of extra room to pack more clothes and shoes!!!

We look forward to seeing you in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

What can I say NOT 4 star a all. We had a one bedroom apartment which was run down and cleanliness not to are standard. Loved the location and the way you have the freedom of the swimming pool and not to fight over sun beds. Speaking to a lot of people that have been over the last four year said that it has gone down and changed as the years has gone on. Kids entertainment ok if you have 5 years old , but for teenagers there was none. Towels and bed changing was good service nestling every day. NO clothes maidens provided only and peg Holden that is only good to put socks on it. You also have to pay for safe in room which was about 33 euros for 2 weeks. soleil bar was ok but entertainment was a bit rubbishb for adults.

We ate out most evening s great restaurants where -
Le Chiminea 8/10
portobello 7/10
Beijing 6/10
La Hacienda 7/10
Indian (by ocean front) 9/10
Waterpark which was 77 euros for 2 adults and 2 children was ok but not great. Only good thing was no queues.
Rancho Texas which was 85 for 2 adults and 2 kids was good. Birds of prey was excellent show (the best even better than the one in America)
Porto De Carmen , we went on the bus (03) which was 11 euros each way. Beach was amazing and a great day out. Lovely place more busier than costa teguise.

Jakes bar and Jesters bar are great too.
Chispas bar / cheap cocktail s and shots. 3 euros for cocktails and 1 euros for shots.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Leann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your holidays at our hotel. Our cleaning is of an excellent standard and we have a rigorous quality control system in place which ensures our cleaning excellence. See other reviews,.

The hotel is an officially graded 4 star hotel.

We cannot comment on third hand conversations in relation to our hotel.

We have a Teenagers Club three afternoons per week. Teenagers meet at 15.00 at the pool at The Mai Tai Bar. The activities for adults, teenagers and children are all well publicised and are included as a loose insert in the information book given to all our guests who check in at reception. They are also posted on the activities board in reception. We are sorry you were not aware of our Teenagers Club but we can do no more to bring the activities to the attention of our guests. We also have free Kayaks in the lagoon area for the use of our guests and we offer all we can to entertain teenagers.
There is a charge for the safes in the room in accordance with all hotels.
Entertainment is subjective and one persons “rubbish” can be another persons “treasure”. We are sorry it was not to your taste.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your many days out. Resorts on the island all offer different things for different people. Some people prefer Puerto Del Carmen and it is often very wise to check out your resorts thoroughly before booking to ensure you book the resort more suitable to your tastes. Some people prefer quieter than Puerto Del Carmen.
The bus fare on the Number 3 bus from Costa Teguise to Puerto Del Carmen is €1.70 each way not €11 return.
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have just returned this morning from 10 days at Sands Beach Resort. Booked holiday with Jet2 and found the check-in procedure, flight and transfers very good. Unfortunately on arrival at the resort my bubble was burst and I was kindly informed that my original booking for 2 x 1 bedroom beachfront apartments were not available and they were 'upgrading' us to a 3 bed beachfront apartment. When I advised the receptionist that we wished to remain with our original booking, she informed me that wasn't possible as there were non available - a case of take or leave it. She suggested I shouldn't be 'so negative' about the change of accommodation. Decided to take the 3 bed for the sake of the children (didn't want to spoil the holiday for them) but would take up the matter with our Jet2 rep. I have to say that the Jet2 rep, Eileen was excellent and talked to the hotel management on our behalf. At breakfast the next morning the restaurant only had a note of 3 of us instead of 5 so this became an issue and need clarification. Overall I don't feel the resort values a 4* and needs some TLC in areas. Staff were lovely and made fuss over the children. We went half board and the food was great, plenty of choice and my 5 year old ate like a king for the whole holiday. Enjoyed this holiday but felt room issue put an overall gloom on things.

Room Tip: Beachfront are perfect for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are sorry about the issues you had with the allocation of your original booking. We were aware of the grave discomfort to you. Many of our staff made a great effort to see you were settled and satisfied with your compensation. You were spoken to on the phone by reception and public relations staff and we were assured by many members of your party that everything was fine and you were happy with your compensation. In the absence of any of your party telling us you were unhappy but the complete opposite assuring us you were happy we had no option but to take your word you were contented. The mistake in the dining room was rectified with a phone call in a few minutes. Administration mistakes happen and we can only apologise but it was sorted in minutes.
Your 3 bedroom apartment is recently refurbished and two members of your party told our staff it was beautiful so your TLC remark has baffled us. We invite anyone reading this review and answer to look at this 3 bedroom apartment featured on the Sands Beach Hotel Facebook page recently to see how beautiful it is and read the comments from the public.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.
The hotel is an officially rated 4 star hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and feel that the compensation adequately covered the gloom cast by the allocation issue.
Thank you again for your review and please accept our apologies and compensation for the allocation issue. If you were to return to Sands Beach Resort in the future please make us aware of your arrival date and we will ensure everything is perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing