We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well earned break!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well earned break!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a great holiday with friendly staff and good facilities. We were a bit anxious that the complex would be overrun by children but they must have been well occupied in the Buddy Club as we barely noticed them! The complex is near enough to walk to local beaches, shops and restaurants but far enough away to be quiet. Rooms are cleaned and towels replenished every day and the whole complex is clean. We would stay here again but would want to know which apartment we had beforehand.

Room Tip: We were put in a terrible room location in the complex but were moved when we complained. You'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shibs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although our hotel has many families with children the unique layout of our hotel means that it never looks full. Thank you for your kind comments about our cleaning and location of our hotel. We are happy that any issues you had about your room allocation were sorted promptly on your complaint and you were happy with the outcome. It is always better to let us know if anything is wrong while you are here and we can rectify it for you if we can. We look forward to seeing you back in Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    1,102
    385
    161
    110
See reviews for
1,429
1,060
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a 10 day break at Sands beach resort.
The Accomodation and resort was amazing. Lots to do and so peaceful it was great.

The Buddy's kids club was brilliant Debbie was a credit to the team teaching dancing swimming and genral activities with the children. Everyone at buddy's club deserves a huge round of applause - thank you for making Olivia's holiday so special she loved it.
I would high reccomend this resort

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N11shd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will pass your kind comments on to the members of the animation team. It is well deserved as they work so hard to ensure all our children and adults have a wonderful time. We have a teens club as well as our Buddy Club and the programmes are available from reception or are on the activities board on the wall in reception.
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you to Sands Beach Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in a superior apt in June. The apt was excellent. We upgraded for the extra space as recommended by a friend. I didn't see the standard apartments but the superior offers a kitchenette which is separated from the living/bedroom area. I heard that in the standard the bed folds out very close to the fridge! our 2 kids aged 7 and 5 slept in the backroom and we took the living area which had another sofa bed. Our bed was perfect. Kitchen was great but a washing machine instead of dish washer would be better. Never had breakfast in hotel as it would have cost 30 euro for us all. That's expensive even by Irish standards. however lots of people said it was superb. We ate a bit in the hotel and thought it very good and the service excellent. So Rosemarie is the lady you need to talk re trips. Great advise and very honest. The lovely thing about this Hotel is the fact that you walk out the door and there is the pool. WARNING. Lots of families with small families booked the Verde apartments. The pool is Olympic size and not really suitable for small ones. As a result there can be an overflow into your pool area. Its a bit of a shock when you wake up in the morn to find a family parked outside your door on your sunbeds! I do jest but ya get the picture. The peace at night time was .....wonderful. The only bad thing about our 2 weeks was that my mobile walked at some point from the sun lounger we think or it could have been in a handbag that my daughter borrowed and lost.......we will never know......no photos as a result. I can highly recommend this resort for families...HEAVEN

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities of your superior apartment.
We will pass your comments to Rosemary. She is in reception every day 09.00.15.00 at our Customer Services Desk and has information on our hotel, Costa Teguise, the island of Lanzarote, public buses and a huge range of day and night excursions to suit your family.
We have sent you a personal message regarding your lost mobile phone. It is most upsetting to lose your mobile phone with all your contact information and photographs.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our 5th trip to Lanzarote and probably our best yet. Stayed at Sands Beach and as per usual was not disappointed with the quality of accommodation and the whole of Sands Beach resort. Staff all friendly and will help with any request, poolside area spotless and accommodation although not the most modern was also clean and all appliances worked without problems.

The best child friendly place I have ever stayed. 5 - 10 mins walk to good restaurants and bars, or use the one on site which also provides a good selection of foods. Right on the beach and bought a cheap rod for some fishing with my son, caught a fish too!!

Would thoroughly recommend to anyone with a family. Already looked at flights for next years holiday with Sands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Thank you for returning to Sands Beach Resort again. The greatest compliment that you can pay us is to return to our hotel. It is the one confirmation that we are doing our job well. Do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for rates for next year. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at sands beach resort from 17th July-31st July we did in fact hire the accommodation privately but we were so impressed with all the facilities. I traveled with my husband and 3 daughters aged 6,10,12. They also agreed that this was their best holiday. We stayed in Costa Teguise last year and loved it but wanted to try somewhere new we were a 15 min walk away so we quickly got our bearings and returned so some of the old places we enjoyed If you come out of Sands Beach and turn left you come to Charcos shopping center this was a square where there were some good shops and restaurants to choose from we especially enjoyed the Chinese one called Beijing there was a good mixture of different cuisine and it was in a good setting. If you continue along the promenade following the beach called Las Cucharas It took us 15 mins to slowly walk into the main area , you then get to some trampolines and you can turn left and follow the sea and find the group of bars etc by the Dolphin inn or go straight ahead where there are lots of shops restaurants,cafes etc and the square which had such a good buzz about it especially on Friday when their is a market carry on round and find more shops etc in front of the Grand Teguise Playa then take several different routes that link up in front of the Barcelo where there are some great places to eat and drink a great bar to visit for live music was La Vida just by the Grand Teguise Playa and then link up to walk back past the sea and you are back by the Dolphin etc Worth a walk It was nice to see that there was new business since last year an icecream parlour,italian,indian called Fazz`s and a frozen yoghurt bar this is about 15 mins from sands beach and is near the Dolphin inn,Cutty Sark, Water front all these are English bars and then there was Baileys and another Irish bar but all do great food and have fun entertainment all looking out to sea. We ate out every night for 2 weeks and went to a different place each night and still have more to try, some of the Chinese buffets vary but they are the cheapest option some of our best meals were La Hacienda,El Maestro and Peskera they are a chain but the food is amazing On your walk you will be hassled a bit to have the girls hair braided but if you were polite they were polite back and the looky, looky men were not overly pushy and had a good sense of humor i did however find some of the owners in the Charcos square too pushy and i avoided these shops.
Beaches you are spoilt for choice you could visit the private beach/lagoon on Sands beach and have no problem getting a sun bed and use the buckets and spades or the kayaks which was good fun you can then pop across the bridge to the Mai tai bar or a dip in the heated pool or jucuzzi. Just out of there and turn right there is another beach that we visited often it was gorgeous not at all busy and safe for the children it did have rocks so you needed to go between them for the sandy bits but great for rock pooling. Further round is more beach then you reach Las Cucharas beach which is big and quite busy further round again in front of Grand Teguise Playa hotel is Playa del Jablillo beach this was so pretty and worth that extra walk but it was not far to a supermarket or somewhere to eat etc.
We hired the 5 seater bikes it was fun but not as easy as it looked those slight slopes were a killer.
Sands Beach well i cant fault it on arrival very friendly staff the cleanliness hits you all day everyday their is an army of people tidying or cleaning and every member of staff that we passed would speak or smile. We had our own arrangement for cleaning our villa but the maids seemed very efficient doing our neighbours . Our pool was very clean and for the school holidays it never seemed over busy on any of the plazas and the whole feel of the place was calming. There was a supermarket that was well stocked and stayed open very late lovely fresh bread and croissants some things were a bit more expensive and sometimes different choices else where but so many around to go to.I had a massage as i carry an injury and it had flared up whilst on holiday it was very good and the lady i saw was very friendly and efficient i would recommend it. My children did not join The Buddy club but all the children who did seem to have a great time we went to some of the shows, birds of prey, magician the motown and Micheal Jackson night was very good all the waiters were friendly and seemed to remember what you were drinking. We did not use the on site restaurant so cant comment.
One tip that really saved us on baggage space was that you can hire your beach towells for 15 euros each ok this is a bit to find but you get it back then use it on your last day, you can change them every day between 10-11 am or 4-5pm brilliant lovely fresh towells, we also got mattresses for the sunbeds 10 euros and then you get your money back this is a great service that they provide.
Each plaza is slightly different we stayed on Canarias this was 2 storey villas so in theory could be busier than some of the others as they are only 1 storey. some villas are slightly different they are a bit bigger with a separate island kitchen. There were 5 in our 1 bedroom villa and we managed fine 1 double sofa bed = 2 children , 1 pull out cupboard bed =eldest child and i double bed in bedroom = mum and dad. Obviously a 2 bedroom would of given us more room but it was fine. We enjoyed the box of inflatables, floats beach gear , buckets and spades etc that was probably left by all the previous guests but saved me a fortune in buying them.
The resort is lovely and i could not fault the hotel at all we will definitely return this is a very well run hotel but obviously they are not perfect and sometimes problems do arise and sometimes it is not always there fault or they may be so fully booked that they cant always help you. Always email them first with any requests they seemed very helpful to families they hired out buggies and had cots, playpens etc remember some villas are upstairs so if you have young children or cant walk well this could be a problem and although Plaza Verde the accommodation is great it is home to the Olympic pool where more serious swimming is required Great if you are keen on swimming seriously daily or not fussed about going in the pool and just using the sunbeds, but for me with a young family the beauty of the other plazas are the layout , you step out of your villa and the pool is right in front of you and you can pop in and out of your home for the toilet and drinks and snacks and watch your children with ease. Plaza del sol also had a childs park as well as a lovely pool it really is a well layed out complex there are steep ramps ok if you have light small children but not too safe if you have bigger children or indeed a wheel chair but both sides is a service road so just use that to get up and down the different levels its safer. Looking forward to returning there next year we flew from Bournemouth airport and found it very relaxed as is Arrecife and very clean and only 20 mins to sands beach it is great when travelling with children. We only did one trip and that was to the Teguise market we were given interesting facts on the way and found it good for some bargains and lots of great food to eat English vans with breakfasts burgers etc not what we expected at all but well worth a visit. This was a fabulous holiday.Remember that the weather is hot but Lanzarote always has a breeze so you need to take a cardigan or light jacket for the evenings especially for the children and some days can be very overcast but you can still burn no day is the same here but the breeze is great as you never feel too hot and sticky.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MERTON97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
WOW!
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our hotel and Costa Teguise. There is not much we can add to all that!! You have covered everything. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you and your family back at Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks from July 7th to July 21st . After a long day travelling with 3 young boys were promptly checked in by a lovely lady . We had booked a beachfront 2 bed apartment Wow it was amazing so spacious more wardrobe space than any lady could ever want 2 bathrooms that was a lovely surprise cleanliness was superb .the cleanliness of the whole resort was top class apartment cleaned everyday the cleaners work so so hard very polite. The main town is a lovely ten to fifteen minute stroll where a large array of fantastic restaurants await we tried a different one every evening was never disappointed .
Rosemary you will find in reception who helps with excursions and local advice on where to dine is amazing .
The pools at the complex superb for our young boys never too crowded .
In our two weeks there never had a single problem met many families who have returned year after year .
By far our best family holiday to date thankyou sands beach

Tip . Try the Texas ranch evening BBQ excursion amazing family evening fantastic entertainment for kids and adults alike .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrandmaP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for your comments about our cleaning staff. We announce our new Express Advance Check in available. If you would like to avoid the Q´s at check in please contact our reservations department and they will do your Advance Check in for you. All you have to do is collect your key on arrival. Contact our reservations: reservations@ sandsbeach.eu to check in.
Sands Beach Resort is very centrally located. The nearest shopping centre is CC Las Cucharas and it is only a 5 minute walk away and it has shops, bars and restaurants.
We will pass on your comments to Rosemary. Rosemary is at our Customer Services Desk in reception every day from 09.00-15.00. She has information on our hotel and Costa Teguise, public buses and great value excursions to suit your family´s needs. Yes we agree Rancho Texas is a great night out Yee Haw!!
There is no need to thank us - you and your family enjoying your holiday with us is thanks enough and job satisfaction for us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

3rd visit in 3 years. Great for kids very child friendly.great entertainment. Very convenient to shops and restaurants. Best beach front apartments.
Jacuzzi can be heated up was always cold. Kids enjoyed buddy club with various activities


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us. Our Buddy Club work very hard to ensure that all our little people have a great time and give Mum & Dad some adult time. We look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing