We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Providenciales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in a SC studio, decent size and easy for two people to relax in. It is a great location for exploring the local area. Easy to walk to the beach and relax or windsurf (which is very big in the area!). Entertainment was put on for people staying at the resort but we mainly avoided this as there were many small children. We were not really fussed about the food and would probably not recommend going all inclusive on this one, there are so many other great places you can find within 10-15 minutes walk away (or further if you are exploring the area fully). I would recommend using the spa facilities whilst you are there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Sands Beach Resort.

Our hotel is ideally suited to walk to the nearest shopping centre or on the beach with a pedestrianised walkway for miles by the sea. Nothing in Costa Teguise is too far away.

We have a Public Relations desk open in reception from 09.00-15.00 each day. Rosemary has maps and information on buses and restaurants and all about the island and is worth a quick visit to get your bearings. We also have a large and different range of excursions. If its a quick express visit to the volcanoes to a birdwatching tour to a submarine (a real one) we have it all. See our website for videos and prices: outandabout.sandsbeach.eu.
Sands Beach Resort offers accommodation on the following board basis only: Self Catering,
Bed and Breakfast,and Half Board. Sands Beach Resort do not offer All Inclusive board.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    1,112
    390
    161
    111
See reviews for
1,444
1,069
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I are in our late 20's & stayed here for 1 week self-catering 23rd-30th April in apartment Montana 20.
Firstly, the studio was decent. Biggest and most spacious SC apartment i've stayed in. Kitchenette is very good size and well equipped. Bathroom good size too - only studio problem we encountered was a nest of ants at one of the sink basins. We informed reception and it was tackled within 30mins.
Fold down bed was uncomfortable - to be expected I suppose.
The patio area seemed not very well kept. Bit grim in parts but was quite spacious.
Our impression is that the entire resort is looking old. Shabby tiles apparent and most pools have a poor, weathered looking floor surface - more like pools in local parks, not a highly rated hotel.
The animation team were non-existent. I tried to take part in 4 separate activities which were advertised in reception - only 1 went ahead. More frustratingly, when i waited 20mins for one, i enquired with receptionist who laughed & told me to wait at mai thai bar. I waited there 30mins and again nothing.
It was the same with all other activities from there on in. They were advertised as being on, I just waited everytime as per instructions - nothing ever materialised. I later noticed the animation team spent most of the day helping erect a seating capacity for a 3 day water polo tournament being held at the hotel in the olympic pool - this was advertised all over reception. Im a massive sport lover but my idea of a holiday is not to relax for a week at a local sporting venue. It was an eye sore to say the least. I suspect the hotel have invested money into this Olympic pool and are now trying to recoup a return - perhaps focus should be on regular guests.
Prices in the hotel bar were far more expensive than a short walk to town or even in the sports bar over the road.
The gym was pathetic to be honest. About 6 sets of dumbells, 3 multigyms you could host in a garage, a cross trainer which capsized mid-use and an exercise bike that didn't even work. The games room was like a dark and dingey arcade from 1980 underneath the supermarket.
You got 30mins free wifi per day - only when you purchase an overpriced drink from the soleil bar. Wifi is free in every bar in town which is a casual 10-15 mins stroll away, passing smaller bars en route.
The supermarket was decent, well stocked and surprisingly competitive prices.

In summary, the hotel fell far short of our expectations. We normally stay in 3* accm - nothing expensive or flash but found this to be poor in comparison to most other places visited. Can't help but think the entire resort is centred around this new 25 metre Olympic swimming pool when it should remember facilities and activities advertised elsewhere.

We would not return. HD resort next door looked nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review.
We are pleased that you were happy with your apartment. Unfortunately many of our studio apartments do face a wall. However Montana 20 is one of the studio apartments that does not face a wall and is bright. We have looked at the patio this morning with our cleaning staff and it is very clean and maintained to the very same high standards as the rest of our complex as per all the other reviews of this hotel.
We feel there are communication issues in terms of the venue of the activities and the communication to all reception staff about this. Please be assured that everyone is now aware that all the activities are now held in Plaza Verde and not the Mai Tai. We do apologise to you about this misunderstanding. We have taken measures following your review to ensure we have checks in place for communication of changes.
This weekend Sands Beach Resort, Costa Teguise and Lanzarote are very proud to host the Copa de España Master Waterpolo tournament. There are teams coming from all over Europe and we feel very honoured for Costa Teguise to have been awarded the hosting of this event. I am sorry if the preparations for this event were offensive to you. However the event is only in Plaza Verde. We have none of our holiday guests accommodated in Plaza Verde for the duration of the event. The whole event can be seen through our social media channels. The response in general from our UK holiday makers has been very positive with many wanting to support the UK team.
Our Gym has been extended and we are awaiting the delivery of all our equipment. Being an island the delivery time from Europe is slow and can take up to six weeks. We are awaiting delivery of the following:
• 3 Tread Mills
• Professional Cross Trainer
• 8 station multi gym
• 20 sets of dumbbells
• Much more up to the minute apparatus

Please follow us on Sands Beach Active on our social media channels to keep you up to date on the arrival of our new equipment.
In summary we are sorry you were unhappy with our hotel. We would have liked you to come and see us about your concerns at the time as your opinions and that of all our guests are equally important. We have a Public Relations desk in reception.
We would like to state that Sands Beach Resort value all our guests. All our facilities are there to play a part in creating the perfect holiday for all our guests whom we value equally.
We thank you again for your review. You had some very constructive comments that will be acted upon immediately. Your opinions are very important to us in creating the perfect holiday hotel. We would like you to come back again and visit us in Sands Beach Resort to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish Girl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The resort was super and really kid friendly and safe, and the nearby town on Costa Teguise was great fun at night and loads of good restaurants and a good buzz around the place – also very good value for eating and drink. The people in Lanzarote were really friendly. Facilities in the hotel were great, quiet and the layout (low rise) makes everything really easy.

To be honest, in regards to the accommodation (the apartment), it was very poor and was extremely musty (strong smell of damp, which I can still smell!) and the furniture/tv was very dated and the couches were torn & damaged, and also the beds were very poor. We also had to remind them a few times to change towels and beds etc. I would highly recommend the resort, but not the accommodation we had.


Also personally I am not into the buffet style eating in the restaurants on site, so was happy that we self catered. Food in the pool bar was very nice but not in the main restaurant. Handy having supermarket on site and found it reasonable.

Room Tip: We stayed at plaza sol, and found this to be the nicest plazas, good pools and kids playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGirlAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays and facilities at Sands Beach Resort.

We are disappointed that you were unhappy with your room and our servicing of your room. Our customer care and cleanliness are very important to us. Could you contact us as soon as possible with specifics. In order to provide the best facilities and services we need specific information of any errors. I have provided you with contact information in a private message.
We thank you again for your observations. Your opinion is important to us in the attainment of the perfect family resort. We are glad you enjoyed your holidays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed recently with our 4 year old, having booked a 2 bed villa on sol plaza directly with the owners. We were nervous about security, safety etc having stayed in puerto del carmen a couple of years ago and having that villa broken into and everything stolen.

Our stay at sands beach completely put our minds at rest... As others have said, exceptionally clean, great service and attitude from all staff, lovely food and fab mini disco and kids entertainment. Everything was just so easy, laid back and friendly and it strikes the perfect balance of having a wealth of facilities ( a salon, well being centre, gym, private beach kids club, evening entertainment, tai chi, yoga, Zumba, good on site and fairly priced supermarket) whilst at the same time feeling much smaller than you would imagine.... I think this is thanks to the fact all the accommodation is located across 7 small plazas with their own pool so you never feel you are in a big complex. I will admit we barely ventured out of the complex we were just too busy having fun in the sun and great times together as a family! We will definitely be back :)

The kitchen was well equipped but due a refurb I would say. Wouldn't put me off returning though!

Room Tip: The particular villa we rented privately did have an overpowering musty smell... Think it had leaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTill35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us in Sands Beach Resort. Our Animation Team work very hard to ensure there are a host of activities for all the family for the Mums and Dads as well as the kids. We are glad you enjoyed them all.
As you rented your villas privately we are not in a position to comment on the kitchen or the musty smell. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities and we look forward to welcoming you and your family soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

i would definately recommend this hotel,we are definately going back.just returned from a week staying in a 2 bedroom beach front app.we took our 2 teenage daughters there was loads of room.2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms and 2 sofa beds if needed.private terrace had room for 2 sunbeds a table and 4 chairs comfortably.the resort is immaculate throughout and the cleaners offered to clean our appartment and change the towels everyday.the lagoon/beach area was cleaned throughout the day they even raked the sand flat every night.they play a movie every 2 hours (ideal for a night in or a break from the sun)we stayed bed and breakfast great food, great choice and great staff.the reception staff are really helpful and can call a taxi with a press of a button and its there within 2 mins.3 euros to take you to the square(recommend this free entertainment everynight).rosemary the hotel tour rep is great telling you all about the trips and which ones are best.supermaket on site full of brands you recognise and not badly priced.There is a local supermarket 1 minute down the road we used too.you can hire beach towels for 15 euros each(refundable) and change them as often as you like.found this great for keeping weight down in cases.

Room Tip: go for beach front amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marhymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We offer a wide range of sports activities at Sands Beach Resort which should be of interest to teenagers. We also have WIFI which is a necessity to the teenage holiday!

We are pleased you liked your apartment and we thank you for your kind words about our cleaning, as our cleaning team work very hard to ensure our resort is spotless. Your words of praise will be passed to the cleaning team. Taxis are available at the push of a button within minutes from reception. We have a Customer Services Desk in reception and Rosemary offers information about our hotel and its facilities, Costa Teguise and the island. We have a huge range of excursions to suit every taste at competitive prices. See our website: outandabout.sandsbeach.eu

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A good flight was marred by our reception when not only had they allocated an apartment in the 1 area that we wanted to avoid of the many available (7 or 8 and see tip below), they also allocated the wrong apartment type! Unfortunately the Reception staff on duty when we arrived were totally out of their depth with the problem.
That settled, I have to say that the complex is very good indeed and I was particularly impressed by the cleanliness (they are always cleaning) and the pleasant and helpful attitude of the staff.
The pool bar does good food including full English, we didn't try the buffet on-site as we like to try local restaurants though it had good reports from other guests.
The swimming pools and play area for kids were excellent though only the Pool Bar's and the Olympic pools were heated.
The apartments were nicely furnished but we did have a bad incident with the 2sqm glass coffee table in the apartment allocated to my daughter and the two toddlers. One fell through the glass - my daughter was sitting on the frame at the edge and grabbed her so she was fine though my daughter was bruised. I pointed out to the Hotel and the Jetr2Holiday's Rep that this type of coffee table was totally unsuitable for a family apartment (strangely, the one in my aparttment for two adults, while the same large size and glass, had a criss-cross or supporting wooden bars below the glass) but they said that this was the only problem they'd had etc. etc.
Finally, we had a great 10 days (8/10 full sunshine) but at the end, unfortunately I feel I was lied to (and, if you've read an earlier review of mine from Strasbourg you'll know that I hate being lied to): The feature Lagoon has 3 two person canoes. For some reason on day 8 of the holiday these were chained together and unusable (we'd enjoyed them for 7 days). We contacted Reception three times and their responses follow:-
"They are busy can you ring back in 10 minutes"
"I will see my colleague"
"They are broken"
What all three?
They were still chained up when we left just because someone had forgotten (it happens) but then, when informed, couldn't be bothered (unacceptable) and then lied (totally unacceptable).
A pity, because it is a very good complex, and could be excellent.

Room Tip: With kids avoid the Verde area as it has a half-size Olympic pool as its focus. Lanes, no childrens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imnotretiredme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We thank you for your review of our hotel. It is important to us that your problem with your room at reception on checking in was resolved. We are pleased that it was.
The pool at both the Mai Tai and the 25m pool at Plaza Verde are both heated.
We are sorry that your daughter had such an unfortunate incident falling through the glass table. Unfortunately sitting on the glass tables at any point is not advisable. We offered any help and assistance to your daughter as did your representative from Jet2. Along with yourself, we advised your daughter to seek a check over with a doctor but she refused each of us. She told us she only had scratches and bruises and was OK. We are happy that your daughter was not badly hurt.
We would ask you to contact us directly about the incident with the Kayaks being locked up. We pride ourselves on our customer care and we are appalled that any member of our staff informed you that they “could not be bothered” sorting out the Kayaks for you. Therefore we would ask you to contact us at your earliest convenience about this matter. To clarify matters: Three of the canoes are damaged and cannot be used. The kayaks are still unavailable as we are awaiting repair to them.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. We thank you for your kind comments and we value your other observations. We look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went with 3 yound kids mid March and stayed for 15 nights. We had such a good time and the place is immaculate. The facilities are fantastic and the kids club and night time entertainment was just brilliant. We will definitely go back for our next holiday.

We would recommend that families with young kids avoid staying at Plaza Verde as the Olympic pool is located there and it is not suitable for kids. Any of the other plazas or the beachfront apartments are ideal. Another point to note is to consider whether you need a superior kitchen vs a basic one. We would recommend the superior kitchen especially with kids as these have a dishwasher and oven whereas the basic kitchen does not.

A new gym opened on the resort while we were there and that is superb if you're into the gym. There is also a bicycle hire shop at the resort which is handy for hiring bicycles for the family.

The supermarket is very handy and is open until midnight every day. You can get most things there and go further downtown for the bigger shops.

Overall, I can't fault the Sands Beach in any way. Its an absolutely brilliant place and its also very safe for the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our Buddy Club is very popular among our "little guests". We are delighted that you enjoyed our entertainment as our Animation Team work very hard to ensure everyone in the family has a good holiday.

The pool at Verde is a 25m pool and there is a life guard on duty at all times during opening hours. We do our best not accommodate children in Verde.

Our supermarket is open every day from 07.30 - midnight and we have freshly baked bread and cakes each morning.

We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing