We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sands beach resort, October 2012”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sands beach resort, October 2012”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a great 9 days at sands beach, this really is a gem of a place.
We stayed in a 2 bed beach front apartment, family of 2 adults and 3 children 6, 4 and 11months.
The resort itself is brilliant, spotlessly clean and really well maintained which is really noticeable. Staff are attentive and English is great and there seemed to be a real willingness to please and to ensure you enjoyed your stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbryson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    1,133
    396
    164
    113
See reviews for
1,475
1,095
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just got back from a great week in Sands Beach Resort. The staff were very friendly and when needed they help you immediately. Our apartment was very basic. The second bed was in a cupboard and our daughter thought is was cool to have a bed hidden away.. The sofa was broken and very uncomfortable so we didn't use it.
The nice thing is, is that every appartment block has it's own pool and that is really ideal. The resort also provides toys for te pool which was very convenient. We seemed to have the less nicest pool, as we settled for a smaller appartment. Pools are not heated, so the water was quite cold. With the sun there it's very cooling, but without the sun it's defenitely too cold. The playground is very nice. There's also a playground rght outside the resort and that one was even better. Kids don't have to get bored!
Apparently there's a possibilty to rent a buggy. We only found out our last day, but if we knew this before we would defenitely have done that. Sands Beach is not in the centre of things and with small children the walk to the Spanish square is too far.
We didn't book any meals, but we did go once for a breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. The breakfast was great, but I was a bit disappointed with the dinner. Choice was OK, but not very tasty. We went out in the town and there are plenty of good restaurants. The mini disco in the evening was fantastic for the kids, just a little bit late for a 4 year old. Most of the time she was too tired to participate.
I would defenitely go here again, but I would book a different apartement.

Room Tip: If you take a kitchen with more appliances, you'll get a nicer apartment with nicer swimmingpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFJMP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would have pick good instead of average but there is not such a choice and I do not think it was 'very good' thus I stick with "average".
The customer service was excellent, location and facilities too, however the furniture was a bit old in the apartment, the couch was pretty crappy, and no flat screen tv. Our fridge broke and they replaced it on the day. The sink keep getting stuck and they also fixed it, but it was a bit of a nuisance all this breakdowns.
The bed was pretty low quality, I could feel the springs and gave me back pain from day 1.

The highlights: The food in the buffet was fresh and nice, lots of fish and fruit.
Lots of activities and great staff, very friendly and pleasant.
The brand new Olympic pool was one of the best features. I manage to do some decent swimming with none getting into the lane.
You can also rent proper road or mountain bikes in the hotel's bike shop and go cycling, they as well organise excursion to Timanfalla and Famara beach on MTB pretty affordable.

All and all, enjoyably experience and good value for money if you do not mind sleeping in a good bed.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 'Plaza Verde' that are on the service road are very noisy in the morning. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a fantastic week at Sands Beach resort in Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. We were a large family party of 12 with ages ranging from 64 years to 15 months and we could not fault a thing. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient and spoke perfect English and we were informed on check in that we had been upgraded to beach front apartments which were amazing and in a beautiful setting. I loved getting up in the morning and opening the patio doors to a stunning view of the beach which was right on our doorstep, with the morning sun glinting on the water and little fish jumping and the only sound to be heard was the trundle of the maids cleaning trolley approaching along the walkway. The apartments and the whole complex were kept spotlessly clean, the tiled walkways were brushed, mopped and polished at least once every day and the maids always gave a friendly ‘ hola’ when they passed us. Apartments cleaned daily and towels renewed, bed linen changed every other day. The kids club was great but it was just one big group of all ages and our eldest Grandson who is 10 seemed a bit big alongside the little ones but he still had great fun.
We were bed & breakfast and there was plenty choice to suit all tastes, from fruit, yogurts & cereals to full cooked breakfast all nicely presented and again the staff were lovely, especially with the children. We tried the buffet dinner one night and although it was good, we were glad we were not half board or all inclusive as there was not enough of a selection to chose from. There are some lovely restaurants in the nearby Las Cucharas beside Playa Cucharas, in particular ‘La Chiminea’ and La Terrazza great food, reasonably priced and big trampolines in the middle for the children to work up an appetite. We would also recommend El Maestro, beautiful inside and great food, well worth a visit. All in all, a great holiday and we are already looking to book for next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuirkeyEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've just returned from our holiday in Sands Beach. We had an absolute ball! It was our second time there, but our kids first and they had a brilliant time. Our daughter was just old enough for the kids club which she loved to go to everyday and every night we would attend the mini disco & fantastic night entertainment. The cleaning lady called everyday to make sure we were ok for everything and the staff were more then helpful at any time. We stayed in Playa de Sol which has a beautiful new playground and 2 fantastic swimming pools. (in which i saw 2 staff members cleaning every morning & its surrounding area) Our toilet/kitchen/bedroom including mattresses were spotless. The babys travel cot could of been a bit cleaner but nothing that an antibac wipe didnt fix! I would really recommend this resort for a family holiday, especially those with younger children. We're looking forward to returning again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amydargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from Sands Beach this morning , resort is beautiful great for families .But our apartment was DISGRACEFUL we stayed in the Canarias apts for one week , reported our settee in lounge broken on first day (unable to sit on it) as all spars broken ,never was sorted , had to ASK for clean towels after 2nd day , bedding never changed , cleaners NEVER in in whole week , apts were badly needing a thorough clean , even when we arrived it was not clean , taps in bath were hanging off , we spoke to lots of other guests & they were surprised at our comments .... we are not very particular guests but Im afraid the apt was def not up to standard , wish we had asked to be moved on first day

Room Tip: If returning I would opt for a beach front apt or bungalow , we were in an upstairs apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, we were abit aprehensive, but we needn't have worried.

Very happy with the accommodation, pool area, staff. Outside areas kept spotless. Would definitely stay here again.

First time to Costa Teguise - liked it alot. We preferred it to Puerto Del Carmen.

Sea front paths could do with a few repairs and maybe more benchs to sit and enjoy the view, but other than that Costa Teguise is a really nice place.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms at Plaza Amarillo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing