We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Costa Teguise
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,658)
Filter reviews
8,658 results
Traveler rating
3,252
3,079
1,481
508
338
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,252
3,079
1,481
508
338
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult only pool self service free bus wellness centre family suite entertainment team salad air con family holiday snack bar kids club great holiday hot dogs burger large hotel mini golf self serve
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 8,658 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We booked in on 12 January. The rooms were particularly cold as the balconies were in the shade, and there wasn't heating. Our first request for a move was ignored, but on the second request, we were finally moved to much warmer rooms where the sun reached the balcony. The entertainment was poor, and biased towards the French holidaymakers. Lots of items in the restaurant weren't warm enough, and the Mediterranean Restaurant was disappointing.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Gerente at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear Carol,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We want to apologize for not being able to make you feel supported when having an issue with the first room allocated, we do our best to offer a caring and personalized service giving all the possible solutions to make sure you fully enjoy your stay among us. However, we are glad to read that the alternative room was more comfortable and warm due to the location, and the change helped improve your stay.

Concerning the animation, we have an international team working tirelessly every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing shows and activities that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities which is quite a difficult task and they really are a valued asset of our hotel, we deeply regret reading that their efforts could not meet your expectations.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, an having a more special and personal service at the Mediterráneo restaurant, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Chill out holiday to celebrate wedding anniversary & my birthday. Last minute booking. Everything seemed to go smoothly. Really enjoyed our break away. Would recommend this hotel & staff for their hard work

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank SJGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Gerente at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear guest,

First of all, we congratulate you with your Wedding Anniversary and birthday and we thank you for choosing our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel for such a special occasion.We take a lot of pleasure in making each of our guests' visits "fantastic", especially when it comes to special occasions.

Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Holiday was fab. Hotel was quiet due to time of year. Beautiful weather. Pool was freezing and not heated as stated, (even though I emailed hotel directly to ensure a heated pool). Other than that it’s lovely, food is a good variety although a lot of fish dishes, which for someone who doesn’t like any kind of fish made it more limiting. Overall was lovely and would recommend. The staff were very helpful. Shop nearby also for any essentials. Our balcony got the sun for the majority of the day/evening.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Peaches355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Gerente at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear guest.

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Lanzarote Mat hotel for your visit to Lanzarote and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all.

We regret reading about the discomfort with the temperature of the pools, and we would like to explain that the olympic pool is heated to a certain temperature, and one in the main pool area uses the energy from solar panels to have higher temperature water.

We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Las t but not least, we are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

The hotel is a great choice for families - in family suites you even have special bathroom facilities for kids. The food is very good, the animation team were cheerful and friendly and provided entertainment for both me and my children (aged 9 and 12). Only one of the pools was very cold in January, the other are fine. The rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable. The staff are all smiling and kind. There is a taxi and bus stop outside the hotel. There is also a small supermarket just outside.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BozenaK800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Gerente at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in, specially designed for families with children and the cleanliness during your whole stay.

We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

The Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Loved it, pure heaven. Lovely staff, great location to walk, cycle, hire a car and just explore. Great pool and gym and loads of food. The Wellness Centre offers great treatments and the staff were brilliant. Thank you for an amazing week.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank lovestravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Gerente at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you for highlighting the sports facilities at our hotel. Occidental believes that sports are an essential part of the services our hotels provide. For this reason, there is a modern gym and an opened and heated olympic pool for our most athletic guests.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews