We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was excellent and staff unfailingly polite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was excellent and staff unfailingly polite”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We spent our pre Xmas week there to catch some rays which were rather disappointing as the weather, like elsewhere, was unpredictable. Cloudy, windy and our balcony was obscured by palms and never caught the sun.

However we thought the location was excellent; loads of walks; right and left out of the hotel on the beachfront. Many empty shops and restaurants - seems the all-inclusive is taking away a lot of local trade.

The statutory 3 floors; spacious rooms, frequent cleaning and change of linen and oodles of food.

I had 2-3 courses each meal, each day and believe it or not didn't gain a pound. However that was a lucky break and after 3 holidays of all inclusive I think we will give it a miss next time. The lure of food is too strong to resist. Wine, beer, soft drinks, teas/coffees all free + an impressive array of litre bottles of liquers and shorts so really quite excellent.

We didn't use the downstairs bar/entertainment area very much but the one show we saw was quite brilliant; chinese acrobatics.

Took the exercise class most mornings at 10:30am (persuaded them to move the class out of the wind tunnel!) and also tried the rifle shooting (no certificate there :)).

Most of the guests were from Northern and mid/east European mainland so Brits and Irish in the minority.

We had a studio and were going to change but then didn't bother. Beds hard, pillows so flat and one armchair. TV had the usual channels that covers european countries plus CNN - we managed to get wifi free on our phone and computer so watched movies from youtube. Lovefilm was not downloading in the Canaries!

Half way through the week we discovered a cupboard between the bathroom and kitchenette which held 2 blankets and the safe. Didn't feel we needed to hire a safe but did get a kettle for hubby who can't survive more than 30 minutes without his brew.

We had read in their literature that no more all inclusive after checkout (12) and we weren't leaving till 2.30pm. However the red wristband wasn't cut and we were able to have a final lunch before the bus pick-up for the Airport.

All went smoothly. It is about 12-15 km from the airport and really worth taking a taxi if you have a small family to transport as it is very quick.

Sunbeds: Competitive to say the least. Not all of the area around the pool gets sun so they were packed like sardines on the warm days and you had to be up early to bag a bed. We found another overspill area which overlooks the coastline and set up shop there as it had very few people and they mostly slept. In fact there was a lot of sleeping and eating as the guests are mostly retirees.

There are some nice beaches within a few minutes walk where I braved the water - deadly cold initially then stayed in 30 minutes swimming around. Forgot one part of the snorkel set so didn't bother buying more.

Highlights were the walks, the opportunity to reflect on the year gone and have a rest before the new year. We rarely return to the same place but if you are considering booking rest assured there shouldn't be any hiccups.

Room Tip: Obviously top floors, west facing are optimal. We were just behind the daytime snack bar and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvergreenHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    1,793
    929
    355
    237
See reviews for
2,373
1,695
104
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a group of 16 people. Hotel is clean and rooms large enough for a family of 4. Had a sea view which was lovely. Pool is nice but could do with a refurb around the patio areas. The all inclusive is amazing and by far the best hotel I have ever stated in. Food and drinks were provided around the clock and it was always replaced as soon as it started running low. Entertainment for the kids was great and they lived the kids club that was offered. Evening entertainment for the adults was lacking and started quiet late. We visited October half term and the weather was fair (windy and rainy on occasions) I would definitely visit this hotel group again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RWalsh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reading some reviews on here had us sceptical about our trip here, no need to worry though, Check in was fast, we were given a map of the hotel and located our room quickly. beds very comfy, clean and spacious room, we had sunbeds on patio outside door so no need to go to pool area. Food plentiful and always a great choice to be had, plenty places to grab a drink too. We spent most evenings in the piano bar as felt entertainment wasn't to our taste. Free bus to beach was a bonus too. this hotel is a bit out of Costa Teguise but we walked into town in around 20 mins, taxi was 3 euros but seeing as we had nothing else to spend our money on we didn't mind. Looking fopr a great hotel at a good price then you could do a lot worse than Barcelo...looking forward to a return visit next year. Well done to the hotel staff who kept the place immaculate

Room Tip: we were in room 4026 and had no problems with noise ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just come back from a holiday staying at Barcelo Lanzarote with my 2 year old girl and had a great time. The hotel is vast and there is so much for children to do, kids club daily, swings, bouncy castle, mini disco and the entertainment team then put on daily games. I was so impressed with this. The adult entertainment was also great every night. The all inclusive is well worth it with help yourself drinks, snacks around the pool and large selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so much to choose from. The staff were very friendly and changed my room without a quibble as I was on the 3rd floor but with my young child asked for a ground floor room and it wasn't a problem for them. I would highly recommend it and am looking to book again for next year. There is also a free bus to take you to the beach in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our first holiday with our 14 month old son and the Barcelo lanzarote was the ideal choice. The staff were very friendly and made a fuss of our son all the time and everything was spotless. The kids club is excellent especially as it has a shallow heated pool and the lady running it was very good with the kids doing drawings and games. The kids entertainment on a night was good as well and our son really enjoyed dancing to the songs. Due to the time of year the weather was just ok with sunny spells and the odd rain shower which wasn't the end of the world as it was still warm 23degrees but the main pools were freezing. Snack food was the run of the mill stuff like burgers chips etc but replenished regular and always hot. Breakfast, dinner and evening meal was of a good standard albeit a bit repetitive. Drink was readily available with serve yourself service. The hotel is a good 30-40 minutes walk into costa teguise but the walk is pleasant along the sea front so this isn't a problem. The hotel also offers a regular free bus service into town but the taxi fare is not too bad at a 3-4 euros.

The hotel has a restaurant serving Mediterranean food which isn't included in the all inclusive. The food was excellent and cheap so worth doing even just for a change if scenery.

Costa Teguise is a nice town with plenty of bars and restaurants again all very friendly and relatively cheap.

Day trips to near by Porta Del Carmen and Arricife can also be taken and the bus stop is right outside the hotel again fare is cheap.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gib39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our only complaint is that we both put a lot of weight on after our 11 nights all inclusive at the Barceló. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the choices of wine. The hotel was spotless and the beds are very comfortable. Free hourly shuttle bus takes you into Costa Teguise where if you enjoy walking there is a lovely promenade that takes you back to the hotel.
The animation team worked hard keeping everybody entertained day and night. We highly recommend that you go and watch the shows in the evening, best we have seen on an all inclusive holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuesto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend girly holiday in July 2010 could not fault this hotel at all they do a pool dance everyday three times a day and try and get everyone involved cleanliness was fab. Food was great meet new friend out there to who had to children so we muck about with them in the pool most the time . Let hope this hotel still Is the same

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmachapma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,437 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,069 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,638 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Property: Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing