We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is wonderful ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a group of 16 people. Hotel is clean and rooms large enough for a family of 4. Had a sea view which was lovely. Pool is nice but could do with a refurb around the patio areas. The all inclusive is amazing and by far the best hotel I have ever stated in. Food and drinks were provided around the clock and it was always replaced as soon as it started running low. Entertainment for the kids was great and they lived the kids club that was offered. Evening entertainment for the adults was lacking and started quiet late. We visited October half term and the weather was fair (windy and rainy on occasions) I would definitely visit this hotel group again.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank RWalsh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,353 - 2,359 of 5,577 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reading some reviews on here had us sceptical about our trip here, no need to worry though, Check in was fast, we were given a map of the hotel and located our room quickly. beds very comfy, clean and spacious room, we had sunbeds on patio outside door so no need to go to pool area. Food plentiful and always a great choice to be had, plenty places to grab a drink too. We spent most evenings in the piano bar as felt entertainment wasn't to our taste. Free bus to beach was a bonus too. this hotel is a bit out of Costa Teguise but we walked into town in around 20 mins, taxi was 3 euros but seeing as we had nothing else to spend our money on we didn't mind. Looking fopr a great hotel at a good price then you could do a lot worse than Barcelo...looking forward to a return visit next year. Well done to the hotel staff who kept the place immaculate

Room Tip: we were in room 4026 and had no problems with noise ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just come back from a holiday staying at Barcelo Lanzarote with my 2 year old girl and had a great time. The hotel is vast and there is so much for children to do, kids club daily, swings, bouncy castle, mini disco and the entertainment team then put on daily games. I was so impressed with this. The adult entertainment was also great every night. The all inclusive is well worth it with help yourself drinks, snacks around the pool and large selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so much to choose from. The staff were very friendly and changed my room without a quibble as I was on the 3rd floor but with my young child asked for a ground floor room and it wasn't a problem for them. I would highly recommend it and am looking to book again for next year. There is also a free bus to take you to the beach in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our first holiday with our 14 month old son and the Barcelo lanzarote was the ideal choice. The staff were very friendly and made a fuss of our son all the time and everything was spotless. The kids club is excellent especially as it has a shallow heated pool and the lady running it was very good with the kids doing drawings and games. The kids entertainment on a night was good as well and our son really enjoyed dancing to the songs. Due to the time of year the weather was just ok with sunny spells and the odd rain shower which wasn't the end of the world as it was still warm 23degrees but the main pools were freezing. Snack food was the run of the mill stuff like burgers chips etc but replenished regular and always hot. Breakfast, dinner and evening meal was of a good standard albeit a bit repetitive. Drink was readily available with serve yourself service. The hotel is a good 30-40 minutes walk into costa teguise but the walk is pleasant along the sea front so this isn't a problem. The hotel also offers a regular free bus service into town but the taxi fare is not too bad at a 3-4 euros.

The hotel has a restaurant serving Mediterranean food which isn't included in the all inclusive. The food was excellent and cheap so worth doing even just for a change if scenery.

Costa Teguise is a nice town with plenty of bars and restaurants again all very friendly and relatively cheap.

Day trips to near by Porta Del Carmen and Arricife can also be taken and the bus stop is right outside the hotel again fare is cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gib39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our only complaint is that we both put a lot of weight on after our 11 nights all inclusive at the Barceló. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the choices of wine. The hotel was spotless and the beds are very comfortable. Free hourly shuttle bus takes you into Costa Teguise where if you enjoy walking there is a lovely promenade that takes you back to the hotel.
The animation team worked hard keeping everybody entertained day and night. We highly recommend that you go and watch the shows in the evening, best we have seen on an all inclusive holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuesto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend girly holiday in July 2010 could not fault this hotel at all they do a pool dance everyday three times a day and try and get everyone involved cleanliness was fab. Food was great meet new friend out there to who had to children so we muck about with them in the pool most the time . Let hope this hotel still Is the same

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmachapma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As a travel agent, i watched the reviews on a daily basis after booking this hotel!! I was getting nervous about going, after reading some poor reviews! I shouldn't have worried!! We stayed for a week at the end of Nov/into Dec and absolutely loved it!

Hotel:

Hotel itself, is a very large complex - but ramps or lifts about so wasn't an issue for anyone getting about! There is a good size reception area - plenty of seating and always kept spotlessly clean.

Pools:

2 Large Pools (one is meant to be heated but definately wasnt) - it also has 3 bigger water slides / 1 children's pool with splash zone / 1 x baby pool in the Kids Club Area ( this pool is heated slightly). All pools were freezing but my little boy played away all the same in them.
Hotel was very busy during our stay, but we never struggled to find a sunbed at around 10am or so after breakfast.
We hired the hotels pool towels - you pay €10 each towel deposit - first change is free and then you pay €2 each towel each change after that! Your initial deposit is refundable so you will get it back on check out!

Room:

Our Room was 4133, which is a superior room overlooking the pool area. Slightly obstructed by a tree, but we weren't in the room long enough to let that bother us.
Room was a great size, with 2 good size beds, a sofa bed. Table & Chair / flat screen tv. Brand new coffee make ( but no cups / no coffee - so a little pointless) and ample storage space including plenty of hangers. Safe in closet - this cost €3 per day to hire - non refundable. Also laundry service should you need it.
Bath Towels were changed daily also, but you must remember to place them right inside the bath as if they are even sitting on the side of the bath they wont be changed. Superior rooms also are provided with bath robes / slippers and luxury products in the bathroom. Air conditioning worked fine but we didn't need it on at all at this time of year. Free Wi-fi with superior rooms, but if you are not in a superior you can pay around €25 for the week. It has good connection in most places in and around the hotel and we never had a problem with it.
Balconies were furnished well and Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a high standard.

Food:

Breakfast - you had such a great choice of food in the restaurant - from cereals / fruit / breads / cold meats / cooked breakfasts - and also chefs preparing fresh bacon / eggs / pancakes etc in front of you just how you want them cooked. Plenty of fruit juices / tea / coffee / milk / hot water etc - you really couldn't ask for much more!

Lunch - we only ate in the main restaurant on the first day of arrival - but decided to use the pool bar for lunch the rest of the week as didn't want to fill up too much on rich foods during the day. Great selection all the same from the restaurant to the pool bar. Pool Bar was open between 11am-5pm and served food constantly - including burgers / hot dogs / chips / ham & cheese sandwiches / salads etc.

Drinks @ Pool Bar:
Drinks were also available here on tap - so self service again between 11am-5pm or so!! Excellent idea! We never queued once here for a drink - anything you wanted from local Tropicale Beer, soft drinks like coca cola / sprite / fanta etc - to water - fruit juices , slush puppies , teas (diff flavoured tea bags available too ) & coffee etc. Spirits were lined up along the bar and you helped yourself to these, there was no restriction on how much you put in your cup but no-one ever seemed to go over board or anything. Sliced lemon and ice readily available.
Small tubs of ice-cream also available at this bar, vanilla / strawberry / choc & vanilla mix - again this was unlimited.
Cake stand at other end of the bar - nice little plain buns / madeira type cake available also.

Dinner:
Main restaurant for dinner, and always managed to get a table even though it was always super busy. I'd say in July and August this might be a struggle and could be a wait time.
Plenty of choice from Salads / soups / breads / chips / meat / rice etc. Also show cooking - so every night was a different meat cooked and sliced / served up in front of you. Everything we had over the whole week was cooked well and we never had any problems!

Entertainment bar:
We went here every night, as kids mini disco starts at 8pm and lasts for around 30 mins or more. Again there is a self service bar here, so help yourself. We stayed to about 11pm most nights, so not sure how late after that it stayed open to. Drinks here are served in glasses ( or plastic cups for kids if u wish) and the same for the restaurants. Pool bar area was plastic cups etc - but that's what you would expect for safety reasons!
Entertainment was reasonably good here on most nights - Magician show & Broadway show were the best and everyone seemed to thoroughly enjoy them! The entertainers do work hard to get everyone involved.
There was another bar on the way from reception to this show bar, but it seemed more of a quieter area - piano bar etc.

Location:
Small beach across the road in front of the Be Live Hotel.
Otherwise get the courtesy bus from outside hotel reception into Las Cucharas Beach, even if you want to just go to town - saves you on a taxi fare! This runs on the hour from first thing, into late afternoon - a taxi back would cost around €5 or so! Regular service buses also run to other resorts from just outside the hotel.
Been a few years from we had been in Costa Teguise, but found it a great resort with plenty of bars / shops & restaurants. Great walk around the promenade from one end of resort to the other!

Costa Teguise is known for being very windy, and yes we had a few days overcast - but only for a while and them temperatures were around 22-24 most days! We had rain one night but that was it!

Hotel is very well kept and maintenance of the grounds is of high importance!

My little boy only went to the kids club on the first day as was having too much fun with his new friends around the kids pool to go back! He enjoyed it though, and Valentina was good at getting the kids involved in different activities!
Mini Golf was available just beside the kids play park area - You pay €10 to hire the clubs and then get it back when you return them! Great to have a little game it weather was a bit cloudy!

Didn't use any of the Spa Facilities so can’t comment on that part.
Reception staff were friendly and ready to help you.
Currency exchange available at reception, as was a bank machine to withdraw cash.
There are 3 or 4 little souvenir shops just outside the hotel, along with a mini market so you can buy more or less anything food/drink wise if you find the all inclusive isn't offering you enough. We bought some biscuits or nibbles for 5 yr old, as he was hungry enough for nibbles but not for full meal between lunch & dinner.

All in all, I can honestly say that I would recommend this hotel to any of my customers and have already booked to return in 2014!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank janinebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,956 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,729 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,230 reviews
19.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $94 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing