We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We are two adults and Stayed here from the 10/11/13 for a week. The hotel is OK a little tired in places, liked the help yourself style bar and which meant no lines of people wanting drinks. The food is OK but very much the same most days and a bit hit and miss as to how it was cooked. The restaurant area can get very busy at times and you find yourself weaving in and out of people getting their food but it is a very nice area. If you have kids this place would be perfect for a summer holiday as the facilities really are excellent. They have an adult pool area but you have to pay for your drinks in this area so it's hardly all inclusive. It was OK around the adult pool but would be very cramped in high season and it is a little too quite I found.
Don't think we will be going back to this hotel again in fact I don't think we will be doing All inclusive ever again. The town of Costa teguise is a really nice place with many excellent restaurants and a very nice beach. Could not get over how cheap the bars and restaurants are here. We had a fab Mexican one night at only €32.00 with drinks another night we had a steak and it was the biggest T bone I have ever seen and cooked to perfection.
So if you like the look of this resort and don't have kids then don't bother with All inc. You will get a lot more for your money eating and drinking in the resort area. We used the public bus service a lot and it's really good and very cheap and runs every 20 min.
The hotel staff are friendly enough and do a good job, Our room was always very clean and they always left clean towels if we left them in the bath. There is a fridge in the room but it was empty!!!! Not even a bottle of water thought that was very poor for an AI hotel. The walk from the hotel to the town WILL take you 40 min and that is at a good pace, on the up side it is along the sea front so the view is very nice and mostly flat. We would go back to this resort again but not to this hotel and defiantly not AI

Room Tip: Pick rooms near the adult pool as the back area is above the entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonlew307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,502 - 2,508 of 5,800 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed here for 10 days with family in mid november.our room was good was pleasantly surprised.had great fun watching the reps do their silly dance round the pool at 3 clock everyday haha.but the food was so awful that we had to eat out everyday after the second day. there was lots of choice but i could only eat the salad and cold meats because the rest wasnt cooked.food that should be hot was cold.vegetables were cold and inedible.meat was so raw that the blood was still visible.pork needs to be cooked properly or you will get very ill which two of our party did.we went on a budget because holidays are a luxury nowadays so we went all inclusive and took only a small amount of spending money. i struggled to get through our stay with enough money it was a nightmare.the restaurant food was truely discusting and im not a fussy eater im easily pleased this is first time ive ever lost weight doing an all inclusive holiday.the sunbed wars were funny to watch with people putting towels out while it was still dark, wouldnt return to this hotel if it was free!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycee1965_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this establishment. Excellent in every respect. Extremely friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. A great fun, young and enthusiastic entertainment team who encouraged young and old to try their hand at all kinds of sport during the day and then entertained the guests in the evening!
Our room was serviced daily and the choice of food in the restaurant catered for all tastes..lots of salads, fresh fruit and vegetables as well as the 'naughty but nice' desserts. Meat, cheese, egg and fish dishes were available at lunch and dinner and breakfasts had plenty of choice. Local wines were excellent.. The Tinto and Rosa were both very good and so was the Cervesa. Well worth being 'all inclusive'..diets start tomorrow!!
Having seen where many of the hotels were in the more popular resort of Puerto Del Carmen, we were very pleased with our choice. Our resort was much quieter which suited our p
An for a 'chill out' break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel was good in general not cleaned very well room was left dirty at times the towles not changed even if you put them on the floor. The service at the pool bar was great especially the lady who made coffee . entertainment is very poor child entertainment started to late and went on to long.
now down to what they called food how can they say this hotel is a 4* when the meat was raw I asked if they needed a chain saw to cut it.the lwft overs you had for breakfast. My partner will try most things and she would not eat it we only went 4 times to eat in the restaurant. We complained to the rep who done nothing and we are still waiting to here from first choice.this would be such a nice hotle if they sorted these problems out.if any one from the hotel would like to speak to us we welcome it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tech2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday. Staff were friendly and helpful There were 5 of us 2 children and 3 adults. We had booked two twin rooms but on arrival were upgraded to a suite. The room was excellent and spotless. The entertainment staff ensured every one including the children were entertained. The pool area and grounds were cleaned daily. The evening entertainment was good and enjoyable.The food was of a good standard and we didn't eat the same meal all week. From reading some of the reviews complaining about the food I just wonder what quality and selection of meals those complaining eat at home. Really good selection of spirits and help you self to beer on tap and wine which was bottled.The pool areas were great and the kids really enjoyed the slides including cannonballing. The staff couldn't do enough to ensure you had an enjoyable experience. I would go back again and recommend it to families who want to relax and there is a quiet pool for adults only who don't want to take part in the activities and have a quiet time.There is something for everyone.The hotel is approximately two miles from the town but the hotel does provide a limited bus service. The gym had a few static machines but no loose weights but all machines including bikes and cross trainers were well maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had to pay for drinks around adult pool not acceptable , had to pay for jacuzzi . Towels were 10 euros each with one free clean after that you had to pay , coffee machine in room with no facilities ie cups milk sugar , even if you wanted a cup of tea/coffee it was not available 24 hrs even if you wanted to pay you couldn't , had to pay 23 euros for safe key. Not a great variety of food , if your on a budget you would still need money to pay for certain things , all inclusive finishes as 23.00 hrs certainly not 4 star . on the plus side staff friendly beds comfortable and clean

Room Tip: All rooms are basic so not great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debrathursting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my friend in Nov 2013. We had upgraded to a superior family room and it was definitely worth the small charge as the room had a large bedroom with seating area, separate living area with a sofa bed if required, balcony and bathroom with rain shower. Free wifi, bath robes and slippers, air con.
All inclusive drinks were not the top brands but still fine and plenty of them, the food was of a good quality, maybe a little repetitive but bearing in mind the different nationalities to cater for I think they did a good job. There was always a different meat and fish each lunch/dinner but the salad/desert remained the same.
The staff were excellent, very polite and efficient. Could not fault them.
The evening entertainment was ok, not great and occasionally not appropriate for the children watching although at 10-10.30 maybe children should be in bed?
If you travel into Costa Teguise for 2 or more people a taxi actually works out cheaper (3.30 euro) than the bus (3.40 Euro) and the taxi rank is on the road directly outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Block 5, Sea View. Upgrade to superior family room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,180 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
13 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $95 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing