We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Barcelo Lanzarote resort was a lovely hotel. The hotel was very clean and the food really good. We had upgraded to a superior room so had bathrobes,slippers and toiletries. Our room was fine although it was close to the main road and very noisey. We asked to be moved and they were fine about it and asked to look at another to see if it was better. The room was a family room and very good, we did change.The pool areas were lovely and there was lunch at the pool. This was chips,salad and burgers. We opted to go to the restaurant and enjoyed a good lunch and a glass of wine.Evening meals had loads of choice and even if you were late in there was plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful.The hotel ran a free bus to Costa Teguise about every hour so we took advantage of it. The walk to Costa Teguise took about half an hour but was worth it as you walk along the promonade.We would certainly go back to this hotel but next time it would be for longer than a week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,387)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Lanzarote Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,393 - 2,399 of 5,387 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just arrived back from this hotel and had a wonderful week.Lovely room in a perfect position. Good food and brilliant for children. The childrens pool has a wonderful water feature in the middle its a barrel that fills up then emptys all over the children which they loved.
I really would reccomend this hotel for children .The main pool has three water slides which people really enjoyed and I have not seen anything as nice at other hotels before.It was our second visit
and I would go again. Also childrens club was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in December, for a new year break.

The hotel was average, pool was freezing despite being marketed as climatised (yes it was slightly warmer than the unclimatised pool) but in no way is it heated, if you want a heated pool so you are able to get in - do not choose this hotel. We complained everyday at reception saying how cold it was, they said it was fine!

The food was ok, show cooking was ok, nothing spectacular, also not worht the premium they put on for a new year break (its a much higher price and you only really get a gala dinner, grapes & party streamers). The evening entertainment was so poor every night that we did not even stay out for it in the end. It was very substandard acts.

Lanzarote as a whole disappointed, everywhere was either closed or pretty desserted. We went tenerife and stayed at Paradise Park Hotel one October - would definitely recommend that island/hotel they were fab, and highlight all that is wrong with lanzarote. The pool in that hotel is very warm - like a bath!

Entertainment in the day - well what can I say, they have a prgramme advertised, with some good activities (most of which never occured!!) they were replaced by other activities that didnt appeal, we were disapointed. The activities that did run, never had enough time as they started late and then they would need to finish early (so very often you would have 2 goes at something and someone else had 3 or sometimes even 5 were they were so badly organised. Evening entertainment was really poor (not only the staff ones but the so called professional ones too).

The Jacuzzi was charged at 3 euro (which would not have been a problem to us....however it was filthy dirty. I have taken some picture, will upload them.

Really would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ria12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at Barcelo in January for two weeks and had a fabulous time. Staff very informative and really helpful. Food plentiful and variety excellent. Rooms spacious and comfortable. We got the ground floor which was handy but if staying again would ask for an upper floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned from our first family holiday to Lanzerote with a 5 year old and 1 year old. I am glad to have not been put off by negative comments about the hotel as we had a great time, we spent many a happy hour in the Barcy club with our children swimming, painting, colouring and on soft play. The staff were very good with the children but we stayed with them. Food was always plentiful and fresh, guests would find suitable food for them either in the restaurant or pool snack bar. Would happily revisit. Room was very clean

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Barcelo Lanzarote Resort in Costa Teguise. The room was spacious and cleaned every day. The first couple of days we were disturbed early by renovations being carried out in the room next door but as soon as we complained we were moved to a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in particular was lovely with a huge choice and good quality. The evening meals were a little disappointing, however, there was always plenty of choice and we were perhaps being a little picky as we normally prefer eating out. The self-service on the all inclusive was an excellent idea - no queues, no-one over-indulging and drinks in glasses (except round the pool of course). The animination team worked extremely hard and it seemed an excellent choice for families with children. The location worked well for us as we enjoyed the walk into the main resort (35-40 minutes). The nearest bars and restaurants being a pleasant 20 minute walk way. There is a courtesy bus to the beach and resort centre which runs every hour during the day. A taxi costs about €4 to not expensive. All in all a good choice for a weeks break in the sun. The only criticism really was that the WIFI was chargeable which I thought was a little bit penny pinching.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went to this hotel with my husband and returned only yesterday. After reading some of the reviews regarding different things which were negative, I have to say, that I am so glad I ignored the comments and went ahead and booked this break. The hotel was remarkable, food excellent and staff extremely friendly.
The staff were only to happy to assist and make your stay pleasant. The rooms were very clean and bigger than your normal average room, as far as activities were concerned it could have been either as full as you wanted it to be and join in what was going on or you could just as easily "chill" on a sun lounger, there were more than enough to go around (May) at this time of year. It was especially good for people with young families and those that were older. For those that would like a bit more night life you only have to walk 30 mins (or 5 mins by taxi, only three euros) and go into Cost Teguise. We did not try the fitness centres or anything like that so we cannot comment on that one.
I would recomend this to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue150757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,817 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,919 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,653 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,203 reviews
19.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $96 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing