We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is lovely, clean, friendly staff, good food, entertainment if you want it and excellent value. We went with a baby and loved the walks to the centre (around 20mins). Also a good mix of people, both British & spanish which we liked. If your looking for a central location then this won't be for you but if you enjoy your walks then its perfect.

Room Tip: We were in block 3 which had be refurbished. The rooms were immaculate and very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerrdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,787 - 2,793 of 5,926 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo from February 9th for 10 days. First impression were of the staff who were very helpful and professional Mario on front desk did his best to give us the room we wanted, which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a room in block 7 which had a sunny aspect adn we could see the sea. As we were all inclusive I wasn't expecting too much of the food and whilst it was ok it wasn't always hot but microwaves were provided, the choice wasn't brilliant either but had fish and pork at most mealtimes.There was always something that would suit most tastes including pasta or salads The wine was excellent and very drinkable, the deserts were a little unimaginative and there was lots of synthetic cream which I avoided although the icecream was good. The waitresses are very hardworking and couldnt do enough for us.The all inclusive bar was also good and the bar staff could make you a good cocktail if you asked for one. The pool bar was also very good and provided pizza,chips, burgers etc for anyone wanting more food. The entertainment was nightly and there were some good shows. Although we went as a couple the childrens entertainment looked excellent. There is also a free bus into Costa Teguise at regular intervals during the day, the bus driver is brilliant, but a taxi would only cost around 4 euros anyway so very accessible. Overall for a value for money getaway we would have no problem returning.

Room Tip: I would choose a room n block 6 or 7 as these appear to be sunnier, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mazandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband stayed at a Barcello hotel in Prague and was very impressed, so we decided to have a go at this one in Lanzarote (grotty). Definitely wish had researched both Lanzarote and Hotel more.

Hotel was ok, but as soon as we got there it was obvious there was going to be a huge problem with sunbeds by the pool. We arrived at 10.00am and all beds were already taken. This was, to be honest, the focus of most of our days. The children wanted to be around the pool with their friends and if we didn't get up at 6.00am in the morning to get a towel down on a sunbed (as if!) you had to place your towel on a hard, wet floor, squeezed between other sunbeds (if you were lucky!). We spent most of our time trying to pursuade the kids to go to the beach or out for a trip to avoid the inevitable scrap for a bed. Of course, this didn't go down to well with them!

The entertainment staff were lovely. The hotel reception staff were pretty ineffective. The cleaning ladies, as always, were lovely.

The food was actually pretty good with lots of fresh meat and fish, but if you turned your head for a minute your plate was whisked away from under your nose.

Wine was hideous, which was frustrating and in my opinion tasted watered down.

The location was good, but in my opinion a bit tacky.

Room was ok.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuluK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

good items : large rooms and/or 1 bedroom suites plus large balconies. very friendly personnel;
excellent breakfast buffets; courtesy bus to centre; cleanliness of rooms. excellent animation team for adults and children.
less good items : they cut on service (all bars is self-service); no dinner dresscode anymore, so it became a good 4 *camping io a 4*hotel, therefore rated now as 3* hotel.
swimming pools are icy-cold; restaurant is cold during winter months;
quailty of lunch/dinner buffet is average; juices are coloured water. bad coffee from machines.
in general : good place for short vacations, not any longer for long stays.

Room Tip: all rooms or 1 bedroom suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudy-Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Normally I stay in apartments and do my own thing when it comes to food but this was such good value for a fortnight in the sun three younger ladies went for the Barcelo.

Left the snow behind for the last week of Jan 2013 and settled down to some serious eating and relaxing. Our suite was spacious and super clean and overlooked the pool. Excellent chambermaid service. The food was very varied and loved the grill choices. Salads were fresh and good range of meat and fish. Breakfast was amazing and had to be careful not to overstuff. Cooked, fruit, cereals, pastries, pancakes even smoothies. Incredible variety of bread and rolls at every meal.

Staff were great but sometimes thin on the ground in reception and at the main bar after dinner. Bit odd that you could pour yourself a drink but not a coffee at night. Entertainment was lacking for us but the activities team were a great bunch especially on the poolside. All round good value and would stay again if closer to the nightlife.

Room Tip: Block 5 is handy for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tilley241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned after a lovely week at the Barcelo....really can't fault it to be honest. The place was spotless, the room was very nice, the staff were very polite. The food and drink was good and varied and catered for every European traveler. To be honest although booked months ago did know what to expect due to the varied reviews. Don't be put off by the negative reviews.....get there!.....we will certainly be returning again. I /we picked a time when most schools were still at school to be honest and the place was very quiet (but that's what we wanted) just a place to relax after Christmas, and it worked a treat. Only 15 to 20 mins from airport .....can't wait to return!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well worth a visit...... This hotel offers excellent value for money. It would be difficult it find any faults in the Barcelo Lanzarote. The staff are warm and friendly and always willing to help in fact it's like staying with family. The rooms are large, very clean and well maintained. The grounds and pool area are clean and there are plenty of sun beds.

In the restaurant there is an excellent choice of freshly cooked meat, fish and poultry and these are supplemented by hot and cold buffet dishes .

We will be returning to The Barcelo Resort soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DavyG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,304 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,935 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
19.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $94 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best options on Lanzarote for families and sports lovers. Located in Costa Teguise, one of the island’s main resorts, the hotel combines recently refurbished facilities with an excellent position close to the Atlantic. The hotel’s new rooms offer a superb standard of comfort and are exceptionally well equipped for holidays with children (baby-care kit or Wii console available). The All-Inclusive package includes an innovative entertainment programme, the new Barcy Club, and all kinds of activities and facilities to help you get away from it all and have fun as a family. For those seeking peace and quiet, the hotel has an exclusive area with Balinese beds and a wellness centre. And for those who want to make the most of this destination’s ideal climate to engage in physical activities, there is the sports centre with specialist facilities (Olympic swimming pool, professional cycling centre, deluxe guest rooms for sportsmen and women, and hypoxic rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing