We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silly mistakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Don't worry if you have booked . Just a few silly things that stop it being 4 star.
We are lucky enough to have been to a lot of 4 star hotels, this is not one but it's ok .
Annoying things are ... air con not on in Oct set at 26 deg !! Its true 26 deg boiling everywhere ,awful everyone complaining .
Towels 12 euro deposit , ok but ... 2 EURO TO GET A CLEAN ONE !!! Not 4 star service at all.
Have to sign for drinks in restauarant AND wear the wristband ... silly.
Shame because other than that it's fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,893 - 2,899 of 6,009 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from 7 days at the Barcelo Lanzarote.We have been on similar holidays to the Canaries in the past few years staying at two 3 stars and one 4 star and would rate this hotel as better than the two 3 stars but not as good as the 4 star for facilities quality and condition of the hotel in general.
We found the staff friendly and polite and the entertainment team worked as hard as ever trying to keep all the guests happy which was probably hard work at times as we seemed to have more cloud than sun.
All the areas were kept very clean and tidy with the staff constantly tidying up with even the pool lifeguard making sure all the empty sunbeds were put back in place during the day.
The food was what we tend to expect from these types of hotels being a little bland but with quite a lot of choice still so you could always find something to fill the gap,but you do tend to end up craving a British type of meal with sauce. But dont bother with wine at meal times as it is very weak the Cava available elsewhere in the hotel is much better.Personally I really enjoy breakfast with so much on choice and the chance to have a proper cup of tea.
The bedroom was basic but ok and kept very clean and tidy by the maid and the fridge was very handy but yes the beds are hard and the AC does very little to cool the room.We were on the top floor of block 2 and it was a great view of the pools and the sea.
We always managed to get sunbeds easily usually we went for ones not right at the poolside but a few yards away
The entertainment team do invite you to join in an activity but if you decline they will happily accept your decision and not hassle you but I would recommend to at least try some activities out as you will get to know some of the team and other guests this way. I was always the sort of person who wouldnt dream of joining in the activities etc but I learnt a couple of years ago that by joining in a bit it made my holiday a lot more memorable and enjoyable.
Overall I would recommend the hotel for a good family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RollOnNextHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just come back from a 1 week stay at the Barcelo hotel (25thoct- 1stnov). Didn't know what to expect as an all inclusive but i can honestly say it was money well spent. Four of use went ranging from teenager to adult and there was something to suit all of us. For the size of the hotel (big) the cleanliness of the communal areas and bedrooms were to a high standard.There was a wide verity of food to suit everybody's needs and of good quality. Also for drinks there was an open bar all day long. Staff throughout the hotel were fantastic and helpful, nothing was to much to ask. Especially then entertainment team who entertained us every night with different themed shows. I would especially like to say a big thanks to Johnny and Domingo who made our stay exceptionally enjoyable. (We thought we was going to die with laughter at these two). I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraineroyal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

2 weeks all inclusive - food was excellent. Rooms clean, well appointed but decor a little dated. A fair walk out of main town but frequent free hotel bus. Best for families & quite busy in summer but still plenty of room in restaurant, no queuing at the bars. Also has a beauty treatment spa at an extra cost which were a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I dont usualy bother with reviews but after returning from this hotel yesterday I thought I would share how great it is!! Myself, Husband and two young children spent a fabulous week here. We stayed in a superior family room in block 2 which was lovely and very quiet , Great views of the sea. From the moment we arrived all the staff were very friendly and welcoming sorting out a problem with our buggy almost straight away. In the resturant the food was good with a great selection the staff very attentive. The facilities overall can not be faulted.The hotel is a little way out of the main resort but we made use of the courtesy bus into the town. Overall I would recomend this hotel to familes looking for a relaxed pace on their holiday, Already considering a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Barcelo Lanzarote in 3 years. Again we have had a fantastic family holiday in a fantastic family hotel. This will be my 3rd review as the hotel changes year by year!

LOCATION:
The hotel is a 15 minute ride from the airport. If you have a tour operator transfer you will be the first drop off in Costa Teguise.
TIP: If you want to get to the hotel quicker then take a taxi instead of the tour operator transfer, instead of waiting for other guests you can be on your way and taxis are cheap. Do the same coming back but arrive 2 and a half hours early at the airport to avoid the queues for your flight when all the tour operator coaches turn up at once!
The hotel is located at the start of Costa Teguise, meaning it is quite a way from the centre. However;
TIP: The hotel offers a complimentary hourly return bus into Costa Teguise centre/main beach. You could walk which would take upwards of 40 minutes. Taxis are very cheap and only cost 3.60euros to town.

Check-in was quick and simple. Our room was allocated in block 6. The hotel is very large and there are 7 blocks. 1 and 7 are at the front. 5 and 6 are facing the main pools but are quiet inside. Block 4 is quite a walk from reception/restaurant/pools.
TIP: Block 6 is probably the best located to everything.

ROOMS:
We have stayed in 3 room types; a standard double. An upgraded family superior room and this time; a standard family room. The standard double was basic. The beds were hard, the furnishings were a little dated. The superior was lovely with updated furnishings, memory mattress, range of pillows, lcd tv etc BUT they cost 20euros per night to upgrade to. The standard family room we stayed in this time was again basic and a little dated with the furnishings. Family rooms have a bedroom. Rooms have balcony, mini fridge, tv, safe (3euros depost plus 3euros per day hire charge), plenty of wardrobe space, sofa bed, ‘double’ bed (two singles together), air con (which is very ineffective), bathroom with bath and shower, hairdryer, toiletries etc. Maid service is daily and efficient. The maids are very friendly. The lighting in the bedroom was poor and dim. Mattresses were new but are hard mattresses so I found them quite uncomfortable. Rooms are kept very clean.
TIP: Only 1 pillow per bed is provided and they are very soft, ask reception for extras.
TIP:Bottled water is provided in your fridge but is not replenished when you run out, you have to take your empty bottles to the bar to be refilled.
TIP: Late check outs are available in rooms but you have to ask reception on the morning of departure. To keep it while 3pm costs 15 euros and ‘til 6pm is 20 euros.

CLEANLINESS: Much improved. We have always found the hotel interior, restaurant and rooms to be kept spotless but the pool area and pool bar used to be quite messy and littered. This was due to guests not using waste bins and the Lanzarote winds! This has now been improved massively and all staff constantly tidy the pool/pool bar areas meaning litter is kept to a minimum.

STAFF: Staff have always been courteous and friendly to us. We have got to know a few of them and they have always been great with us. The maids are friendly as is the lifeguard. Reception are friendly and informative. Bar staff now aren’t quite as busy due to the self service areas. Restaurant staff probably have least time to chat out of all staff so keep chat to a minimum. Overall, as good as ever.

FOOD/RESTAURANT:
The hotel have finally relaxed the rules on Men having to wear long trousers to dinner. Finally Men are allowed to wear shorts. This is a relief as the restaurant isn’t air conditioned so during peak times it can get quite hot.
Reception inform you at check-in that there are two sittings for dinner. One is 7pm and the other is 8:30pm. With us having a 7 year old daughter who wanted to attend the 8:30pm Mini Disco, we always had dinner at 7pm. Both times are flexible though and you aren’t tied to one or the other. The hotel just does this to try and cut down on queues.
The hotel almost has a split personality. Out of childrens school holidays it is a different place, obviously it isn’t as busy which means that the restaurant is much more manageable and less hectic. The restaurant is probably where the hotel suffers most during peak times and also suffers poorer reviews during peak times. We have always had 10 days out of school holidays and the last 4 during holidays and the difference is very noticeable. During the last few days we are ready for home!
There is a large selection of food for all sittings. Breakfast has a large selection of Full English items, continental items. Pastries, cereals, fruit, breads, meats and cheese, freshly made pancakes, freshly made toasties, yoghurts, smoothies, Bucks Fizz etc etc. Breakfast was quietest at 10am.
Lunch and Dinner are very similar. Show cooking is nice with a freshly carved roasted joint every evening. there are always a few meat options, vegetables, salads, soups, breads, etc etc. there is a large and varied choice but it does repeat. Restaurant is the only place where you are served drinks to your table. The wines aren’t great but beer is served San Miguel in bottles. Service is quite good but maybe more staff is needed during busy times to clear and prepare tables and serve drinks. Food is replenished often.
Not many childrens options. Food can become bland after a while and you find yourself wanting food with flavour. The hotel should introduce Theme nights like other All Inclusive hotels do and offer Chinese, Indian or Mexican selections just a couple of nights a week. The usual on an evening is multiple meat options, vegetables, fish, salads etc but all the meats are cooked without any sauces or flavour so can become repetitive. Some of the roasted joints are very nice though. Only once did we have an option with some flavour which was when we could build our own kebabs with flat breads, carved kebab meat (like in the UK!), salads and sauces….these were gorgeous!!
The hotel have decided not to use all the food stations in the restaurant (they used to have multiple with the same items) and this has caused problems at peak times. The desserts station is a night mare with long queues.
Snacks are available during the day at the pool bar and are hot dogs, burgers, pizza, chips, toasties, salads, meat, cheese, pastries etc. These are replenished constantly.
After the evening meal there are no snacks or food available until breakfast. If you eat a good meal it isn’t a problem but bear in mind their isn’t anywhere to get food from after evening meal.
On check-in we were offered a free meal in the hotels new A-la-carte Mediterranean restaurant at the front of the hotel. We didn’t visit though as it appears more couples orientated and less for families.

ENTERTAINMENT: Unfortunately the hotel has decided to save some money by getting rid of the previous (excellent) animation team and replacing them with new ones. We preferred the previous team for evening entertainment.
Day time entertainment is excellent. There is a locked, sign in-out kids club for the youngsters that has activities where they can win certificates in the evening, a cinema screen, paddling pool, slides etc. This is excellent and my daughter has always loved it. It runs 10:30-12:30 and 3pm-5pm. The area is perfectly safe to leave your children in whilst you catch some rays. They take your mobile number and where you will be in case of emergencies. There is also a maxi club for older children. There are plenty of activities in the day time for children and adults including mini golf, shuffle board, dancing lessons, climbing wall etc etc The entertainment team make you aware of what is on but are never forceful.
Evening entertainment wasn’t as good this year. Some of the shows the animation team did themselves were funny at times but the worst parts were trying to understand them during presentations etc The professional shows which were brought in included a bird show, acrobats etc and these were great but we have seen them on previous years. Overall, some nights are better than others but the entertainers really need to work on their languages and delivery!


DRINKS/BARS: The biggest change has been the introduction of Self Service bars in all bars except the restaurant. This has been a welcome relief as it has totally put an end to queuing. There is still bar service however for cocktails etc There are 3 bars; the pool bar, the Coco bar near reception which is a more relaxed atmosphere and the Timanfaya bar which is the main entertainment evening bar.
The pool bar is self service. This year it has new furniture which has improved it and it is being kept much cleaner which again is an improvement. Drinks include draft San Miguel. Soft drinks, wine, spirits, hot drinks, juices and slushes (try a vodka slush!). The Timanfaya bar again has all the above mentioned drinks. It also has a cocktail menu so the bar man can make you which you like. All inclusive ends at 11pm so stock up on drinks if needs be. Once the evening show is over there is dancing until midnight and then everyone is off to bed. With it being a family hotel the bar empties quickly after the evening show.
The drinks are always plentiful and of a decent quality.

POOLS/AMENITIES ETC: It is a large complex with a taxi rank at the front and bus stop so easy access to town or Puerto Del Carmen etc on site is a supermarket, souvenir shops, bar, car rental, pool inflatable shop. The prices in the supermarket prices are roughly double of what you would pay in town. If you don’t mind a 10 minute walk then walk to the back of the hotel where there is a large Spar shop which sells plenty at good prices.
The hotel has a toddler pool which unfortunately has had a large slide added this year with a large and powerful splashing bucket which fills and empties all day. This seems to put toddlers off and now attracts more boisterous older kids. Then there are two main pools, one having a slide into. There is a quieter pool around the side of the hotel which has no music or bar. All the pools are freezing and it would be good if the hotel could heat them. The main pool area is busy and lively and music is playing most of the day, the entertainers do dances at 3pm every day. The areas are kept tidy and clean and there is a good atmosphere. We never had a problem getting 5 sun loungers together when we went out after 9am. I can understand this being a little harder though during peak times.
The Jacuzzi costs 3 euros for 20 minutes and tokens can be bought from reception.
Mini golf is a 10 euros deposit.

The hotel has a real mix of guests. Mainly Brits but also plenty of Polish, French, Dutch, Spanish etc. Obviously their school holidays are different to ours so their will always be children present.

Overall, we have had another fantastic holiday at the hotel. We would probably return in the future but not immediately as we would like to move on to another island. The hotel is fantastic for families, probably less so for couples though. Your children will be entertained and the atmosphere is good. Main improvements should be variety of food, evening entertainment and room comforts.
Otherwise, very good once again.

Room Tip: Block 6 is central to everything. If you can afford it go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lacost69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just come back from the Barcello Lanzarote Resort where we spent 1 week. The hotel was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly. We had a superior room 1122 on the ground floor which was just beside the pool at the tennis courts, which was absolutely lovely and we had no problem getting a sunbed at anytime of the day! The main pool area was lovely also and again there seemed to be no problem with the sunbeds. There was food and a bar at the main pools from 10.00am to 5pm, we were all inclusive and drinks available whenever you felt like one. The restaurant was huge and lovely and clean, the food was great, plenty of choice for all, I do not eat meat and this was not a problem as there was always fish and pasta and plenty of salad, lovely sweets and ice cream. Dinner was from 7.00 to 10.30pm and we always got a table straight away, I would say this was because it was later in the season. The reception staff could not be more helpful anything you asked they obliged. We lost our camera, left it in a taxi and the reception staff called the taxi company and it was found and returned to us, the guy bringing right back to the hotel awesome!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going, it is a bit outside of Costa Teguise itself but a hotel bus is free during the day up to 5.30pm but a taxi back is only 4 or 5 euro, tf could be a little more later on in the evening. We were able to get the local bus into Puerto Del Carmen for 5.60 euro for two and they run very frequently, you can also get it into Teguise as well. We got a bus back to the airport from straight outside the hotel for 4.60 euro after paying 18 euro on arrival, although this was great value when you just arrive. I would especially like to say a big hello and thank you to Fermina, Yassins, Zaira and Joaquin at the Piano Bar who we had great craic with and looked after us so well, miss you guys...... Will certainly stay here again if we return to Lanzarote, sad to be home from home.......

Room Tip: I would definitely upgrade to a superior room their location is better and being on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gez01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,404 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,981 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
13 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $98 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best options on Lanzarote for families and sports lovers. Located in Costa Teguise, one of the island’s main resorts, the hotel combines recently refurbished facilities with an excellent position close to the Atlantic. The hotel’s new rooms offer a superb standard of comfort and are exceptionally well equipped for holidays with children (baby-care kit or Wii console available). The All-Inclusive package includes an innovative entertainment programme, the new Barcy Club, and all kinds of activities and facilities to help you get away from it all and have fun as a family. For those seeking peace and quiet, the hotel has an exclusive area with Balinese beds and a wellness centre. And for those who want to make the most of this destination’s ideal climate to engage in physical activities, there is the sports centre with specialist facilities (Olympic swimming pool, professional cycling centre, deluxe guest rooms for sportsmen and women, and hypoxic rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing