We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,125)
Filter reviews
3,125 results
Traveler rating
913
1,274
634
184
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
1,274
634
184
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay salad pool bar block b self service toasties great holiday tennis courts on tap plenty of choice evening entertainment soft drinks veal entertainment room bbc world news sun loungers hot dogs
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 3,125 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

just back from a 10 day 3 guys away holiday.
hotel is clean and i mean spotless
Food is Hot plenty and a good variety if you cant make up a plate full then your too fussy.
day time in pool bar there are Burgers hotdogs and fries for the kids and older kids lol.
Pool well maintained and cleaned every morning before opening.
No issues getting sun loungers.
Staff cant do enough and in my view made the holiday.
shout outs to Abel, Burheam, Yasinn, Oscar and Carlos thanks boys your all stars.
entertainment lets this hotel down not a great selection of acts.
hotel itself is in need of exterior renovation as it is looking a little worn in places.
don't let that put you off I'm just being honest and upfront.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
5  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Frank H,

Thank you for the time you spent to review your experience in our hotel, at Bluebay Lanzarote we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

Our daily challenges and motivation consist in providing very good services and facilities in order to have as many satisfied guest as possible. We are grateful for your critiques and recommendations and we will look into it, in the specific cases you mentioned. Please note actually the Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote is in the process of improvements; therefore we'd like to apologize for any inconvenience that caused by being in process.

We are pleased to read your review with reference to the spotless clean Hotel, the plentiful, hot and good variety of food as well as your kind words about the well maintained and clean hotel pool.

We are very proud for the kind remarks regarding our staff made your holiday. We are more than happy to attend to you and help you with anything that is needed for a truly relaxing and unforgettable break! We will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments and please note your comments are very helpful for us, because your impressions help us to improve our service, as all our staff works very hard every day to offer our guests an unforgettable stay and that’s our main objective.

Receive our kindest regards, and we look forward to welcome you again soon at the Bluebay Lanzarote!

Our best regards,

Sincerely,
Alexandra Gerdes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

We arrived in the evening family of 4, our youngest (1) who cannot walk was made to wear a wrist band which I thought was unnecessary and the lady on reception was rude when I asked if she really needed to wear it.
Room was a nice size however not kept very clean, floors not swept and mopped very often and sheets not changed very often just beds made.
Toilet leaked and shower curtain smelt of mould.
Food was ok for a 3 star, good selection however please check meat as I had to send my pork back as it was pink.
The next day after that (unsure whether it was a coincidence) but all 4 of us had terrible sickness and diarrhoea. I called reception to let them know that we were all very very ill and needed help and I was greeted with 'so what do you want me to do about it' very rude and unhelpful. We were all very ill and after my mother complained (calling from home) they sent a doctor to see us and then we had to go to the pharmacy to get hydration drinks for the whole family.
We felt scared and alone and feeling so ill we had no help from the staff or rep.

The pool area was nice, a few broken sun beds but we never had any trouble finding some.

Entertainment was average, kids disco very repetitive but the kids seemed to like it.

Overall, improvements need to be made with some of the female reception staff as they were rude and unhelpful. The waiters and bar staff however were very polite.

I would not return to this hotel however as the reception is the first impression and it was not a very nice one.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Ashlee_brooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Ashlee_brooks01,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent experience in our Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote!

We are very sorry to hear not every aspect of our services have met your expectations.

Our daily challenges and motivation consist in providing very good services and facilities in order to have as many satisfied guest as possible. However we are grateful for your critiques and recommendations and we will look into it, in the specific cases you mentioned. Please note actually the Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote is in the process of improvements; therefore we'd like to apologize for any inconvenience that caused by being in process.

With reference to your statement written above we feel the need to clarify the following. We do regret your sensation our reception staff were very rude. It is true we did not match you full expectations at the moment of check in with reference to the wrist bands. Please note in general the Hotel policy is that every single guest has to collaborate to wear a wrist band, but we will have a look into this specific case of minors if there can be exceptions in future.

We do regret you were physical feeling unwell during your stay with us. Unfortunately we remember you were complaining that the food was not to your liking within the first day. Since then we haven´t seen you anymore in our restaurant, but our housekeeping service found remains of prepared food (Chinese food, etc.) in your room within they realized the daily cleanings.

To continue in your case of feeling ill we do not understand that you did not contact to the hotel manager, reception or your Tour Operator. But we do remember well that suddenly your mother did call to our hotel one morning in a very upset condition and insulted our staff to do something.

The doctor was called by the hotel before you refused to attend to the medical center and not by the call of its mother.

We are pleased you highlighted the nice size of the room as well as the nice pool area.

Grateful we are about your kind remarks regarding our very polite waiters and bar staff. We are more than happy to attend to you and help you with anything that is needed for a truly relaxing and unforgettable break! We will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments and please note your comments are very helpful for us, because your impressions help us to improve our service, as all our staff works very hard every day to offer our guests an unforgettable stay and that’s our main objective.

Please receive our best regards from sunny island of Lanzarote.

Alexandra Gerdes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alexandra G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

When you read reviews of a hotel prior to booking you have to take everything into consideration and make a decision as to whether to proceed with the booking. Even after you've committed to the booking you continue to read reviews and this can cast doubts as to whether you have made the right decision or not. I don't think I have ever come across a property which has had such a diversity of opinion by reviewers. Weighing up the pros and cons I decided to book the BlueBay so here is my review split into the areas of concern that are common themes in previous reviews of the property.

Location: Situated in a quieter part of the resort but within easy reach of the beach, resort centre and a good selection of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. One of the plus points is that we found prices in the bars, restaurants & shops were cheaper than the main part of the resort. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the resort centre which is no great hassle when you're on holiday.

Sun beds: Probably the biggest cause for concern with reviewers. I can honestly say however that we had no problem with getting a sun bed no matter what time we went to the pool - in fact most days there was a stack of beds untouched. The hotel does request that guests do not reserve beds but British guests seem to believe that this does not apply to them and take it upon themselves to put towels on beds at some odd times of the morning. We found it quite amusing watching from our patio as people were reserving beds at 7am especially when we went to the pool at 9am and managed to get beds next to them without any problem much to their annoyance.

Rooms: Our room was a bit dated and showing signs that cosmetic repairs were needed but it was large with a huge patio, clean and what we expected for the price we paid.

Food: There was a good selection of food at mealtimes. Yes it was repetitive but no more so than many other all inclusive properties throughout Spain. There were a couple of nights when we ate out because there was nothing in the selection that we liked but that is personal taste and not a reflection on the hotel. If there was a minor complaint it would be that the food was not always as hot as it could be but again I think is just down to timing - sometimes you hit the buffet just as it was being replenished and it was fine but other times when the food had been out for a while it was lukewarm.

Staff: Previous reviews have said that the staff were rude and unhelpful. I certainly didn't see any evidence of this and everyone we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful.

Internet: I think most people expect free internet access in hotels these days and rightly so. We were aware prior to arrival that there would be a charge and decided to buy two access tickets for the final three days of the holiday and paid extra for the higher speed connection. Unfortunately the service is poor and despite paying for the 4mb connection we were lucky if we could get a connection for more than 40 minutes per day with reception in the bedroom and the pool almost non existent. We paid €20 for the three day "connection" which certainly wasn't value for money. The bars around the hotel offer customers free internet so for the price of a pint you can enjoy reliable connectivity so something to bear in mind if this is important for you.

All in all you get what you pay for at this property. It is a 3 star hotel and that is the level of service that you get. If you are expecting a higher standard then you need to be looking at a more expensive hotel but for the price we paid the hotel met our expectations so we weren't disappointed and had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and would certainly return in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
7  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear neil b,

Thank you for your time and comments to share your experience with us at Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote!

It is always a pleasure to read satisfied guests reviews, mostly because this shows us that the path we are heading on is all in all positive! We are very pleased to see that your holiday in our hotel has met your expectations.

We are pleased about your kind remarks about the quiet hotel location, the large rooms as well as the good selection of food at mealtimes. We are more than happy to attend to you and help you with anything that is needed for a truly relaxing and unforgettable break!

To continue we are happy you highlighted the sunbed situation and you could get one during your stay without any problem.

With reference to the mentioned extra charges for the WIFI we are sorry we haven´t met yours expectation. Please note it is true that this service actual is only available on extra charge. We do mention all extra charges on our website, and therefore, we kindly ask every guest to know this information upon arrival to avoid any disappointment. The travel agencies are also aware of this information.

We are very proud for the kind remarks about our very friendly and helpful staff. We will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Grateful and pleased we are you agree with the provided services from the Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote as being a 3*** hotel. Our prices and services are comparable to those of other 3 star hotels in the area Costa Teguise/Canary Island, and we believe we offer a good quality-price in location and service.

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments and please note it has been an absolute pleasure to receive your review and we would be more than happy to welcome you soon again at the hotel Bluebay Lanzarote.

Our best regards from sunny island of Lanzarote,

Yours sincerely,
Alexandra Gerdes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Hotel grounds and pool area are clean and tidy. The hotel is clean, rooms are a good size. Food is really good, with masses of choice. Waiters and bar staff are pleasant as are the maids but the reception staff are unhelpful and quite abrupt. It's very windy so use towel pegs!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear gary b,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hotel Bluebay Lanzarote!
It is always a pleasure to read satisfied guests reviews, mostly because this shows us that the path we are heading on is all in all positive! We are very pleased to see that your holiday in our hotel has met your expectations.

We are grateful for the kind remarks about the clean and tidy hotel and pool area, the good sized rooms as well as the masses choice of really good food.

Very proud we are for your kind remarks regarding our pleasant staff like waiters and maids and more than happy to attend to you and help you with anything that is needed for a truly relaxing and unforgettable break!

With reference to your statement written above our reception staff was unhelpful and quite abrupt; we do regret your sensation as the highest score the hotel Bluebay Lanzarote has is for the service/staff. We will look into this case and insist to our staff the importance of friendliness to make our guests feel most special and welcome.

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments and please note your comments are very helpful for us, because your impressions help us to improve our service, as all our staff works very hard every day to offer our guests an unforgettable visit and that’s our main objective.

We will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Our best regards from sunny island of Lanzarote,

Yours sincerely
Alexandra Gerdes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews