We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin”
Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BlueBay Lanzarote
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked the BlueBay a while ago as we got a fantastic price for me, my partner and 2 year old son. We read the reviews and agreed it wasn't going to be luxury as that is not what you pay for. This hotel is a very good 3 star hotel and worth the money paid. The rooms are modern and spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and space to put the cases etc. I did have an issue with our shower and sink not being cleaned but on the whole it was reasonably clean. Also please be aware the towels are not changed on a saturday and I hadn't read this before I went and so never realised but reception did give me new towels when asked. We were in block E room 310 which had a sea view and was away from the theatre used for the night entertainment and was very quiet. We emailed the hotel before we went to ask for the top floor room in E block as we had read it was the quieter area and our request was granted without a problem. The reception staff that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful and the staff in the restaurant were especially friendly. The service in the restaurant is fantastic and the only issue regarding service is at the pool bar as the soft drinks and beer are self service which is great but there weren't many staff serving if you wanted an alcoholic drink or ice cream.

The food is nice although there is not a lot of choice and was mainly disappointed with the variety of desserts but as I said you get what you pay for and was fine for the week we were there. We ate out one evening at la hacienda (tex mex) in the centre of Costa Teguise which was very nice and would recommend as an alternative if you fancy a change. We didn't see any of the shows in the hotel as we walked into Costa Teguise every night which is about 15 mins walk away. However, we did take part in a couple of the quizzes which were on later when we came back which were good.

The pool area really does need looking at as there are many parasol bases cemented into the ground but not enough parasols to go in them and yes the pool tiles do need replacing desperately as even some children were making piles of them at the side of the pool. My other gripe is the pool toilets, please can someone mop the floor during the day I felt like doing it myself it was hurrendous and to top it off there was no soap in these toilets throughout the holiday.

Overall we had a nice week in a good 3 star hotel which was well worth the money we paid but feel a few issues need looking at which would make it a great hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    1,127
    535
    149
    91
See reviews for
1,115
963
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed 10 nights at the blue bay resort and must say we had an amazing time.

On arrival the reception staff were excellent and could speak really good english. They put us in block A overlooking the pool and above the theatre area.

The room was modern, spacious and clean. We could not hear the theatre in the evening and there was also air con in the rooms.

The pool area was lovely with ample no. of beds, however, there was a shortage of parasols. In defence of the hotel every day i witnessed stupid brits placing these parasols in the wrong holders. When these parasols were hit by the costa teguise winds they would be flown in the air and subsequently break.

Similarly, i noticed that the people who were complaining about the tiles in the pool, were also the ones who were not watching their children pulling the tiles off.

The tiles were not an issue for me and i understood that the only real way to sort it was to shut the pool during the season and this is not really and option.

The location of the hotel is excellent and from looking around the corona playa hotel (4* Thompson Gold), the blue bay was in many ways better.

The food was excellent, warm and varied with good themed nights. Again i noticed that the guests who were moaning about the choice were those who were ignorant to good food and were the families who would have chips and cheese every night for tea.

Resteraunts and bars were modern and clean with excellent staff.

Entertainment seemed to work on an every other day basis with good acts, interspersed with budget quiz's and videos.

Adrenalina, the swing singer, the magician and the karaoke were particularly good nights.

Likewise, entertainment in the day was varied and fun.

Overall, excellent holiday and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bluebay in Aug and a had a great time. The hotel is great and cannot see why people complain. The rooms are spacious and modern with a nice touch of a bottle of water for when u arrive. Great shower and lovely views. The restaurant I couldn't fault. Nice theme nights the Chinese night was fab!!! Everything nice and hot with lovely salad and deserts. It was never to busy which made meal times enjoyable. The pool area is nice. Always beds available at any time of the day. Yes there where small mosaic tiles coming off but people where allowing their children to pull them off which I saw quite often. Great idea for self service soft drinks, tea, coffee and beer. No ques! Ice cream on tap in the day which was walls ice cream! The entertainment is what u get anywhere in spain u either love it or hate it. The kids loved the mini disco and the team worked very hard. Overall I would go to Bluebay tomorrow if I could. Lanzarote is a great place for families and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank staceym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

after reading some reviews of this hotel i was a bit concerned, but there was no need to be. The hotel was very clean, room was fanastic and food was excellent. The staff were very pleasant, always ready to help, also very polite. I have one complaint though, there are not nearly enough umbrellas at the pool. come on management!! if you care about the health and well being of your guests you need to replace all of the missing umbrellas, we are contantly being warned about the effects of the sun and skin cancer, advice is to stay in the shade, how can we do that if there are no umbrellas? Over all we had a great week, and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After booking this holiday via Thomas Cook, we looked at reviews and wondered if we had made the right choice? But on arrival we knew we had. We were greeted by the most helpful of staff, including the manager informing us that he had kept the restaurant open longer due to our transfer being delayed.

The food was always of a good quality, a decent selection each day. The essential items were on every day, with a select few dishes being changed daily. The restaurant staff were fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

The selection of drinks on offer was ample, with premium spirits avaliable at a reasonable extra charge. The evening entertainment was ideal for the family; a mini disco for a hour hosted by Lucy or Oliver, they know what they are doing. And then an evening of varied entertainment. Which is suitable for all ages.. Karaoke was a funny sight.

The hotel room has everything you would need, with the room being cleaned 6 times a week, and fresh towels daily. Only one english channel, but if you want english tv, you should stay at home.
The main walkways were clean and tidy, and in constant use.

The pool area has plenty of sun loungers, but could benefit from a few extra parasols, so many people were up at the crack of dawn, to get the limited umbrella. To then leave them down for the whole day.

The pool does have an issue with tiles coming loose, but these were being replaced daily. The pool was of a decent size, which was good as most guests had inflatables,

Our 14 night holiday was great, and made better by the bluebay, it's not too far out of the resort, with an ample selection of shops and bars near by.

And ideal venue for families. The only issues we had at the resort, other guest moaning about the kids splashing them whilst they sat at the ledge of the pool reading..

Room Tip: Ground for is better for the families, as there are not any lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lghaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some poor reviews about the Bluebay I was worried about our family holiday there in August. The good news is that I feel the poor reviews are not justified and me, my wife and two children had a fantastic week holiday. Rooms were clean and tidy and the only minor problem was that the bed settee was a bit uncomfortable. Maid came every day except Saturday and kept the place clean. Restaurant food was good at all services during the day and there were three themed nights during our week stay. All bar areas had friendly, helpful staff and there were never any long waits for service. The only thing that I can agree with from the poor reviews is the fact that the tiles are lifting from the floor of the pool. We saw several cut feet during the week, although both of my children used the pool every day, and escaped cut free. Felt sorry for the poor guy who had the thankless task of snorkelling in the pool each evening using silicon to stick tiles back down. Lucy and Oliver, who did the children's entertainment deserve a special mention. They were excellent with all of the children and my two looked forward to joining in the mini disco every evening. We like to holiday in a different place each year but if we return to lanzarote I would definitely consider the Blubay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In fact its the only all inclusive that I've genuinely loved the food.
The hotel was lovely, staff helpful and they even made a picnic for us when we went on an excursion.
The hotel was spotless but the only thing was that the plates weren't cleaned properly in the room....
My other moan is location from the centre. I don't mind walking and in fact like it, however, you had to walk through barren land and when it was dark we felt unsafe doing this. Thankfully the taxis are cheap and we used those on the odd evening we ventured out. Apart from this i will hopefully take my partner to this hotel next year.
P.s. Its definitely worth visiting timanfaya park and exploring costa teguise. There's plenty to see and do in the area plus plenty going on at the hotel to keep the family entertained

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelleMB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Property: BlueBay Lanzarote
Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing