We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BlueBay Lanzarote
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself my friend and my 2 children aged 11 and 12 stayed here for 10 days. Read reviews before i left, and yes some things were true, but at the end of the day, the staff were lovely, the food was absolutely fine, plenty of choice, and lucy and oliver just love the kids. The entertainment at night was really good apart from maybe a couple of nights. Yes, the sunbeds were uncomfy, yes, tiles were missing, yes maybe not enough on through the day for the kids, but you know, you make the best of it, at the end of the day, clean rooms, roasting sun, though somedays not till about 1 o,clock, and rather windy, but you welcome a breeze when its as hot, food was good, staff were lovely what more do you want??

Room Tip: No preference where rooms are concerned, all knitted quite close together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosepetalsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    1,094
    507
    139
    86
See reviews for
1,059
928
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly, rooms clean & spacious. Food disappointing & lukewarm at best. Not enough umbrellas and no shaded area's. No padding for loungers(not great for sore backs!!). Could do with entertainment in bar in main building. Not a 4 star!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiehughes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having just returned from the Bluebay Resort, Costa Teguise, Lanzarote with my Wife, 2½yr old daughter and two close family friends I felt it important to post this report to inform everyone of our 2 week, All Inclusive stay.

Arriving at the Hotel just after Mid-Day (Sunday 9th June) following an early morning flight out of Cardiff we were met at the Hotel Reception Desk by two members of staff (one male, one female) the female was quite helpful whilst the 'gentleman' who we learnt later hailed from Bath had a bit of an attitude (guess he didn't want to be there on a Sunday!) a sort of I'M IT, Your S**T attitude, if you know what I mean?.

Whilst we aware that there were no lifts at the Hotel and having requested an upper floor (3rd Floor) we were literally pointed in the direction of our barracks and left to our own devices. (Hotel Porter - No!, Helpfulness - Ha! Ha!) Oh! we were told that lunch was being served in the restaurant and pool area and that we could visit either at our leisure - NICE!

The Thomas Cook 'Welcome Meeting' took place in the Piano Bar the following morning where we were greeted by Hayley our Resort Rep. I thought the Welsh speak quickly BUT this young lady must have a First Class Honours in 'Speed Talking', I pitied the guests with a hearing deficiency as she rattled through her presentation in record time. We did however decipher two excursions which we were interested in, the MHT (Music Hall Tavern Night) & the day trip to Fueraventura! Trips which we found to be available and more economical in some cases if booked elsewhere.

Turning to the Hotel facilities
(i) Restaurant
We couldn't really fault the quality and choice of food at this Hotel, contrary to a number of postings on TripAdvisor, I just wonder where some of the people who were unhappy with the food shop & eat? Waitrose and The Ivy I guess!! The staff attentive and extremely friendly especially so to our daughter!
(ii) Swimming Pools
It would have been beneficial to have worn a Wet Suit considering the temperature of the water in the large pool and also safety footwear due to the number of 1" square tiles missing throughout the floor and pool sides. This is something which both the Holiday Company (Thomas Cook) as well as the Hotel have been aware of for a considerable amount of time but appear to have done 'diddly squat' about. There were occasions during the evenings when the Hotel maintenance guy 'Commander Crab' donned his flippers and snorkel in an attempt to replace the missing tiles - can you believe the mentality in that?
The children's pool however was more than adequate albeit there were a few tiles missing there too. My daughter had an absolute ball and enjoyed her time splashing around with the multitude of other children. The depth of the pool varying from 0.3Mt to 0.45Mt.
(iii) Sunbeds & Parasols
Sunbeds!!! More like Sun Racks, they had to be the most uncomfortable I have ever laid on! The Hotel shop certainly benefitted by the sale of Lilo's as a number of guests were using them as mattresses. There was also an abundance of parasol holders but a distinct lack of parasols.
(iv) Kids Club & Mini-Disco
Both Lucy & Oliver (Animation Team) were absolutely superb they tried their utmost to entertain with limited resources. The biggest hit without doubt was the 'Mini-Disco' which takes place at 8.30pm each evening. Albeit a little repetitive (could have varied the music selection) it was a massive success in our eyes!
(v) Nightly Entertainment in the Teatro (Theatre)
Quite varied, from Dance Acts, Tribute Acts, Magician and Traditional all in all not bad however, avoid the Karaoke Nights like the plague, we unfortunately sat through an hour having listened to three, yes three volunteers, I nearly lost the will to live, a major break down in continuity by the entertainments team I'm afraid!
(vi) Piano Bar
We didn't use this area more than two or three times however it appeared to be exceptionally popular with those guests 'drowning their sorrows' due to the rather inclement weather being experienced in Costa Teguise. It was rumoured that the town twinning committee were in the advanced stages of signing an agreement with Chicago - 'The Windy City'!
(vii) Hotel Spa
We were given one complimentary pass per family for the Spa quite a nice gesture until you looked at the price list for the treatments! €65 for a full body massage!! £55 bit of a cheek as a hotel resident!

The Thomas Cook on-line brochure states that the beach and resort centre is 1.5km away! What they don't say is the distance is 'as the crow flies'! It's a good 25min walk to the resort centre and probably 10 to 15mins to the coast, certainly no beach! They also mention the courtesy bus which operates three times daily Ha! Ha! - 9.55am, 11.55am & 4.45pm (caught the earliest one twice, OK if your used to delivering milk)

Turning lastly to the weather, which no-one has any control over! We knew Lanzarote was 'breezy' but the weather during our fortnight was horrendous, cloud cover most days until at least 1.30pm with intermittent sunshine throughout the afternoon and gale force winds. Wish I'd taken a kite!! One bonus I guess was that we had no rain, that really would have put the tin hat on it!
All in all this Hotel could do with a complete makeover, decor and facilities tired and dated. Would I recommend this Hotel, sadly not!

Room Tip: Ask for Bloque A or B less of a route march to your barracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoisGoetreHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and restaurant were very clean. However only 4cocktails were included in the all inclusive, which is stupid as the cocktails that were chargable contained the same alcohol as the free ones! The food was good but got a bit repetative, there was very little choose for desert, it was mouse, mouse and more mouse. The entertainment was rubbish, the bars had no atmosphere. Now the warning there are very few sun umberallas and now where to shade, I have never seen so many burnt people. There are poles in the concerate for them but no umberallas. The management really need to address this. This is only just a 3star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vespa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We returned from Bluebay Lanzarote on Tuesday evening after a lovely holiday. Our 5 year old little boy was so sad to be coming home!
The rooms are basic but clean, roomy and quite modern in comparison to other hotels we've stayed in.
The food was varied and we always found something nice to eat, with each meal being a buffet or snack bar during the day (poolside) with ice creams available free of charge and drinks plentiful.
Entertainment for adults was quite disappointing but the childrens entertainers were fab with our son and he enjoyed the mini disco each night (he loved Lucy!). Would certainly recommend this hotel to those with young children.
The centre of down is approx a 15 min walk or jump into a taxi for about 3 Euros. Beach areas are lovely although it was quite windy whilst we were there so waves were quite rough.
The hotel was as we expected ( having been twice before) and we had a great time. If you are booked into this hotel, please ignore the negative comments on here, just go and enjoy yourself - I wish we were back there now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the bluebay resort. Having read the comments from a couple of other people who seemed to be there at the same time, I felt the need to write my own review. My cocktails were free, my water was free and my ice cream was free. You had to pay for certain cocktails with international spirits, same as any other all inclusive I've stayed in. Only plain ice cream was free, but i never expect a free branded ice cream. I guess it's down to your personal expectations for a holiday, that's why reviews can be so subjective. Don't be put off by negative reviews, make your own judgement.
Positives- very friendly and hard working staff, extremely clean, maintenance team always making improvements, variety of food, good location (about 15 mins to main town, but near other shops) And right by the bus stop. Plenty of sun beds
Negatives- uncomfy beds, food not great quality(I think it would be if they made their own national dishes rather than try to cater for us Brits), not much atmosphere in the bar. Entertainment was quite rubbish but it was always a laugh, and the team themselves were lovely.

To sum up, I'd say certainly don't expect anything spectacular, but we had a really lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dajones1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Im truely not one for moaning but this place is not worth what we paid, and its probably a 2 star First the good stuff, weather when the clouds are gone was lovely, the winds are high so you do need a jumper at night. The rooms are clean, but our bathroom leaked so using the the hair dryer in the bathroom was a danger. Not to mention the dryer socket was right by the basin. The lights kept blowing too. The evening entertainment was rubbish. The best thing you can do is pop into town. There are not enough sunbeds to go round and they have a rule, no TOWELS on beds before 9 or they take them away. Not to mention there are not enough brollies either you will see when you get after a few hours sun, you will need them for the burn factor. food ok but same ole same ole no childrens menu they have to eat the adult stuff or burgers and chips. to be fair its pretty crap compared to other places ive been for cheaper. it cost us as a family 2k what a waste. service was ok but one or 2 waiters were always on ya case about tips. theres more to moan about but seriously go somewhere else !!!!

Room Tip: all room pretty much over look the pool, or old buildings covered in graffiti and broken windows but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Property: BlueBay Lanzarote
Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing