We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlueBay Lanzarote
Nearby Hotels
Occidental Lanzarote Mar(Costa Teguise)
$183
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended(Costa Teguise)
$154
$138
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Lanzarote Playa(Costa Teguise)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Santa Rosa(Costa Teguise)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sands Beach Resort(Costa Teguise)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Sea Costa Bastian(Costa Teguise)
$124
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Sol(Costa Teguise)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,955)
Filter reviews
2,955 results
Traveler rating
863
1,216
599
169
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
1,216
599
169
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue baysaladpool barblock bpool tilesself servicetoastiestiles missingtennis courtsgreat holidayon tapplenty of choiceevening entertainmentsoft drinksentertainment roomvealbbc world news
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 2,955 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I booked the Blue Bay for some winter sun for the wife as she was in need of a rest. The Blue Bay is very much a family resort so if you are wanting a child free holiday then this is not the place for you. Thomas Cook bill this hotel as four star but is just touching on being a 3 star. The rooms are basic (very Ikea type furniture) and the curtains/bedding look very tired. As well as being basic the room walls are paper thin. The wife was woken not by me snoring but the person through the wall and was woken up faithfully every morning just after 7 by BBC World News on up-stair's television. The room service isn't anything exceptional and this is made worse by the fact that there is no room service on a Saturday, In our room there was an insect infestation in the kitchen area especially in the cupboards. The reception area is very clinical and lacks character. The reception team aren't particularly helpful and when the wife asked if she could have a heater in the room as she feeling the cold at night we were advised that no one in Lanzarote have heating systems in their homes. Parting words on that was that there was blankets in the room which were there if you are cold. On the other hand the restaurant staff are very friendly and courteous. Don't get me wrong I found the food palatable but the wife struggled with the food. What was listed as vegetarian food actually had pieces of cubed ham within the dish and following discussion with a fellow veggie my wife confirmed this. Even when she took a piece of what was labelled as tomato and cheese pizza she found pieces of ham under the cheese! All I can say is thank the Lord for the two 'P's - potatoes and pasta. Finally the entertainment. If there is any genre below amateur then this is it, Even the very layout of the theatre lacks imagination and there is no atmosphere - it is more London Dungeon than London Palladium. No one really makes the effort. There is no front of house introducing and thanking the artists after their performances. They are children running around around well after 10 pm during more adult themed 'acts'. On the Saturday night we had Bruce Lee swinging around Samurai swords and successfully slicing a granny smith apple in 2 on the stomach of his provocative & sexy young assistant. At no time did the entertainment team advise the audience this act would not be suitable for young children. Instead of that we continued having children running a mock playing football with their balloons, The best entertainment during that week was the karaoke when a couple performed Black Lace's 'Superman' complete with actions - if you read Trip Adviser you know who you are!! There is also the 'PAL' promotions free blanket trip for entertainment. If you can't work due to to ill health then PAL's blanket trip is the new Lourdes. One mattress cures all aliments and if it is your skin that is the problem then you can always use their Aloe Vera products. If only I had known that there was no central heating in Lanzarote prior to the trip I would have purchased those pure wool blankets....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphWiggam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have in the past stayed fully inclusive at Los Zircos 1* and the Iberostar at Puerto Calero 5* on Lanzarote. We chose the Blue bay as an economy measure, last time we booked accommodation only and blew £1000 on dining and drinks over a ten day period, so economy led us to this time looking for a middle of the road all inclusive in Costa Teguise. I should explain that my better half's elderly Mother lives in Costa Teguise and has done for 14 years so we know the area very well.We booked the week before traveling via lowcostholidays.com whom we have happily used for our last three trips, taxi from the Airport was 16/17 euros so 20 inc tip.

We arrived to friendly staff a Pleasant clean well furnished room, during our stay extra blankets were provided as soon as asked for and the room was well serviced daily apart from Saturday. a pleasant shower and 19" tv fridge and kettle together with twin ring stove-top. Balcony faced the sun nearly all day (after 10am) and we were pleased to find blackout curtains fitted as standard. a small in room safe was in place with a 3 Eu per day charge for the key.

The hotel runs a shared bus service to the beach and town centre twice in the morning and once late afternoon free of charge. reception were more than happy to call the cab rank around the corner and they respond within 2 mins.

The pools and surrounds all looked clean and presentable but we did not use them so will not pass extensive comment.

All of which brings us to the food! I have read many comments on these pages prior to leaving and given some thought as to what to say, I must firstly say that anyone who sets out to please all people is doomed to failure. The catering and waiting team handled themselves at all times with a professionalism and courteous manner which was a credit to their training and beyond that which would normally be expected of a three star establishment. The range of foods on offer at any given meal were generally good, with several choices and always a reasonable salad bar as back up. Obviously working to a budget can confine the protein choices available, however in the five days i managed several well cooked fish dishes, a superb rabbit stew, good roasted fresh vegetables and some imaginative use of left over dishes. Dessert table always had a good supply of fresh fruit and ice cream to supplement the packet mix Flan and Angel Delight with sprinkles. I felt the Chefs were hobbled by their having to provide a range of "English Food" (sausage and mash, hot dogs pizza and spag bol) at every meal. However with a little compromise a reasonable meal was always available. Breakfast was always good with local versions of bacon and sausages supplemented by eggs or beans together with extensive fruits yoghurts and cereals together with rolls, toast, baguettes, cheese and ham.

The Bars were functional although i have to admit to a personal hatred of drinking from plastic cups, I felt that the failure to display clearly what was available was laziness in set up and break down. Portions were generous and service generally good however only local spirits and vermouth were included in the all inclusive allowance others were then overpriced with a 50% discount to all inclusive customers??

On the whole Does what it says on the Tin quite pleased and would use again.

Don't forget the difference between a good three star hotel and a five star. A good three star will provide anything you ask for. In a good five star you don't need to ask!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor B block, ideal not too close not too far and high enough to get any breeze.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fat_Food_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

stayed here first week in jan no complaints was a cheapish hol,plenty of winter sun resort prices are very gd.a pub meal drinks and a few shots at the highlander pub only came in at 41 euro.staff at these appts are very helpful.you dont pay for sun loungers but u can hire mats to go on them for 1.50 euro per day,recomended to add tht bit of comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed in the bluebay 3 times before and have never had a bad word to say. The location, rooms and staff are great. The food has always been excellent with plenty of choice and fresh food being cooked. This time I can't say the same. The lunch and evening meals were the same, little choice other than pasta pizza and chips. It doesn't seem as busy as last year but the chef could cook more food during service rather than leave food to go hard and cold. We have had to eat out on a night time. It's a shame. There are always workmen painting and doing work to the hotel, the childrens pool is currently being fixed. Great hotel just hope the food improves and this is just a bad week

Room Tip: Request a pool view room, the others just look out onto a road
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Mj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided to have Christmas and New Year in the sun, and after reading the reviews decided with this hotel. Thomas Cook advertises this as a 4* the hotel is a 3* and boy did we notice. The hotel itself was clean and the staff could not be faulted, but the food, now that it a different matter. Breakfast there was no options for eggs, it was fried, scrambled or eventually omelette but only one of those options on the day. In the 14 days that we stayed there we only had 2 decent meals Christmas Day and New Years Eve, so it just proves that they can do it. The food was always cold and they supplied a microwave for your use, which was used on several occasions. Don't get me wrong we had a great holiday but not up to the standards that we are used too, but then I did think I was booking a 4*.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting rooms, B306/307 which is on the side over looking the pool, not good for some as 34 steps to rooms. Very quite.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsetsBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews