We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel.

There is no getting away from the fact that it is need of updating, where I assume it hasn't been since the late 90's, but after a a while that's not an issue at all.

The rooms are basic but nice enough. Beautiful views of the sea.

Food is amazing and the bar staff are friendly. Would go back.

The resort is low key, exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Col84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words.
We wish you all the best and would be very happy to welcome you soon again in our hotel or in one of our Be Live and Luabay hotels all around the world.
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We took my elderly mother away for Christmas. The hotel is a little bit tired but overall the service and food was very good. Location is perfect, particularly for anyone who enjoys swimming in calm sea. Christmas eve banquet was superb. Entertainment could have been a bit better. But overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

On behalf of the Hotel Be Live Grand Teguise Playa I would like to thank you for your very friendly review on TripAdvisor. As the satisfaction of our guests is most important to us, it is a real pleasure to find out that you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
We would like to welcome you again in the Hotel Be Live Teguise Playa for another relaxing break.
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was very well located, perfect for getting to all the local bars and restaurants only a few minute walk.
The beach was beautiful and lots of fish swimming in the sea.
The hotel itself was good, the rooms are very run down and in desperate need of a make over but it is generally clean. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but not the worse that we have slept on, the pillows were very flat but one call to the helpful reception staff and they sent us up some more pillows straight away.
The food was good for an all inclusive, it was varied and hot and had themed nights like Spanish, Mexican, Chinese etc.
Lunch was good and often had BBQ outside as well as the buffet with fresh fish, chops and things like fajitas etc.
We only ate dinner at the restaurant twice in our 10 day stay as the restaurants in costa tequise were amazing and by dinner we were a bit sick of buffet food!!
All inclusive deal was worth the money for drinks, breakfast and lunch alone so it was our choice to eat out at night.
The entertainment is better for older people but was ok for a bit of light amusement, the animation team were very good, always trying to keep everyone busy and were good with children that were at the hotel.
Mostly the staff were very good though there were about 3 bar staff who we found very rude and unhelpful but you could avoid them if needed as other staff were available, although it's the strangest bar ever as you can not sit at the bar like normal and get served you have to go and stand in a line to be served at one point of the bar which was annoying as there was always a long line of people waiting for drinks!
In general we had a great holiday and loved the area and enjoyed our stay but this hotel needs to move with the times and update their rooms and systems. But don't let this put you off, the food and drinks and location make up for some of it's downfalls.
Hope you find this helpful.....enjoy your hols

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Suzie,
Many thanks for taking a few minutes to write about your experience at the hotel.I'm so glad you enjoyed it!!.
Tipp. If you sit at Bar an waited to order 10 minutes average and after you waited to be served at table 10 minutes more, you don´t have to queue. There are Barmans which took orders and served drinks all night long at Bar. Queueing at Bar is only an option not a must. I think people do it because they have the sensation of been served quicker.
Please do not hesitate to make me know if you return here to enjoy your holidays with us.
Me and all the staff will be more than happy to make you feell like at home!.
Hoping to see you soon.
Regards
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have just had a week here with my partner and another couple, we chose to go all inclusive and were very pleased that we did. Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of foods that cater to everybody's taste. Lunch and dinner were good, but I found there to be an awful lot of fish dishes and salads with fish in, something we're not very keen on. The desserts probably were the weakest part of the food overall. Drinks good, service ok, the bar staff work hard but at times seemed to be a bit over stretched. The two salt water pools are a good size and are clean and well maintained. Great atmosphere round the pool areas during the day and you can be on the beach within 2 minutes. The entertainment during the evening varied in quality (the Spanish dance troupe on Monday were excellent) and the entertainment team were constantly working hard and always had a smile for you. Overall I really enjoyed staying here, the rooms could do with modernising but this is a minor gripe because the housekeeping staff keep them spotless. Would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a commentary on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. That gives us energy to keep up the good work.
Tipp: Lanzarote is an island and we love fish, in Spain generally we eat a lot of fish, but at the buffet we have always two or tree kind of meats, as well as vegetables and salad, pasta or rice.
Desserts are not bought the day before but freshly made every day by our specialized pastry cook, fruit is also available.
Best regards,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went here with a friend, overall the hotel looks great, amazing entrance with nice looking pools(unfortunately both salt water pools) the rooms were ok, the shower head needed replacing as it felt like nails being shot at you.
The views were excellent across the sea.
We were served by a lot of different waiters and waitresses but the majority were very good unfortunately 2 waiters were so rude and uninterested in there jobs it ruined the experience, regularly one was on his mobile phone rather than serving and never greeted anyone. The other decided to slam the drinks on our table for no obvious reason.
Aside from these two it was an enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank GloucesterEh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments, we will take note of them for improve our service. All our staff works hard every day for offer our guest a great experience and the most relaxing and comfortable holidays ever.
Tipp - At Lanzarote never rains, there´s any waterfall or water sources, the water supply comes from desalination plants which take basically the sea water, extract the salt and supply water for agricultural and sanitary purposes. Water is really precious here so most of the hotel pools have a mix of salt and desalinated water. Sea water is very healthy.
Hoping you come back to our hotel and our beautiful island.
Best regards,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Grand Teguise Playa. Really enjoyable stay! Was greeted by Salvador on arrival who was extremely pleasant and efficient. Our room (527) was, as we expected, clean but still dated. Bathroom needs serious over-hall. The housekeeping staff do a great job - clean towels etc. ever day.

I suppose the only real negative would be the coldness of the pools. They really do need to be totally renovated and heated.

We would particularly like to give a mention to Tomas in the bar for his kindness, efficiency and continuous good humour and Maria J in the restaurant who was always very pleasant. Sorry to say that we couldn't say the same about some of their fellow staff who just appeared to be going through the motions and not particularly interested in their guests.

We look forward to revisiting the "Grand" at some stage in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for share your comments about the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa. We’re so happy to know that you had a great time enjoying our accommodations. Thank you for mentioned some many of us, it recognize our effort and dedication.

We hope you come back soon for enjoy the relaxing experience that Be Live Grand Teguise Playa offers to its guests. The best choice for a have a break and disconnect from the stress of daily routine. We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here last week (1st to 7th June 2014). Arrived lateish (9pm) but restraunt was still able to cater for us. Overall the hotel was superb, great views from room, which were very clean and sufficient size,cleaned every day and do not disturb sign was well observed and was greatly appreciated.Only 3 electric sockets though, and one was for tv. fairly quiet as corridors are carpeted, Food was brilliant all week, (all inclusive) quite varied and always very well cooked, Staff quite attentive, (couple of misarable ones but thats life!!) drinks served and empty plates removed quickly Felt sorry for the chef slaving away over his hot plate and BBQ at lunch. but was well appreciated. Bar area very good, Revolving areas moves very slowly around bar, takes about 1 hour to do full circle, slight criticism here is the stage is not very well situated. most static seats are behind it and if you are 'revolving', you miss half the show!! The fish pond/lake is fantastic,
Pool very nice plenty of sun beds and shade if required.
Excellent position for wandering out as near enough town centre, but as all rooms are facing sea, there is no noise from here.
only problem we had was on last day, had to check out at midday but not leaving untill 5pm. Couldnt keep room and had to use the Gym/sauna area to change. this was smelly and not really suitable for the purpose, only one male and one female room so could be problem if a few need to use or someone is using the gym!! Would be much better if a room or two could have been made available.
Overall, a very good hotel in a great location and would certainley stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa I would like to thank you for your friendly comment on your stay. I am very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and were mostly satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and the service.
Courtesy room is sometime available, very difficult to prepare when hotel is full. Hotel have high occupation all year round.
We would like to see you again at hotel and greeting personally
Sincerely
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,230 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $129 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing