We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read before you book”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Read before you book”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel, but lets start with the cons and finish with the positives:

cons:
- This is a very 'tired' hotel needs modernising especially the hotel rooms themselves
- very short staffed at the bar on an evening
- Hotel receptionist English not great but young lady was pleasant- no good when you have a complaint
- Hotel Manager- absolutely shocking- clueless
- If you have a night flight DO NOT expect to have any kind of courtesy room available to you and this actually ruined our holiday- we were told to be out of our room by 12 noon which is fine, however we could not keep the room on as the maids need to clean it and they finish at 3pm which was a blatant lie as our room was never cleaned before 3.30pm each day. As a customer you do not expect to be lied to and when this was put to the manager she really didn't care and told us we can use the gym to shower. There were no other rooms as the hotel was full (so we were told).
- Gym showers- not guaranteed to be free when we wanted to use them
- Gym showers- we looked at and they were not clean
-The manager really didn't care about us as we were going home
- we were told that we could leave our suitcases etc in a secure room- which was wide open to everyone, I actually walked in and out at leisure and when I removed 2 suitcases no one questioned this (they were mine) but no one kept a check on this
- The managers attitude was not good towards us, she really didn't care and would not even let us keep our room for an extra hour as it was to be cleaned- however I check this out of principle and the maid had gone nowhere near our room 3 hours after check out.
-Sewage smell if your on the ground floor (on balcony)
- Water feature in the reception/lobby area really needed cleaning on close view and more water as some of the fish were half out of it

Pro's
- Nice food- plenty of choice
-Staff at bar/ dining area nice
- rooms clean
- Nice pool area
- didn't let people reserve sun beds before 9am (this is also a con in some respects- couples were going for breakfast separately while the others sat on the sun bed! this only started part way through the holiday)
- can use hotel pool towels (deposit needed) can change daily
-Plenty to choose from drinks wise at the bar
- help yourself to soft drinks at the pool bar
- Very impressive reception area with the plants
- All rooms have sea view (ask for high up room)

Overall if you can get a good deal on this hotel it is ok for a week away- however please take my point about no courtesy room- seems minor when you read this at home but if you have a full day before you fly- where will you get changed/showered? Where do you keep all your things and valuables/change of clothes? Do you really want them with you at the pool all day?

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor, ask for the most modern room (if there is one) All rooms have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 24, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,236
    484
    154
    77
See reviews for
796
1,647
106
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Forget reading all the reviews you just need to get there and see for yourself..............Location is good. Plenty of choice of food.. A lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.. Don't think much of having to get up at 7 for sunbeds (husband & son-in-law).. Otherwise a good holiday..

Room Tip: Rooms 334 -335 fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freyamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 24, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hi there everyone.

I'm going to try to be as fair as possible in this review. A friend and I were there for a week's all inclusive (5th - 12th August).

OK, the hotel itself - It would have been spectacular when it was first built, but as time has passed the decor itself is looking dated. This is before you notice the missing chunks out of the walls in the corridors & cracked tiles. But in general, the cleanliness is pretty good (aside from a pile of sick we saw that wasn't cleaned up properly).

The rooms - Again dated, but clean. The air con is completely useless, but the rooms are not too warm. The shower was 'temperamental'. It all needed a complete over-haul in terms of decor. There is also no tea no coffee making facilities - what's that all about??? There should also be water placed in the rooms. if you need a drink in the night, there is no where to get water from if you haven't purchased any - which when you're paying for all inclusive, should be the last thing you need to buy.

The service - On the whole very good. The queues for the bars were stupid at times, but there were one or two staff who were keen to be as quick as they could. There is a time where there is no bar open (in between the pool bar closing, and the evening bar opening)...I don't know why at all - you can't get a glass of water if you need it!!! You can only get two drinks at a time, so this means that everyone has to get up and get their own drinks (making the queues bigger).
On one of the evenings I got a vodka and orange. It tasted like cordial (as in the vodka was none existent) - it tasted like it could have been watered down.

The food - This was OK. I love food...and the quality here wasn't up to the 4* price we had paid for our holiday. You can tell a lot of the food has been frozen and defrosted (the sea food). There was plenty of choice though. The breakfast meat was also processed out of all recognition, I've never seen bacon like it.
The plates are (more often than not) chipped. Just replace them surely?

The pool - Clean, large and great for children. But again a little run down.
As you have probably read in other reviews, the sun lounger situation at this hotel is beyond the ridicules. There are plenty of them, but for some reason, the culture of aggressive sun-lounger-saving is worse here than any hotel I have stayed at. There are people down there at 6.30 in the morning. All the loungers are gone by 9am. There is a rule that people are only allowed to save them for an hour (while going for lunch etc). This isn't enforced, and people go off for hours. The hotel rents out its own towels, which sometimes get left...meaning you don't know if the beds are taken or not.
The hotel really need to address this, as it's not the patrons fault...perhaps some sort of ticketing system??

The entertainment was alright. A couple of the nights were absolutely abysmal, but this kind of made it funny. But a row of girls dressed in bed sheets - spitting water at one another???

The activities were alright...the staff who took them seemed absolutely top notch - but the facilities themselves are very old, and really need sorting out. We saw broken lights etc - this is not a huge cost, and could have been easily sorted out. It looked a bit sad.

Having worked in quite a few 4* hotels myself, I am aware of the standards for this type of establishment. This hotel did not meet them unfortunately, despite a few hard working members of staff. For the amount of money we paid for the holiday, we definitely could have booked something of better quality (as we have done in the past).

Aside from the staff, the biggest redeeming quality of the hotel itself, was the fact the beach is a ten step distance from the place - brilliant!!!

The bottom line is, I wouldn't recommend this hotel - you could get more for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for one on one of the top floors so you get the most of the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauriepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 24, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day Jet 2 holiday. When we booked with Jet 2 over 12 months ago their brochure stated this hotel was 4 star , then we received an email from them stating they had down rated the hotel ,we continued with the booking because other operators and Be Live still had 4 star rating on their sites. Jet 2 you were spot on it is only 3 star plus but could be better.

GOOD -- The location is fantastic, the staff are some of the most hard working and pleasant I have met apart from reception who could benefit from a meet and greet course, The food is ok good for 3 star a reasonable choice, rooms cleaned and communal areas very impressive.

BAD -- The air conditioning is abysmal, the pool area needs more sunbed umbrella's, the rooms are very much in need of refurbishment, the water system is hit and miss, the dinning room needs more staff as at peak times it cant cope hence no plates and a long time to clear dirty pots and above all they are using chipped crockery which is unforgivable .Past comments have said the carpets have been replaced, not on the 1st floor as I can vouch for, they are dirty looking and the walls need re plastering.
These are in my opinion the failings that drop its rating , if you book 4 star you expect 4 star standards
My comment to Be Live is "put the same amount of effort into the hotel as your staff do and you will have a fantastic hotel".
I sent an email to Be Live about Jet 2 re grading and asked for their comments that was 12 moths ago I am still awaiting a reply .DOES THAT NOT SPEAK VOLUMES.
Would I go back Yes when I am assured that the above issues have been addressed.
If you want 3 star accommodation and standards go to this hotel if you want 4 star then please take note of the above comments. I really hope that they sort this hotel out it could be so good.

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests I don't think any room is better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 24, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel especially for families but bedrooms let it down. They are definitely not 4*. Beds not comfortable and very disappointed that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It would overall be great if they upgraded the bedrooms - like their sister hotel Lanzarote Resort. We booked a superior room but didn' t seem any different to normal rooms so why are they more?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isère
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from a 7night stay at the Grand Teguise Playa. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we had a very good time, yes the hotel in a few places is dated but the rooms are clean , the service is great, thestaff very nice and the food very good. We enjoyed our stay there.
The swimming pools are great but it is difficult / impossible to get a transat !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from a 10 night stay at the Grand Teguise Playa with my wife 8 yr old son and sister and bro in law. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we had a fantastic time, yes the hotel in a few places is dated but the rooms are clean , the service is great, the food wonderful, the kids club kept our son entertained every day, evening entertaiment was very good, the hotel staff and animation team were great. On our first trip to the restaurant my wife and son went to get food and of course the lad didn't see anything he liked (typical 8 yr old) upper management saw this and told my wife that if he could not find anything then the chef would cook whatever he wanted , a first class touch. All in all we had a wonderful stay, and the resort is top notch, no loud music or disco bars just fab restaurants and bars, we have already booked up for next year

Room Tip: all rooms face the private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knobbynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, May 24, 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Property: Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing