We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

I have just returned from a wonderfull time at the Gran Melia Salinas hotel.We stayed here for 5 days and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from the moment we checked in. Helpful pleassant and very freindly.The lobby on arrival i thought was fantastic beautifull water falls and trees and nicely decorated for christmas. Breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from.Rooms : the standard rooms do need upgrading but comfortable with sea views. I also visited the mastersuite rooms and villas and they are amazing with jaccuzzis and private pools and all very modern and spacious so if can afford these worth the money.There was entertainment on most nights which we enjoyed.
Me and My husband only stay at five star hotels and travel at least 3 times a year and i would return to this hotel and reccomend it to people looking to relax and enjoy there surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    988
    458
    155
    90
See reviews for
447
2,025
123
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

I am staying at this hotel at the moment. It is raining outside thats why I am on here! Unless you can afford the junior suites or garden villas go somewhere else. The lobby is really lovely and the master suite very, very nice. The garden villas really are five star, but I am afraid the standard double I got wouldn't make three stars. Food is lovely fish is beautiful. And no spa!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blosoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

First of all, If you haven't been in Lanzarote yet, don't think it anymore and just go. I have to admit that I was impressed with everything Lanzarote has to offer, the weather is fantastic all year round and despite some comments here, the Gran Melia Salinas still retains its greatness.

The first thing that strikes you is the building itself. Yes, it is just concrete, but a beautifully shaped one that allows all the rooms to wake up with a beautiful seaview. Wisely designed with the nature totally integrated in the building with a fantastic tropical garden throughout the common areas. Clean, spacious and with the Cesar Manrique imprint everywhere you go.

Some areas of the hotel though, retains that 70's feel, and not in a good way. The majority of the rooms has seen better days and you can feel they have some "history" and tiredness attached to them. It doesn't matther how much marble the rooms have, they need renovation, new flastscreen tv's and new furniture. Having said that, I got a really good 90 euro deal per room per night with breakfast. I think it's a bargain. All the people complaining could have gone to the Melia Volcán, paying double that figure and I am sure they would've received that desired 5 star treatment, That's why I won't complain much. On arrival we were offered a half board for just 20 euros more per person instead of the normal 39, However the island is too pretty and manageable to be confined in a hotel for your whole stay so we declined.

Breakfast is excellent, one of the best I have ever had, you'll be spoilt for choice and quality and the service is very kind and attentive.
The swimming pool area, designed by the ubiquitous Manrique is second to none, well kept and very relaxing. Such a shame not having a heated swiming pool which could be used all year round.

So, for the price I paid, I consider my stay in Gran Melia Salinas excellent value for money. I am sure once it is renovated it will return to its former glory.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

This is a comforatble hotel with excellent service, right on the beach. The grounds and public areas are very attractive and the Cesar Manrique influence makes it special. The hotel room (twin seaview and, large balcony) was comfortable, clean but in need of refurbishment which I understand is planned for 2010. The food is outstanding - high quality and a good variety. The only snag is that the salads and entrees were not labelled so at times it was difficult to work out if a dish contained fish for example. However, the salads were very imaginative. The other guests were mostly Spanish and German but the staff all spoke English. One of the bars was closed - mainly due to the fact that the hotel was half empty- the remainig bar was pleasant but very expensive. Entertainment was put on in the evening but was ghastly - go out after dinner there are plenty of bars and enertainment further into the resort I would not think this hotel would suit young children but is certainly a nice place for chilling out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltimes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

After reading a few reviews on Tripadvisior, I had doubts as to whether we should stay at this hotel. Well, I should have following my conscience. We travel a lot and I can honestly say this is not a 5 star hotel. The service was not so good, the food was ok, great if you on the love boat. This hotel may have been spectacular in it's day, but now it appears as if they're having trouble keeping it up (and operating with a skeleton crew) The website is deceiving so beware. The gym was a disaster, and the place has a overall smell of mildew. I will say that the staff had a pleasant personality, but that's not enough when you're paying for a 5 star hotel and extra for what is suppose to be Royal Service. The updates I saw in the rooms (Junior suite and master) can only be described as lipstick on a pig. Let me put it this way, if they were actually serving the Royals, it would be off with their heads. If you are familiar with a 4 and 5 star hotel and understand quality, you may not want to stay at this one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano. Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

This year I've spent my summer holidays at the Gran Melia Salinas in Lanzarote with my wife and We have to say that the experience was simply amazing. We booked one of the new master suite with jacuzzi on the balcony; the room has an idependent bedroom and a wonderful bathroom. The private pool is something you can die for!! The culinary experience and the service are one of the best we've ever tried. My wife is ready to confirm for next year!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grossogatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Maddalena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel was 5 star in all ways. The private swimming pool is really a plus considering that at the pool bar you can enjoy pasties, canapees and drinks included in your rate. Our master suite was extremely nice as were the common areas of the hotel. The staff was friendly competent and helpful
The breakfast and dinner was outstanding , the choices changed daily and all the food was fresh . I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing