We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre- Christmas break was just right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pre- Christmas break was just right!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed a week in mid December as a foursome with two close friends (we are in our late 60's). Hotel well presented from outside although we later found problems locating a car space for our hire car unless one returned early afternoon. Check in was a little slow for my liking as there were only two staff much of the time. The only technical problem during our stay (with the door lock) was attended to within minutes. The room was maintained daily to a good standard and while a little dated in appearance (dark stained louvre doors to cupboards) was functional and provided every thing we needed. We were on the fourth floor. The bed was very comfortable, the furnishings useful and the balcony gave us great views over the resort and towards the sea with afternoon sun and even a view of the Cattle Egrets roosting in a palm tree below us.
The pool area was beautifully maintained and the resurfacing work being carried out didn't affect our enjoyment (we only used the pool area late in the afternoon, having been out touring the island every day).
A lot has been said by others about the restaurant facilities. As a foursome we were showed to a table most times we entered the area and were always able to sit at a table made up for four. If none were available staff promptly put two tables together. The restaurant managers were particularly welcoming and personable. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent with fish and meat cooked individually. There was an Italian food evening and also sushi. The breakfast provided a wide choice. The restaurant never seemed crowded and there was good space between tables. Wine waiters were always attentive and served us promptly.
We particularly liked the international and age mix of guests with some well behaved children present. Evening entertainment was available although we didn't attend. The lifts were always vacant and fast.
To summarise... excellent value for money (a relatively cheap holiday with Thomsons) a comfortable hotel with interesting features (Manrique designed pool, art work, stunning central tropical area with some tasteful retail outlets.

Room Tip: Fourth floor gives good views and away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicesunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience at the Meliá Salinas with tripadvisor´s readers.
Thanks for so good description about the hotel and also about our facilities. It is very glad to know that you could enjoy your pre Christmas holidays and that we have helped for that.
Your comments will be reported to the Departments involve in orde to inform them.

If you decide to come back again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    1,024
    472
    162
    96
See reviews for
463
2,111
131
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My partner and I travelled here in mid-December. Having read the reviews, I did have a few concerns but we try to be as open-minded as possible and make our own judgement. I would also like to think we aren't too unreasonable, having never made a complaint about a holiday.

If you are expecting a five star holiday you are likely to be disappointed, although aspects of the hotel are five star.

On arrival the service was very good. Once we got to our room, we were massively disappointed.

As many of the reviews state, the rooms are tiny and would compare to a 3 star hotel. Whilst we appreciate the hotel was built a number of years ago the interiors have had little, if any work carried out on them and are therefore very dated and tired.

The beds were made on a daily basis but no cleaning was done in the rooms during the week we stayed. By the end if the week the floors were filthy.

We requested a change if sheets midway through the week, which wasn't done. Not the standards of cleanliness you would expect from a five star hotel.

The main reception, pool area and indoor garden are certainly worthy of a five star hotel, with the design and art work on show.

That said during our stay, quite extensive maintenance work was carried out on the main pool area and concrete was being laid.

Given the age if the hotel, we understand this needs to be carried out but we felt we should have been made aware of the plans prior, especially with the levels of noise this caused.

The main bar area is lovely and relaxing but offers little in the way of entertainment. 9.30-10.30 each evening was all that was offered. Again we expected a little more of a five star hotel, although it wasn't the end of the world.

When we booked the holiday we were led to believe the hotel had 3 restaurants but one of those wasn't open at all throughout the course of the week. Given the main restaurant was a buffet style, this would have offered some much needed variation. We wouldn't have minded so much if we had been made aware if this.

That said the food we did have was lovely, although become a little repetitive after 3-4 days.

Fortunately the resort offers some great restaurants, so we went out more towards the end of the week.

It is perhaps worth noting there is no need to go all inclusive, as we didn't feel it was value for money and the choice and variation away from the hotel is far greater.

We are due to fly out this evening and had asked to extend our stay in the room because of the time of our flight. We were of course prepared to pay for this service but have been told they need the room.

Thomson have let us down a little here as it certainly isn't to the standard of a five star all-inclusive hotel.

Whilst the hotel is a few years old, it offers great potential if the standards could be improved in terms of the customer service and quality of the rooms.








  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Richs 1981,

Thank you very much for taking your time to writte your opinion about your last stay at the Meliá Salinas hotel in Costa Teguise, Lanzarote.
Regarding to your comments,let me sorry if the hotel and our facilities were not as you expected. As you well say, during your stay some improvements have been made aroud the pool area due to the low occupancy at that time.

About the cleaning in the room, let me inform you that usually is made every day and also the sheet´s changes, only the sheets are not changed if the guest decline it.

I am very sorry if the Restaurant a la carte Marea was not opened during your stay but let me inform you that it is opened at the moment being closed only twice per week.
Once more, thank you for your time and your comments and do not forget that we remain at your disposal for everything you may need.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

It is a five star hotel for its design, location and food. Our room was not large but had good wardrobe space and chairs and a table inside and on the balcony. A tip for those who like to eat early is that the main Spices restaurant opens before its stated times of 8 am breakfast and 7 pm dinner. The buffet dinners are excellent, with a great variety of foods, and a choice from half a dozen fresh fish can be cooked as you watch.
Frequent buses from the stop opposite the hotel go to Arrecife and on to Puerto del Carmen. They do not go into the main Arrecife bus station (a multi-coloured building) but stop outside on the dual carriageway then go onto a small waterfront exchange with buses to Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: A high floor (there are only four). Rooms face east with a peaceful sunrise view or west with afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ray l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ray L,

thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Meliá Salinas Hotel in the Canary Islands.

It is glad to know that our variety and quality of food in our Restaurant Spices was as better as expected. About the timetables, let me inform you that due to the numerous foreing guest at the hotel, the evening meals start at 18:30.
Thanks once more for your visit, and in case that you think about coming back again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is very classical and quite a few years old, however you have all the amenities you could ask for. Breakfast buffet was excellent ! The service was very good and friendly. The pool area was relaxing and for me its a great hotel to forget about stress.
When you get there take off your watch and enjoy !

Room Tip: Get the one with a Jaccuzi in the terrace !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to writte your recent experience at the Meliá Salinas.
It is glad to know that you could have a relaxing time with us and also in our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to receive you one more time here.
Do not hesitate to contac us for everything you may need.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed mid December and whilst the hotel is well designed and clean, there is little atmosphere. Our sea facing room was very nice and we were able to sit out on the balcony and were shielded from the winds which were prevalent for a few days. The restaurant has no character at all and the food is boring. We did not realise that it would be a buffet and although you could choose your meat, fish, etc. nothing every came together and it was never hot. a la carte would have ben much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Janis J,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your impressions about your stay at the Meliá Salinas.
I am sorry if the buffet style was not as you expected, but usually the half board and meals in all inclusive are served on the Buffet Restaurant. At the hotel , bookings in half board or all inclusive are offered special discounts in the restaurant a la carta.
Also let me inform you that, we have introduced once per week one dinner a la carte free of charge fot all inclusive reservations.
I hope to have another oportunity to see you again at he hotel, it woul be a pleasure for us.
I remain at your disposal for any other thing you may need.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. 15.12.13 to 18.12.13, before spending 3 nights in playa Blanca at the h10 sentido white suites, boutique hotel.
Melia Salinas is a well designed hotel with a beautiful open air garden feature in the centre. We stayed in a sea facing room, with a small balcony, two chairs and coffee table. Big enough to have the sunshine for a few hours a day. Not big enough to sunbathe on. The pool area is very well kept, but the filter area along the edges could do with a good clean.
The restaurant is rather soulless and lacks atmosphere. Nice mural by cesar Manrique, but other than that rather bland. You aren't taken to a table at breakfast, you have to fine your own clean one, which for a 4 star deluxe is disappointing. We spoke to another couple whilst there who were on half board, they said the food was becoming very much the same after 3 nights, so we were pleases that we were just B and B.
to upgrade to the Level was an additional €80 per night. We didn't view the rooms, but we overlooked the pool, which was often empty.
The location is great for Costa Teguise. La Bohemia down the road is superb for dinner and has a great selection of food. (Particularly the steaks, ox cheeks, morcilla (black pudding) and the green beans, ham and prawn starter. The goats cheese and foie gras is also great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to writte those comments about your recent stay at the Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.
It is glad to know that you could enjoy the Hotel´s design and the pictures from Cesar Manrique.
I am very sorry if the Restaurant was not as you expected, but let me inform you that every night we try to change our buffet in order to haver more variety of food.

thank you very much once more for your comments and do not hesitate to contact us for everything you may need.

The hole staff and me,wish you a Merry Christmas!!

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returned from this outstandingly good hotel. Everyone was a joy - the maid, the receptionists, the restaurant and bar staff...all happy people and all so nice. We were so very well looked after. We would definitely go back as we had the most relaxing holiday ever. I was so depressed to be going home! Thank you so much for a wonderful time. We had full board and all inclusive - it was all very well worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view of course - but they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Quality Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your comment and also for the time dedicated to write it.
We apreciate too much your descrption about the hotel and the positive word regarding the hole staff.

It would be grateful to see you again at the Meliá Salinas.
The hole staff and me wish you a Happy Christmas!!

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,731 reviews
22.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,762 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,071 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing