We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pool and garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic pool and garden”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Salinas Hotel for a week in May and really enjoyed it. The pool and garden area are amazing and the hotel is situated right next to a sandy beach on a little headland. It gives you direct access to a nice bay which is ideal for swimming and wind surfing. The rooms are good, very clean and comfortable, but a little old and simple. Don't expect the standard of a modern 5* hotel though that you may know from the UK or other northern European countries - otherwise you will be disappointed.
Make sure you get a good deal on your room and/or on an upgrade to the Level area. Then this hotel is an excellent choice to stay on Lanzarote!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlanderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking you time to share your opinion with the Tripadvisor´s users.
It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our pool, our gardens and that you have had a fantastic overall experience.
Let me inform you, that we are improving our facilities at the hotel, with new furniture, new decoration and we are installing two jacuzzies in the main swimming pool.
Thanks again for your comments, and I remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    1,005
    465
    159
    95
See reviews for
459
2,080
127
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovly 5 star hotel.The hotel was very nice, very friendly and helpful staff, great service, warm welcome with a glass of Cava and suprised with an upgrade to a suite while we booked a standard room, very nice, spacious and clean room, nicely decorated, quality beds. Good breakfast buffet (although hardly any variation while we were there, but absolutely good enough). Fresh and fully filled up breakfast The hotel is quite large with many rooms, but it is built and organized in such a manner that it doesn't feel that way. Hotel guests are of mixed background: mostly Europeans from different countries, families with small children or babies, couples or friends. There is a supermarket and you can stock your minibar with your own refreshments if you wish. The hotel is a 5 minutes walk along the shore line to the Marina with shops and restaurants to the left (restaurant El Mirador, the first one you run in to, is highly recommended) and a promenade with many shops and restaurants to the right. There you must look to find a decent quality restaurant, but there are some good tapas restaurants and it's ok for a pizza, while the magnificent sea view makes up for a lot. We ate in the hotel only once: ie the Italian restaurant,, but this was not the quality we expected - undercooked risotto and the deserts seemed to come from gastro wholesale - so at 150 euro for 2 we found it overpriced.

The gym is modern, lots of equipment. The beach is not private to the hotel, and you can rent beach beds and there is a small cafe with simple food. Plenty beds and parasols available while we were in May holiday high season, the bay is beautiful and water is calm (but very cold this time of the year!).

The only true con for this hotel: after 9.30 there is hardly any sunbed available at the hotel pools, because guests claim them with their towels, sometimes 4 beds for 2 people - 2 beds for the shade, 2 for the sun! - and not just occasionally showing up only after lunch! For hours and hours, you see just towels, no people. As we didn't want to participate in this, we had no beds. Although it is not allowed, the hotel doesn't do anything about it. I would recommend this hotel. Lanzarote

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hel u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion with other viewers.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
With reference to the pool sunbeds, we take note of your comment as guests cannot reserve any in advance.
We will be very pleased to welcome you at the hotel in a near future.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely hotel which exceeded expectations. Although the hotel rooms are a little old fashioned, they are comfortable and I slept well. The facilities and beauty of the hotel are what makes it 5*, the hotel is built around a gorgeous tropical garden which is very much in keeping with Lanzarote/Canarian design, you get to walk through it and experience it everyday, its right outside your room! the salt water pool is gorgeous too. I was a solo traveller - it was perfect, got loads of rest and was able to switch off completely. Staff were friendly and very accomodating, I will be going back - a great discovery!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escapelondon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all let me thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the Gardens designed by Cesar Manriquez and also the elegance of the hotel.
At the moment we are improving our facilities and we are renovating room with new furniture and decoration.
We hope to have the oportunity to give you another welcome at the hotel in a near future.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We always have a week in April to get away from the English weather so we were really looking forward to this break .when we were shown the room it looked fine but the next day in the light we could see this was far from the 5 star we thought it would be !!!!! Although it had everything you need it didn't have the nice little luxuries you expect and pay for of a 5 star. The bed was big but very hard and uncomfortable so after 3 nights we were ready to get back home for a good night sleep. We did however look at an upgrade to a junior suite and it looked fabulous but alas it was out of our price range another 100euros a day extra (no way) we thought we had paid enough already.the ambience of the hotel is lovely but they are let down on the linen and decor of the rooms which are abit jaded .we would however go back but maybe try another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool room as all rooms face the sea and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all let me thank you for taking your time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor web.
Regarding to your comments, let me inform you that refurbishments at the hotel are being carried on. We are updating rooms with new furniture, decoration and amenities.
About the bed, let me inform you that mattresses are being changed and I suposse your bed had a new one. I am very sorry if it meant a problem during your stay.
Thank you very much again for your comments and I remain at your disposal for anything you may need.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel have a heated small pool for children, and two big pool that are not heated.
We had a junior suite and our group of 2 adults and two children had more then enough space.

We had to extra bed in additional to our double bed, and it didn't feel crowded.
The junior suite also have an excellent terrace, really big, and with a great view.

The support staff at the club house for children were really great and helpful.
Our children of 4 and 5 did not speak English, but they still had a great time.

The dinner buffet was just excellent. 2-4 chefs stand ready to prepare fresh fish, meet, pasta ++ Many all-inclusive resorts serve so-so food, but this was top notch! My personal favorite was the seafood, they had 5-6 different types of fresh fish ready every night. Local types and also sword fish, salmon, tuna ++ Great stuff! See the posted pictures for more info.


Recommended!

Room Tip: If you are a family of 3 or 4, go for the junior suite with the big terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familiemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Let me thank you for taking your time to share your opinion and your pictures with Tripadvisor' s users.
I hope your family and you are great after coming back to Norway. It was a pleasure for us to meet a so nice family at the hotel and a so fantastic kids. I will report those comments personally to the entertainment team.
It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed with the shellfish variety in Spices Restaurant and thank you so much again for your comments and pictures.
I hope to have another oportunity to see you again at the Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.
Yours sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday and while we had a lovely time, I would not class this hotel as 5*, more like a 3*. It may well have been originally 5* but sadly the standard bedrooms are tired and in need of updating, we were offered an upgrade on arrival but did not opt for this as we felt the €55 per day was a bit steep. Around the pool area several of the paths are breaking up and you have to watch your step to avoid tripping, the pool paint is flaking in places.

However you cannot fault the staff, or the choices in the restaurant the food was excellent with a wide variety, meat and fish all cooked to order. Hotel and grounds were very clean, it is clear there is work in progress to update the grounds. There were plenty of sun beds with good quality mattresses.

We travelled without children and there were very few children at the hotel during our stay, I would suggest it is focused towards adults.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.
Regarding to your comments, let me inform you that improvements are being carried on in order to improve the facilities of the hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our gastronomy and that our staff reached your expectations.
Thanks again and do not hesitate to contact me for any further information you may need.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Came here with my daughter for 14 nights for the first time recently.
Its a lovely hotel and to be honest I cannot find any faults at all.
We were greeted by the lovely Fabiousa and and because we were staying In a Juniors suite we had access to 'The Level' adult only pool which was Idyllic...we later upgraded to a master suite because the price was reasonable.
Our favourite little snacking place during day was the 'Gastro'' Wine and cheese bar' where Tina and drach (sorry I do not know how to spell your name) were wonderful, quiet,polite,efficient service and understanding.
All In all a great stay,good food and fast room service.
I cannot forget Tomas on main reception,what a delightful man,(Numero Uno Tomas,Numero Uno)
Nothing was too much trouble.
will return.

Room Tip: The beach Is so nice and makes a change from beside the pool all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion with Tripadvisor users.
Is fantastic to hear comments like this one, because it means you have spent a very good time.
Fabiola, Tomas and Tina will be delighted with your comments and they will be glad to receive you again at the Melia Salinas & Garden Villas.
Thank you very much again and please, do not hesitate to contact me for everything you may need.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,623 reviews
22.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,709 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing