We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well i enjoyed it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to celebrate a special birthday and really enjoyed the experience. I agree the main hotel is a little 70s style but the Level experience was excellent and service by the friendly pool bar waiter fab. Def. worth paying more for the extras that The Level brings you and the calm adult-only experience by the pool is an experience not to miss. I would recommend B&B only as there are some great (non touristy) local restaurants to be found nearby and Vanessa will be happy to recommend some excellent ones selling local produce. We had a great time, hope you do too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Los Cucharas beach are best and go for a suite or junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonnitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I hope that you have enjoyed your holidays with us in the Melia Salinas . Those comments are very important for all the staff and I will inform to the level pool waiter about them.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants that I have suggested you. I only want to say you that we hope to give you another welcome in our hotel.
Thank you very much again .
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel was very good but we were disappointed to find that half board provided only a buffet dinner. Whils the buffet was first class we expected, and would have preferred, waiter service.

The bathroom was inadequately ventilated.

We chose the LEVEL service and it was worth the extra for the pleasant, adults only pool and free bar (with limited range of drinks: coffee, water, soft drinks, beer & Cava).

Room Tip: Go for LEVEL service and ask for room facing OPEN sea rather than bay where you see buildings the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and provide us with your feedback about your recent stay in Meliá Salinas. About your comments let me inform you that the half board basis, includes breakfast and dinner buffet. At the hotel we have a Restaurant a la carte, where guest with half board are provided with a discount.
Thank you very much again for your comments and I remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a shame. I am afraid this hotel needs to have a total refurb. They have sorted out an adults only area which is nice but absolutely no good if you have under 16's. The pools are yucky salt water too so be prepared! Staff are friendly but they have cut the numbers to a bare minimum. Food in the buffet is ok - bit predictable. Stick with meat cooked to order is my tip. No poached eggs available at breakfast. Very strange bearing in mind it's supposed to be a 5* hotel. Apparently there is only one other 5* on the Island so there's no competition. We had a suite which was nice. However the main hotel is SO old fashioned and tired it's depressing. My advice? Stay at home! For those people who haven given this a 5* rating, what rating would you give a luxury hotel in Dubai or Mauritius? Bonkers!! The hotel only comment on favourable reviews I notice!

Room Tip: Only go for a suite. The other rooms are small and like prison cells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PattyM404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time in publishing your opinin about your recent stay in Costa Teguise in the Hotel Melia Salinas.
We are very sorry if your expectations were not as you expected. About your comments, let me inform you that our pools are salt water wich is treated at the hotel and about the breakfast buffet, I would like to inform you that we offer every day eggs prepaired in various ways.
Finally, thank you for your comments about our staff and do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance you can need.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The main reason we visited Costa Teguise was to find some sun after the dreary UK weather. We decided on Melia Salinas because it was a little out of town and away from the main tourist area.
We were upgraded to a garden villa which was delightful. We had a private swimming pool (temperature 21.4 degrees) our own Bali bed and a lovely raised area for breakfast with sea views.
The furnishings in the villa were of high quality, the four poster bed was very comfortable, there was a small dressing room including a well stocked fridge, a nespresso coffee machine, and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was a good size, double vanity sinks, large bath, separate shower wet room and separate toilet. There was also an outside shower for use with the swimming pool.
We had room service breakfast every day and it was delivered promptly at the correct time and the food was hot. The staff at the hotel were professional and friendly, and Vanessa recommended a good restaurant choice five minutes away by taxi.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonissim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time and give us your opinion about your holidays and thank you for your description about our Garden Villas.
It is wonderfull to hear that you have enjoyed your time in the Villa and in Costa Teguise also.
Thank you very much again, and I hope to give you a new welcome in Meliá Salinas.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I must have visited a different hotel to some of the reviewers as the food was delicious. There was a huge range and you could also ask for any pasta dish, meat or fish to be cooked right in front of you. My son loved the spaghetti carbonara which was cooked for him whenever he asked. The salad choices which we normally ate for starters were fantastic. What do other people expect - chicken nuggets and chips??? On half board, you could also swap your evening meal for lunch in the canarias restaurant where the food was delicious too. The hotel staff were always very helpful, the reception staff particularly so. The pool was fantastic and we all went in although it was rather cold. The beach a few yards from the pool was gorgeous too.
I do agree that the standard rooms were small - standard rooms in other five star hotels I have been in have been much bigger. However we had a two adjoining rooms as a family room and didn't spend a great deal of time in the rooms anyway.
Overall we had a really lovely stay and would certainly return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank cats4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay in Melia Salinas with other users of Tripadvisor.
Is a pleasure to know that the variety of our buffet has been satisfactory and it is also nice to hear that the attitude of our staff have been nice.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the Hotel Melia Salinas.
Your sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I wanted a special hotel for our holiday and had saved hard for the supposedly 5 star Melia. NEVER AGAIN IN THIS HOTEL. The hotel had areas that definitely needed an upgrade but the overall service of the hotel manager and supporting staff was 1 star. The only staff that were 5 star were those who worked in the restaurant cooking as they were under pressure the whole time but always had a smile and were always courteous. I had always thought a 5 star hotel would make one feel special but this was not the case. There was no waiter service, no pool service or any sort of service overall. My husband and I being quite young, in our opinion, ended up on a daily basis getting the sun beds and cushions out for the more elderly residents. We ended up going outside of the hotel for our evening drinks as I think the waiters were playing hide and seek in the restaurant. A very disappointment and upsetting stay in a supposedly 5 star hotel. THIS HOTEL SHOULD DEFINITELY BE DOWNGRADED.

Room Tip: Take your itinary with you as this hotel is really only interested in the corporate side of business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post your opinion about your last stay in the Hotel Melia Salinas. Your opinion is very valid for us and I do Ipologize if we have failed to provide the service that you and your husband expected.
Thank you very much again for your comments and I remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may need.
Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a hotel that does not live up to its rating. The standard of service was well below par. The dinner was a buffet, not attended by staff and of two star quality. The food was so bad that despite our half board having been paid in advance we ate our meals outside the hotel all week after the first night "experience" . It wasn't a one off...we looked into the restaurant a couple of nights before turning round to find a decent local place to eat. The hotel was not cheap....and we felt overall cheated by what we paid and what we received.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, and I have since found better options, then stay B&B or room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duncan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for writing your opinion about your stay in our hotel. The opinion of our guest are very important for us, because due to those opinions we can work harder in order to improve our product and our service.
We are very sorry that your expectations were not satisfied during your stay but we follow working in order to improve the satisfaction of our guests. We would like to have another opportunity and to show you the quality that we are able to offer.
Thank you very much again and please, do not hesitate to contact me for anything you may need.
Your sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,186 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,980 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $171 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool. The hotel offers direct access to the beach and exclusive Sanctuary by The Level services in some rooms, including access to the private Sanctuary by The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing