We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's changed since last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Shields
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's changed since last time”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms as ever were very clean and the Junior suite we had was fantastic. Very cool.
We did ask that the childrens room be as close as possible, however we were on the fourth floor and the children were on the first. We were told we could not move as the hotel was full.
The food was great as before.
On some evenings we have to wait 30-40 minutes before getting served with a drink. It seemded that there were less staff than our previous visit.
Previously when we checked out, as we had a Junior suite, we were told we could have the room as long as we wanted. THIS TIME we had to pay 33 euros to keep the room until 18:60.

As we had previous rated the hotel very highly, this trip I felt VERY let down. I feel that this was my third and LAST trip to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for at least the Junior suite as this will make your trip so much more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Under50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    1,006
    466
    160
    95
See reviews for
459
2,083
127
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read numerous reviews about this hotel before we went, experience has shown that a lot of the negative reviews had merit.

The hotel has lost its "Gran" status - and hardly surprising. It is looking distinctly in need of attention and, more importantly, upping it's staffing levels.

OK, so where do we start ? Well, lets start with the room doors. Want a lie in - no chance - the door closers do not allow them to close quietly - they close with a slam which can be heard all the way down the corridor.

Reception area - quite impressive on first look - but take a look at the palm trees at the reception area - dead fronds hanging from them, shrubs looking neglected. Waterfall looks pretty at night with the lights etc - but come daytime reality arrives.

The pool is big and impressive. However, during the first part of our stay Deutsche Bank had about 200 people there for a conference so beds were plentiful. However, once they had left and the hotel became more full, finding a sunbed or even shade for that matter became an issue. While a lot is made of the design of the pool by César Manrique his idea of using volcanic rock for paths was not one his better ideas - certainly not for the elderly or metal food trolleys - very noisy !1

"The Level". A big thing is made about The Level at this hotel and the bungalows. OK - it is quiet there and having tried it once would not do so again - especially @ 40 Euros a throw for the two of us. Want a beer - you had better help yourself as the barman has probably cleared off to the hotel on some errand for 20 minutes or more. As for the silly prices for bungalows - you cannot be serious. Top of the range ones cost over £10,000 for 2 weeks and on top of that you have to eat the food - and that is bordering on 3*

Show cooking - yes - but all show and little substance - same boring selection of fish and meat every night.. Oh yes, and salt - they just love their salt - will throw it on your food without so much as a "by your leave" unless you stress that you do not want it. Prepared food ? Boring variety and bordering on the cold - an issues raised many times in reviews,

It would appear, that having spoken to quite a few people at this hotel who were regular visitors that it had gone severely downhill since last year - and as one lady put it who had booked into a bungalow "it is awful now, truly awful - no staff and food not a jot on what it was" - and she had been come to this hotel for years.

Would I recommend it - at their prices certainly not. Go back again ? I think not.

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank boincuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Booked this hotel rather at the last-minute to catch a bit of winter sun, having not been to the Canaries before. To start with I TOTALLY agree with the previous reviewer who mentioned sun-lounger wars. It really was frustrating... at pretty much any time of day only around 50% of the sun beds were occupied, with all the rest empty and 'reserved' by a towel. I have stayed at other hotels of this type where staff simply collect towels after they'd been abandoned for an hour or so, which is wonderfully discouraging as the offenders lose their spot as well as their towel ticket. One day we grew so cross that we decided to wheel a pair of beds (which had been unoccupied for 3 hours) off into the bushes and take their spot under an umbrella. Two miffed people turned up to claim them shortly afterwards, hailing from a country somewhat south-east of UK... I'd urge anyone else in the same position as us to use the same tactics!

Building/rooms

The entrance to the hotel is impressive, complete with red carpet. The lobby is pleasant, and there's an interesting botanical garden in the middle with fish and little bridges. The hotel has a clever Manrique design which gives every room a sea view. We were on the first floor, so this was slightly obscured by the tops of palm trees! Balconies are large and private, with - rather eccentrically - some kind of astroturf on the floor. It was lovely to sit out under the moonlight and hear the waves breaking on the beach. Everything was clean, the shower was hot, there were plenty of nice toiletries, and an enormous TV with around 100 channels (only 2 in English, both news channels. Was bemused by Russian and what appeared to be Polish TV - surely one channel with English programmes would be more popular? Still, it was good for our Spanish). The room was quiet, and we slept well.

Pool/beach

This is large and wonderfully deep at the far end! The trees shed leaves and twigs into the water, and although someone was almost constantly going around with a fishing net this wasn't nearly enough to deal with it. There was silt on the floor in places and a few floating things (one one day half a newspaper) which had fallen in, and not been removed. This didn't stop it being an enjoyable place to swim, but I can imagine some people finding it off-putting. The pool bar was a bit hit-and-miss - I ordered a banana milkshake 4 days running and for the same price each day my unchanging request got me 4 totally different drinks, of varying sizes and ingredients. Staff were pleasant enough but a bit disinterested, and seemed to have no sense of urgency when the queue grew long...

The hotel has its own beach which is lovely if a bit rocky. There are lots of fish to watch, including quite big ones, and a pontoon to swim out to. A circular area on the sand is dotted with sun loungers that can be hired daily for 10 euros for two. The view was great, and it was a good place to sit - with no towel problems!

Location

There are two supermarkets very close by, plus some touristy shops and a cashpoint. Supermarkets were handy, and by the end of our stay we simply bought ice-cold refreshments there and drank them by the pool as it was almost quicker than ordering at the pool bar; no staff seemed to notice. There's a slightly downmarket square next door with an giant bungee jump for kids in the middle and places offering roast dinners for 3 Euros... however we tried the Beijing Chinese buffet for 6 euros and became quite hooked. Staff were very friendly and the food was good.

Food

We had booked half-board and initially loved the food at our first buffet. Breakfast was excellent... lovely bacon, salads, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, hot dishes and a chef cooking omelettes. Unfortunately after the first few nights the evening dishes all began to taste the same, with no distinct or strong flavours,and little apparent variety. In theory it sounds like a lot: 'show cooking' with raw meat and fish cooked at your request, a pasta area with cheese or bolognaise sauce, paella, a roast meat 'stop', and other hot dishes dotted about. However, the 'show cooking' just ended up being frustrating, as cooking things properly takes time and it's not fun queuing for 10 minutes in the middle of your meal.

A major problem (and if anyone from the hotel is reading this, PLEASE address this) is that not enough food is labelled. Things that are labelled are sometimes incorrect. I don't want to dollop something onto my plate that has no name, or that is called "chicken in sauce". I would like to know exactly what it is, and having to go on colour or size is not good enough. I don't even mind which language it's in - Spanish would be fair enough! Too many dishes were totally anonymous. Twice I put things on my plate which were labelled 'pollo' and they turned out to be fish (which I dislike), not chicken. I think it's pretty basic that guests should know what they're getting.

On the bright side the cheeses with quince and biscuits were lovely, and we really enjoyed the clever arrangement of bite-size desserts and ice creams to finish. The selection of salads was tasty and fresh. I mostly stuck to these, but again there were whole tray-fuls of colourful things that appeared that I didn't eat because I had no idea what they were. Dark-looking glistening objects in among the carefully chopped veg are going to stop me trying a salad unless I know that they are, say, anchovies, or cold meat, or whatever!

Flies seem to be a bit of a problem, and staff sometimes took a long time to clear away... On Sunday morning we walked in to a breakfast room full of abandoned tables piled high. By the end of the week we'd had enough of the essentially unchanging main courses, which, despite themes always seemed pretty much the same. On Oriental night there was the addition of spring rolls and sweet chilli sauce, which we spooned over everything to give it a bit more flavour! There were three identical 'International' nights. On 'Italian night' pizza appeared, and 'Tapas' night seemed to be the same as 'International'. On our final day we requested to take our half board meal at lunchtime (which after some deliberation reception said was allowed). We stuck to salad and dessert, then headed out for a reasonably-priced evening meal outside the hotel. If we came again we would definitely just stick with breakfasts.


Overall I do have to agree with those who felt the hotel is a bit 'tired'... with worn carpets and so on it probably is time for some sprucing up. The 'mystery food' issue became increasingly frustrating and in the end made me decide to give the hotel a "3" rather than "4" overall. There were lots of good things about our stay, but I'm not convinced how many of them were totally specific to Melia Salinas. I'd like to visit Lanzarote again and if I had to stay here I wouldn't be upset, but I might consider trying my luck somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finzi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel in mid October on a B&B basis. On arrival, mid afternoon, we were met by two bell boys who welcomed us, quickly took charge of our luggage and showed us to the reception. The male receptionist was pleasant and polite BUT slow, taking 35 minutes to check us in - reception was not busy at the time. We were eventually shown to our room on the first floor and were not disappointed. The room was large, beautifully clean and well appointed with a large pleasant balcony overlooking the pool and with a sea view. There were some minor issues - no spare pillows, only one bathrobe and a safe which did not work - we mentioned these at reception (to a different staff member) and all were addressed and rectified within 30 minutes.

Breakfast was fantastic, every conceivable taste being catered for, and the staff were efficient, friendly and polite.

The pool area was very pleasant HOWEVER it was impossible to find two loungers and umbrella together which did not have towels placed on them. Having woken early one morning we were amazed to see people (of one nationality) dashing around at 0710 hours reserving beds with towels; most having been reserved by 0740 hours! It came as no surprise to find that the majority of these beds remained unoccupied until mid to late morning. There is a small notice on the table outside of the pool attendants hut stating that beds must not be left unattended for longer than an hour but nothing was done to stop it. We did mention it to a member of staff who stated there was nothing she could do! Due to this we spent most days on the small, pleasant stretch of beach at the foot of the hotel.

The hotel was well situated, just a short stroll to nearby restaurants and bars. The interior botannical garden is well maintained and impressive. There are two or three small shops within however opening hours were not displayed and, with the exception of an outlet selling souvenirs they were rarely open.

While we had a pleasant stay we must stress that this is NOT a 5 star hotel. 4 stars, at a push, is a more appropriate rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked earlier this year and became somewhat concerned re some of the negative reviews.However despite some criticisms had a great week and would return. We mostly stay in 4 star hotels but have stayed in some 5 stars eg Gloria golf in Belek, Turkey which is fantastic. We had standard rooms and they were really a 3-4 star standard. Situated on second floor, odd numbers so overlooking level area rather than pool,.I think some on 1st floor would have no sea view due to palm tree right onto balcony but we had lovely sea views with spectacular sunsets. No noise from evening entertainment as at other side of hotel but the frequent buses stopping at the adjacent carpark meant loud engine noise every 10 minutes throughout the day if you were on the balcony or had door open to balcony. Some level rooms must also hear the buses as they were even closer. As other reviewers said plastic grass on balcony strange and shabby. Balcony furniture and railings also well worn though very private with high walls around. No rack on balcony or in bathroom for drying swimwear etc.Bedroom clean except under beds which obviously hadn`t been cleaned for months. Fridge /wall unit also very shabby. Bathroom floor cracked and bath enamel in adjacent bedroom damaged and messy attempt at repair had been made with rough filler material over an area the size of a saucer. Aircon poor, we reported it 3 times during the week and it hardly made a difference.
Not many people seemed to use the bar before dinner - more people went to the neighbouring bars or supermarket- perhaps a happy hour would be a good idea?
Breakfast buffet excellent and always got a table outside.
Dinner buffet also excellent with show cooking and a theme each night. Level guests able to reserve tables for dinner so some nights only about 4 unreserved tables outside and sometimes reserved tables not used till gone 9pm when restaurant opens at 7pm so could have had 2 sittings at the table. We went at 7 and always got a table but overheard many other guests complaining. One of the causes is that there are about 60% fewer tables set outside for dinner - the remainder already set for breakfast which many may not consider hygienic with the many cats around! There is an a la carte restaurant on an evening but no offer to get a discount for half board guests so did not use.
Activities on offer throughout the day eg aqua/bike ride/Pilates , organiser Barbara would come round the pool to remind you but no pressure to join in. Hotel tour one day showed us the art and level area and we were all encouraged to acccept a free glass of sangria.
Childrens area included 2 bowling alleys (not mechanised), crazy golf, large chess,football etc which was usually deserted so anyone could use. Also table tennis and pool though pool table out of order all week. Tennis quite popular, i think 10 or 15 euros per hour.

Room Tip: second floor or higher so above palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed in many five star hotels in the Canary Islands and this hotel is just not to the standard at all. It is tired in every way and is desperate for an update.Bathrooms and showers grimey,balcony seats broken, bedroom doors and other bits of furniture splintered, pool areas need cleaning and holes in paving aroud the outside need filling.There is a huge shortage of staff at check in and in the restaurant .No-one seems to be in charge here.
No wifi in the rooms as advertised and tv channels not tuned in.
Tried master suite and the level service for an extra 100 euros as standard room was dreadful. The Bahia Hotels and Riu group are so so much better in every respect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After reading very mixed reviews, not really sure what to expect..... But overall first impression at reception were just wonderful and the room had everything we required, as well as a sea view (albeit a little restricted by palm trees!)

Our arrival time meant we were in time for our half board dinner..... and after a few hours travelling it was so good to enjoy a variety of food... So much choice, just didnt know what to have next......

The next morning the breakfast was just as varied, and champagne with orange juice is just a perfect way to start a sunny and warm day.

Location of hotel is just perfect for a 15 min stroll into the local area of bars and restaurants, although a couple of nights after dinner we did just stay in and enjoy the hotel entertainment.

We were unfortunate to be around on the couple of days where it rained and it was so very obvious that it doesnt very often as a lot of places were flooded and seating areas absolutely sodden.... But the next day sunshine, heat and rain forgotten.

My only fault would be to the travel company and the way it is adveristed with two pools.... As you only get to even see the second pool if you have upgraded to the level.... which seemed to me to be a very big price to pay when we had such good facilities anyway.

A very enjoyable and relaxing holiday, will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberBream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,631 reviews
22.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing