We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Melia Salinas, Lanzarote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been to this hotel 3 times now, the first with my sister and the other two times with my husband. We were only there for a long weekend as we live in Fuerteventura but I have to say on all the visits we did, it was lovely. We were half board and both the breakfast and dinner were amazing! There was so much choice, I wanted to eat everything they offered! The rooms were very clean and presented well, specially the shampoo, body lotion which were ETRO products which pleased my husband as he is Italian.....I would definately go again for a long weekend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pootams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 3,326 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

last yar my wife and I spent a week in February at the Gran Melia hotel. We upgraded to a Master Suite for a reasonable cost and the accommodation was terrific. This year we went in March and again the weather was great. We upgraded to a junior suite which was again at a reasonable cost but was well worth while.
Looking forward to Feb or March 2013 for a further holiday at this great hotel

Room Tip: If you prefer the sun on your balcony in the afternoon book a room which ends in an even number i.e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank3944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel Gran Melia Salinas is a nice Grand Hotel, built in 1977, with a very interesting architecture and a great interior garden designed by artist Cesar Manrique.
I spent a holiday in February with my 16 yrs old daughter. Everything was nice and relaxed: comfortable room, although furniture is oldish side; nice atmosphere; perfect service; nice breakfast; nice view from the room; nice welcome at the reception.
The only drawbacks: 1.pool, for whatever reason, is really cold, and that makes swimming impossible. An employee told me that the motor supposed to heat the pool is broken since 2 years; Deputy General Manager gave me a totally different explanation, linked to exterior weather. However, you have to be aware that, unless you were born in Iceland and used to icy water, you won't swim, at least in Winter. 2.restaurant: we tried once the à la carte restaurant and found it a bit on the boring side, and overpriced. Better go and have dinner at Patio Canario Spanish Restaurant nearby, a really great place and very cheap, in Pueblo Marinaro shopping center. Having said this, a very nice stay in a nice hotel, Melia style, with a vintage flavor that not everybody likes, but I do

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We last stayed here about 15 years ago. Very little has changed. The food is still very good, the fruit and salads and bread are fantastic although the dining room and bar can be cool.The staff were helpful throughout and especially the reception. The classic bedroom was small and probably now in need of a face lift. We were especially disappointed that there was no provision of a tea and drink making facility although I was offered the hire of a kettle!.The pool area and the gardens(a very special feature) were very clean and well manicured
Having asked to see what a better room offered we did move to the RED Level although this was an extra 50 euros per day. This gave us a slightly larger room with more modern furnishings and loo and a balcony over the pool on the 4th floor.and still no tea making facility. The TV has 70+ channels but very limited for Uk visitors. BBC 1 would be much better than BBC World. We are on holiday and need to get away from News!. The transfer worked well but if booking you do need to watch out for the best rates as they can vary and cancelling and rebooking can be to your advantage.
We really enjoyed our stay and would go again

Room Tip: 4th floor over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in february so got lovely winter sunshine break from England. Its very big, officially graded as a five star - may have been when it was first opened however the mod cons and finish you might expect are from 15 years ago, in the classic rooms.
I suspect if you stay in one of the superior rooms upwards, you would get a different experience.
A favourite for older people definitely. Cleanliness was good. Pool area is good, do start to see the frayed edges in the restaurant/bar area - this is ten years past due a major refurbishment. Its rather like eating in a food court in a 1970s shopping mall. The food quality is very good - the kitchen appears to be run by a excellent chef.
Staff attitude to service is not great - a couple of people were very friendly - the lady who checked us in when we arrived after a four hour delay courtesy of Monarch Airlines (beware of Monarch this summer!), and the tall man who runs the bar clearly know how to look after customers, however the rest we encountered were fairly begrudging of any welcoming or caring attitude, particularly towards any non-Spanish speakers.
The bathrooms were very well fitted - marble lined, some of the finishing touches are showing their age - the showers probably need replacing - we had the fluctuating temperature problem which others have reported, the bath plug hole was rusted, the bath was well used and some other bits needed replacing.
We had a lovely sunny balcony - strange astroturf surface on it and some fairly old chairs but it was a sun trap.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlodge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel is showing its age now but it maintains a style that keeps the likes of me going back time after time. Design is a word used to cover many evils that have appeared over the last thirty years but this hotel was designed by a master and his work shines through even when the sky is cloudy.
Right, on to the basics:
Food although buffet style is excellent plenty of choice lots of fish, meat and fruit. The fact that an item can be cooked infront of you appeals to me and i actually get pleasure eating at this hotel. Tip dont overlook the cheese because they do have some good ones and also keep your eye on the salad combinations which might surprise you.
Rooms are clean and comfortable they are a little small by modern standards but bear in mind when this hotel was built. The facilities in the room are all modern and provide what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
Pool and gardens are stunning there is nothing like it on the island, ok its salt water and not that warm but who cares atleast you can pretend its good for the health. My wife and i love the design its a one of a kind.
Gym is good and well maintained most of the machines were of high quality and provision of water and music shows it wasnt an afterthought.
Beach and sea just a stones throw away lots of water sports available and best of all the background noise of the ocean.
Staff very helpfull but not in your face which i like, remember to oil the wheels it does have an effect which will benefit you during your stay.
Overall i like this hotel its not five star by London standards but it is very close and its style and design go a long way to remedy the small rooms. If you stay here open your eyes to the design that surrounds you and take in the pleasure of a old lady who knows how to act.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revsSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel is, in our opinion, an excellent one! We are Melia members and so are experience is always top notch, but the extras aside, the service and the installations and the access to the small, wonderful beach and the incredible pool are wonderful for both adults and kids. Kids club a plus as well. The hotel has a good mix of people, couples, older, younger, kids, singles, etc. We highly

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,557 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,723 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $153 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing