We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star GL it is not, maybe 4 at best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 star GL it is not, maybe 4 at best!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

As a seasoned solo traveller and past winner for two years running of a Conde Nast award on a five star lux cruise liner I tend to know what is good and what is bad.
I had written 3 pages of complaints about this hotel but decided to keep it short as It is not worth further effort.
Had to put up with construction activities inside (room 220) and outside of hotel,(room 425) yes I moved rooms but still the same, poor wi-fi, noisy loud mouthed pool staff when trying to rest by pool, room never cleaned properly, no sign ever of the manager/duty manager, no dual facility on TV, showers in both rooms had intermitent hot then cold water, no proper business facility (printer/scanner) although a front desk lady helped me out by doing it by e-mail to her then she printed and scanned in her office. A large family of cats seemed to be more at home in the gardens of the hotel, maybe these were acting as the pest control squad!!
I atually felt sorry for the persons in the exclusive 'Garden villas' area who after paying all that money, when sitting outside they heard the noise of the construction every day as well as intermittent loud-speaker music and chanting from an area next to the hotel!
Very poor indeed and I have left a lot out.

Room Tip: stayed for 11 nights and wish it was shorter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CondeNast126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sending your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We do apologize for not having met your expectations, especially due to the noisy building works of a neighbour hotel during the month of June. This also made very difficult to our staff to keep the pool as clean as it should have been.

At the moment in time we still not have WIFI in the rooms, this free service is available in our common areas as Lobby and Bar. Following our improvement plans, we should be able to offer the WIFI service in all our rooms.

In relation to the presence of cats, we would like to inform you that we are working together with a local Animal Protection Company, who is caring daily for them in order to keep them healthy. This is also very appreciated by lots of guests.

Your comments are very helpful for us as they will give us an opportunity to improve even more the quality and service of our Hotel.

We regret that the solutions offered during your stay were not at your convenience and that unfortunately we could not make your holiday as positive as expected.

Once again we thank you for your time and would like to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    1,042
    482
    166
    98
See reviews for
475
2,142
134
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lovendegem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

On the occasion of our dad's 75th birthday the only option for a shortbreak celebration family holiday was Melia Salinas in Lanzarote, for old times' sake. Although Costa Teguise is no longer the quiet seaside resort of 20 years ago, Melia Salinas still manages to offer the relaxing environment and top quality accommodation and service we remembered. With the Manrique touch in its timeless architecture, the true spirit of Lanzarote is omnipresent. We, aged between 75 and 12, all enjoyed a gorgeous few days which left us looking forward to the next occasion to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, though some have been refurbished more recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for commenting your positive experience at our Hotel during this special family reunion.

Lanzarote is indeed receiving more tourism through the years, but our Hotel has always been able to offer a relaxing place for everyone. It is a pleasure for us to know that you all together could find this quietness you were looking for.

We are looking forward to your next visit and thank you once again for your nice comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Gran Melia Salinas is wonderful designed concrete structure that is very impressive and well planned.We stayed in a double classic room which by modern standards is on the small side but perfectly adequate.The initial shock of all the dark 70's louvre doors soon turns to appreciation of the excellent quality of the woodwork.No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.On enquiring at reception was informed that I could hire one for £8 a week(defo not 5*) Rooms kept very clean.
The food in the restaurant was of a very high quality through out our stay.The fresh omelets at breakfast was excellent although this could not be said for the coffee,diabolical,not even 1* and the same if you tried to make a cup of tea with the T bags ! The meat and fish available to be cooked to order in the evenings was always excellent and a special thanks to Carolina for looking after my wifes gluten free requirements.The flambed fruit was a favourite sweet.!! The drinks are overpriced,£21 for a bottle of Rose wine.Needless to say we only had it the one night.! The bar prices are top heavy too.£17.50 for two Gin and cokes.
The pool area is stunning and well looked after with plenty of very comfortable sun loungers and for those who like the beach two very nice little sandy cove are border the hotels pool area.Can be very windy though!! Tomas on reception is very obliging if you need any assistance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTDrBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for spending your time in commenting your impressions about our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our Pool area and especially the Restaurant food and service. However we do regret that some aspects as your comments about the coffee and tea at breakfast , as well as the tea/coffee making facility in the room were not completely as expected. But they are very helpful for us, as improving the quality will always be our first aim.

Looking forward to welcome you in the future again, we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had a classic room which was i would say 4 star. No tea/coffee facilities in the room and decor in need of a refurbishment. the breakfast was excellent but the coffee absolutely dreadful A 5 star hotel should be serving fresh coffee not weak instant. I would return as the pool area was superb. A good location with friendly staff especially Tomas on reception. We ate out every night as there are a good selection of Spanish eateries and others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlodwynLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for having published your personal experience during your stay at our Hotel.
Comments like yours are always very helpful for us in order to detect where we need to improve the quality of our products.
We also would like to inform you that for the Classic Rooms we actually are working on a improvement plan and will go on redecorating them during the next months.

Looking forward to welcome you again, we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

was very surprised to find this quiet nice hotel in such a tacky area,rather like Benidorm without the glitz,we also found the hotel and eating out very expensive,£13,half a bottle of local wine!!!!!. we had to pay £15,to rent an iron and ironing board for 5 days,this was in hindsight a lot cheaper than using the laundry service.
The two saving graces of our holiday were James the rep,and the fact the hotel was full of delightful Spanish family's,we will not be visiting Lanzarote again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missmabel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for publishing your impressions about our Hotel during your last stay. We do understand that you may not have found the Hotel as quiet as you were expecting, as July and August are mainly school holidays and obviously more family holiday. Therefore we would like to recommend you to visit Lanzarote out of high season, where you certainly will find the quietness you were looking for.

We hope to be able to welcome you in the future again and thank you again.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just back from a weeks stay in this hotel, and felt for the first time that I needed to write a review to alert anyone who is considering going to this hotel to think again, as this hotel is most definitely not 5 star standard, and on balance I would rate this at most as a basic 4 star level.

To start with the good things - the weather was good, the pool area large, and the rooms clean and tidy, although basic. The gym was also well equipped.

The room however, whilst having a good view, generally appeared rather tired, and other standard items that would be expected from 5 star status were missing e.g no tea/coffee making facilities, no turn down service and a limited range of English speaking channels, including TV pay movies etc.

By far the worst thing however about this hotel was the food and the general service in the restaurant, and I can only say that I am glad that we had only booked B&B. Each morning I tried different options - scrambled eggs, bacon etc - ALL OF WHICH WAS CONSISTENTLY COLD AND BASICALLY INEDIBLE!. Service in the restaurant was also lacking, with staff giving off an air that were not that happy to be serving us, and generally there was a real lack of atmosphere, and indeed throughout the hotel, which might explain why so few people appeared to use the bar at night. Frankly I do not feel that customer service is a priority at this hotel , which may go some way to explaining why no one asked us at any point if we had enjoyed our stay - even at checki out. Sorry but felt that anyone going here needs to be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186470David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your valuable time in writing your impressions about your recent stay with us. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations in our Restaurant and Bar and do apologize for it.

Your comments are highly appreciated, as for us our main aim is always to improve the quality and service of our hotel which was not at the expected level by our guests.

We would like to inform you that our turndown service is offered within the Red Level for all our Suites and Garden Villas. About the TV Channel, we are currently working on offering a wider range of TV Channels.

Once again we do apologize and hope to welcome you again at our hotel offering you our best service.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have just stayed in a junior suite for 10 nights, from 7-17 June and it was stunning. The large hotel overlooks the beautiful bay of Costa Teguise. Staying in a junior suite allows access to a second pool which is only available to people staying in the suites or the garden villas. The main pool is very large with plenty of sunbeds and free towels, pool bar and craft workshop. The second/private pool is equally large and there is complementary beer, wine, fruit juices, tea/coffee, cakes and pastries from 11.00-18.00 daily.

The main restaurant offers a large buffet selection for breakfast and evening meals. Gents, make sure you take long trousers for the evening, you will be asked to change if you're wearing shorts - my hubby was. There was a fantastic choice of food and whilst quite a lot was unfamiliar, it was delicious. A chef cooked your chosen piece of meat as you waited and to your liking. Tickets to say what some of the food was, would've been helpful.

The room itself could not be faulted, very large and spacious, double width balcony and immaculately clean. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom, his/hers sinks. Air conditioning that cooled the room but didn't blow directly on you making you freezing. Extra large bed. My only niggle was the TV stations available in English. Two news channels, a sport channel and The Discovery channel. I know some people wouldn't even turn a TV on whilst on holiday, but we like to relax at the end of an evening watching TV and apart from Spanish (obviously), the channels were in German. I have never returned from a holiday having learned so much from the Discovery channel. A few more English speaking channels would be nice.

We booked 2 excursions through the hotel with the help of the friendliest man at the front desk. He was so helpful and nice and advised us on the trips and also about restaurants in the area. Both trips were very good value. I also had a massage (30 mins for 30 Euros) and reflexology (30 mins for 45 Euros) in the hotel's health & beauty centre. Again both superb. There is also a hairdressers

The location of the hotel is also fantastic, towards the north end of Costa Teguise, it is just a short 5-10 minute stroll along the promenade, to the main area with plenty of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was in the centre, rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMSalinas, Director General at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for spending your time in publishing this nice review of our Hotel. We could not expect a better description than the one you have experienced during your stay.

About the english speaking TV Channels, we would like to inform you that we are currently working on offering a wider range of TV stations in our rooms.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again and remaining at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Oscar Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing