We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Much of a review as an update”
Review of Bar Bastian Pool Bar Restaurant - CLOSED

Bar Bastian Pool Bar Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: PLEASE NOTE:‘Bar Bastian’ is no longer a trading entity and this page will be removed shortly. However, the building and assets have been bought by a new company, the facilities have been extensively refurbished and upgraded and you can now see more by searching for, ‘Los Amigos Costa Teguise’. Playa Bastian’s NEW place to Meet and Eat!
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not so Much of a review as an update”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Roumor has it that the residents association have bought out the current inhabitants and after deep cleaning it will be re-opening under new management. We can only wait and hope......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Fat_Food_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    0
    1
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs new owners asap!!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited Bar Bastian a couple of years ago just as a quick stop off for a drink after a lovely sea front walk. Back then it was never a particularly up market place but it was clean and welcoming and served a lovely ice cold beer. Fast forward to july 2013 and eeeurgh!!! The bar is up for sale and its plainly obvious that these current owners have given up even trying to offer a decent service. To put it bluntly this place is RANK! Its possibly one of the most unloved bars I've been to on the island. The bar itself is in disrepair and has a liberal sprinkling of yorkshire terrier dog hairs on it. The bar area is grimy and the indoor area (where we sat last time) now stinks of grease and grime and was dirty inside. It serves food too but I'd rather chew my arm off than eat here. The service required obviously interferes hugely in the barmaids leisure time as she sat down after serving us and ignored the empties on other tables and the debris on the floor. The complex of Playa Bastian is lovely however and the little pool by the bar is great. With the right owners this could be a great little bar due to its locality but until then....AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrsk1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a heart time at this bar. Jo is lovely and welcomes everybody, bar snacks and meals were all great, great bar to chill and relax with a beautiful sea view

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettyboo16091953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirtiest looking bar I can remember visiting.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

On a walk along the coast we were lured in by their sign offering cheap breakfasts. As we had two hungry children with us, we'd ordered before we'd had a chance to take in the splendour of this hidden jewel. There were hand marks smeared all over the glass (presumably from previous patrons trying to escape), the outside area looked like it hadn't been washed in ages with all sorts of unidentifiable rubbish near the pool and the bar and waitress looked like they needed a good clean! The dog and small child running in and out just added to the ambience. Then there were the suspicious 5 star Trip Advisor signs - frequent visitor/friend/owner PeterJ liked the place so much he's given 3 '5 star' ratings! Easily one of the worst places I've ever visited for food. I'd avoid if you want to keep the contents of your stomach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JayTeeJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This place is appalling !”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Do not go to Bar Bastian until the current owners leave and new owners with some common sense take over. We have used this bar on several occassions over the last few years and have never found it to be up market but at least it was always clean and tidy with reasonable food. Now, the owner sits around in old clothes looking plain dirty, the wife wanders around as if she just rolled out of bed, and there is a small child playing in the bar and terrace, leaving toys littered about as a trip hazard to any unwary customer. The place looks neglected and the signs proclaiming the best food in town are rediculous. It is up for sale, and it would be a brave person who would try to rescue reputation of this excuse for a bar!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bastian Pool Bar Restaurant also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing