We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excptional”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have just returned from a one week stay at the Luabay, all inclusive.

After a very smooth departure, we were greeted by a highly warming and informative lady (Rosana I think her name was) and this set the tone for the week. All staff, from Cleaners to Check In Staff to Waiters to Barmen work very hard with a smile on their face and are a credit to the hotel.

The rooms are exceptional for a 3* hotel. Large bathroom with great views of the beach and the eastern side of Costa Teguise. All kept very clean.

All inclusive warrants 3 meals a day, with a snack bar running from 12:00 - 17.00 including hamburgers, chips, salad and cheap ice cream every day, with other snacks chorizo sticks, chicken nuggets, paella and the sort appearing occasionally. Cups are readily available to help yourself to beer (Amstel and Memminger I think), surprisingly nice White wine, sangria, red wine and soft drinks. Cocktails are also available, but an issue would be that these were too watered down! Lunch consisted of salads, freshly cooked meats, pastas, pizzas, with vegetarian options furthermore. Dinner would also be this, but with a greater and more varied selection.

I rarely stay for evening entertainment in the hotel, and would rather go to the town, so I'm probably not the most reliable reviewer here. But what I saw wasn't anything special. Bit of flamenco dancing, bit of Bavarian sing-a-long etc.... Costa Teguise is lovely though, loads of bars and restaurants full of individual character. Sports in the day also seem low key if that is your sort of thing. However, rather a large enough pool there are plenty of loungers to sunbathe, and a solarium if you'd rather have more peace and quiet.

So what stops this review from being 5 star?? Breakfast is poor. I'd like to think I'm not narrow-minded enough and just want a fry up done the way it is at home, but there was no variety, was slightly undercooked, and less selection than at lunch and dinner..... the fruit was nice though! Also I believe the cooking is worse than many of the restaurants in Costa Teguise....so I would maybe nit do all inclusive again. Finally, a minor issue would be the occasional feral cat surrounding the hotel. Great for some. Not for me unfortunately.

But would thoroughly recommend this hotel for comfort, cleanliness and location, and would be more than willing to return to Lanzarote and experience more of the great excursions on offer.

Thanks for having us.

Room Tip: Definitely aim for a sea-view room. Spacious balcony and great views of 'Las Cucharas' Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Joe, thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass your comments about the cocktails and the food options for breakfast to the corresponding departments in order to initiate changes. We would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future and present you with a breakfast choice more to your liking. Thank you very much for recommending the Luabay Lanzarote Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    1,288
    420
    89
    31
See reviews for
761
2,011
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Four star may be not sure, Good points, The rooms are very large but ajoining rooms are smaller but all well equiped, All rooms have a hair drier fridge lcd tv a safe and, air con very clean and have confortable beds, Five star staff help keep the hotel very clean and are very helpful nothing to much trouble,The hotel is modern well maintained and in an excelent central location Near the shops and bars and town square for a great night out.The hotel is next to a great beach and has another near by Gym and squash court. Angel was a great help to our family in the dinning room. Animaition staff were also top class and worked very hard to entertain you,The pool a bit cold but due to the heat was nice to cool down plus childrens pool and lots of sun beds but would be nice to have more tables and chairs outside. Food not the best choices we have had but could allways find something to eat if you we had a enjoyable holiday but went out for drinks a lot for an all inclusive hotel .
Bad points, Drinks very poor Brandy didn't taste good and vodka was called Jerkioff enough said 2 star drinks, 10 Euros pp per night to upgrade we could drink out for 20e Internet 30e per week go to a bar a 2 euro pint and get internet free. Entertainment some were poor Wolly on his organ a good laugh better artist on in the town square the bar had large queue after dinner .Pool bar same food every day hot dogs hamburgers Paella and dry sanwiches,No rooms has a mirror or a bath showers only mirrors in the bathroom BBC Africa only uk news .A smell near the dinning room was not as bad some made out but was still there imay have got use to it did not smell it in the dinning room.
Overall more Good than bad .

Room Tip: Iff the number ends in N it is a small ajoining room Top Floor pool view rooms are sunny and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked this Holiday 4 days prior to travel. We stayed between the 15th and 22nd of December and had a lovely time. On arrival we were informed that a disabled access room was not available until the following day but the room we were given was suitable for my wife and we moved into our beautiful room the next morning. Restaurant staff reserved a table for us at each sitting and the choice of food was substantial. Access for the restaurant for those with walking problems is via a lift.
For December the weather was fantastic and drinks were available around the pool from the bar as self service.
Our only problem was the stair lift up to the entertainment bar was not working but my wife an I found the comfy seating in the reception area a much better option whilst still being able to listen to the acts.
Reception staff were great and the room cleaners did an excellent job.
Will probably book a pre Christmas break here again this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dony
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even tho I have rated this hotel average its a nice hotel the reason for this is because there is a horrible smell in the restaurant. We found out that the septic tank lets odours off so you can imagine the Smell.there are about 20 airfreshners in the restaurant but still smelly and if you get a sea view room you will get the smell when you open the balcony doors. Good luck if you have booked this hotel and read review after

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Harvey, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with us. We are glad that were overall satisfied with your stay and are very sorry that the unpleasant smell by the entrance to the restaurant bothered you during your stay. We are very aware of this issue and do the best that we can. The smell does not derive from our premises which makes fighting it more difficult, however it has improved already and we are positive, that very soon we will have it completely gone. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future and present you with a fresh dining hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used to visit this hotel when it was called Porta Tahiche & thought we'd try it again now that its refurbished. They didn't have our booking but soon sorted it out & gave us a superior room which was very nice. The staff are all friendly & helpful & the hotel is spotless. The food is good but there was a strange smell some days in the dining room. The entertainment wasn't so good so we went to other hotels to watch their shows. The only drawback was the rude Germans at the hotel but then we met some lovely English & Dutch visitors . I would book again if i got a cheap deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janpan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from a week at Luabay fab week doesn't look much from the outside but go past the reception and things change. Really friendly reception staff and nothing is too much trouble .The rooms are clean and modern looking I would say the pool view is better purely because by having a sea view its too windy to sit on your balcony therefore you can only admire the view. There is a slight smell as you go into the restaurant but if you sit further down that soon goes away, food is great large choice for all meals that is freshly prepared and tasty, the best bit is the freshly baked bread and pastries that are available .Easy to get to the beach via the back entrance and easy to get to the main square that is safe for all. The pool is as you see it on the pictures and there are plenty of sunbeds with a lifeguard there for towels etc. One night I had some ants in my room and within minutes of phoning reception someone came up to resolve the problem even though it was nearly midnight. I will defiantly going back to Luabay sooner rather than later and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a great holiday either on your own as a couple or as part of a family group.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a sea view stick with a pool view due to the high wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guernsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week in Lanzorate. Luabay has an enviable position with our room overlooking the beach.
Rooms: Modern, clean and comfortable. More than adequate for a holiday break.
Cleanliness: Could not be faulted throughout the hotel. Rooms cleaned daily including towel change.
Food: A good selection of food choices for all from fish, meats and vegetarian. Yes there are chips but is to be expected. We did go out for meals a few times for a change but that was personal choice. The management respectfully request gentlemen wear trousers, no sleeveless shirts or slippers in the evening - such a shame that some guests decided to ignore this rule.
Facilities: Gym has a few machines, weights and mats. Very quiet, I was often the only one there, squash, table tennis, sauna and massage are also available. Pool area is peaceful with plenty of sunbeds although many are 'reserved' early. Air hockey and pool for 1 euro per game in the shade. There are computers and comfy seating in the reception area. The pool bar is open until 18:00 and here you can pull your own soft drinks and lager, the bar serves cocktails and you can also have burgers, chips, sandwiches and ice cream etc or you can visit the main restaurant for a greater choice of food. The evening bar could be improved as we did not feel it was as inviting as it could be, was often hot, packed and queues for drinks. Given there were no more than 2 serving hardly surprising. Although service was quick it was the least enjoyable part of our holiday experience along with the evening entertainment.
Entertainment: The day team are pleasant and encourage participation without pressure - something for all. Evening entertainment was not great and in our opinion 'European' targeted so as a group we made the best of it although at the disdain of some of our glum faced neighbours.
Staff: Reception offered a pleasant welcome and were helpful throughout when needed, restaurant and bar staff were great, some could smile more but overall they were quality and finally the cleaners - they are the most thoughtful of people and even took it upon themselves to highlight my wife's birthday (cards in the room) to the management and placed a tray of cakes and birthday greeting which was a fantastic and unexpected personal touch.

Out and about there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Best bar by far was Hennesey's which is a little Irish bar just to the right of the back gates overlooking the beach. The beach is clean and tidy. Sea is choppy and strong so watch your little ones. There are water based activities if you wish. There are also street traders - had some fun with them without buying anything!

Overall we had a great time thanks to the hotel and its location.

Room Tip: Nice and quiet sea view rooms. For afternoon sun from your pool view rooms may be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,067 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Property: Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing