We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, terrible evening entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, terrible evening entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a lovely holiday at the Luabay. Room was small but very clean and modern, we were in room 6106, ground floor and a good location, swimming pool to the left, reception and evening bar just to the right and the pool bar right opposite. The terrace did not have the sun in the afternoon/evening but after a day in the sun and trying to get ready in the eve the room was cooler and more comfortable. Definitely needs more than just the 1 mirror in the bathroom though. There are things to join in with during the day if you want to and never once saw a shortage of sunbeds. Food was good enough and plentiful, paella very good. We went to the Mexican and Spanish theme nights in the pool bar, Mexican was quite nice but we did not enjoy the Spanish. The evening entertainment was very poor we thought, cringeworthy even. Most nights was finished by 10.30 with nothing to follow, not even someone playing some music to have a bit of a dance to and we were politely asked to leave dead on midnight. We were not looking for an lively, partying sort of holiday but did expect something more than what was offered in the evenings. We ended up going out for some of the evenings as could not face the entertainment although to be fair found the prices outside of the hotel reasonable. We found a bar called La Vida which we absolutely loved, the singer in there was brilliant and we could have a bit of a dance, it is by the entrance to the Grand Teguise Playa Hotel, which is a big hotel, you can't miss it. We watched some football in the Bulldog bar right out the front of our hotel, they show pretty much any game you could want to watch, 3 o clock kick offs etc and 3 different screens for different games. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right on the beach and right in the middle of town so you never have to go far for whatever you need. We got taxis to and from airport as is a fairly small distance and much less messing around than booking transfers, it cost between 15-18 euros each way shared between 2 of us and was worth it, we were at the hotel within 45 minutes from landing. Overall a fantastic holiday, just could have done with something decent in the hotel in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your holidays to the fullest. Your complaint about the evening entertainment will be passed on to the respective departments and considered for future changes. We would be very delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    1,257
    408
    88
    30
See reviews for
734
1,939
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A very pleasant hotel in a great location. We stayed here for a week March 21-28. We were upgraded and had a very nice room (1304) overlooking the pool. This place is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. A special mention for Elizabeth in the restaurant who always greeted you with a smile. We found the food fine and quite varied.We had no problems in getting sunbeds, in fact we had no problems at all.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week here and would certainly like to return

Room Tip: Room 1304 on 2nd floor is a family room overlooking pool and catches most of the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank der6846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel,we were upgraded so had a large room with sofa and kitchenette.Did have to remind staff to clean patio area which was attended to promptly.
Patio area outside handy to relax in.
Location was great and easy to walk outside as no hills.

Town square had very good entertainmentabout 4-5 times a week with a craft market every Friday.
Food adequate but would not get excited about it.Lunch served in the pool bar reminded me of being back at school,long queus at times.

Very good leisure team,who encouraged guest to participate in games!
Pool area large and sunbeds always available, tables sometimes dirty,lovely beach accessable from the back of the hotel!

Entertainment was average,seating area not very comfortable as half the chairs plastic and the
reast rattan with no cushions.Reception area also bare with a few sofas,the rest benches with no backrest.Staff at reception sometimes gave incorrect info so always check with holiday rep.

Internet very tricky to log off at times from hence time lost which made it expensive when using
my i-phone.Hotel also provided computers for use at 1 Euro for 10 minutes.

We did the whole day trip with Thomson,knowledgable guide but lunch stop awful with poor wine.We also took a bus to Arrecife to Grand Hotel which is 17 floors up and enjoyed the view with a cup of coffe and cake for 8 Euros.

Room Tip: Sea view room no sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabet49Hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the luabay for a week from the 21-28 march. On check in which was great quick and friendly was upgraded to a superior room with kitchenette and sofa bed which was huge. I had asked for pool view and low floor due to no lifts which we got and was great. Room was ready and was very clean had everything U needed including kettle fridge and lots of hangers. the only gripe no mirror in bedroom so if one getting ready in bathroom the other had to wait for mirror. We unpacked and set off to explore hotel. We had lunch in the snack bar which was fine and tryed the drinks which was also fine good selection of cocktails and spirits. We then had read bout back gate which lead U on to a row of cafes and English bars which had boards out with entertainment on for evening. Entertainment hit and miss in hotel but depends what U like I suppose. Lovely beach right on doorstep and your usual trinket shops. We went back to hotel had another look around and was pleased with what we had booked. Staff friendly and they work hard esp in restaurant clearing tables etc. We didn't notice a smell in restaurant only when U got out of hotel threw back gate which was nothing really. The hotel is definitely worth a visit. We had a couple of cloudy days but cant blame hotel for that. Well done luabay!!! I wanted to write a review as I work in a hotel myself and know how hard it is to please everyone and people are quick to say negative things but are not so quick to praise. Keep up the hard work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vauxhall06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, East Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We only booked two days before we left and only had chance to have a quick scan of the reviews whilst in the travel agents but looked all ok and to be honest it was fine. The rooms were very modern and clean and we were lucky to be upgraded to a sea view, so had a fab view from our balcony. The staff were really helpful, especially Ines on reception, who checked us both in and out and was lovely. The food was what you would expect from an all inclusive, although the desserts could be improved. The restaurant lets this hotel down, not so much the smell, that has been commented on in previous reviews, which too be in honest I didn't think was too bad, but the positioning, felt more like a works canteen and there is a line of tables that nobody sat at, due to the gale force wind from the air conditioning! Two slight annoyances was there was no mirror in the bedroom, only the bathroom, so you had to wait half an hour for the mirror to clear after a shower before you could do your hair and make up but the one thing that did drive me mad, was although the shower pressure was great, (possibily one of the best in any hotel I have stayed in), the shower tray was so shallow and the drains so slow to clear, unless you stopped the shower every 15-20 seconds to let the water drain away, you ran the risk of flooding the bathroom! Overall, a good hotel for a break by the pool, would recommend.

Room Tip: A sea view room is better in the summer for a cooler room at the end of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Cazee, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our staff and the room you were allocated. Your feedback is very important for us and will help us spot weak points for further improvement. We will therefore forward your comments about the dining room, additional mirrors in the room and the shower flooding to the respective departments. We hope these issues did not spoil your holiday and you enjoyed a great stay at our hotel. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel was brilliant, stayed for 9 days with our friends, booked two standard rooms but was given two big rooms with kitchenettes, which gave us more room.Food was brilliant, lots of fresh food being cooked in front of you by chefs.Different flavored Pizzas cooked in oven and cut for you to take.Lots of choice for every taste and all diets.
Cleaners are non stop cleaning throughout the day.
Staff are brilliant, entertainment staff are fab giving you encouragement to join in all activities throughout the day. Sammy is wonderful and the other girls.
Entertainment every night with good acts.
Hotel is in great location, so you can get to every where from either end of hotel.
There is a back gate through bloc 2 where you can virtually walk straight onto beach and to shops and bars.
We hired car when we booked our holiday, which was very good value £87 for 9 days this was through travel company www.travelrepublic.com and as the island is small it was a great way to travel around and see all resorts and places.
Weather was amazing for time of year.
Be careful if buying electrical equipment, some shops get you in with very cheap items and then show you upgrades in a very clever way, which in the end are not any cheaper than in U.K. So my advice is only visit shops recommended by your hotel or holiday reps, or wait and buy in U.K. remember if its too good to be true it usually is.
All in all fantastic holiday and hotel.

Room Tip: Room with kitchenette is very big which gives you more room to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Kevin, thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to hear you were satisfied with all parts of our hotel and especially our hard-working staff. It is always great to know our guests feel comfortable and get to enjoy their holidays. We will share your praise with our staff and would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from luabay and the place is spotless,i have never seen harder working cleaners and you can watch them from the pool polishing the life out of the balconies,the staff are extremely nice and helpful good beach,food was fine lovely room,good pool great weather,mid march,don't mess about just go there.

Room Tip: We needed a wheelchair broken ankle prior,u can hire one 60 euros pw,this meant ground floor"ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cedargooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Property: Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing