We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, Brilliant Location, Average Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here from 6th October until the 13th. Was pleasantly surprised at the free upgrade to a sea view room!

not much I can say really. Weather was perfect, location was perfect, staff were very accommodating. The only thing that let it down was the food. Plenty of selection, but we found that nothing seemed to go together, if that makes sense.

My only other issue was the room location. Sea view was fantastic, however there are lots of bars below which play loud music till 1am ish. Its great if you're the party type and like to go out of a night time, but not so great if you like to get an earlyish night. getting to sleep whilst the music is playing is a bit of a struggle.

Last negative is the TV. Only around 3 English channels. Those being Sky News and 2 kids channels. Compare that to the 20+ German channels and it seems a bit unfair!

Besides those little quibbles we had a fantastic time. Looking to potentially go back again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Steven, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you liked our hotel and had a pleasant stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will forward your complaint about the food, the noise and the TV channels to the respective departments so they can discuss ways of improvement. We would be delighted to welcome you back at the Luabay Lanzarote Beach next year. Thank you for choosing Luabay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 3,559 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel with very helpful pleasant staff, rooms are very nice great shower in bathroom, rooms cleaned every day to good standard, and cleaners are out very early in the mornings cleaning pool and all public areas. There is a slight smell sometimes in the dining room, not as bad as some make out, food is fine. Entertainment could be better some good acts, but bird and reptile shows turn me cold. Would I return yes, probable next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dinnyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the service we offer and had a lovely stay with us. Your feedback about the entertainment program will be passed on to our entertainment team and is very much appreciated as it gives us an idea of what our guests find appealing and what they don’t. We would love to welcome you back at our hotel again next year. Thank you for choosing Luabay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

On arrival I was I pressed at the look of Luabay Beach. Welcoming reception area and friendly staff. Quick check in process.
Rooms rather simple with little hanging space. Very clean rooms and kept to a high standard all week.
There are no lifts in the property so it can be difficult getting your luggage to the room as there are a lot of steps. There is no porter to assist so be aware.
Pool so cold that nobody went in. A shame as it was a nice area. Plenty of sun beds but a wind trap. Sun beds, parasols and towels blowing everywhere.
Pool bar very basic. Uncomfortable seating and a self service style bar and buffet. Much like a canteen. Rather noisy with kids helping themselves to drinks and ice cream and running around. Food tasted good though and was cooked freshly.
The main restaurant itself was hugely disappointing. The smell of sewerage as you walked down the stairs (yes the restaurant is below ground level) was acrid. If you we're hungry that soon out you off! Pot pourri on every table DOES NOT cover this up. It's sickening. No windows as below ground and very harsh strip lighting.
Breakfasts were mediocre but dinner was always atrocious and ended up eating out. Undercooked meat, greasy sauces on food and dry pizza. With so many nice restaurants nearby its a no brainer!
Hotel in good location for bars and restaurants. Just a 2 minute walk. Fab beach right next door.
Would use this hotel as a self catering option and not use food and drink facilities. Certainly would not go all inclusive

Room Tip: Get a pool view, not a sea view. It avoids the strong winds blowing in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you had a good holiday and were satisfied with your room and our reception service. Your feedback is very important for us and will help us improve in the future. We will pass your complaints about the temperature of the pool, the pool bar and the restaurant and food to the respective department in order for them to discuss solutions to these problems. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel in the future so that you can see the changes for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is only a 3 star but the staff are 5 star they are the nicest staff i have ever seen at a hotel and they are what makes this hotel a good choice. The rooms are a good size with walk in shower, the complex is a lot smaller than it looks in the pictures and the negative is the restaurant due to its location which is like going down into the basement and the tables are all very close together and it feels really cramped, but it is very reasonable to eat out so during our 10 night stay we ate out 4 times so be prepared to do this and you will have a great time. The safe is 2.1euros per day and the pool towels are a deposit of 15 euros each for the duration of your stay, internet cost us 20 euros for 3 days but most of the local bars have free wifi. The hotel is located right in the centre so if you go out the front entrance you are in the square and if you go out the back you walk along past the bars and the beach. When you check in at the hotel be sure to book for the spanish and mexican night which you can do once a week, this is a set menu with table service and it is in the pool bar so another 2 nights you will not have to suffer the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words for our staff and are proud that they made your holiday special. Your feedback about the restaurant is being passed on to the responsible persons and will give them a chance to discuss ways of improvements. We would be very delighted to welcome you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel itself was clean and rooms were serviced every day, although the "mini bar" in the bedrooms left a lot to be desired...... not a lot of variety......." a bottle of water" replaced every day though!! There was a safe in the room but a charge to use it.
We had one cockroach in the bathroom one morning, but that could have been down to me leaving the bathroom window open.
As to the rest of the hotel.... Pool area was clean but the beds were way too close together,
The restaurant was down an iron staircase into the basement, and the first thing to hit you was the most horrible smell, like sewers. Really bad.... I hated going there. The only pleasant thing about it was the waitress called Elizabeth, she was always smiling and greeting everyone.
The pool bar did good food at lunchtimes so we ate there in the afternoons. Although a cockroach ran over my foot one day yuuuuuukkkkkkkk!!!!!
All inclusive, I don't think so, If you like a cocktail in the evening, forget it, they won't serve them unless you pay, You can have two drinks in the glass but no more, The first night I ordered vodka, peachsnapps, grenadine, and pineapple juice, I got a disgusted sort of look from the waiter and he told me "you can only get two drinks in a glass" so I said "then give me a vodka and pineapple juice and give me peachsnapps and grenidine" he gave me them with no pineapple juice. When I asked for it He said "Madame, you have enough drinks, I am serving someone else. He was quite rude. The entertainment started at 9.30pm and finished at 10.30pm.
So all in all, I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyment22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely holiday despite the negative points you are mentioning. The smell in the restaurant does not result from within our hotel but we are doing the best that we can to get rid of it and have a lot of positive feedback so far. We apologize for the inconvenience you had at our bar and that you were not satisfied with our all-inclusive program. Your feedback is much appreciated and will help us for the future. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel and have a chance to convince you of our quality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we visited luabay 10/10/12 and first impressions were great,the hotel is spotless rooms are large with loads of cupboard space.it was just the dining room which is down a set of steps,i,ve hnever none one to be below the hotel.its the smell that hits you,we asked a waiter who said he could,nt smell anything so i asked another who said it was when the tide changes it brings sewerage up into the kitchen.our party of nine refused to eat there,we complained and had to eat out bfast and evening meal for the whole week.they wanted us to move 30mins away out of the centre and we refused,currently have a claim in with thomas cook,they,ve know about the problem for sometime but fail to tell you before you book beware,would you take your wife for a meal in a toilet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john-cucyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear John, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you liked out hotel in general and hope that you had a good holiday despite your complaint. The waiter you talked to already gave you the information but we would like to repeat again that the smell in the dining area does not come from within the hotel. We are trying our very best to get rid of it and to keep it from coming in. From other visitors we had the feedback that the smell is getting notably less and that it is completely gone in most areas of the restaurant. However, please accept our apologies, if this was an issue for you. We hope that the rest of the hotel convinced you enough to visit us again once the smell is completely gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from 7 nights - Hotel extremely clean/ staff so friendly/ plenty to eat and drink. We upgraded our room which was lovely. People love to moan about the smallest thing - there was the slightest smell by the restaurant but nothing like people had written about. anybody that goes all inclusive must be aware that after a few days the food does get slightly repetitive but there is an amazing Chinese buffet just over the road if you fancy a change. Only slight criticism is the bar area is not very comfortable/friendly but guess they don't want to encourage people to get settled and drink too much.

Room Tip: Suggest you upgrade to a bigger room - we found Block 1 perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJtoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $130 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing