We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't always believe reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't always believe reviews”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a really relaxed and enjoyable week. (14th - 21st Jan.) This is a brand new and modern hotel and our room, a standard room with sea view, was really lovely and comfortable and had an en suite to die for!! One small problem was the lack of drawers for storeage. The room was kept spotless as was the whole hotel and the pool area was beautiful with plenty of sun beds.The restaurant and seating areas could be more comfortable and did lack atmosphere. The evening entertainment was exceptional with one exception. The entertainers could grace a 5* Hotel in mainland Spain. The food was very good with plenty of freshly cooked food at all times. The staff in general were helpful and friendly and worked very hard in all areas. We would definitely return and recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view tho' pool view rooms also have a nice view. The hotel only has 3 floors but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank young120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    1,287
    420
    89
    31
See reviews for
760
2,010
81
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just spent 10 nights at the Luabay and had a very good holiday(5th -15th Jan) The hotel is very modern and new and of course there are a few things which could be improved on. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent bathrooms, we had a standard room with a seaview which was lovely as I do enjoy the sight and sound of the sea. However at this time of the year we didn't get the sun on the balcony so a poolside room would have been better. The hotel is spotless there always seem to be someone doing some cleaning and the staff were all very friendly. The things that could be better are the dining room which is underground and quite cramped, and the seating in the main reception and entertainment area. The pool area is lovely although the water was very cold. The hotel is in a good position in the centre of Costa Tequise so ideal for exploring the resort which we did everyday, there is a lovely walk along the beach especially if the sea is rough. The food was plentiful and varied loved the pancakes at breakfast and the desserts especially at the evening meal. All in all a very good hotel which we certainly return to. One tip I would give to anyone planning to go on organized trips is to use Customer Travel who we found to be excellent value for money rather than the ones from the tour companys.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SandB_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I am an avid trip advisor review reader and so feel compelled to also write one, hoping to provide another viewpoint to help those like me!

GETTING THERE AND CHECK IN

My partner and I (30/26yrs) travelled to the Luabay on 9th January to beat those post Christmas blues and arrived around 11.30am having taken a private taxi there (€20). Check in was very quick and reception staff lovely. We were advised of details regarding the room safe (€2/day) and provided with a map to find our block (Block 1). This leads me to perhaps the most off putting aspect for us…… getting to the room. Simply put, the vast majority of new arrivals have to walk past the pool (gorgeous) and all the sun worshippers to get to the accommodation blocks using a very confusing map. This was a little embarrassing when we stopped to consult our map, wheeling our cases, and had everyone staring. We got there eventually and, after hauling our cases up the steps to the top floor, opened the door to a very bright, clean, modern room…..

THE ROOM

Our room was located on the top floor with a sea view which was gorgeous – right over the adjacent Playa de las Cucharas and nearby shops, restaurants etc.

It was a little on the small side with two twin beds pushed together but noone spends much time in their room on holidays anyway so that’s not really an issue as far as I can tell.

There is a fridge, stocked daily with drinking water, a large wardrobe containing the safe and a 32” flat screen tv (though the only channels we could understand were Sky News or Disney) – we brought the laptop with us though so were able to watch dvds and listen to music that way.

The bathroom is gorgeous – very modern with a great power shower and a huge mirror which was more than ample for our needs. Ok, you have to demist it using the provided hairdryer but it only took a few seconds.

THE FOOD

Both my partner and I are, dare I say it, very fussy, plain eaters. We found that the restaurant and pool bar catered very much for more Mediterranean and European tastes and so we found it difficult to find something tasty to eat, opting to eat out quite a lot (may I recommend El Maestro restaurant, just out the back of the hotel).

There was very little variation to the food though I have to say the staff and chefs did work very hard providing fresh pasta, seafood, paella etc every day. The food cools quite quickly too though the bright airy surroundings make it comfortable to sit and have a few drinks while you eat too which is lovely. (No trace of any smell as detailed in other reviews).

ENTERTAINMENT

The entertainment was….. very hit or miss. There were two fantastic acts (Starman and El Guapo) which I could have watched all night however the others were mediocre to be generous and quite embarrassing when lots of people got up to leave at the same time. We found the free cava lessened the impact though ;o)

The pool is beautiful, very large, with more than enough sunbeds but the fact that it is not heated meant that, in mid January, swimming was only for the thrill seekers.

LOCATION

FAN…TAS….TIC! Right beside the beach which is easily accessed by a gate at the back of the hotel with lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. The adjacent promenade provides a gorgeous walk – all the way to Arrecife if you like or walk the other direction and you have yet more bars, restaurants and shops.

The last minute excursion office is right at the back gate of the hotel too for all your excursion needs!!

FINALLY

Although we had a brilliant holiday and couldn’t fault the hotel for its cleanliness, helpfulness and facilities, the food was a big factor for us and so we most likely wouldn’t return (on an all inclusive basis anyway).

PS - If you have any questions, feel free to email me

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms get the sun most of the day. Sea facing rooms have gorgeous views but very windy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tracemcd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've been thinking about what or whether to even write a review but seeing as I read every single review before I went then I thought I must!

Firstly, overall, we did have a lovely holiday!

Before I get onto the hotel, the planes that Thomas Cook use are of very low quality - no inflight entertainment and the seat are very close together. Didn't have a meal but from what I saw I'm quite pleased!

Now onto the hotel - we tried to check in twice but were told the room wasn't ready. When it was (over an hour later) we had been upgraded to a larger room which was lovely. We were in 4104 and it was very close to the restaurant, so much so that the smell seemed to esculate into our room!!! The smell wasn't there all of the time but it did gradually get worse over the week. We were going to change rooms but with only 2 days to go we felt we could manage with an air freshner spray that we got from reception. (Do ask for one as they has a lot!)

The pool bar was also a major problem. It was so cold that you really couldn't eat there. The wind went right through but they were installing runners for the shutters whilst we were there so this might be an improvement. Because of this we decided not to try the Mexican or Spanish nights as again it was very cold and not an enjoyable experience sitting with your coat on eating your meal!

Most lunches and evening meals we ate out because of the cold/smell but if you insist on eating in the restaurant then try sitting at the very back, it's a little better and warmer!

We did however enjoy the evening entertainment, especially the dancing girls!!!

The one thing that does stand out from any hotel we have stayed in is the staff, they are the most friendly and welcoming of people. They will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, even down to the pool attendant. Also please try and join in with the daytime activities - the staff are very good but don't seem to get many takers!

Yes, the mirrors in the room are very limited but if you're in block 4 then there is a full length mirror in the lift - which I used every day!

Also there are a few reviews that say get a pool view room for the sun, we had a ground floor pool view room and we didn't have any sun so choose a different block!

If you want a kettle then they will supply on foc, just email them before you go!

Overall the hotel is already looking tired and the fixtures and fittings are of very low quality that you can see that they are going to be very worn out with a year (our shower rail was already starting to rust!)

Enjoy your holiday and make the most of it, that's what we did!

Room Tip: Email hotel in advance - they are very accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank KarenB11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Karen. We apologize for the time you had to wait to check in, we are working on improving that and we are glad to inform you that the smell problem is fixed. Too bad the weather was a bit cold when you visited us, we would love to see you again and show you a better an improved service some other time in the year. Thank you for your suggestions, they are really helpful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

just back from a week at the luabay lanzarote beach where we had a great holiday.the rooms were nice and comfortable, the poolside area was lovely and there were loungers available all day.the hotel is in a great position right in the centre of the resort and is handy for all the resort has to offer.the food was plentiful,tasty and well labelled,breakfast and evening meals are downstairs in the main dining room lunches are in the pool bar.served buffet style.entertainment was a bit hit and miss with some good acts and some not so good.the downsides to this hotel are all minor but start to add up.firstly in the room there is only one mirror which is in the bathroom and steams up easily,the pool is to cold to stay in any length of time,the food does go cold quite quickly,more so at lunch and the tables in the dining room are very close together.as i say just minor complaints stopping the hotel from getting an excellent recomendation

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank jdedwards2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We appreciate you took the time to write this review and we are glad to hear you had a great holiday. We take note on your suggestions about mirrors in rooms, the pool and our food service. Hope you visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

JUST DON'T BOTHER. Booked this hotel after holidaying at the Luabay in Teneriffe ( Playa la Arena) 3 times. Arrived 4th Dec 2011, looks very nice. Changed rooms the first morning due to a foul smell in the room, it smelt like living in a stagnent drain but so did the resturant, making you feel sick every time you entered. Reported this to the rep who said she told her boss the first time she went in there "you would have to pay me to eat in there" . When going to bed the first night in the 2nd room 1 of the bed legs fell off, (it did get fixed the next day in a fasion). The 2nd evening in the 2nd room there was no hot water, we were told if you run it for a while it will get hot, but after myself and the maintianence guy running it for 50 mins we gave up but we were told it would be fixed tomorrow. The 3rd morning there was no water at all but did come on a while later. The 3rd night still no hot water and so demanded a room with hot water so we could shower and was given a key to a room back at the other side of the Hotel ( the smelly side where the restaurant is),We used this room to shower and skipped around the Hotel in towels all nice and clean. The next morning I was asked by reception if it was worh my while changing rooms again having only 2 nights left and when he said the water problem was not yet fixed I felt I had to and did. Spent the last 2 nights in a nice room at the back of the Hotel and all I had to think about was the pigions in the pool side restaurant, the lack of choice and stench in the main restaurant, the total lack of deserts and why the staff had to use the same tongs to put the raw chicken on the grill as the ones to serve the cooked chicken. (Worst Holiday in 20 years but First Choice have said Sorry!!!).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hello Mike, your review helps us improve our service that’s why we want to thank you for all of your suggestions. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay we always want our guests to enjoy their stays and we would like you to visit us again and give us the chance to change your mind with our improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

we stayed on the 29thdec to 5th jan, husband myself (early 40's) son19 and his mate 22
FANTASTIC LOACTION , we had pool view sun trap CLEAN HOTEL, NEW YEARS EVE GALA NEEDS 5* well done to all the chefs
There ws fresh water every day no need to buy any fridge in room asked for a kettle and i was given it staight away and it was free.
There is a slight smell in the restaurant rep said it was something to do with tide coming in and out, the food was labelled you eat in the restaurant for you breakfast and evening meal during the day you eat by the pool bar.

Only negative if someone is in a wheelchair or very disabled there are no lifts because you have to go downstirs to eat and upstairs for the entertainmant.
Weather was windy but warm in the 70's
Just 1 more thing you must go and see the dragqueen terry in the pub opposite the hotel the bullldog fantasic such a laugh made it for me hope he is booked there for next year.

Room Tip: ask for pool view gets most of the sun sea view nice but not as much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susieWestMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Property: Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing