We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smell gone, maid nicks stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smell gone, maid nicks stuff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

stayed there and after reading reviews was worried about the smell of sewege. this has been taken care of.

however, on the second day of our holiday I noticed one of my dresses had gone missing from the wardrobe. went to reception to report it missing and was told they would check with the maid as she may have 'picked' it up!!

two days later she knocked on our door and mumbled in spanish and threw my dress at me! Theiving staff.

there is NO WAY she picked this up by accident it was not on the floor, she had no need to into the wardrobe and riffle through my stuff. subsequently we locked all of our stuff up with padlocks and put everything in the safe.

Lovely hotel, nice food but definately wouldnt go there again, the reception staff did not seem surprised that she had taken it nor were that bothered about dealing with stealing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingthesun021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    1,260
    408
    88
    30
See reviews for
736
1,943
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here for a fortnight - 5th June to 20th June - A really lovely, friendly and clean hotel. The staff were very friendly and reception was very helpful. No smells of sewerage as per earlier reports. Food excellent with plenty of choice. We ate three meals a day for a fortnight and didn't have to repeat a meal once. Perhaps if they opened the lunch time food area (which is very pretty) for evening 'sitting around', this would create a better evening atmosphere around the hotel pool area, as entertainment on the evening is currently indoors and not everyone wants to do that on their hols! Entertainment a bit 'cheesy', but that is down to personal choice. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel and will certainly revisit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Hi

We stayed at the hotel. 3 ladies,1 young ad 2 not so young!!! In June this year.

After reading some reviews we were a little cautious but we need not have worried at all.

The hotel was clean and modern, all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We have stayed in several all inclusives around Mexico and the carribean but never in Europe before and I have to say we were not disappointed. The pool area was sways cleaned, the food was of a good standard with enough variety: freshly cooked meat and fish at both lunch and dinner. We had a reservation at the tapas restaurant which was lovely with music and dancing to accompany the meal. Evening entertainment was typical small all inclusive so we were happy to take it or leave it and often chose to sit in the outdoor area.

Whilst there my niece had her 19th birthday and we were pleasantly surprised in the morning by a bottle of bubbly, cake and flowers which was a really special touch.

The only niggle we had was small. The wifi wasn't free which would have been good and something which you take as read these days.

Finally, a fantastic hotel which I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyjUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week AI at the Luabay and I have to say I was overall quite disappointed with the hotel. In terms of the cleanliness and newness of the rooms and pool you cannot complain. This is obviously because it is newly refurbished and they have done a good job. We were confused as to why they bothered to put kitchenettes in the rooms and not provide a single pot/pan/cutlery etc. There wasn't even tea/coffee facilities. On the plus there was a generous fridge so you could keep bottles of water etc nice and cool. We had booked a standard room and upgraded on arrival to a sea view. We got room 2122 which was an adjoining room but we appeared to have no neighbours so this was fine. The view was fabulous over the beach 'Cucharas' but unfortunately for us the weather was poor and it was so windy we could never use the balcony. Also it does seem that most, if not all the sea view rooms will only have limited sun in the mornings and shade all afernoon, purely because they face east. The room was kept beautifully clean and there was a few little pots of toiletries etc (shampoo, soap, comb, shower cap, tissues, shoe shine and sewing kit). Shower gel provided in the shower too.
It was a little hard to get information without going to reception. For example we wanted to use the safe. It wouldn't work. Turns out you have to pay 2euros a day for this facility. The info sheet they give you on arrival just says you should use the safe, not that you have to pay for it. Also says that wifi is available, again missing that it is chargeable. I do not mind to pay for these things but it would be nice to have all the information to hand so that you are fully informed.
Location wise the hotel is perfect. You can exit straight onto the promenade where there are bars and restaurants or exit through the main entrance onto the 'high street' where there are a few shops and more bars and restaurants. Unfortunately due to the recession a lot of the bars are shut, though this seems to be a theme throughout the island not just Costa Teguise.
Food at the hotel was pretty much inedible. We ate there on our first evening and found it all luke warm and not labelled. There was also an awful smell of sewerage in the restaurant. There appeared to be a leak on the ceiling that was 'concealed' by the staff pinning a white sheet up! The restaurant was in the basement and hence had no windows and was like eating in a school canteen. Its decor left a lot to be desired - just white paint and cheap plasticy type tables/chairs. The only edible meal was breakfast, and that was only because there was toast and croissants which we grabbed and ate upstairs due to the smell. We found that with the evening meal you could not get a hot drink because they turned off the vending machine. So only wine, beer and fruit juice were available in the restaurant.
As for drinks, the pool bar had red and white wine on tap and beer too, hot drinks and a variety of fruit juices and slushies. This shut at 6 and after then you had to go to the bar or restaurant to get drinks. The bar is above reception and this is where the entertainment was. We never went as is sounded so bad as we walked through that we didn't bother. It was a shame that if you wanted a cup of coffee after your meal you had to trek to the bar to fetch it.
This hotel would be better stayed at on a SC or BB basis as in terms of facilities it is good and location wise is excellent. But sadly as at the moment it seems you have to go AI we paid for food and drinks that we never consumed and as a result feel somewhat ripped off!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driverkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend the last week in May. We had read some reviews on here, and were a little bit weary. There was no sewage smell in the hotel while we were there, just a slight smell on the seafront one evening. We loved Costa Teguise, there was everything you could need for evening entertainment. We hired a car to see the rest of the Island for two days, as otherwise it could get quite boring just visiting the beach or sitting round the pool. One trip was Puerto Del Carmen, where we only stayed 30 mins as the sewage smell was so awful there.
Luabay had friendly staff, was very clean with an abundance of sun loungers. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner, and even lunch considering it was a much smaller space than the main restaurant. They have roller blinds so no birds went near the food while we were there. We didn't find the entertainment to our taste so left the hotel after dinner for some drinks by the seafront. This place will be even better once the mexican restaurant and pub is open. I've even looked up the prices for a long weekend to go and see what it's like.
Overall, people that are complaining on here I feel are either nit-picking, or finding minor faults as everything else is so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AmyTurtle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We got home from luabay lanzarote beach last night, and we had a fantastic time.

So everyone understand what type of holiday maker we are I will let you know a bit about us. We are a 31yr old couple with a 14 month old little boy. We have travelled a reasonable amount across the world, and I would say we are particular in where we stay, has to have white bedding , nice food and be modern and fresh! We use trip advisor ourselves for reviews to help us decide if hotels are worth spending our hard earned money on. My thoughts are you only prob holiday 2 - 6 weeks of the year so that trip has to be the best for the money your spending as you can get. So now for the review ......

We paid £995 for 10nts - inic flights and transfers and we genuinely were thrilled with the hotel.

We arrived at 12.30 noon and our room was ready for us and was asked if we would like help with our cases, we said we would be fine but thank you anyway. We found our room easy from the little map given to us. 1st impressions were a modern and contemporary reception. Immaculate grounds and beautiful bedroom. We had a standard size room and we were given a seaview , which was lovely with a child safe balcony which was completely enclosed. Great white bed sheets, Brand new travel cot with lovely bed linen. Ultra moden bathroom with POWER shower being no exaggeration.
We then had a little walk around and decided to head to the pool bar, which has had some roller blind dividers recently fitted to stop the little birds trying to get to the food. The food was similar most days but the choice was vast so you could choose if you wanted to eat the same everyday or vary it. All food and drink is self serve apart from spirits which someone will serve you. Amstel , red wine (one tap was nice the other bitter) and white wine - which I did not sample. There was also 4 different flavors of slush puppies, and branded soft drinks coke a cola, fanta, sprite etc. There is a Nestle hot drinks machine which served nice coffees hot chocs etc.
Below is roughly how we saw the food availability
Breakfast - 7 - 10 in the restaurant
Lazy breakfast 10 - 12 pool bar
Lunch - 12 - 2.30 - full lunch menu lots to choose from. Pool bar
Snacks 2.30 - 6pm - pastries - fresh to order burgers , chips, small pizza bites sandwiches icecreams etc .. Pool bar
Dinner 7pm - 10pm restaurant

The food was good, pleanty to choose from, fresh and hot. One night I was pasta and the one out looked slightly dry so I asked if I could have a fresh portion please, again no problem. - Great service ! I just think you have to remember you are at a self service all inclusive hotel, there is always something to eat, yes most things are repeated but the choice is so vast you can vary what you eat. So from us no compliants there . I just think if its home cooked meals you are after then go self catering and eat out ... rather than be unhappy when your not getting fillet steak with chunky chips and onion rings or a full roast dinner , at the end of the day you get exactly what you would expect from a buffet style all inclusive... good food lots of choice!

During our stay gentleman were being turned way in the evening if they had shorts on, they are trying to keep a smart look at evening, however I think this is sometimes a little naughty when you have some men looking really smart in dhorts but cannot eat until they wear trousers but football shirts jeans and trainers are allowed. In general most men looked really smart.

WOW the staff are ultra friendly amazing with our little boy who was enjoying all the attention. We were overwhelmed with how understanding the waiting staff were with our little monster . The cleaning staff worked really hard, still cleaning at 10pm at night walk ways etc. In terms of cleanliness it was brilliant !

Always pleanty of sunloungers and direct access to the beach from the hotel with your room key swipe, this is not very well sign posted so ask where to go, we walked around the front only 10 min walk for the 1st 3 days until we were told by some people.

Entertainment we cannot really comment on as we usually had dinner then went for a walk and came back for drinnks later. I heard mixed reviews I think some nights were better than others.

When we were there , there was no kids club, or other restuarants open I believe these are coming in future months, this did not worry us but some guests were dissapointed as the brochures from tour operators stated different .

Costa teguise its self could do with a bit of money spending on it, slightly tired in places.

Top tips -
Visit the beach infront of the occidental hotel- little bay perfect aqua water
The main beach infront of hotel- walk the full length to the very end past the selina melias hotel I think it was called very quiet and perfect again for relaxing.
If you have children walk along the front past the occidental and you will come across a brand new play park, we went there twice a day with our little boy he loved it.


Bits that could be slightly improved

Food labels - so you dont have to keep asking what this please?
Blinds in bathrooms
Wardrobe light as once the doors are open in standard rooms it is pretty dark
Sign on front of hotel - needs to be put up as its nameless at the minute

but nothing that will ruin your holiday.

All in all after a feeling nervous about the reviews We had a great time in great surroundings. I am not saying there was not problems previously as I spke to the manager when we got there who said he was relieved that the smell issue had been resolved and it was pipes infront of the hotel near the sea that had caused the problems but these has been repaired about 2 weeks prior to our visit, so NO SMELL you will be pleased to hear !

Enjoy your holiday xxxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank waybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Just spent long weekend here and cannot fault anything
Food was excellent
Hotel was spotless
Rooms were immaculate

I was here years ago when it was the Puerto Tahiche and the difference is night and day

Cannot understand any previous comments about food or service there are lots to choose from and it was always hot and very fresh

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Snoopy2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Property: Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing