We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to ALL the staff here!!”
Review of Isla Bonita

Isla Bonita
Ranked #81 of 194 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks to ALL the staff here!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I ordered the calamari here and unfortunately my partner ordered the steak. Nothing wrong with the steak at all by the way but he choked after swallowing a piece which was not down to the quality at all. The staff could not have been better in an emergency (whereas I went to bits!). They rushed over and performed the Heimlich manoeuvre on him and thank god the steak came back out. Can't thank you enough, life savers!! Never made him feel one bit embarrassed either, a lovely meal and so many thanks from both of us!! P.S thanks to the two ladies who helped as well if you read this, you deserve a medal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenANOtts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    71
    34
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Spalpeen”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have dined here previously, and that was our reason for a return visit. It is very welcoming, on arrival we were offered a cheese platter, and shown to our seats.The food was enjoyable and well presented, but why a serving of only 9 chips (yes NINE measly chips). You could see that I am a grown man. My other peeve is the clientele, there were at least 3 drunken bums in the restaurant, 2 were of local origin, were loud, had no consideration for other diners, and smoked into our faces literally, the other was a "Brit" in full regalia with partner and kid on tow. I would refer to him as "Homo sans sapiens Brittanicus", He sported a "Union Jack" shorts, a halter- neck style vest, a shaved head, and covered in tattoos from neck to ankles. He was of stocky build, tank like, and a belly akin to a mobile septic tank. He had a mobile phone which he did not need as he could be heard in the distant Island of La Gomera. His utterances to the waiters were "Hi Gof " and to his partner and child were,,,,,they "av no fawking fish and chips "ere, He and partner smoked like chimneys.
We appreciate the staff at "isla bonita* have no control over who enters, and after all it is a holiday resort, but a gentle word from the management in the ears of those individuals, or move them on to another section, preferably outside, where they then can shout, roar, smoke, drink, trip and spit, to their hearts content without annoying others.
I am sorry, maybe it was a once off coincidence, but as they say "Isla Bonita" in our view is not what it used to be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Octopus”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved the octopus and mojo starter. Nice white wine and good selection of fish. Service was warm and friendly. Good value

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diddlydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled by the facade”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The decor might be basic, but the food and service is excellent. And you can enjoy locally sourced and traditional dishes every day of the week. The only downside is the local wine. But the restaurant can't be blamed for that! And very reasonably priced. A very, very enjoyable experience. Bon apetite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LaineyP”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you like fish, this is the place for you. Very friendly family restaurant, lots of choice, not just fish. You can eat out or indoors and they specialise in freshly caught fish from the area.
Good prices and good wine also very local sourced. Great night out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Bonita also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Isla Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing