We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother”
Review of Isla Bonita

Isla Bonita
Ranked #79 of 195 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We sat for ages waiting for a menu and then for the food to be served. Ok but not worth the wait. Food nothing special.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mumof1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    70
    34
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thanks God that we listened to our receptionist and went for a dinner to Isla Bonita. Apparently all the local people go there.

The best restaurant that we found in Lanzarote. Great service, very welcoming and friendly. We were greeted with a glass of wine and some octopus. The waiters were prompt and helpful, answered all the questions that we had. The food was amazing, fresh, made to order and mainly - authentic cuisine. All the dishes were absolutely delicious.

If you want to try some good food, this restaurant is a MUST!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isabela20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothenburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Typical canarian restaurant with very authentic food”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a local friend of mine. It is indeed a very spanish place with rather few tourists finding it. It is centrally located on one of the main roads, but not in one of the top tourist spots. And it is absolutely worth the detour. The welcome with a little cheese and a glass of wine is a nice surprise. But the food itself would not need this type of introduction. It is simply outstanding and far away from the traditional tourist preparation. My wife had a wonderful Zarzuela, while I really enjoyed my baby goat meat (quite some bones though, but wonderful taste). As a starter we had a wonderful dish with mushrooms in lots of garlic. Just outstanding in the making. This place turned very busy around 15.00, when we had finished eating and the ambiance was very spanish indeed.
The service was impecable also when the place got crowded. All in all - this lunch was a real treat. Next time we will certainly pay a visit to Isla Bonita again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Motivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good welcome”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

i had a very tasty grilled sole and the greeting with wine and cheese was spot on. worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mcc1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The only proper Canarian restaurant we found”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Staying in Los Molinos apartments this restaurant was straight across the road from us. Upon entering we were given a small glass of local wine and a cube of local cheese.

The staff were friendly and explained the local dishes that were on the menu. They came round with bread rolls which I refused being wheat free. They never explained that these would be charged for, they appeared free. When the final bill came I had been charged for a roll even though I hadn't had one!

My partner had the mixed grill and I had the local fish stew in a tomato based sauce. There was more meat on his plate than he usually eats in a week! The Canarian potatoes and sauces were the best we had in Costa Teguise.

The chocolate mousse was velvety smooth and left you wanting more.

We didn't query the addition of the extra bread roll on the bill because when we were given it the waiter also gave us a glass of the local Honey Rum and left the bottle on the table. We didn't like to take more, but he topped our glasses up!

A lovely dining experience only spoiled by the family on the next table who couldn't control their child.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RomeGirl237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Bonita also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Isla Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing