We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meat feast!”
Review of Mikes Schnitzel & Steak - CLOSED

Mikes Schnitzel & Steak
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, German, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
“Fantastic meat feast!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My partner and I went looking for this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We expected it to be good, but it was great! Perfectly cooked steak and gorgeous ribs were the most delicious things - we asked for seconds of both. The rest was lovely too, and the potato and pasta salads were absolutely gorgeous.

We were completely stuffed leaving and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. We will be returning next time we visit Costa Teguise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kikilea1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed after the hype”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to BBQ evening and had made sure this was set in stone on the holiday plans. Went on a Weds night, greeted by very friendly hostess/waitress who was at front of service on her own. With about 10 tables in at one point it was too much to maintain service levels and do every task required. The meat BBQ was very nice, particularly the rib. It is touted as "all you can eat" but it's not really, there was a definite surprise/reluctance to provide more which with a bit more thought on how the service was run could provide a much better experience. I was the one left feeling weird for wanting "more" on the "all you can eat". Salads were excellent by the way

Later in the evening Mike presented himself for a parade round the restaurant, the whole process felt a bit contrived really with him passing by the tables seeking praise and acknowledgement - hate to say it but it's only bbq'ing meat?

Anyway it was a decent enough experience for a relatively good price- just be careful on your expectations

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fab BBQ night”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A German restaurant in Costa, had a fabulous meal (as I have had here in the past). Great service, and great value, though can potentially leave you with the 'meat sweats'!!. Some of the salads are fantastic too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a place.
First time we went, it was just after opening at 7pm, and there were already reserved signs on most tables.
Managed to get seating for 6, ordered the buffet, and got stuck into the salad.
Wow - never thought salad could be so tasty.
Hard boiled eggs blended in with the potato salad, green beans with onions and relish, finely sliced cucumber with subtle dressing, shredded carrot with a sweet dressing, their own version of Tzatziki, various types of lettuce, and of course a yoghurt based dressing mmmmm.
Then came the main course - Steak (came medium, but was soon taken back to be well done), massive ribs, frankfurter sausages, lamb kebabs, and chicken drumsticks.
We couldn't manage to finish the portions that were brought out, so Wolfgang and Mike wrapped them up in foil for us to take back with us.
As it was Easter Sunday, Wolfgang gave our 2 children chocolate bunnies (large ones of course) - what a lovely touch.
Of course, if your appetite is bigger, they will gladly keep bringing more out for you.
The next time we went, all the tables inside were reserved, so we sat in the covered area outside.
Again, great food, but spoilt by smokers coming outside, so we rushed our meal and took our "doggy bags" back.
To make sure of not having our meal spoilt again, we reserved a table for our next visit.
Again, no complaints.
Well done you guys, we'll see you next time we're in Costa Teguise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilak_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All u can eat bbq”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

All you can eat bbq night was excellent value for money at ten euros. We left there stuffed and host was excellent. We didn't ask for any more meat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikes Schnitzel & Steak also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing