We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Costa Teguise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grill Las Brasas

Grill Las Brasas
Ranked #151 of 194 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: My partner & I have visited Costa Teguise twice a year for the past five years. However, it was only on our last trip last Easter that we eventually decided to eat in Grill Las Brasas. The main reason for this was the shabby looking menu in the window. We could not have been more mistaken. The restaurant is located very centrally in the Pueblo Marinero or main square in Costa teguise. It is opposite the Snug bar. Inside is small with maybe 16-18 chairs. The end corner is dominated by an imposing grill fired only with charcoal & this is where the majority of the cooking takes place. On our first visit (we went twice at Easter) we were presented with a large choice of specials which are not on the menu. These included many locally sourced ingredients from the island including prawns from La Santa & locally caught & smoked Cod. This restaurant however primarily deals in meat...& it does so with no shame. The food is presented to the customer by the chef (of which there is only one) & he seeks your approval prior to cooking on the grill. Any requested sauces are made fresh in front of the customer.To keep this short all I can say is that both myself & my partner feel this restaurant to be one of the finest we have ever eaten in & yet there is no mention of it on Trip advisor. This is truly a hidden gem. Do not be put off by the chef's declaration on the front window "we have no kids menu and we don't do chips". The chef loves kids....provided they love meat! Prices are slightly more expensive than surrounding restaurants but well worth it at least once during your holiday but remember, the chef is cooking for you personally, you are not being served from a central kitchen. Please try this restaurant especially if you are a meat lover....I guarantee that the experience will force you to return.
Stafford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Costa Teguise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Costa Teguise at the end of June 2012 and ate out at several restaurants while we were there. This was easily the best place we ate at, great food, well cooked and good value for the money we paid, drinks were very reasonable too. The staff made us feel very welcome and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone. However, if you want cheap British style food served by British people then you should probably look elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkywhite26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great shame....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

...that this restaurant has now changed hands. This used to be one of the great dining experiences in Lanzarote. Unfortunately it has now under new ownership (although the former owner is often to be seen around the square) and is not in the same class.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Exceptional food and service reasonably priced. We ate and drank at this wonderful authentic restaurant several times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieleanneDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny, perfect and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

No set menu, all cooked to order. Wonderfully balanced flavours, beautifully presented without fussiness. We made an evening of tapas there with our three-year-old and it was the best eating experience we had in Costa Teguise.

The chef and assistant are very patient and will explain and translate all the dishes for you, so don't worry if you can make nothing of the spanish chalkboards.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyhockSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Grill las brasas has changed ownership”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Every year we make one of our 1st meals grill las brasas. This year we discovered it was no longer in existence and had changed ownership. It is now a very different place.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank artybabe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Las Brasas also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Grill Las Brasas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing