We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,640)
Filter reviews
1,640 results
Traveler rating
987
422
149
50
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
987
422
149
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium area the main hotel atlantico restaurant green bar bar verde premium reception green room premium guests a la carte pool area premium club level reception royal reception buffet restaurant club atlantico mini bar main reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 1,640 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

One of the most relaxing and comfortable hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the Canary Islands. We stayed in room 45 which is on the same level as the pools/restaurant/private bar. It is quiet, spacious and comfortable. Huge comfortable bed. The buffet restaurant is not like the usual buffet restaurants. It is small, personal and with a lovely selection of foods, hot and cold. Something for everyone. Even soya yoghurts and gluten free dishes. There is also a degree of table service in the buffet restaurant for drinks, coffee and special requests. The hotel is well located in Jandia being slightly outside the strip where all the shops and restaurants are. So it is quiet but you can walk into Jandia easily you don’t need transport. I can highly recommend the adults only Occidental Jandia Royal. No screaming kids! Beautifully clean swimming pools and no loud music. Lovely!!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

The service we received from the staff was a major contributor to our enjoyment of our recent holiday, with particular mention of Nabil at the Atlantico Restaurant and Marianna at the Royal Reception, these two went above and beyond. We only eat at the Atlantico Restaurant and it was a relaxed, unrushed and pleasant. Very different from that experienced at many of the other hotels we have stayed. Food was good, a selection of pre prepared options and two fish and two meat dishes cooked on the grill, plus excellent salad selection all served for lunch and dinner. Breakfast very good different smoothie every day, eggs cooked to order including excellent omelettes. Wine was far better than we have been offered on previous all inclusive hotel stays. We booked directly with Barcelo originally booking two individual rooms but changed to Master Suite. These rooms are truly exceptional, two large ensuite bedrooms separated by a very comfortable lounge and huge terrace. One and two bedroom suites have a replenished daily mini bar and a evening visit to check if you require more water towels etc. The Royal Terrace bar is a nice place to sit and have a drink and spend the evening.There are things that could be improved on, firstly the pre prepared dishes were not always as hot as they should be. The mystery is some were and some weren’t, as far as I could see there were no heat lamps and relied on heat transfer from underneath so those items displayed longer lost heat with insufficient direct heat to keep warm. The pools (particularly deep pool)have some staining to the tiles which gives the impression that the pools are not clean this probably not the case but I think needs attention. One of the Royal Level terraces was closed, did not spoil our holiday but feel we should have been notified that this was to be the case. The company Barcelo use for airport transfers are not very good in our case we were told by their representative we were not on his list therefore we would have to walk the 60 km to Jandia. Didn’t walk and hotel paid for the taxi. Hope to have the opportunity of another holiday here.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank malcolmt484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

This review relates purely to the Royal Level of the hotel. Although I will touch on some other areas please be aware that many photos particularly from the hotel do not necessarily relate to the Royal Level and are in relation to fully accessible areas including children and some other photos relate to the Premier Club not accessible to Royal Level or general guests. This includes the circular day beds and in pool sun beds shown on many pictures. It is unclear if these are always inaccessible without a specific pass or just closed at the moment as we were given little or no information on arrival finding most things out from other methods.

General
Transfers by taxi from the airport took about an hour. Fuertaventura airport was quick to get through and we didn't have to wait long for baggage. Get your passport ready when getting off the plane as we were checked one time only in a corridor as we disembarked! It was a bit odd but worked ok for us! There was no bus on the terminal to take you into the airport, the walkway was straight from the plane so it was nice and quick. Returning from the airport was pretty good, they have a few cafes, restaurants and a Burger Kng, plus a few shops.

Check in
The Royal Level reception wasn't open on our late arrival so we checked in at the main reception. They were pleasant and quick as we were the only ones there, but it was only when we were going to the room we realised we were not checked into the room type we had booked. We had ordered a sea view room and paid for it as such (difference to a standard room was I believe about €200 a week). The porter confirmed it was not sea view and we should sort it out in the morning. I believe if we had realised at check in we may have had a different room at that point, so check room type on arrival is what you paid for. I believe had we mentioned this right away we would have been upgraded to a third story suite which only added to our annoyance. This put a dampener on the first day as we had to keep going back to reception to see when we could move. It did feel a little like they were doing us a favour even though it was what we had booked! We then moved and realised the mini bar contents in the new room were empty. I had to go back to reception and explain but was told only one refill per stay! After some conversation she realised what I meant and this was then filled up the next day quite late on. I recommend if you move rooms take the contents with you. People not getting the room type ordered seems a recurring theme.

Rooms
Rooms are nice and large also well equipped. Coffee and tea making facilities are available, also a hairdryer in the bathroom (I had messaged to ask if there was one but had no response). Floors are tiled and felt gritty, I think swept rather than mopped so I would make use of the free slippers or wear flip flops inside. There were no drawers other than a small one each in the bedside cabinet, though there were two wardrobes with lots of hangers and some shelving. I would have liked drawers under the TV rather than a small shelf. White towelling dressing gowns were provided though one of ours was falling apart in places. The decor was not modern more functional with dark wood doors and old brass handles on, and beds with dark wooden headboards etc. Beds were comfortable though. The furniture and decor I felt was a little outdated, but didn't impact on the holiday. The bathroom was large, red and beige marble, and had a bidet, bath with shower over, two shower heads (one overhead and one on a hose attachment). The bath plug hole was in the most annoying place, right at the feet when showering, and was one of those silver disc covers so standing on it meant it closed up, filling the tub with water. Although the bath was big it wasn't particularly wide inside. Water pressure was fine but temperature a little temperamental as usual in hotels. The sink area had the hairdryer and a plug socket, a retractable mirror with magnifying side and was spacious enough for lots of toiletries. There were plenty of shower gels etc provided, soap, two dental kits with toothbrushes and paste, a vanity kit (cotton buds and pads) and a comb. The balcony was pretty spacious with new table and chairs. We did manage to lock ourselves out of the room the first night by shutting the sliding door and then couldn't move it from outside though it wasn't technically locked, as there was no handle. We were still in our ground floor room at this point so luckily able to hop down off the wall and go to reception. But make sure you don't fully close the doors on the first floor or higher!

Food and drink
The mini bar was well stocked with crisps, a bottle of cava, a few bottles of beer, coke, Fanta and a couple of mini wine bottles. On our arrival which was late the restaurant was open in the Royal Level. We were not given much info on the hotel when checking in other than a map, so it was day 3 before we found Bar Verde which is indoor and outdoor and is exclusive to the Royal Level customers (other 'blue banders' were rightly ejected if they managed to get in!).
My biggest issue with this hotel is the dining. The Atlantico restaurant is clean and well appointed. However, the food on the 'hot' plate was constantly cold. Having read this on another review I hadn't expected this to be as much of an issue but it really was. Unless the food had just been replaced it was stone cold. Also the hot food area is clearly too small and not replenished frequently enough. Other hotels we have been to have hot buffets at least 5 times the size of this one. It seems the Royal Level has become more popular and it appears the facilities have not been expanded to keep up with this. The food that was made though was nicely prepared. Breakfast was not really much to be excited about, all as I say cold before you could get it on the plate, though they have cereals and pastries etc. Cold meats and cheeses were also available. We often found before 10 am that things were running out though such as fruit, and not replenished. Plate and crockery smashing seems to be a daily occurrence in Atlantico and we had one day out of 7 where nothing was smashed when we were there. I note there is one door from the kitchen not an in and out scenario so this may be why. I had a glass one evening which had a long sliver broken off the lip and could have caused some damage had I not spotted it. The A La Carte restaurant was pleasant and had a selection of 3 items per course and was themed. We went to the Indian night. This felt more special than the Atlantico and was more exclusive in feeling. There is an exclusive bar called Bar Verde for Royal Level guests only but we didn't find out about it for a few days nothing was mentioned at reception. This was better than the other bars and they served Bombay Sapphire and tonic, with ice balls which we liked.

Pool
There are three pools on the Royal Level (plus use of the main pool). The largest pool was very cold and hardly used because of this. There is a second smaller but deeper pool in front of the restaurant. This had a cold but bearable temperature, clearly heated unlike many hotel pools I have experienced which was great. There were steps to get in but one set was a long step down into the pool and a bit awkward. The third pool is a large jacuzzi pool. This was warm and in fact some days rather hot, though not heated as hot as a normal jacuzzi. Some of the side jets didn't work, and it was on a timer to come on for 5-10 minutes I think every half hour. It was a bit noisy so I think if it was on all day it would get tiresome. My only concern with the pools generally is that the maintenance has not been kept up that well. There are replaced tiles in a completely different colour and quite a bit of black mould on the grout and edges. There is also a nasty stain at the bottom of the deeper pool which came off under foot so clearly hasn't been cleaned properly in some time. The composite decking around the pool was much better than the normal decking at the standard level pool, which was peeling and not maintained. However it was lifting and split in a few places, with the odd screw slightly sticking up. It was all looking a bit tired. Sun beds round the pool are all very padded, comfortable and were not full on any of days there. They have a number of four poster style beds and many of the beds are shaded or there are a few umbrellas.

Spa
We paid for two massages (a couples one) and found these good although it was a 'no pain' massage each and we were not asked if we had any issues beforehand. The massage room was nicely decorated etc. The Royal Level can use the spa pool as well for free however it contained freezing cold water. We gave up trying to get in the pool immediately due to the temperature, it was more pleasant in the Royal Level pool. It looks great though! We were also told we had to purchase a black swimming cap each to wear and were given foam flip flops for no apparent reason. This put us off using the spa. They have got a sauna and steam room with a heated jacuzzi indoors also. It was also a long walk down to the spa and gym.

Shops
There is a small shop on the resort but we didn't really use it. There is a Ventura shopping 'centre' just outside the hotel near the beach. This has a few souvenir shops, an Esprit clothes shop and a Spar. The Spar is well stocked and has a nice selection of alcohol and if desired cigarettes etc.

Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank LozzyLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Jandia Royal Level hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura , as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the view from your room, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we allocate our rooms in accordance your reservation. We are happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation.
And we would like to thank you for the wonderful description of the room, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms.

We understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s services, we always advice our Guest who do the check in by the main reception to contact the next day the reception of Royal Level to give you all the information of the Hotel, and you get by check in the map of the hotel with all the information.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

About your comment from the Jacuzzi by the Atlántico area, we would like to inform you that it is a whirlpool that is why it is not heated. Sorry that you was not aware of this.
We want to thank you for the advice on the safety around the swimming pool and passed your comments to our technical service so that they can revise the situation in order to study how this can be improved.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel on this occasion and for the courtesy of your time, even though we understand that this was not the best fit for your travel party, therefore we strongly encourage you for a future occasion to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to give you all the relevant information to make sure that you book the Barceló hotel that can make all your holiday wishes come true.

Kind regards
Guest experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Royal Level****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

The hotel is around 1 hour 40 from the airport. We found It is not actually an Adults Only hotel, just a section ( room Key access to Royal Level areas) inside a much larger complex. The rooms to the east of the property although advertised as 'Royal Level Adults Only' are mixed with family rooms. We were not informed prior to arrival that the Royal Level Terrace pool,hot tub and bar in this part of the hotel were closed and sealed off.The pictures of these areas which are still advertised on web sites are the ones which made us decide to go for the Royal Level in the first place. Arrived around 9 in the evening and despite previous communication no Royal Level staff or nice cooling drink to greet us just a sign pointing to the main reception.We were given a room on the first floor and told to see the Royal Level staff in the morning to sort out issues.
Later the following day met with the Royal Level reception staff Marianna and Guest Experience Manager Guilia who were lovely turned our problems around and made sure the rest of our stay went with out a problem.
The room we finally stayed Deluxe Sea View was a good size and decent balcony with glass panel to allow sea view....other rooms we noticed had thick wood across the line of sight so unless standing would obstruct view.The maid kept the room really clean and returned around 6.30 in the evening to offer fresh towels and turn down service. Unfortunately the air con did not work very well.
We ate most of our meals in the Alantico Royal Level Restaurant which was a very good standard and the Rioja is the best I have tasted AI. The staff there were very friendly and exceptionally attentive served wine and drinks at the table. The pool area was always clean and well maintained a life guard on duty lovely comfy beds ( Belanese if you wished) that seemed to be readily available throughout the day. Along with the excellent bartender who brought around chilled water fruit kebabs and iced coffee drinks helped set the safe peaceful tone. Being the Royal Level bar ( good mix of premium drinks) and the limited number of guests around this area there was never more than 3 guests in the queue for a drink. However not the case in rest of hotel where queue's were long and had to ask for the premium drinks as none on view. The only other Royal Level bar ( The Verde Bar), was below reception this was waiter service all premium drinks, cocktails and had a lovely outside terrace.

Overall, despite the initial upset, the Royal Level staff who worked tirelessly to ensure we enjoyed our stay are really the ones who should take the credit. It is most disappointing that the management are failing to inform the guests of the problems at this hotel until they arrive.

Room tip: Rooms on the 'Royal Level' reception side of the hotel overlooking adult pool and restaurant and have glass sreen balcony are best.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DCWNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a very good nine day stay, arranged independent of any tour operator.

Asked for two adjacent rooms and we had the sea views we paid extra for. Rooms were lovely and well serviced.

New addition is the 6pm knock on the door for "Room Service".

We were told on arrival (19/9) that the New Terrace was closed "for maintainance". We wondered if that was because the hotel was not busy? By the weekend; when the buffet was crowded after a crowded day around the pool, we presumed this not to be the case! Anyway the terrace was still closed when we left (28/9).

We were also disappointed on arrival to be told that Bar Verde or now just named "Royal" would not open until 8pm. As smoking is allowed around the Pool area, Pool Atlantico Bar and on room balconies, this is the only place in Royal Level where you can enjoy a drink without the stench of cigarette smoke! Two days later, we noticed the sign detailing opening times was covered up by paper and it seemed the Bar had reverted to its previous 6:30pm opening. Shame no one told us!

Cocktails in the bar have shrunk by Order of the Management! It means you have to order more often and you end up spilling the top of the drink; as the excellent staff try and get as much in the glass as possible!

Attended the A la carte restaurant three times and they now seem set on a 5 day menu. Now offer choice of 3 (fish, meat or veggie) starters, mains and sweet. Portions are a lot bigger; the Tex Mex night in particular! Food and service was very good and the restaurant was busy this visit. It is a shame that a non smoking area is not reserved on the terrace outside and those who do not want to share this habit have to cower inside!

Food and service in the Atlantico buffet was also good. We did notice the hot plate has improved and food was warmer. They also managed to keep supplies topped up. If you learn the Spanish for how you want meat from the grill cooked, you will be fine!

The renovated Spa is now open and we enjoyed a treatment and the chance to use the other facilities.

All in all our Group of young 20s and mid 50s had a holiday to remember. Including jeep and buggy tours of the South and it's fantastic views and beaches, long walks, scuba diving, boat trip with dancing dolphins and the brilliant beach.

Yet again, one we will always remember!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank andye899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews