We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family holiday with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 2 week family holiday at this fabulous resort.
Before arrival I was impressed with the on line check in service that allowed you to pick your room checking out the view and position before arrival.
Our arrival was around 10pm, and the restaurant was open for late arrivals with cold plates and drinks. Reception staff were efficient, polite and helpful.
our accomodation was exactly as in the pictures, spacious, even for a family of three, spotlessly clean, and nice quality fixtures. The maid service was of a high standard daily cleaning.
The activities at the hotel both day and night were of a wide range and run by a highly professional, friendly team. A special mention to Lukas and Marco who gave us all a smile throughout the day, always encouraging, but never pushy. Activities ranged from rifle and pistol shooting, archery, pool water polo, zumba etc. They never stopped and made the holiday extra special for my family.
Meals were of a good quality and variety, always at least 2 choices of meat at the grilling stations fish/steak/chicken/turkey/lamb),always a further range of many different dishes and always paella, and themed nights with oriental/mexican dishes. Fruit was plentiful and delicious. Again, all the restaurant staff were very helpful.
This hotel gave me everything I would expect from a 4* hotel, however it was the staff who made it extra special. I hope to be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite on ground floor overlooking the pool, I chose this so that my kids could go in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MoniH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is very unusual for me to return to a hotel as like to try somewhere different however this is the fourth stay at Playa Gaviotas. Needed a rest at quite short notice and knew one could chill here immediately. All staff are friendly, cheery and very helpful. The animation team are brilliant too.

The rooms are clean and good standard although looking a bit date in some parts. It is worth having a sea view or, even better, a suite. Great views and next to the beach. Also, good choice and variety of food at all meal times. 99% of people seemed to be German, very few British (they seem to be in the sister hotel - Playa Gaviotas Park) but generally very pleasant. The hotel has a rule of no towels on sunbeds before 9am which worked quite well.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from hotel and had an amazing time from arrival to return. Rooms were spacious and clean and maid left us a different treat every day. Food and drink all day and international brands and cocktails too.
Animation team 10/10 special ly Marko and lucasz . Will def return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomag6117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous 1 week holiday here. Had an amazing time. The hotel was absolutely spotless- everywhere, inside and out. The food always had plenty of variety for even the fussiest of eaters, and was all very fresh and tasty. All the staff were very polite and helpful, and you rarely saw them without a smile on their faces. The entertainment team(Vlado, Claudiu, Alma, Brenda, Kevin, Raymond- plus others!) were always full of energy, and they did an amazing job of motivating everybody, but without being overly pushy. The swimming pools were consistently kept immaculate, and the views from all over the hotel were stunning. Overall it was a fantastic experience and I would recommend to anyone, families and couples of ages alike.

Room Tip: We originally booked in for a double room, but got upgraded to a Junior Suite- thank goodness! This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank HannahSimpson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed the hotel. It is mainly German guests as others have said, but this didn't bother us at all as they were very friendly. A good range of food is provided and varies each night. The restaurant and cleaning staff are very friendly and helpful which was nice. In all we enjoyed our stay. A few things though which are worth knowing before you book/go:

1 - The location is VERY windy. It didn't cause too much of a problem for us but, when on the beach, the sand can be swept up which is a little uncomfortable, but, the location is good for surfing, sailing etc.

2 - On arrival you are asked to specify a time you will eat your evening meal for the duration of your stay. Either 6:30 - 8:30 or 8:30 - 9:30, and this varies the colour wrist band you are provided. We weren't very happy about this, as we pointed out, as if you go out for the day etc you might not be back on time for the earlier slot etc. We were told they had to control the number of people in the restaurant but they don't try to control the number of people at breakfast...

3 - The 'infinity pool' which is advertised with the hotel is only available to VIP guests (who have grey wrist bands). You can pay for this as an extra on arrival but, without paying you can only use the main pool area.

4 - The beach itself is not owned by the hotel. The sun beds provided on the beach are run by a private company and you again have to pay extra if you want to use them. The beach is also a little way from the hotel (the main restaurants and pools are on the 5th floor -- you have to go to the ground floor and walk down a path to reach the beach). Also with this, there is therefore no drink or food facilities by the beach which are run by the hotel. You can get food but you pay extra to a private company.

Some other points: The beds are single beds, pushed together (from what we could see) so you don't get a double bed (although some rooms may be different). There is a safe in the room but you have to pay to get a key from reception to be able to use it paying around €17 per week ish). Before we left a number of reviews said you had to pay for towels. From our experience this is not the case. You have to pay a DEPOSIT (€10 per towel) which is refunded when you depart.

Overall though we did really enjoy our holiday. Although we would not return to this hotel, we would stay in another Iberostar in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
7  Thank 878Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived late on Wednesday after quite a long transfer from the airport. Staff were very helpful then and have been all the time since. We were given a room upgrade on arrival, which was nice. The room is good, with sea views and little noise from other guests. The food and drink is first class with genuine brands for the drinks and something tasty for everyone on the food side. The hotel mainly caters for German guests but that is not an issue. The main pool is slightly heated which removes the initial chill of getting in. There are plenty of things to do in the hotel, including a couple of 10 pin bowling lanes ! The only negative point has been not being able to book into the themed restaurant because it was fuly booked even when we arrived. Perhaps some additional days or seatings should be made available so that nobody miises out ? We are certainly looking forward to the rest of our time here and would recommend the hotel / location to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigmartyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks from the 5th of June and had a lovely time . We have to thank all the staff and especially Ray (Head of entertainment) and Anna, (the prestige guest manager) who helped us book an early flight home due to a family bereavement . We are returning to Iberostar for the 5th consecutive year in January , and are really looking forward to it. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel, and the Gaviotas Park for its cleanliness, it's excellent food and excellent staff.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Congletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel and are very grateful for the time you spent to share a review on TripAdvisor.

Moreover, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your kind words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Furthermore we thank you for your highlights on the cleanliness of our hotel and the quality of our buffets.

Once more, thank you for your visit and kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers; We look forward to welcoming you back next January ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your return visit a very pleasant one.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
7.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas

Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: $198 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is located on the seafront at Jandia, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Fuerteventura spanning 25 kilometres. It's the ideal hotel for couples and families with children because of the range of services and facilities on offer. It features 355 rooms and suites with multiple capacities. The Star Prestige rooms are of special note, allowing guests aged 16 and over to access exclusive services, including a VIP zone with a pool and Jacuzzi, open bar, reading room and direct beach access. With the aim of helping guests make the most of their holiday, the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel offers a wide range of activities and services including a SPA Sensations with incredible treatments for body and mind, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, two pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub, children's pool and park, fitness room, daytime and night-time entertainment, a bowling alley, babysitting services ($), tennis court, as well as two restaurants and five bars. A little bit of everything for everyone at the Playa Gaviotas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing