We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintaining the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maintaining the standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is very unusual for me to return to a hotel as like to try somewhere different however this is the fourth stay at Playa Gaviotas. Needed a rest at quite short notice and knew one could chill here immediately. All staff are friendly, cheery and very helpful. The animation team are brilliant too.

The rooms are clean and good standard although looking a bit date in some parts. It is worth having a sea view or, even better, a suite. Great views and next to the beach. Also, good choice and variety of food at all meal times. 99% of people seemed to be German, very few British (they seem to be in the sister hotel - Playa Gaviotas Park) but generally very pleasant. The hotel has a rule of no towels on sunbeds before 9am which worked quite well.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    343
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
357
505
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from hotel and had an amazing time from arrival to return. Rooms were spacious and clean and maid left us a different treat every day. Food and drink all day and international brands and cocktails too.
Animation team 10/10 special ly Marko and lucasz . Will def return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jomag6117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous 1 week holiday here. Had an amazing time. The hotel was absolutely spotless- everywhere, inside and out. The food always had plenty of variety for even the fussiest of eaters, and was all very fresh and tasty. All the staff were very polite and helpful, and you rarely saw them without a smile on their faces. The entertainment team(Vlado, Claudiu, Alma, Brenda, Kevin, Raymond- plus others!) were always full of energy, and they did an amazing job of motivating everybody, but without being overly pushy. The swimming pools were consistently kept immaculate, and the views from all over the hotel were stunning. Overall it was a fantastic experience and I would recommend to anyone, families and couples of ages alike.

Room Tip: We originally booked in for a double room, but got upgraded to a Junior Suite- thank goodness! This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HannahSimpson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed the hotel. It is mainly German guests as others have said, but this didn't bother us at all as they were very friendly. A good range of food is provided and varies each night. The restaurant and cleaning staff are very friendly and helpful which was nice. In all we enjoyed our stay. A few things though which are worth knowing before you book/go:

1 - The location is VERY windy. It didn't cause too much of a problem for us but, when on the beach, the sand can be swept up which is a little uncomfortable, but, the location is good for surfing, sailing etc.

2 - On arrival you are asked to specify a time you will eat your evening meal for the duration of your stay. Either 6:30 - 8:30 or 8:30 - 9:30, and this varies the colour wrist band you are provided. We weren't very happy about this, as we pointed out, as if you go out for the day etc you might not be back on time for the earlier slot etc. We were told they had to control the number of people in the restaurant but they don't try to control the number of people at breakfast...

3 - The 'infinity pool' which is advertised with the hotel is only available to VIP guests (who have grey wrist bands). You can pay for this as an extra on arrival but, without paying you can only use the main pool area.

4 - The beach itself is not owned by the hotel. The sun beds provided on the beach are run by a private company and you again have to pay extra if you want to use them. The beach is also a little way from the hotel (the main restaurants and pools are on the 5th floor -- you have to go to the ground floor and walk down a path to reach the beach). Also with this, there is therefore no drink or food facilities by the beach which are run by the hotel. You can get food but you pay extra to a private company.

Some other points: The beds are single beds, pushed together (from what we could see) so you don't get a double bed (although some rooms may be different). There is a safe in the room but you have to pay to get a key from reception to be able to use it paying around €17 per week ish). Before we left a number of reviews said you had to pay for towels. From our experience this is not the case. You have to pay a DEPOSIT (€10 per towel) which is refunded when you depart.

Overall though we did really enjoy our holiday. Although we would not return to this hotel, we would stay in another Iberostar in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
7 Thank 878Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived late on Wednesday after quite a long transfer from the airport. Staff were very helpful then and have been all the time since. We were given a room upgrade on arrival, which was nice. The room is good, with sea views and little noise from other guests. The food and drink is first class with genuine brands for the drinks and something tasty for everyone on the food side. The hotel mainly caters for German guests but that is not an issue. The main pool is slightly heated which removes the initial chill of getting in. There are plenty of things to do in the hotel, including a couple of 10 pin bowling lanes ! The only negative point has been not being able to book into the themed restaurant because it was fuly booked even when we arrived. Perhaps some additional days or seatings should be made available so that nobody miises out ? We are certainly looking forward to the rest of our time here and would recommend the hotel / location to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmartyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks from the 5th of June and had a lovely time . We have to thank all the staff and especially Ray (Head of entertainment) and Anna, (the prestige guest manager) who helped us book an early flight home due to a family bereavement . We are returning to Iberostar for the 5th consecutive year in January , and are really looking forward to it. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel, and the Gaviotas Park for its cleanliness, it's excellent food and excellent staff.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Congletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel and are very grateful for the time you spent to share a review on TripAdvisor.

Moreover, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your kind words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Furthermore we thank you for your highlights on the cleanliness of our hotel and the quality of our buffets.

Once more, thank you for your visit and kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers; We look forward to welcoming you back next January ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your return visit a very pleasant one.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've just arrived back in England (28/06/14) after 10 days in this beautiful resort. I stayed in 'park' side of the resort. There are to many good things to mention so i will give the highlights. When we arrived at reception to check in, we were given a very friendly welcome, which is always a bonus after a long journey. We noticed straight away how clean the place was, when we went to our room we were very happy with the size and its condition with a great view of the pool area and sea.
The staff were very cheerful and helpful at all times and nothing seemed to be a hindrance to them. The food was good with plenty of choice and you could eat in the sister hotel near by if you wished, which we did on a several occasions. (My only criticism is, I think it would have been nice to have an occasional theme night, such as a Chinese or Indian menu. This is not a complaint but for people like myself who like spicey food i think this would be a great addition.) The tables were cleared promptly and again the staff did all the could to help with any requests.

During the day, around the pool area, there's plenty of things to keep you entertained if you wished to take part, especially for the younger ones. The pools were spotless with a life guard on all day. On an evening I only went to see a few of shows but what i saw was great fun, especially the animation/star friends team. There was a wide variety of drinks available also, so no complaints there and the beer was very good.
Outside the hotel along the coast towards Morro Jable there was plenty of shops with some good restaurants if you did want to venture out of the hotel to try something different. Though if you're looking for a 'big' night out you may be a bit disappointed because most of the hotels in the area are fully inclusive, people tend to stay in their own hotel so the pubs are a bit quiet until very late. Last but certainly not least the beach only 200 meters away goes on for miles in both directions is one of the best ive seen. Beautiful is the only way to describe it, All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel and area :) PW

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas

Property: Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Address: | Pasaje Playa Nº 2, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is an all-inclusive Spa Hotel in Fuerteventura, right on the beach of Playa de Jandia. This 4-star hotel with spa, gastronomy and sports is specially designed for families and couples. This modern hotel overlooking the ocean in Playa Jandia has all the ingredients for enjoying an unforgettable holiday in Fuerteventura: an environment of great beauty, relaxation and fun in equal parts, exquisite Canarian gastronomy and spacious, comfortable rooms. If you want to have a real luxury holiday in Fuerteventura, try the Star Prestige new area for guests over 16, offering wonderful rooms and exclusive services. Star Prestige: Discover our new area and get exclusive services and lots of benefits. Book your room at the Star Prestige new area and get personalised service, refurbished rooms facing the sea and the beach in Jandia, high-end beds, premium amenities in the room, pool, whirlpool tub and sunbathing area by the seafront promenade affording amazing views, chill-out terrace with loungers and Balinese beds for rooms with direct access to the Star Prestige sunbathing area. Exclusive fitness room, open bar serving beverages and fruit all day long, free Wi-Fi, VIP Prestige room to read newspapers, have a drink or watch TV (flat screen), late check-out for free (subject to availability). A paradise for families. The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is designed for the entire family with an entertainment program for children, adolescents and adults. Younger children will enjoy the various activities organized at the Mini-Club, Maxi-Club and Teenieclub, while the adults will have a great time in the Bowling Bar New spa sensations. This spa hotel in Playa Jandia offers guests an exclusive SPA Sensations: a spa with Jacuzzi, beauty and treatment centre is the perfect place to disconnect from the world in Fuerteventura. Developed from ancient Asian techniques and traditions, this relaxing place invites you to discover a new world of experiences and sensations. Excellent gastronomy. The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas is a culinary resort prized for its quality cuisine. In any of the bars and restaurants of this Playa de Jandia resort you can enjoy the pleasures of exquisite domestic and international cuisine. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing